Taking Review Requests: Not at the moment, but if you're requesting a guest post, interview etc then please see my policy before requesting.

Hosting Giveaways: Yes

Accepting Author Interviews/Guest Posts: Yes

• My review policy and contact info is located OVER HERE.

Bloggers, I would love to interview you, have you guest post and/or guest review here! Please contact me if you're interested!




Wednesday, November 30, 2016

Review: Mistletoe, Mischief, and the Marquis by Amelia Grey


This holiday romance is one I really recommend to readers looking to brighten up their day. It was sweet (but not in a sickening way), and had plenty of fun moments in it. This is why I miss snow people!

Format: .mobi (A copy of this book was provided by the publisher via NetGalley for the purpose of an honest review. )
Publisher: Swerve
Release Date: November 29, 2016

The Marquis of Wythebury, is expecting an ordinary Christmastide at Hurst—until he is set upon by a beautiful miss who takes him to task for not allowing his young nephews to play outside. In his mind, a five and seven year old needn’t get chilled in the snow; better to plop them in front of the fire with a book. Few people have ever been brave enough to challenge him over anything, much less the rearing of his wards. The cheeky Miss Prim has no such compunction. No matter how fetching he finds her, he can’t give in to his attraction…for she is the sister of his best friend.

Growing up the middle child of five rambunctious girls, Lillian Prim doesn’t understand why two young boys visiting Hurst don’t know how to play until she meets their dashing guardian. The Marquis of Wythebury is commanding and intensely serious-minded. To her surprise, she’s captivated by him. It’s all she can do not to give into her feminine fantasies about him kissing him. Lillian has no intention of falling in love with the Marquis, but she will create Christmastide mischief and teach the boys and the handsome Marquis how to play.


Seth Wythebury, the Marquis of Wythebury has been left in charge of his young nephews and plans on keeping them safe while they grow up to be proper gentlemen but when he and the boys meet Lillian Prim all bets are off. Lillian scolds Seth for not allowing the boys to be children, which of course includes letting them play outside. Caught off guard, Seth doesn't know what to make of Lillian or the attraction he feels towards her. Lillian is determined to create mischief and involve the boys in as many fun child like pursuits as possible and will even involve the stern Marquis just so that the three of them can learn how to have fun.

Tuesday, November 29, 2016

Review: Duke of Pleasure by Elizabeth Hoyt


*Sigh* A woman dressed as a boy who also happens to be a vigilante superhero in Georgian England and saves the life of the hero in the first few pages. Only Elizabeth Hoyt can pull that off!


Format: .mobi (A copy of this book was provided by the publisher via NetGalley for the purpose of an honest review. )
Publisher: Forever
Release Date: November 29, 2016

IN THE ARMS OF DANGER
Bold. Brave. Brutally handsome. Hugh Fitzroy, the Duke of Kyle, is the king's secret weapon. Sent to defeat the notorious Lords of Chaos, he is ambushed in a London alley-and rescued by an unlikely ally: a masked stranger with the unmistakable curves of a woman.

IN THE HEAT OF DESIRE
Cocky. Clever. Courageously independent. Alf has survived on the perilous streets of St. Giles by disguising her sex. By day she is a boy, dealing in information and secrets. By night she's the notorious Ghost of St. Giles, a masked vigilante. But as she saves Hugh from assassins, she finds herself succumbing to temptation . . .

ONE KISS WILL CHANGE THEIR LIVES FOREVER
When Hugh hires Alf to investigate the Lords of Chaos, her worlds collide. Once Hugh realizes that the boy and the Ghost are the same, will Alf find the courage to become the woman she needs to be-before the Lords of Chaos destroy them both?




Alf gets her own story! She’s been present in several books in the series as a supporting character and always managed to leave an impression! And who better to be her match than Hugh Fitzroy, the Duke of Kyle? The story opens up with Hugh being attacked in an alley only to be rescued by the notorious Ghost of St. Giles. Caught up in the fight, Hugh stumbles upon the Ghost’s secret: He’s not a he, he’s a she. Later, Hugh hires the equally notorious boy informant Alf to help him find out who is a member of the Lords of Chaos before they make their next move and in the process Hugh discovers that Alf isn’t a boy and that she’s the Ghost of St. Giles! Then things get super interesting because for the first time, Alf is questioning her decision to spend her life disguised as a boy.

Tuesday Jams: A Little Irish Today



Brazen Babe Reviews have this awesome meme called Tuesday Jams where you share a song that you currently love and can't get out of your head (Or in my case, off "repeat" on my iPod). Everyone's welcome to join in, the more the merrier! Be sure to leave your link on their blog post so that others can stop by and see your selection!

So, the one other thing I love just as much as reading? Listening to music! Though the majority of my music is modern country or movie scores, I do listen to a little bit of everything and am always on the look out for more music to add to my collection (You should see my iTunes library, it's HUGE). That's why Tuesday Jams has just become one of my new favorite memes!

Can't get out of my head song(s) this week are:I Do What I Like by The Corrs.

I didn’t even know they had released a new album a year ago! How sad is that? I love this group and I think they’re one of the most overlooked acts in the music industry. Their one US hit, Breathless was a great song but after that, nada. So it’s nice to see that they’re still going, even if it’s only in Europe.

Monday, November 28, 2016

Review: Playing It Cool by Amy Andrews


Yes! My faith has been restored in this series!

Format: .mobi (A copy of this book was provided by the publisher via NetGalley for the purpose of an honest review. )
Publisher: Brazen
Release Date: September 12, 2016

Harper Nugent might have a little extra junk in her trunk, but her stepbrother calling her out on it is the last straw... When rugby hottie, Dexter Blake, witnesses the insult, he surprises Harper by asking her out. In front of her dumbass brother. Score! Of course, she knows it's not for real, but Dex won't take no for an answer.

Dexter Blake's life revolves around rugby with one hard and fast rule: no women. Sure, his left hand is getting a workout, but he's focused on his career for now. Then he overhears an asshat reporter belittle the curvy chick he'd been secretly ogling. What's a guy to do but ask her out? It's just a little revenge against a poser, and then he'll get his head back in the game.

But the date is better than either expected. So is the next one. And the next. And the heat between them...sizzles their clothes right off.
Suddenly, this fake relationship is feeling all too real...



I really loved the set up to this story! Dexter Blake wants to concentrate on his rugby playing and leave the woman chasing to the other guys on the team. After all, he feels he only has a few more years left of playing before it’s time to move on and he figures he can chase women all he wants after that. However, after he hears a reporter insult the curvy woman he’s secretly been checking out, all bets are off. Dex asks Harper out in front of her insulting stepbrother just to needle him, and Harper agrees, well aware that it’s all an act to make her stepbrother fume. But the chemistry between them goes from 10 to 100 quickly and soon one “fake” date turns into another, and another, and another.

Quote-Tastic: She Hates Him Doesn't She?



Hosted by Herding Cats and Burning Soup, Quote-tastic is a weekly Monday meme that gives readers a chance to share their favorite book quotes. So settle back, share your favorite quotes and help me add to my TBR mountain, er, have fun?

This week's quote:Wicked Intentions by Elizabeth Hoyt. This book should be free starting to day until December 12, so if you haven’t started Hoyt’s Maiden Lane series now is your chance to get the first book free!

Friday, November 25, 2016

In Her Own Words: Hayley's First Thanksgiving


Name: Hayley
Nicknames: Hayley Bean, Haywee (Thanks to the little boy up the street who can’t pronounce my name), The Velvet Burrito, The Itty Bitty Pittie, Mini Bull, Pittiepotomus, Hayley the Mini Hippo, The Foodie, Havoc Hayley… They keep adding more so…
Favorite Pastimes: Eating. Snacking. Munching. Chewing. Stealing shoes. Going for walks. Going to Starbucks!!!!
Random Facts: I have an opinion about everything. Also, I don't like it when momma takes forever to feed me.
Age: I’m told around 2 but that I act like 6 months.
Breed: Staffordshire Terrier or as my mom likes to say Staffordshire TERROR.


So I had my first Thanksgiving, well not my first but the first where I was given a place at the table. Well, okay not an actual table cause I can’t sit still to save my life but I was included in all the planning and even had my own Hayley safe Thanksgiving meal! ZOMG and I got to try this thing called sweet potato, it was SOOOO good!


Thursday, November 24, 2016

Happy Thanksgiving!





Happy Thanksgiving to everyone who celebrates and to those of you who are crazy enough to brave Black Friday I wish you luck! Since almost everyone is going to be busy with family, today I’ll just share some of my favorite Thanksgiving memes.

I hope you’ll check in tomorrow though because Hayley will be sharing her first Thanksgiving experience complete with photos, video, and embarrassing stories I’m sure. She’s already been a little hellion during the pre-Thanksgiving meal prep so… Yeah, she’s going to have a lot to say.

Wednesday, November 23, 2016

Review: Dark Protector by Katie Reus


Oh this one had all sorts of yummy paranormal goodness in it!

Format: .mobi (A copy of this book was provided by the publisher via NetGalley for the purpose of an honest review. )
Publisher: KR Press LLC
Release Date: November 15, 2016

He walked away once; he won't do it again.
Wolf shifter Aldric Kazan is no stranger to pain. Since the loss of his mate a century ago, he won't allow himself to fall for someone again—not even the feisty female who stirs things in him that he thought were gone long ago. But as a supernatural investigator, he's forced to team up with the same woman he vowed to stay away from.

She let him in once; she refuses to do it again.
Natalia Cordona refuses to back down from any challenge—even if it means joining forces with Aldric, the sexy and brooding man who won't get too close. Locating missing vampires before a volatile war breaks out seems nearly impossible as the duo struggle with their explosive and undeniable attraction. Now it's up to Natalia and Aldric to trust each other to stop an all-out war from breaking out that would destroy the harmony they've all worked so hard for.



Basically, after Aldric left Natalia high and dry for five months he’s back in her life but this time they have to work together to find out who is trying to start a war between vampires and shifters. Aldric hasn’t forgotten how attracted to Natalia but he didn’t expect her to put a stop to his pursuit of her this time around. Natalia doesn’t trust Aldric anymore and she’s quick to let him know, but she’s still attracted to him. However, they’re spending a lot of time together and in between investigating suspects there’s not much else to do but talk and Aldric isn’t going to let Natalia go again without a fight. But Natalia’s willing to fight him tooth and nail in order to protect herself from being hurt again.

Waiting on Wednesday:


"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

This week's pre-publication "can't-wait-to-read" selection is: Wolf Unleashed by Paige Tyler

I love this series by Paige Tyler but I just know this one is going to make me cry because it touches on something I’m very passionate about and I’m sure Paige Tyler isn’t going to paint it pretty but rather she’ll paint it very realistically.

Tuesday, November 22, 2016

Audiobook Review: Heath by Melissa Foster, Narrated by Robert Ashker Kraft


I'm liking this sexier side of Melissa Foster's books more and more!

Format: Audio (A copy of this audiobook was provided by the author for the purpose of an honest review.)
Publisher: Melissa Foster
Release Date: June 22, 2016
Narrator: Robert Ashker Kraft

Everything's naughtier after dark...
No last names. No strings. No ties.
Except of the silk variety.

Dr. Heath Wild and Allyson Jenner only wanted a simple tryst. But Heath couldn't live with just one night, just one taste, of Ally--and Ally couldn't escape the memory of his hands on her skin, the way he looked at her like she was his obsession, or his seduction, which had pushed her to the edge and had made her want to do things she never had before.

One night leads to one tantalizing phone call. Can one phone call lead to forever?



The next book in the Wild Boys After Dark has such a simple set up, I can tell you in one sentence: Heath Wild and Allyson Jenner were only supposed to have one night together but after that one night neither one is satisfied and the two begin to make their way towards a possible forever. How’s that for a setup? There’s actually a lot more going for it than just that simple summary though.

Tuesday Jams: New Discovery for Me!

Brazen Babe Reviews have this awesome meme called Tuesday Jams where you share a song that you currently love and can't get out of your head (Or in my case, off "repeat" on my iPod). Everyone's welcome to join in, the more the merrier! Be sure to leave your link on their blog post so that others can stop by and see your selection!

So, the one other thing I love just as much as reading? Listening to music! Though the majority of my music is modern country or movie scores, I do listen to a little bit of everything and am always on the look out for more music to add to my collection (You should see my iTunes library, it's HUGE). That's why Tuesday Jams has just become one of my new favorite memes!

Can't get out of my head song(s) this week are:The Arena by Lindsey Stirling

Okay so I actually do remember seeing her on TV. I think it was a short segment on Entertainment Tonight and I remember saying “Oh wow, she dances while playing the violin!” And that was it. Fast forward three years and while surfing on YouTube I see this video with Derek Hough (Dancing with the Stars in case you didn’t know) and I well damn but it’s a good video and the music is amazing! So yeah, I’m a brand new fan of Lindsey Stirling.

Monday, November 21, 2016

Review: Seducing the Bridesmaid by Katee Robert


Format: .mobi (A copy of this book was provided by the publisher via NetGalley for the purpose of an honest review. )
Publisher: Brazen
Release Date: June 9, 2014

She has a plan. He’s about to change it.
 
Regan Wakefield is a headhunter in both name and personality: driven, motivated, and unafraid to pursue what—and who—she wants. Naturally, she’s thrilled when her friend’s wedding offers her an opportunity to score Logan McCade, the practically perfect best man. Unfortunately, groomsman Brock McNeil keeps getting in her way, riling her up in the most delicious of ways. But Brock’s smooth southern charm isn’t part of the plan…so how exactly did they end up having searing-hot sex?

Regan may pretend the erotic electricity sparking between them is merely a distraction, but Brock knows better. She refuses to see beyond the devil-may-care fa├žade he presents to the world, while he sees straight through hers. Changing her mind—and getting under her skin—is a challenge he can’t resist. And when he wins, Brock will do whatever it takes to convince Regan that the best man for her is him.



Regan is bold, daring, and used to going after what she wants so when her friend’s wedding gives her the opportunity to pursue best man Logan McCade, Regan is determined to win him over. Unfortunately, she wasn’t counting on groomsman Brock McNeil getting in her way with his southern charm. He’s definitely not what Regan wants yet they end up having what she thinks is a “one and done.” Except Brock knows that the chemistry between them is something different and is just as determined to prove it to Regan as she is to forget they ever spent the night together. What results is a battle of wills with a side of red hot chemistry thrown in for fun. Oh, and shenanigans. Lots and lots of shenanigans going on between the rest of the bridal party.

Quote-Tastic: Reseph!



Hosted by Herding Cats and Burning Soup, Quote-tastic is a weekly Monday meme that gives readers a chance to share their favorite book quotes. So settle back, share your favorite quotes and help me add to my TBR mountain, er, have fun?

This week's quote: is from Rogue Rider by Larissa Ione.

I’m feeling a little nostalgic because I miss the Demonica/Horseman series so much. It is hands down one of the best paranormal romance series ever. So I picked a scene where there’s a big reveal for a character that has been around since the first book and up until this point hasn’t gotten many answers about his past or why his memories were wiped.

Friday, November 18, 2016

Adria Picks Twenty: A Continuation



Okay so I’m a compulsive list maker. I have lists for EVERYTHING all over the place. Some of my lists are funny or straight up weird so I thought Why not share them?. Maybe they’ll be good for a laugh.

Now I know that Broke and Bookish has Top Ten Tuesday but the difference between theirs and mine is that I’ve had most of these lists for a while and most of them are WAY over 10 things.

Today’s List: A Continuation of My Favorite Movies!

So earlier this week I took part in Broke and Bookish’s Top Ten meme in which we had to list our top ten movies. I could only choose 10!!! I have much more than that! So here are the rest of my favorite movies (In no order because I need my sanity).

Thursday, November 17, 2016

Review: A Season of Ruin by Anna Bradley



Those Sutherlands are certainly something else!

Format: .mobi (A copy of this book was provided by the publisher via NetGalley for the purpose of an honest review. )
Publisher: Berkley Romance
Release Date: August 2, 2016

Lily Somerset’s plan for the London season is simple: courtship, marriage to a respectable gentleman, then the comfortable existence of a proper Lady. That is, until one tiny misstep leaves Lily on the edge of social ruin, forcing her to depend on a wicked rogue to save her reputation.

Robyn Sutherland doesn’t save reputations—he sullies them. He'd rather be drawn and quartered than find himself spending the season as Lily's escort. But he has no choice but to stay until her tattered standing is mended.

What begins as a ruse to deceive London soon flames into an uncontrollable passion. Robyn calls to the wild spirit that lurks beneath Lily’s prim exterior, and Lily awakens the hero’s heart within Robyn. But can these unlikely lovers trust themselves enough to let desire overrule reason?



Lily’s perfectly planned London season basically goes to hell in a hand basket when a social misstep lands her on the front pages of a notorious gossip column. Her “partner in crime?” None other than Robyn Sutherland, wicked rogue, ruiner of ladies, and now, Lily’s only hope of salvaging what’s left her reputation. The plan is simple: Robyn will act as Lily’s escort for the whole season in order to squash any talk of impropriety between the two but Robyn isn’t known for keeping promises or saving anyone, until now. Spending so much time with Lily is starting to make him want to be a hero and Lily is starting to want to spend more and more time with him as well.

Wednesday, November 16, 2016

Review: For Better or Worse by Lauren Layne



So, this book... It didn't really work for me. The series is great but this one didn't really live up to the previous book or even the novella.

Format: .mobi (A copy of this book was provided by the publisher via NetGalley for the purpose of an honest review. )
Publisher: Pocket Books
Release Date: August 30, 2016

When small-town girl Heather Fowler finally gets promoted from assistant to actual wedding planner, she’s determined to make it as one of Manhattan’s elite Wedding Belles. Unfortunately, her first client demands an opulent black-tie affair at the Plaza…in five months’ time. Heather’s days quickly become a flurry of cake tastings, dress-fittings, RSVP cards, and bridal tantrums. But what she’s really losing sleep over is the live music blaring from her playboy neighbor’s apartment all night.

Five years ago, Josh Tanner was an up-and-comer on Wall Street, complete with the penthouse and the migraines. But a grim cancer diagnosis made him realize there is more to life than the corner office. If only he could convince his pretty, workaholic neighbor to let loose, too. As Heather lets down her guard, Josh is surprised when he starts falling for the sweet, vulnerable woman hiding beneath those power suits. Soon, it’s Heather’s turn to convince Josh to take the biggest risk of all: love.


So I didn’t care too much for this book in the Wedding Belles and I was a bit disappointed by the hero AND the heroine. Basically the story is that Josh used to be this big shot up and comer on Wall Street but then he faced cancer and decided that life was made for living. He meets his workaholic neighbor Heather and the two butt heads and later add hook ups of the no string variety. Soon though, Heather is falling and Josh is too but he’s in denial about the whole thing for one very big, secret reason.

Waiting on Wednesday: Alf's Story!


"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

This week's pre-publication "can't-wait-to-read" selection is: Duke of Pleasure by Elizabeth Hoyt

Tuesday, November 15, 2016

Review: Shadow Falling by Rebecca Zanetti



Honestly, I was torn on what to say about this book. There was part of me that was engrossed in the story that is part of a bigger plot and a part of me that was turned off at times by the characters’ behaviors. That’s why it’s taken me so long to write a review for this book, much less weigh out how I should rate it. Hopefully I give you a decent enough review to help you decide whether or not this book is for you in case you’re on the fence.

Format: .mobi (A copy of this book was provided by the publisher via NetGalley for the purpose of an honest review. )
Publisher: Kensington
Release Date: August 30, 2016

Before the Scorpius Syndrome tore through North America and nearly wiped out the population, Vivienne Wellington was the FBI’s best profiler. The bacteria got her anyway. But she survived. She recovered. And when she woke up from a drug-nightmare of captivity, her trust in her fellow man had gone from shaky at best to nonexistent. Her mysterious rescuer wants to convince her he’s the exception. But no matter how tempting he is, with his angel’s eyes and devil’s tongue, Vinnie knows she shouldn’t trust him.

If the FBI were still around they would rate Raze Shadow as one of the bad guys. His military training can’t wipe out his association with the Mercenaries, the most feared gang in a thousand miles. His loyalties are compromised. He won’t even tell Vinnie his real name. But there’s no FBI in the new America of fear and firepower, only instinct and risk. And the way his arms wrap around her tells its own story. Whatever else Raze is concealing, he can’t hide his desire . . .



To recap: Vivienne Wellington was the FBI’s best profiler, then the Scorpious Syndrome hit and Vinnie survived it only to be taken captive by someone else who survived Scorpious but came out a few straws short of sane. When she’s rescued by mystery man Raze, she knows he’s hiding something and while she’s attracted to him she refuses to trust him. Raze on the other hand is juggling a difficult decision: Do the job he was ordered to do, or make a new home among some of the survivors, and Vinnie.

Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite Movies


Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. This feature was created because the ladies over at The Broke and the Bookish are quite fond of lists.

I just love this idea because I'm a compulsive list maker and I'm always writing more.

This Week's Theme: Movies. Okay so this was an extremely difficult theme because I have a long list of all time favorite movies and picking just ten made me sweat a bit. I'll probably post the rest of my list sometime down the line. But in the meantime here's my top ten list of all time favorite movies in no particular order because I'm ready to cry because I had to cut out about 25 movies.


Tuesday Jams: One of My Favorite Christmas Songs

Brazen Babe Reviews have this awesome meme called Tuesday Jams where you share a song that you currently love and can't get out of your head (Or in my case, off "repeat" on my iPod). Everyone's welcome to join in, the more the merrier! Be sure to leave your link on their blog post so that others can stop by and see your selection!

So, the one other thing I love just as much as reading? Listening to music! Though the majority of my music is modern country or movie scores, I do listen to a little bit of everything and am always on the look out for more music to add to my collection (You should see my iTunes library, it's HUGE). That's why Tuesday Jams has just become one of my new favorite memes!

Can't get out of my head song(s) this week are: The Nutcracker: Scene XIII - Waltz Of The Flowers by The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra.

From now until Christmas, I’ll try to include at least one Christmas song on Tuesdays because sometimes we just need the silly or the fun of it all. I know I do.

Monday, November 14, 2016

Review: Dangerously Red by Kristin Miller



Ivy's time is up in the conclusion to the Dark and Dirty serial!

Format: .mobi (A copy of this book was provided by the publisher via NetGalley for the purpose of an honest review. )
Publisher: Entangled Scorched
Release Date: July 18, 2016

In part three of the new Dark and Dirty Tale serial by New York Times and USA best-selling author Kristin Miller, the time has come for Red to choose. But things are not always as they seem…

Before the night is through, I’ll join the Arcana wolf pack, declare a mate, and transition into a wolf for the first time. I must decide between Reaper, the devilishly sexy huntsman, and Lukas, the fiercely controlling Alpha. Both pleasure me senseless, taking me to heights I’ve never known. But I can’t have both.

Time is up, and I must choose.

But Lukas just dropped a bombshell. If I declare him as my mate, no other person is allowed to touch me. Ever. Not a handshake or a good-bye hug. Talk about stifling. Not to mention, the Omega has all but forbidden me to choose Reaper. As I stand before the pack, I must decide…the man who unleashes dark desires inside me, or the man I’m forbidden to love.





The conclusion to Kristin Miller’s Dark and Dirty Tale serial basically reveals who Ivy picks to mate with, Lucas, the Alpha of the pack or Reaper, the Omega. Ivy’s spent time with and is attracted to both males but as time runs out she has to make a decision that she’ll have to live with for the rest of her life. Meanwhile, Reaper plans on continuing the search for his parents’ murderer with or without Ivy. Decisions, decisions right?

Friday, November 11, 2016

Favorite Character Friday: Evie!!!


Favorite Character Friday is a weekly meme hosted by Adria's Romance Reviews that gives readers a chance to celebrate their favorite characters!

Why a weekly meme? Because really, with millions of books out there and more coming out every week, characters are like potato chips, you can't have just one.

How it works: Every week you pick one of your favorite characters and tell every one who it is, what book they're from and WHY they're one of your favorite characters. Be sure to include the blurb and book cover as well! Share the love and maybe someone will read that same book and see why that character is one of your favorites! Unlike the Book Boyfriend meme (which was a great meme), your Favorite Character Fridays choice can be male or female!

Be sure to link back to Adria's Romance Reviews and share the link via the linky widget below.

I ALMOST didn’t make it to post today! I’m catching a cold, my mom’s catching a cold, Hayley destroyed my mom’s knitting needles… Lol, anyway I think we’re good to go until Monday.

Favorite Character: Evangeline Jenner

Thursday, November 10, 2016

Throwback Thursday Review: Wicked Intentions by Elizabeth Hoyt

Throwback Thursday Reviews is dedicated to those books that have been around for years but you’ve only recently discovered. They’re the “New but Old” reads that are just too good NOT to talk about! Why not share them anyway? They may end up being a “New Read” for someone else too! After all, there’s no such thing as “Too Many Books!”

This Week’s Throwback Thursday Book is:Wicked Intentions by Elizabeth Hoyt

Format: .mobi (A copy of this book was provided by the publisher via NetGalley for the purpose of an honest review. )
Publisher: Forever

Release Date: August 1, 2010

A man controlled by his desires...

Infamous for his wild, sensual needs, Lazarus Huntington, Lord Caire, is searching for a savage killer in St. Giles, London's most notorious slum. Widowed Temperance Dews knows St. Giles like the back of her hand— she's spent a lifetime caring for its inhabitants at the foundling home her family established. Now that home is at risk.

A woman haunted by her past...

Caire makes a simple offer—in return for Temperance's help navigating the perilous alleys of St. Giles, he will introduce her to London's high society so that she can find a benefactor for the home. But Temperance may not be the innocent she seems, and what begins as cold calculation soon falls prey to a passion that neither can control—one that may well destroy them both.

A bargain neither could refuse.



Wednesday, November 9, 2016

Review: One Snowy Night by Jill Shalvis


Let's get those holiday romances going right? How about some Jill Shalvis? I'm just LOVING her books!

Format: .mobi (A copy of this book was provided by the publisher via Edelweiss for the purpose of an honest review. )
Publisher: Avon Impulse
Release Date: November 8, 2016

It’s Christmas Eve and Rory Andrews is desperate to get home to the family she hasn’t seen in years. Problem is, her only ride to Lake Tahoe comes in the form of the annoyingly handsome Max Stranton, and his big, goofy, lovable dog Carl.

Hours stuck in a truck with the dead sexy Max sounds like a fate worse than death (not), but Rory’s out of options. She’s had a crush on Max since high school and she knows he’s attracted to her, too. But they have history… and Max is the only one who knows why it went south.

They’ve done a good job of ignoring their chemistry so far, but a long road trip in a massive blizzard might be just what they need to face their past… and one steamy, snowy night is all it takes to bring Max and Rory together at last.



Just in time for the holidays, a short and sexy novella from a recent addition to my “Favorite Authors” list, Jill Shalvis! So Rory Andrews is finally going home to see the family she hasn’t seen in years. She has a lot to make up for and the last thing she needs is to spend the hours long trip in a truck with Max Stranton. She doesn’t mind his dog Carl, but Max is a different story. They’ve known each other since high school and back then Rory had a huge crush on him, only things went south between them and only Max knows the reason. As they begin the road trip, all manner of things throws them even closer together: Carl, a blizzard, their undeniable chemistry…

Tuesday, November 8, 2016

Review: One Summer of Surrender by Jess Michaels


Okay now THIS is what I wanted from Jess Michaels. More heat, more angst!

Format: .mobi (A copy of this book was provided by the publisher via NetGalley for the purpose of an honest review. )
Publisher: The Passionate Pen
Release Date: November 8, 2016

Lucien, the Earl of Stenfax has been engaged twice, but only in love once. That was with his childhood sweetheart, Elise. When she threw him over for a man with more money and a higher ranking title, it broke him. Now she’s widowed and he finds himself drawn to her again, like a moth to her flame.


Elise had her reasons for walking away from Lucien, reasons he doesn’t understand. Back in Society, she’s now financially desperate and is even considering becoming someone’s mistress. But Lucien keeps appearing at the most inopportune moments and it’s only a matter of time before the desire between them explodes.


Time will tell if Lucien will be able to see past his lusty drive for revenge. And if Elise can convince him she’s worthy of more, despite the past.



Now this is exactly what I expect when I sit down to read a book by Jess Michaels! I’m so glad Lucien’s story lived up to my expectations. So a few years back Lucien, now the Earl of Stenfax was head over heels in love with his childhood friend and sweetheart Elise, only she dumped him supposedly to marry a man with a higher title and more money. That event almost ended Lucien and definitely left him a shell of the man he once was. Now Elise is a widow and despite hating her for what she did to him, Lucien is still drawn to her and learns that she is so financially desperate she’s considering becoming a rich man’s mistress. Elise had her reasons for walking away from Lucien, just like she has her reasons for looking for a protector but Lucien keeps ruining her plans. Soon, Elise is forced to admit the truth to Lucien and face the consequences of the choice she made years ago, but Lucien doesn’t seem too keen on forgiving her and neither does his family.