Taking Review Requests: Yes but only if I've reviewed the author in the past. Interviews and guest posts are open to new-to-me authors. Please see my policy before requesting.

Hosting Giveaways: Yes

Accepting Author Interviews/Guest Posts: Yes

• My review policy and contact info is located OVER HERE.

Bloggers, I would love to interview you, have you guest post and/or guest review here! Please contact me if you're interested!




Thursday, May 31, 2018

Hiatus Time!

It’s the last day in May guys and you know what that means?


Yup, I am out of here for the summer, not on a vacation to a beautiful destination though. Nope, I’m staying in the same crusty, dusty place but I need some time to regroup, spend time with family, and of course, get rid of a lot of junk because we are trying to take steps to leave this place and soon. And we have over 4 bedrooms full of crap and 90% has to go! Lol. I don’t want to cart that stuff with me when we move and I don’t want to have to pack and unpack it either.

Wednesday, May 30, 2018

Review: Summer Bride by Stacey Joy Netzel


Stacey Joy Netzel is one of my favorite authors and I just adored this book beginning to end.

Format: .mobi (A copy of this book was provided by the publisher for the purpose of an honest review. )
Publisher: Self Published
Release Date: May 30, 2018

He has one month to make his bride fall in love with him before he deploys.


Kyra Sullivan has been left one too many times. If her father can walk out on his wife and children—twice—what’s to keep a man by her side? She doesn’t believe anyone will stay long enough to give her a happily ever after, until one night with Staff Sergeant Dane Owens opens her heart to dream.


But Dane has secrets. Obligations. Orders. Staying isn’t an option, and even worse, he has a feeling he’s not coming back alive this time. An honorable man would leave Kyra alone, but the moment he sees her again, walking away proves impossible. Can he convince her not being able to stay is different than leaving, or is he damned to repeat the past by once again ruining the life of someone he loves?

Tuesday, May 29, 2018

Review: The Prince by Katharine Ashe


This was so not what I was expecting and I mean that in a good way!

Format: .mobi (A copy of this book was provided by the publisher via Edelweiss for the purpose of an honest review. )
Publisher: Avon
Release Date: May 29, 2018

The temptation of her lips…

Libby Shaw refuses to accept society’s dictates. She’s determined to become a member of Edinburgh’s all-male Royal College of Surgeons. Disguising herself as a man, she attends the surgical theater and fools everyone—except the one man who has never forgotten the shape of her exquisitely sensual lips.

…will make a prince say yes to her every desire.

Forced to leave his home as a boy, famed portraitist Ziyaeddin is secretly the exiled prince of a distant realm. When he first met Libby, he memorized every detail of her face and drew her. But her perfect lips gave him trouble—the same lips he now longs to kiss. When Libby asks his help to hide her feminine identity from the world, Ziyaeddin agrees on one condition: she must sit for him to paint—as a woman. But what begins as a daring scheme could send them both hurtling toward danger…and an unparalleled love.

Monday, May 28, 2018

Review: The Duke of Lies by Darcy Burke


I had such a hard time writing this review! Not because I didn’t enjoy the book but because I didn’t want to spoil anything but I wanted to talk about what I loved about it! Lol.

Format: .mobi (A copy of this book was provided by the publisher via NetGalley for the purpose of an honest review. )
Publisher: Darcy Burke Publishing
Release Date: May 29, 2018

Verity Beaumont has suffered domineering men most of her life, first with her father and then with her husband. Free from both of them, she has finally found peace. Even meeting a kind and hard-working gentleman who just might be the perfect father her young son so desperately needs. But as she dares look to the future, her carefully ordered world is shattered when her dead husband returns.

After six years away, Rufus Beaumont, Duke of Blackburn, returns to claim his place and protect his family. Only, the life he finds is not the life he left, and he must convince his wife that their marriage is worth fighting for, that he’s not the man he was. When the truth about what happened to him leaks out, he must prove that not everything about him, especially his love for her, is a lie.

Friday, May 25, 2018

Favorite Character Friday: Get Ready To Fall in Love


FCF has changed! I think there are way too many great characters out there to limit them to just books so start talking about your favorite characters from movies, tv shows, AND books. Show me your favorites!

Favorite Character Friday is a weekly meme hosted by Adria's Musings & Reviews that gives readers a chance to celebrate their favorite characters, because with millions of books, tv shows, and movies out there and more coming out constantly, characters are like potato chips, you can't have just one.

How it works: Every week highlight one of your favorite characters. Be sure to include where they’re from (Book, TV Show, Movie) as well! Share the love and maybe someone will check it out and see why that character is one of your favorites! Unlike the Book Boyfriend meme (which was a great meme), your Favorite Character Fridays choice can be male or female and can be from TV or Movies!

Be sure to link back to Adria's Musings &Reviews and share the link via the linky widget below.

Favorite Character: Matthew Cornwallis, Duke of Tyndale

Thursday, May 24, 2018

Review: The Hellion by Christi Caldwell

Not a bad read but there were a few bumps along the way.

Format: .mobi (A copy of this book was provided by the publisher via NetGalley for the purpose of an honest review. )
Publisher: Montlake Romance
Release Date: April 3, 2018

Adair Thorne has just watched his gaming-hell dream disappear into a blaze of fire and ash, and he’s certain that his competitors, the Killorans, are behind it. His fury and passion burn even hotter when he meets Cleopatra Killoran, a tart-mouthed vixen who mocks him at every turn. If she were anyone else but the enemy, she’d ignite a desire in him that would be impossible to control.

No one can make Cleopatra do anything. That said, she’ll do whatever it takes to protect her siblings―even if that means being sponsored by their rivals for a season in order to land a noble husband. But she will not allow her head to be turned by the infuriating and darkly handsome Adair Thorne.

There’s only one thing that threatens the rules of the game: Cleopatra’s secret. It could unravel the families’ tenuous truce and shatter the unpredictably sinful romance mounting between the hellion…and a scoundrel who could pass for the devil himself.


Wednesday, May 23, 2018

Review: The Duke of Hearts by Jess Michaels

Seven books in and this one is a contender for my favorite book of the series.


Format: .mobi (A copy of this book was provided by the publisher via NetGalley for the purpose of an honest review. )
Publisher: The Passionate Pen
Release Date: May 22, 2018

Matthew Cornwallis, Duke of Tyndale, once loved a woman, but she died in a tragic accident he felt responsible for. Since then, he’s been playing pretend that he isn’t broken inside, even as he’s seen as London’s most sought after bachelor. He decides to drown his sorrows at the notorious Donville Masquerade where he encounters an alluring stranger who he spends the night with.

Mrs. Isabel Hayes was married once to a man who did not inspire passion and she’s been curious ever since. She has no intention of taking a lover at the Donville Masquerade, but to watch the activities there, just as she has been for weeks. But once the masked stranger pursues her, she is swept away.

Soon Isabel recognizes her lover for who he really is and realizes a terrible truth. She is the cousin of the woman he once loved and lost, and her family blames him for what happened. Driven by the passion they’ve shared, but also repelled by the stories she’s heard, Isabel continues the affair, trying to find the truth. But once Matthew realizes her identity, will he pursue her for what they’ve built, or only because she reminds him of what he lost? And will he survive to share a life with her at all?


Tuesday, May 22, 2018

Review: Innocent Target by Katie Reus

Excuse me while I get super excited about this newest book in the Redemption Harbor series.

Format: .mobi (A copy of this book was provided by the publisher via NetGalley for the purpose of an honest review. )
Publisher: KR Press LLC
Release Date: May 22, 2018

He wasn’t supposed to fall for her…

She was a target. A contract that came across his desk by mistake. Axel was simply going to warn her that she was in danger and get out. Then he got a taste of her and fell hard. But they’re from two different worlds. Not only is she innocent, she’s out of his league. He should keep his distance, but he can’t. Not when someone wants her dead. Now he’s driven to protect her, to keep her safe.

What happens when she discovers who he really is?

Hadley moved to Redemption Harbor for vet school and to be closer to her new family. Now that her billionaire father knows about her existence, her life has changed drastically. She just never imagined that she might be targeted because of her family. And she definitely never imagined she would fall for the one man she should never want. A man who kills for a living. A man who’s obsessed with her. A man who will do anything to protect her from the danger lurking in the shadows.

Monday, May 21, 2018

Hiatus is Coming but There's a Giveaway!



It’s that time of the year again. Vacation time! The blog is going on hiatus for the months of June and July so that I can take a break, get caught up, and maybe get ahead on my posts for August. But it’s also a time for me to spend with my mom, Hayley, and those nutty cats that I KNOW are plotting something. Lol.

Anyway, before I officially take off on May 31 I wanted to have a giveaway to give a lucky person a book for their e-reader! And it’s simple too, just comment below and tell me what your plans are for the summer or which book from the following you’d like to read if you win. There are of course bonus entries if you’re so inclined. (Click on the title to learn more about it from Goodreads):

The Last King by Katee Robert
Stripped by Tara Wyatt
The Duke of Hearts by Jess Michaels (Out tomorrow!)
Innocent Target by Katie Reus


Friday, May 18, 2018

Favorite Character Friday: Okoye


FCF has changed! I think there are way too many great characters out there to limit them to just books so start talking about your favorite characters from movies, tv shows, AND books. Show me your favorites!

Favorite Character Friday is a weekly meme hosted by Adria's Musings & Reviews that gives readers a chance to celebrate their favorite characters, because with millions of books, tv shows, and movies out there and more coming out constantly, characters are like potato chips, you can't have just one.

How it works: Every week highlight one of your favorite characters. Be sure to include where they’re from (Book, TV Show, Movie) as well! Share the love and maybe someone will check it out and see why that character is one of your favorites! Unlike the Book Boyfriend meme (which was a great meme), your Favorite Character Fridays choice can be male or female and can be from TV or Movies!

Be sure to link back to Adria's Musings &Reviews and share the link via the linky widget below.


Favorite Character: Okoye

Thursday, May 17, 2018

Review: Zero Hour by Megan Erickson

Not a bad start to a series about hackers. It was missing some things but overall not bad.

Format: .mobi (A copy of this book was provided by the publisher via NetGalley for the purpose of an honest review. )
Publisher: Forever Romance
Release Date: January 30, 2018

Hacker extraordinaire Roarke Brennan lives each hour - each breath - to avenge his brother's murder. His first move: put together a team of the best coders he knows. They're all brilliant, specialized, and everyone an epic pain in his ass. Only now Wren Lee wants in too, threatening to upset their delicate balance. The girl Roarke never allowed himself to want is all grown up with sexy confidence and a dark past ... and she's the wild card he can't control.

Roarke might still think she's a kid, but Wren's been to hell and back. Nothing and nobody can stop her - especially the tatted-up, cocky-as-all-hell hacker. But when years of longing and chemistry collide, Wren and Roarke discover that revenge may be a dish best served blazing hot.


Wednesday, May 16, 2018

Review: The Bride Takes a Groom by Lisa Berne

Hmm, I think this would have been better if the heroine had just gone away and let the hero find someone who didn't treat him like dirt.

Format: .mobi (A copy of this book was provided by the publisher via Edelweiss for the purpose of an honest review. )
Publisher: Avon
Release Date: April 24, 2018

Katherine Brooke may be a fabulously wealthy heiress, but she’s trapped, a pawn in her parents’ ruthless game to marry her into the nobility. Then Captain Hugo Penhallow—so charming, as handsome as a Greek god—comes into her life once more, and suddenly she sees a chance to be free.

As a Penhallow, his is one of the highest names in the land, but still his family is facing ruin. So Katherine boldly proposes an exchange: his name for her money. But only if Hugo understands it’s merely a practical arrangement, and that she’s not surrendering herself entirely.

Back from eight years in America and determined to give his younger siblings a better life, Hugo agrees. He’s never fallen in love, so why not? Yet neither of them guesses that this marriage will become far, far more than they ever dreamed of . . .



Tuesday, May 15, 2018

Review: Stripped by Tara Wyatt

It’s here! It’s here! It’s here! I loved this book! So much tension, sexiness, and just all around fun with this book!

Format: .mobi (A copy of this book was provided by the publisher via Edelweiss for the purpose of an honest review. )
Publisher: Avon Impulse
Release Date: May 15, 2018

Detective Sawyer Matthews isn’t just having a bad day—he’s having the worst day. His hunt for the criminal who killed his team member has stalled and now… he’s got to play nice with his new, totally unwanted partner. It’s not that she isn’t qualified, or that he doesn’t like her—it’s because he knows what she looks like naked. So very, very naked.

Brooke Simmons finally landed her dream job working for H.E.A.T, an elite undercover detective squad, and she’s not giving up simply because she had a one-night-stand with her sullen—but undeniably sexy—new partner. They’ll just have to keep it professional. Easier said than done, considering their first case requires Sawyer to infiltrate a drug cartel operating out of a male strip show. Watching him do his best Magic Mike impression every night isn’t just hot—it’s torture.

Sawyer doesn’t need any distractions, yet his attraction to Brooke is explosive and he can’t resist going for round two. Or three. Or four. But as their investigation progresses and danger mounts, they’ll have to put their jobs, hearts, and lives on the line to fight… for each other, for survival, and for justice.

Monday, May 14, 2018

How To: Color Your Bujo Pages Black.

I’m trying to stay way ahead on planning my bullet journal spreads and I am working on October right now.

Since Halloween is in October I thought I’d have a goth/Halloween month which to me meant black pages! I had no idea how to do this but I got an idea while checking out The Petite Planner's instagram. She used an ink pad and a beauty blender to get her black spread but there was no tutorial for them. That’s okay though, she already provided what she used to color the page so I figured the rest out myself.
So if you want to do a black layout here is how I did it and what I found out after I did the first week’s spread.

Friday, May 11, 2018

Favorite Character Friday: Monique


FCF has changed! I think there are way too many great characters out there to limit them to just books so start talking about your favorite characters from movies, tv shows, AND books. Show me your favorites!

Favorite Character Friday is a weekly meme hosted by Adria's Musings & Reviews that gives readers a chance to celebrate their favorite characters, because with millions of books, tv shows, and movies out there and more coming out constantly, characters are like potato chips, you can't have just one.

How it works: Every week highlight one of your favorite characters. Be sure to include where they’re from (Book, TV Show, Movie) as well! Share the love and maybe someone will check it out and see why that character is one of your favorites! Unlike the Book Boyfriend meme (which was a great meme), your Favorite Character Fridays choice can be male or female and can be from TV or Movies!

Be sure to link back to Adria's Musings &Reviews and share the link via the linky widget below.

Favorite Character: Monique Servais

Thursday, May 10, 2018

Review: Last Night with the Duke by Amelia Grey

Format: .mobi (A copy of this book was provided by the publisher via NetGalley for the purpose of an honest review. )
Publisher: St. Martin’s Press
Release Date: March 7, 2017

Could finding love be his greatest scandal of all?
The Duke of Griffin has never lived down his reputation as one of the Rakes of St. James. Now rumors are swirling around London that his twin sisters may bear the brunt of his past follies. Hiring a competent chaperone is the only thing Griffin has on his mind--until he meets the lovely and intriguing Miss Esmeralda Swift. In ways he could never have expected, she arouses more than just his curiosity.

Esmeralda Swift considered herself too sensible to ever fall for a scoundrel, but that was before she met the irresistibly seductive Duke of Griffin. His employment offer proves too tempting for her to resist. She can’t afford to be distracted by his devilish charms because the stakes are so high for his sisters’ debut Season. . .unless one of London’s most notorious rakes has had a change of heart and is ready to make Esmeralda his bride in Last Night with the Duke, the first novel in the brand-new Regency Rakes of St. James series by New York Times bestselling author Amelia Grey.



Wednesday, May 9, 2018

Review: Wild Kisses by Skye Jordan

Another shame on me review, I had this one all done but I don’t know why it never went past the “draft” stage. Hmm.

Format: .mobi (A copy of this book was provided by the publisher via NetGalley for the purpose of an honest review. )
Publisher: Montlake Romance
Release Date: January 10, 2017

Newly divorced, Avery Hart returns home to Wildwood eager to take on her dream opportunity and transform her family’s dive bar into her own bakery. The contractor for hire isn’t just a master with his hands—he’s big, built, and wears a tool belt like nobody’s business. Despite being an ex-con, Trace Hutton is irresistible. Too bad he’d never go for someone as inexperienced as Avery.

Trace needs to focus on the job at hand, not daydream about smearing icing all over the sexy baker…and licking it off. This job is the key to getting his construction company back on its feet after his time in prison. Besides, no one deserves a fresh start more than Avery, and she certainly won’t get that with him.

After a delectable night of passion (and pie), Trace craves something more. But he’ll be damned if he’ll let his checkered past crush her dreams. And as Avery starts to realize how Trace fulfills more than just her physical needs, she struggles with whether to let her history decide her future, or explore the wild new possibilities of forever…


What’s it About? Avery Hart is newly divorced and back home in Wildwood. She wants to make her dream of turning family’s bar into a bakery come true but first she needs a contractor. Enter Trace Hutton, ex-con and totally irresistible. Meanwhile Trace things Avery is pretty irresistible too, but he’s trying to get his construction business steady and thinks Avery needs someone that doesn’t have a past like his.

Tuesday, May 8, 2018

Product Review: Xyron 150 and 250 sticker makers

Stickers are a great way to add a bit of fun to pretty much anything. Cards, toys, books, planners… And in my case as a kid, my face. I personally LOVE stickers but like everything else I do, I like to customize and choose what I stick on my planner, or my bullet journal.

Enter technology. Gone are the days where what you found in the store was all you were going to get. Now you can pluck almost anything from the internet and turn it into a sticker for your own personal use. I love that. You have so many machines that will print and even cut stickers for you so that all you have to do is peel them off the backing. I’ve seen the cricut line of machines and they are totally drool worthy. What’s not drool worthy though is the price of these machines. $300 and sometimes even more! Ouch right? I mean if you’ve got it then go for it but I personally don’t have that much lying around to spend on a machine that is pretty much just for my own personal use. If you want to start a sticker business then I highly recommend you invest in one of these machines. Not because I’ve used one though I’d love to one day, but because I’ve talked to people who do have them and they swear it’s easier on you.

Tuesday Jams


Brazen Babe Reviews have this awesome meme called Tuesday Jams where you share a song that you currently love and can't get out of your head (Or in my case, off "repeat" on my iPod). Everyone's welcome to join in, the more the merrier! Be sure to leave your link on their blog post so that others can stop by and see your selection!

So, the one other thing I love just as much as reading? Listening to music! Though the majority of my music is modern country or movie scores, I do listen to a little bit of everything and am always on the look out for more music to add to my collection (You should see my iTunes library, it's HUGE). That's why Tuesday Jams has just become one of my new favorite memes!

Can't get out of my head song(s) this week are: Graffiti U by Keith Urban.
I’m rocking out to the whole album right now. It’s country lyrics but the melodies are influenced by almost every type of music. A dash of reggae, some R&B, Pop… it’s good.

Tell Me Something Tuesday: Those Colorful Covers!


Tell Me Something Tuesday is a weekly discussion that was hosted on Rainy Day Ramblings and can now be found over on That Artsy Reader Girl where a wide range of topics from books to blogging are discussed. Weigh in and join the conversation by adding your thoughts in the comments. If you want to do your own post, grab the question and answer it on your blog!

This Week’s Topic: Books with my favorite color on the cover (Or in the title).

Monday, May 7, 2018

Review: Can't Hardly Breathe by Gena Showalter

Honestly it took me almost a year to finish reading this one. It wasn’t my cup of tea which was surprising given who the author is.

Format: .mobi (A copy of this book was provided by the publisher via NetGalley for the purpose of an honest review. )
Publisher: Harlequin
Release Date: August 29, 2017

New York Times bestselling author Gena Showalter returns with an irresistible Original Heartbreakers story about a woman who’s never felt desired and the man who wants her more than air to breathe…

Bullied in high school, Dorothea Mathis’s past is full of memories she’d rather forget. But there’s one she can’t seem to shake — her longstanding crush on former Army Ranger Daniel Porter. Now that the sexy bad boy has started using her inn as his personal playground, she should kick him out...but his every heated glance makes her want to join him instead.

Daniel returned to Strawberry Valley, Oklahoma, to care for his ailing father and burn off a little steam with no strings attached. Though he craves the curvy Dorothea night and day, he’s as marred by his past as she is by hers. The more he desires her, the more he fears losing her.

But every sizzling encounter leaves him desperate for more, and soon Daniel must make a choice: take a chance on love or walk away forever.

Friday, May 4, 2018

Favorite Character Friday: Nicole


FCF has changed! I think there are way too many great characters out there to limit them to just books so start talking about your favorite characters from movies, tv shows, AND books. Show me your favorites!

Favorite Character Friday is a weekly meme hosted by Adria's Musings & Reviews that gives readers a chance to celebrate their favorite characters, because with millions of books, tv shows, and movies out there and more coming out constantly, characters are like potato chips, you can't have just one.

How it works: Every week highlight one of your favorite characters. Be sure to include where they’re from (Book, TV Show, Movie) as well! Share the love and maybe someone will check it out and see why that character is one of your favorites! Unlike the Book Boyfriend meme (which was a great meme), your Favorite Character Fridays choice can be male or female and can be from TV or Movies!

Be sure to link back to Adria's Musings &Reviews and share the link via the linky widget below.

Favorite Character: Nicole Huntington Grimaldi

Thursday, May 3, 2018

Review: A Duke Like No Other by Valerie Bowman

I feel like I’ve just scheduled so-so reviews for the past two weeks, but finally here is one I really enjoyed. Of course, I’m a fan of this series in general so it wasn’t a big surprise that the Grimaldis were entertaining.

Format: .mobi (A copy of this book was provided by the publisher via NetGalley for the purpose of an honest review. )
Publisher: St. Martin’s Press
Release Date: May 1, 2018

First comes love, then comes marriage. Unless it's the otherway around. . .

General Mark Grimaldi has sacrificed everything for his military career, working his way through the ranks without the benefit of a nobleman's title. Now, his years of dedication are about to pay off—with an offer for a prestigious promotion to Home Secretary. There's only one condition: Mark must be married. Aside from the small matter of not actually wanting to be wed, Mark faces another troubling problem: he already has a wife.

Nicole Huntington Grimaldi has spent ten contented years in France without her husband—and without regret. When Mark asks her to return to London and play the part of his beloved wife, she sees her chance. But neither of them is prepared for news that will throw Mark's future into chaos...nor the undeniable desire they've rekindled. Maybe happily-ever-after can happen the second time around in A Duke Like No Other, the next Regency romance from Valerie Bowman.

Wednesday, May 2, 2018

Well Dang This Sucks.

Well isn't this a fix.

I actually had a post that was going to go up today. A review for a really good book all written in Word waiting to be copied and pasted then scheduled for today.

Tuesday, May 1, 2018

Review: The Legend by Donna Grant

I'm thinking that this might be it for me with this series. I like the premise but sometimes the execution leaves a lot to be desired.

Also, happy May everyone!

Format: .mobi (A copy of this book was provided by the publisher via NetGalley for the purpose of an honest review. )
Publisher: St. Martin’s Press
Release Date: June 27, 2017

A LONE STAR LOVER

Callie Reed doesn’t need a man to protect her. An expert sharpshooter and renegade hacker, this Texas-born spitfire’s got the skills and the courage to stand up to any danger―no matter how deadly. But when she becomes the target of a shadowy organization known as the Saints, Callie is forced to team up with the one man she can’t outshoot: the gorgeous, and infuriating, Lone Star legend named Wyatt Loughman…

A Delta Force Colonel with a rock-hard body and stone-cold heart, Wyatt has been teasing and tormenting Callie since they were playmates on his family’s ranch. Of course, he’s wildly attracted to the fiery, strong-willed Callie. But he’s always hidden his feelings behind a wall of Texas tough and military cool, even as he’s burning up with desire. Can Wyatt save Callie’s life―without putting her love in the line of fire?

Monday, April 30, 2018

Blog All About It: April


Good grief but this month flew by fast! I almost completely missed out on this month’s theme which would have been a shame because it’s one of my favorite things.
ART!

Friday, April 27, 2018

Favorite Character Friday: Niles


FCF has changed! I think there are way too many great characters out there to limit them to just books so start talking about your favorite characters from movies, tv shows, AND books. Show me your favorites!

Favorite Character Friday is a weekly meme hosted by Adria's Musings & Reviews that gives readers a chance to celebrate their favorite characters, because with millions of books, tv shows, and movies out there and more coming out constantly, characters are like potato chips, you can't have just one.

How it works: Every week highlight one of your favorite characters. Be sure to include where they’re from (Book, TV Show, Movie) as well! Share the love and maybe someone will check it out and see why that character is one of your favorites! Unlike the Book Boyfriend meme (which was a great meme), your Favorite Character Fridays choice can be male or female and can be from TV or Movies!

Be sure to link back to Adria's Musings &Reviews and share the link via the linky widget below.

Favorite Character: Niles Crane

Thursday, April 26, 2018

Non-Fiction Review: There I Go Again by William Daniels

I enjoy reading about prominent and not so prominent figures from time to time. I'm happy to say this was one of those times where an autobiography did what it was supposed to without going overboard.


Format: .mobi (A copy of this book was provided by the publisher via NetGalley the purpose of an honest review. )
Publisher: University of Nebraska Press
Release Date: March 1, 2017

There I Go Again is a celebrity memoir like no other, revealing the life of a man whose acting career has been so rich that millions of Americans know his face even while they might not recognize his name.

William Daniels is an enigma—a rare chameleon who has enjoyed massive success both in Hollywood and on Broadway and been embraced by fans of successive generations. Few of his peers inspire the fervor with which buffs celebrate his most iconic roles, among them George Feeny in Boy Meets World, KITT in Knight Rider, Dr. Mark Craig in St. Elsewhere, and John Adams in the play and film 1776.

Daniels guides readers through some of Hollywood’s most cherished productions, offering recollections of entertainment legends including Lauren Bacall, Warren Beatty, Kirk Douglas, Michael Douglas, Audrey Hepburn, Marilyn Monroe, Mike Nichols, Jason Robards, Barbra Streisand, and many more.

Looking back on his seventy-five-plus-year career, Daniels realizes that although he never had the courage to say “no” to being an actor, he backed into stardom. With his wife, actress Bonnie Bartlett, by his side, he came to realize that he wound up exactly where he was supposed to be: on the screen and stage.


Wednesday, April 25, 2018

Review: Runaway Groom by Lauren Layne

I’m not going to lie, Lauren Layne is one of those authors whose books I have a 50/50 relationship with. I have loved some of her books, and I have hated some of her books. This series has charmed me from the beginning and while this book was good, it had one big thing that had me slamming on the brakes early on and re-calibrating my mind.

Format: .mobi (A copy of this book was provided by the publisher via NetGalley for the purpose of an honest review. )
Publisher: Loveswept
Release Date: January
For one charming playboy, getting cast on a Bachelor-esque reality TV show is the shock of a lifetime—until he finds love where he least expects it. And now the chase is on!

Gage Barrett’s reputation as a ladies’ man has been greatly exaggerated, but none of that matters after a drunken bet lands him on Jilted, a reality TV show that matches runaway grooms with wannabe brides. Now he’s stuck at a Hawaiian resort with nineteen women competing to drag him back to the altar—and one contestant who’s even more miserable than he is. Gage has no idea how feisty, independent Ellie Wright wound up in the cast, but it’s obvious she hates his guts. And if there’s one thing Gage likes, it’s a challenge. . . .

Ellie can’t believe she let her best friend talk her into exchanging her dignity for a glorified bikini contest. Still, she could use the exposure—her business is struggling—and she’ll probably be one of the first to get eliminated anyway. But Gage isn’t the shallow jerk Ellie anticipated—and he’s in no rush to send her home. As stolen kisses turn into secret trysts, she finds herself losing track of what’s real and what’s for the camera. With the wedding finale looming, this runaway groom is tempting Ellie to start believing in storybook endings.

Tuesday, April 24, 2018

Meme: Tell Me Something Tuesday



Tell Me Something Tuesday is a weekly discussion hosted on Rainy Day Ramblings where a wide range of topics from books to blogging are discussed. Weigh in and join the conversation by adding your thoughts in the comments. If you want to do your own post, grab the question and answer it on your blog!

This Week’s Question: Do you still accept review requests? Why or why not?

* Just memes today folks, I am feeling dreadfully unwell and kind of wanted to keep things simple and fun today. Hopefully tomorrow is better.

Meme: Tuesday Jams


Brazen Babe Reviews have this awesome meme called Tuesday Jams where you share a song that you currently love and can't get out of your head (Or in my case, off "repeat" on my iPod). Everyone's welcome to join in, the more the merrier! Be sure to leave your link on their blog post so that others can stop by and see your selection!

So, the one other thing I love just as much as reading? Listening to music! Though the majority of my music is modern country or movie scores, I do listen to a little bit of everything and am always on the look out for more music to add to my collection (You should see my iTunes library, it's HUGE). That's why Tuesday Jams has just become one of my new favorite memes!

Can't get out of my head song(s) this week are: Meant to Be by Bebe Rexha and Florida Georgia Line.

More singers need to collaborate. Really. I love collaborations, especially when the artists in question are from different music genres.

Meme: Top Ten Tuesday



Hosted by The Broke and the Bookish and now moved to That Artsy Reader Girl, Top Ten Tuesday is a celebration of lists! Each week a theme will be posted and bloggers will post their lists on their respective blogs. Some themes are pretty straightforward and others are open for interpretation.

This week’s Topic: Frequently Used Words in Romance Titles

Monday, April 23, 2018

Review: Forget You by Nina Crespo

I’ve enjoyed this author before but this book wasn’t one of the best I’ve read.

Format: .mobi (A copy of this book was provided by the publisher via NetGalley for the purpose of an honest review. )
Publisher: Pocket Books
Release Date: April 16, 2018

In this steamy and sexy first book in the Kingman Brothers series—filled with relatable moments and electrical tension—a disgruntled assistant is wrangled into staying on to help her boss when he suffers from amnesia after a plane crash.

Sophie Jordan dreams about hooking up with Nicolas “King” Kingman—the gorgeous CEO of her company—but as her boss, he’ll always remain out of reach. King knows he isn’t built for happily-ever-afters and only indulges in brief romantic encounters. But when Sophie agrees to fill in as his last-minute date to a charity gala, an unexpected discovery quickly escalates their platonic relationship to one of passion.

King is determined to ignore their attraction and, feeling betrayed, Sophie severs ties with him and the company. Everything changes, however, when he’s injured in an accident, and Sophie agrees to help until he closes a major deal. Unfortunately, he’s developed amnesia, and although he doesn’t remember their night together, desire binds them in ways they can’t resist.

Time is running out on closing the deal, as well as Sophie moving on to her new career. Will King deny love in favor of winning and lose Sophie forever?