Taking Review Requests: Not at the moment, but if you're requesting a guest post, interview etc then please see my policy before requesting.

Hosting Giveaways: Yes

Accepting Author Interviews/Guest Posts: Yes

• My review policy and contact info is located OVER HERE.

Bloggers, I would love to interview you, have you guest post and/or guest review here! Please contact me if you're interested!




Sunday, January 31, 2016

What We Watched: January 25, 2016



Okay so another of my hobbies is watching television shows. I don't do this as often because I really can't stand reality shows and that's all there is now. However, there are a few shows that have snagged my attention and while these weekly posts aren't reviews per say, I thought it might be fun to share my thoughts on each week's episodes.

My tv partner is always Mr. Pud and he ALWAYS has something to say either in a look, gesture or in simply taking some of my snacks for himself.

I hope you'll share with me YOUR thoughts on not just these shows but your own favorites too!

*** Just a warning though. Given that these are not reviews but commentaries on each show, expect SPOILERS.

My thoughts for the week of: January 25, 2016

Friday, January 29, 2016

Favorite Character Friday: Isabella Cale


Favorite Character Friday is a weekly meme hosted by Adria's Romance Reviews that gives readers a chance to celebrate their favorite characters!

Why a weekly meme? Because really, with millions of books out there and more coming out every week, characters are like potato chips, you can't have just one.

How it works: Every week you pick one of your favorite characters and tell every one who it is, what book they're from and WHY they're one of your favorite characters. Be sure to include the blurb and book cover as well! Share the love and maybe someone will read that same book and see why that character is one of your favorites! Unlike the Book Boyfriend meme (which was a great meme), your Favorite Character Fridays choice can be male or female!

Be sure to link back to Adria's Romance Reviews and share the link via the linky widget below.

Favorite Character: Isabella Cale

Thursday, January 28, 2016

Chatting with: Jen McLaughlin about Dare to Run.


Good morning everyone! It’s been awhile since I’ve had the chance to chat with an author and Jen McLaughlin is as awesome as they come. Dare to Run, the first book in a new series is out next Tuesday and I thought it’d be nice to ask Jen a few questions. You know I’m not too fond of first person books but this one is one of those rare exceptions because it had such interesting characters.

BTW, did you know that Jen also writes as Diane Alberts? I’ve totally read those books too (Entangled Brazen, you know I LOVE that line of books)!

About Jen:
Jen McLaughlin is the New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling author of sexy books with Penguin Random House. Under her pen name, Diane Alberts, she is also a USA TODAY bestselling author of Contemporary Romance with Entangled Publishing. Her first release as Jen McLaughlin, Out of Line, hit the New York Times, USA TODAY and Wall Street Journal lists. She was mentioned in Forbes alongside E. L. James as one of the breakout independent authors to dominate the bestselling lists. She is represented by Louise Fury at The Bent Agency.

Though she lives in the mountains, she really wishes she was surrounded by a hot, sunny beach with crystal-clear water. She lives in Northeast Pennsylvania with her four kids, a husband, a schnauzer mutt, and four cats. Her goal is to write so many well-crafted romance books that even a non-romance reader will know her name.


Find Author:
Online l Facebook l Twitter l Tumblr l Pinterest


Wednesday, January 27, 2016

Tasty Book Tour: Mercury Striking by Rebecca Zanetti (Review + Giveaway)


http://www.tastybooktours.com/2015/12/mercury-striking-scorpius-syndrome-1-by.html
Click on the banner for more tour stops!

Okay I can’t possibly be the only one excited for this new post apocalyptic series by Rebecca Zanetti! Thanks for stopping by the blog and don’t forget to enter the giveaway!

About Rebecca Zanetti:
USA Today Bestselling author Rebecca Zanetti has worked as an art curator, Senate aide, lawyer, college professor, and a hearing examiner - only to culminate it all in stories about Alpha males and the women who claim them. She writes contemporary romances, dark paranormal romances, and romantic suspense novels.
Growing up amid the glorious backdrops and winter wonderlands of the Pacific Northwest has given Rebecca fantastic scenery and adventures to weave into her stories. She resides in the wild north with her husband, children, and extended family who inspire her every day—or at the very least give her plenty of characters to write about.


Find Author:
Online l Facebook l Twitter l GoodReads




      Slowly, like prey, she rolled over to face Jax Mercury, bare chested, cascading heat. A jagged tattoo made up of complicated lines and sharp edges wound over his left shoulder. She could make out a 20 in the center, covered and crossed over by lines. A special ops tat with a 44 in it shifted in the muscle on his left arm. A military designation of some type? “You promised,” she whispered.

      He opened one brown eye. “I’m not attacking you, am I?”

      “Well, no.” She inhaled, trying to slow her heart rate before a panic attack swamped her. She eyed him, tousled and relaxed. His right bicep held a tattoo with sharp lines, a shield, and the word Vanguard written through a heart. A dark lock of hair had fallen over his forehead, and a bristly shadow covered his square jaw, giving him the look of a lazy panther.

      Panthers didn’t really get lazy, now did they?

      He sighed and reached for the comforter, frowning when she flinched. Sighing, he pulled up the threadbare fabric to her neck, covering her completely.

      “I need to know what I’m dealin’ with here, darlin’,” he rumbled, opening both eyes and focusing on her.

      She curled her knees up toward her chest, hitting his hip bone on the way. “What do you mean?”

      His gaze roamed her face, lingered on her lips, and returned to her eyes. “The world turned shitty-times-ten for women without the ability to fight.”

      She blinked. “I know.” Predators always found the weak.

      “What really happened when you disappeared from the CDC? Kidnapping or escape?” he asked.

      Apparently the questioning would begin in bed. She tried to move back, but the wall stopped her. “I’d rather discuss this later while clothed.”

      “That’s unfortunate, because we’re discussing it now.” His tone remained gentle.

      She’d have to crawl over him to get to the floor, and no way was she getting in a tussle in bed with him. “I escaped.”

      “Three months ago.”

      “Yes.” She plucked at a string on the comforter. “The contagion spread, and soon the people in control weren’t the people who should be in control. I ran.”

      He nodded. “Right about that time, the news stopped.”

      So many people had succumbed to the illness, the world had seemed to stop. “I know.”

      “Where have you been for three months?”

      She tightened her jaw to keep her lips from trembling.

      “Before the Internet crashed, the battles in L.A. were broadcast continually. I saw you fight, and I later read about the group you’ve formed here. Even the worst of the worst know not to come within five miles of inner Los Angeles, or they face the wrath of Jax Mercury.”

      He lifted one dark eyebrow. “Those reports were exaggerated.”

      “Of course.” She rubbed sleep from her eyes, her heart rate finally slowing. “The remaining doctors at the CDC tried to contain me, but I got loose. I knew I needed to get here, that with your vitamin B stores and fighting troops, maybe I could be safe and help find a cure.” That wasn’t the whole story. But she couldn’t trust him with it yet.

      “Did you meet trouble on the way?”

      “Of course.” There was always trouble, and she’d seen too much. “But I made it here.”

      He touched her cheek. “Did anybody hurt you?”

      She frowned. Oh. “No. I traveled with my uncle Bruce, who was a hell of a cop in his day. He helped me to break out of the CDC—the center we created in the nation’s capital the second Scorpius got out of hand.”

      “Wasn’t the CDC branch in DC just policy oriented?”

      “Yes, but we took over a hospital and started researching there, and once I was better, I worked there. It was supposed to be temporary, but as you know, everything happened so quickly, so we never returned to the main CDC hospital in Atlanta.”

      Her uncle Bruce had visited her many times in the hospital, and when it became evident that several of the CDC doctors had been infected and were considering making Lynne a prisoner, he’d come up with a plan to get her out. “He posed as a lab technician to get me out of the facility, and then he had an elaborate scheme that included three stairwells, one secured lab, and finally a row of windows.” She smiled and then faltered. “We’d been on the run for months, and he’d taken great pains to protect me. He died a month ago.” The pain was fresh and almost doubled her over. She’d lost so many family members and friends, as had any survivor. God, it hurt.

      “I’m sorry.” Jax ran a knuckle across her chin. “Scorpius?” It’d be easy to just nod and lie. “No. Bruce was killed by one of the groups seeking me. Many people still are hunting me, believing I either started the apocalypse on purpose or I have knowledge about a cure.”

      She had knowledge about Myriad but no cure. “After my uncle’s death, I continued my search for you and safety, meeting stragglers on the way and staying away from most encampments. Foraged for food when I could.” Of course they were hunting her now. It was amazing she’d survived, considering she could trip over a smooth floor, she was such a klutz.

      Her former lack of grace was the least of her worries. At some point, she’d need to tell Mercury everything, especially if he wouldn’t let her out of the room. But not now, and definitely not while in such a vulnerable position. “I haven’t been attacked, Jax.”

      “Good.” His smile seemed almost sinful. “Then you can relax here in our bed and not flinch when I pull up the covers.”

      Heat flared through her. Our bed? “Oh, hell no. I’m not sharing a bed with you.”

      He glanced at her, at the bed, down at his chest, and then back at her. “I believe you are.”

      She shoved him. “Absolutely not.” When he didn’t move or respond, she coughed out air. “Why? Why would you want to share a bed?”

      He sighed. “It’s not personal. You’re a danger to people, and some of them might be a danger to you. So you stay with me, under guard, where I can protect everybody.” He pointed to the stacked locks on the door, which she’d failed to study the day before. The door was metal, huge, and obviously not native to the building. “There are locks on both sides, and I have all the keys. One of us could take the couch, but frankly, it sucks.”

      What should’ve been the worst come-on she’d ever heard actually sounded like the truth. It was a pretty cage, but a cage nonetheless. She needed freedom. “I want my own place.”

      “You’re not safe, and I can’t have guards on you twenty-four-seven. Sometimes it’s just me, and I need sleep. So you sleep when I sleep, and everybody stays safe. Period.” He stretched an arm above his head, showing that amazingly cut chest. “Like I said, I won’t force you. You want the couch? It’s yours.”

      She eyed the cold-looking, rather worn pleather. It was a freakin’ luxury compared to sleeping on the hard ground, but even so, now she’d had a taste of a real bed again . . . “A gentleman would give me the bed.”

      He scratched the stubble next to his scar. “All the gentlemen are dead, baby. Soldiers and survivors are what we have now.”

      She pushed up to one elbow, discreetly eyeing the locks on the door before studying him. “How dangerous is it here for me?”

      “Very.” His eyes darkened from bourbon to Guinness. “We have many who haven’t been infected, and you are a carrier.”

      “Anybody who survived the fever is a carrier.”

      “As you know, there are rumors that you carry a new strain of the disease.”

      More lies meant to force her away from other people. “We already discussed that. Either you believe me or you don’t,” she whispered.


      His expression didn’t gentle. “There are so many rumors and ghost stories out there; I don’t pay attention to them.”


      She swallowed, her throat clogging. “Good. There is no new strain of the bacterial infection. I’m no different from anybody else who’s survived Scorpius.”


      “You’re the only one with a blue heart.”


      “I know. I was infected with the main strain, and then we used one of the many experiments to save my life, turning my heart blue. We were never able to duplicate the exact concoction again, although since it didn’t cure me, I’m not sure it matters.”


      “You’re different. How can it not matter?”


      She sighed. “My heart is blue, as are a few veins around it. I have both photosphores and chromatophores in my heart, which without the initial bacterial infection would be impossible. Squids and octopi have the same materials, essentially, and they can turn different colors—usually blue.”


      “So you have squid genes?” His brows furrowed, and his gaze pierced her.

      She snorted. “Not exactly, but close enough.”



Tuesday, January 26, 2016

Release Day Blitz: Extreme Honor by Piper J. Drake (Review, Excerpt + Giveaway)

 
Good morning everyone! Today is the release date of Extreme Honor by Piper J. Drake and I was more than happy to spend some time with a book centered around a dog training/rehabilitation facility.

Piper is a new to me author and while reading her bio I noticed she has experience rescuing, owning and training working dogs and that’s beyond incredible to me! Anyway, have fun today folks.

Oh and this post is apparently, Mr. Pud approved.


About the Author:
Piper J. Drake (or "PJ") spent her childhood pretending to study for the SATs by reading every interesting novel she could find at the library.

After being introduced to the wonderful world of romance by her best friend, she dove into the genre. PJ began her writing career as PJ Schnyder, writing sci-fi & paranormal romance and steampunk, for which she won the FF&P PRISM award as well as the NJRW Golden Leaf award and Parsec award.

PJ's romantic suspense novels incorporate her interests in mixed martial arts and the military. The True Heroes series is inspired by her experience rescuing, owning and training a variety of retired working dogs, including Kaiser, a former guard dog, and Mozart, who was trained to detect explosives.




Find Author:
Website l Facebook l Twitter l GoodReads l



          “How’s Atlas doing?”

          “He’s acknowledging her existence.” And didn’t that chafe his ass just a little bit. “She’s out walking the perimeter with him now.”

         Speaking of, the pair came into view finally, far out across the grounds. Atlas kept pace with Lyn’s short stride, adjusting to her changes in speed and coming to heel when she paused to check out flowers or whatever.

         Dog still maintained an air of disinterest, but he was out there with her and not laying on his belly in the kennel.

          “So he’s making progress.” Beckhorn pressed for more.

          “Baby steps, my friend.” Cruz chuckled. “Don’t go reporting him as recovered any time soon.”

          “This mean you don’t want me to keep digging into who sent her?”

         Cruz leaned back in his chair, considering. Her fear had been real the night before. Terror, really. “She was damned shaken up last night. Take a look at the debrief I sent you, off the record. Someone was looking for info she didn’t know she had. Or maybe she didn’t have it yet.”

          “She’s a liability.” His friend made a grim noise.

          “I had her check out of the hotel and gave her a place to stay here where I can keep an eye on her.” He didn’t entirely trust her yet but he was sure she hadn’t been faking anything the evening before. Her reactions had been genuine.

          “You’re going to keep her around?” Beckhorn whistled, low and long. “Is she that hot?”

          “It’s not about that and you know better.” Of course, Lyn chose to bend over right about then, checking out a pretty wildflower or weed or something, and he got a faraway view of her shapely rear.

         Okay, she was hot.

         But he wouldn’t keep a liability around just for that. He had Atlas in mind.

          “Yeah, yeah,” Beckhorn continued, oblivious of the view. “What’s the plan now?

          “We both know there was something to the way Calhoun died.” It was a big part of the reason Beckhorn had called Cruz so soon for Atlas. He’d needed someone he could trust to oversee the dog’s recovery before something unfortunate occurred. “Accidental friendly fire, my ass.”

          “It’s the ‘accidental’ part in question. We both know it wasn’t friendly even if the round did come from one of ours.” Beckhorn’s tone went flat. “What we need to do is both prove it and find out why. Calhoun reached out to you just before he died and whatever drunk text he sent you pointed to Atlas.”

          “At the time, the message hadn’t made any sense so I assumed it was a drunk text.” Cruz swallowed hard on the guilt and self-recrimination there. Not sure what he could’ve done from across a damned ocean but he still felt he should’ve realized something was wrong and helped his friend stay alive.

          “It still doesn’t make any sense.” A string of curses followed. “Look. No ripping ourselves up for what we would’ve, should’ve, could’ve. We do the right thing now.”

          “Yeah.” Cruz nodded even if Beckhorn couldn’t see.

         Lyn resumed her stroll and Atlas took up position by her side. Dog might play like he wasn’t interested in the woman but he was engaged and Cruz would take whatever help there was to be had.
         Of course, he might have more in common with the dog than he’d prefer to admit.

         Last night, she’d suffered a bad scare. Things could have been far worse if he hadn’t shown up when he did. He’d been ready to rip her a new one when he’d come to her door, ajar only because her phone had landed in the entryway. It’d taken seconds to change gears from being angry with her to charging in to help her.

         He’d have still gotten through, but it would’ve taken longer for him to realize what was going on and to breakdown the door. She’d been very lucky.

         In those moments, he’d become someone else. The man he used to be. The stranger he’d locked down after he’d returned from deployment. When he’d heard her in danger, he’d gladly embraced the old rage and the cold calm to rush the door. Eliminate the threats.

          “You still there, man?” Beckhorn brought him back.

         A cold chill passed through Cruz as he realized he’d come to his feet. Maybe he hadn’t completely put the other him to rest yet, but it’d take some time to ease back and he hadn’t been all too relaxed as it was. It’d been why he’d come to spend time at Hope’s Crossing. “Yeah. Here.”

         Now. Just a minute ago? Not so much. Seemed like Miss Evelyn Jones had a way of pushing all sorts of buttons with him without even trying to.

          “You wanna share what you’re thinking? I can almost hear the gears turning in your head.”

         Way across the field, Lyn had come to a halt. It was Atlas’s posture that got Cruz moving. “I’m going to have to call you back.”




Monday, January 25, 2016

Blog Tour: Fatal Truth by Misty Evans (Review + Giveaway)

Good morning everyone! I hope everyone has a good start to the week. Get some coffee, tea, breakfast, whatever it takes to make you smile! Thanks for stopping by the blog today, I really appreciate it!

About Misty Evans
USA TODAY Bestselling Author Misty Evans has published over twenty novels and writes romantic suspense, urban fantasy, and paranormal romance. As a writing coach, she helps other authors bring their books – and their dreams of being published – to life.

The books in her Super Agent series have won a CataNetwork Reviewers’ Choice Award, CAPA nominations, the New England Reader’s Choice Bean Pot Award for Best Romantic Suspense in 2010 and the ACRA Heart of Excellence Reader’s Choice Award for Best Romantic Suspense in 2011.

Her Witches Anonymous series was dubbed a Fallen Angel Reviews Recommended Read. The Super Agent Series, Witches Anonymous Series, and the Kali Sweet Series have been on multiple Amazon Kindle bestsellers lists. Her culinary romantic mystery, THE SECRET INGREDIENT, and the first book in her Deadly series, DEADLY PURSUIT, are both USA TODAY bestsellers.

Misty likes her coffee black, her conspiracy stories juicy, and her wicked characters dressed in couture. When not reading or writing, she enjoys music, movies, and hanging out with her husband, twin sons, and two spoiled puppies.
Find Author:
Website l Facebook l Twitter l GoodReads l Pinterest



Format: .mobi (A copy of this book was provided by the publisher for the purpose of an honest review. )
Publisher: Beach Path Publishing
Release Date: January 13, 2016

She’s an investigative reporter who lives to uncover the truth.
Feisty television host, Savanna Bunkett, exposes government coverups on her award-winning show, The Bunk Stops Here. When she digs into a rumor about a top secret government project that's producing “super soldiers” for the president, she suddenly finds herself on an assassin’s hit list.

He's the man who knows the truth.
Navy SEAL Lieutenant Trace Hunter is the only soldier to survive Project 24. After refusing a direct order from the president, he was branded a traitor, and his career imploded after the sexy reporter turned him into a national headline. He now works undercover for Shadow Force International, a secret group of former SEALs helping those who have no where else to turn, using his enhanced skills to fight for justice and protect the innocent. His first assignment? Protect Savanna from the one man who wants them both dead—the president.

One wrong move and they’ll be silenced forever.

Helping Savanna is the last thing Trace wants to do, but her unwavering determination to expose the president's dark truth matches his own. She's his one chance to set the record straight and he’s her only chance at survival. When their mutual enemy closes in, can they put the past behind them and trust each other? Even if it means losing their hearts in the process? Or will secrets, lies, and forbidden passions cost them everything?



Cover ups, intrigue, life and death situations and romance? Yes please!

Investigative television reporter Savanna Bunkett has made a name for herself by exposing government cover ups. Usually she’s right about everything she reports but when she starts uncovering information about a secret government that produces “super soldiers” for the president, Savanna not only finds out she was wrong about a previous report but she’s also made herself a target for an assassin.

Enter Navy SEAL Lieutenant Trace Hunter who had his life turned upside down, twice. The first time was when he survived Project 24 but refused to carry out a direct order from the president and was branded a traitor. The second time was when Savanna Bunkett reported his treason to the entire country. Now Trace is working for Shadow Force International and his first mission is to protect Savanna and help her uncover information to stop the president from carrying out his ultimate plan.

Sunday, January 24, 2016

What We Watched: January 18, 2016



Okay so another of my hobbies is watching television shows. I don't do this as often because I really can't stand reality shows and that's all there is now. However, there are a few shows that have snagged my attention and while these weekly posts aren't reviews per say, I thought it might be fun to share my thoughts on each week's episodes.

My tv partner is always Mr. Pud and he ALWAYS has something to say either in a look, gesture or in simply taking some of my snacks for himself.

I hope you'll share with me YOUR thoughts on not just these shows but your own favorites too!

*** Just a warning though. Given that these are not reviews but commentaries on each show, expect SPOILERS.

My thoughts for the week of: January 18, 2016
So here we are, beginning the new year with new shows! I’ve been anticipating the return of Agent Carter and been cautiously curious about DC’s Legends of Tomorrow. So how did the first episodes of these shows fare? Read on to find out!


Friday, January 22, 2016

If You Ask Me: Childfree Romances, Where Are They?



I actually wrote this post a year ago after having a conversation with a friend of mine but I was so scared of making it public. Why? Because there’s this trend of attacking people who are different and have *gasp* the nerve to go against centuries old traditions. I know this, I’ve experienced this first hand and I come from a very traditional culture and live in a city where tradition is everything.

But I was recently inspired by this really awesome post on Heroes and Heartbreakers about feminist romance. Feminism is such a polarizing topic. There are apparently different levels and types of feminism and a slew of assumptions and stereotypes that go with it.

Anywho, that post inspired me to be brave and just GO FOR IT. So I sat up late and re-wrote, tweaked and edited this post and what you see is the result of a lot of hand wringing and fear of not expressing myself the way I wanted to and coming off as someone who turned her nose up at a certain group of people. I’ve read and re-read this piece and have come to the conclusion that I have expressed myself in the best and most respectable way I know how and that if anyone gets offended, well, that just might make them one of those people who isn’t happy unless they’re offended about something. So without further delay, here is what I wanted to say:

Favorite Character Friday: An Alpha WOMAN?! Yes Please!


Favorite Character Friday is a weekly meme hosted by Adria's Romance Reviews that gives readers a chance to celebrate their favorite characters!

Why a weekly meme? Because really, with millions of books out there and more coming out every week, characters are like potato chips, you can't have just one.

How it works: Every week you pick one of your favorite characters and tell every one who it is, what book they're from and WHY they're one of your favorite characters. Be sure to include the blurb and book cover as well! Share the love and maybe someone will read that same book and see why that character is one of your favorites! Unlike the Book Boyfriend meme (which was a great meme), your Favorite Character Fridays choice can be male or female!

Be sure to link back to Adria's Romance Reviews and share the link via the linky widget below.

Favorite Character: Khaki Blake

Thursday, January 21, 2016

Review: Sweet Ride by Cathryn Fox


What IS it with the last books in a series being let downs? This is the fifth series that this has happened!

Format: .mobi (A copy of this book was provided by the publisher via NetGalley for the purpose of an honest review. )
Publisher: Entangled - Brazen
Release Date: November 16, 2015

He'll unlock her wildest fantasies...

Private investigator Curtis Jagger has always had a thing for Alix Harris. She was the darling of their high school—gorgeous, popular, class president...and, he suspects, just as naughty as she is nice. Now Jag has the opportunity to show her what she's missing. To show her that sometimes being bad can be sexy as hell...

Alix has always done what she's supposed to, and it's gotten her exactly nowhere. Determined to please herself—in every way possible—she accepts Jag's mysterious invitation to his ranch. In front of Jag's camera lens, Alix finds freedom far beyond her expectations. A freedom where she takes the reins and rides out every wicked desire.

But in one week, Alix will have to return to her real world where politics reign. A world that can’t include Jagger, or she’ll lose everything.


Alix always did what was expected of her and it got her nothing in return. When an invitation to a ranch comes with her name on it, she decides to do what she wants to do and accepts. When she arrives she comes face to face with a familiar person from her past.

Wednesday, January 20, 2016

Review: Now and Then by Mira Lyn Kelly


I think Mira Lyn Kelly is determined to cover as many tropes as possible in her Dare to Love series! Truth or Dare had Enemies to Lovers, Touch & Go was Secretly in Love with Best Friend and Now and Then is Second Chance Romance.

Format: .mobi (A copy of this book was provided by the publisher via NetGalley for the purpose of an honest review. )
Publisher: Loveswept
Release Date: January 19, 2016

Brynn Ahearn is gorgeous, fun, and not just a sports nut but an NBA camera woman whose work takes her all over the country. In other words, she’s a walking male fantasy—or at least, she would be if she weren’t so busy keeping the guys at bay. The fact is, with Brynn’s con-man father fresh out of jail and back in her life, dating is just too risky. Haunted by memories of her past, she couldn’t ask any man to gamble with his life for love—even one as addictive as Ford Meyers.

Ford can’t believe his luck when he walks into a bar in Chicago’s Wicker Park and gets an eyeful of Brynn, the one that got away. After the gorgeous redhead blew him off in college, Ford got on with his life and made his fortune as a bestselling game designer, but he’s never found a woman who compared to Brynn. No stranger to success, Ford is used to getting what he wants—and after a scorching stolen kiss, what he wants is a second shot with his first love. To get it, he just has to convince her that he’s man enough to take on the past she can’t leave behind.


Okay so Now and Then takes place 10 years after Ford and Brynn first hooked up. Each one has moved on (sort of) and is doing their own thing. Then one night at a bar, Ford sees the back of a beautiful redhead and BOOM recognition sets in. It’s Brynn. And he’s never forgotten her either, or the fact that she broke his heart in college with no real explanation. Both of them are older and wiser and basically Ford realizes that something was bothering Brynn back then and it’s still haunting her in the present. The two spend time together as “friends” (Cause that always works right?) and well, the friends part doesn’t last very long but this time Ford is determined to be stubborn as hell to find out what is keeping Brynn from being in a relationship with him.

Cue sighs.

Tuesday, January 19, 2016

Review: A Game of Persuasion by Emma Locke



Now this is new, an extended prologue to a book in a series. Not a novella, an extended prologue.

Format: .mobi (A copy of this book was provided by the author for the purpose of an honest review. )
Publisher: Intrepid Reads
Release Date: July 20, 2015

Publisher's Note: This story is continued in the full-length novel The Art of Ruining a Rake, and is intended as bonus content or as an introduction to The Naughty Girls Series.

A NIGHT SHE'LL NEVER FORGET…
Miss Lucy Lancester has loved her brother’s best friend, Roman Alexander, for as long as she can remember. So devotedly, she’s vowed never to marry anyone else. But her beloved libertine is hardly aware of her existence, and not the least deserving of her affection. Deciding her cause is lost, she makes plans to open a girls’ school in Bath.

There’s just one thing she needs to do before she confirms her spinsterhood forever: spend one blissful night in Roman’s arms. But her handsome rogue isn’t ready to have the tables turned. It will take more than a coquettish smile to turn his head. She must play a game…of persuasion.


So basically the story goes: Roman is Lucy’s brother’s best friend and a notorious rake but Lucy has been in love with Roman since she was 15 but at the same time she herself acknowledges that he isn’t worth her love. Still, she wishes Roman would do more than just politely see through her so she develops a plan that would give her what she wants before she becomes a spinster and opens up her girls’ school: One night with Roman.

Tuesday Jams: Heartbeat

Brazen Babe Reviews have this awesome meme called Tuesday Jams where you share a song that you currently love and can't get out of your head (Or in my case, off "repeat" on my iPod). Everyone's welcome to join in, the more the merrier! Be sure to leave your link on their blog post so that others can stop by and see your selection!

So, the one other thing I love just as much as reading? Listening to music! Though the majority of my music is modern country or movie scores, I do listen to a little bit of everything and am always on the look out for more music to add to my collection (You should see my iTunes library, it's HUGE). That's why Tuesday Jams has just become one of my new favorite memes!

Can't get out of my head song(s) this week are: Heartbeat by Carrie Underwood.

Monday, January 18, 2016

Review: Turning the Tables by Joan Kilby

Catching up on those reviews! Happy Monday!


Format: .mobi (A copy of this book was provided by the publisher via NetGalley for the purpose of an honest review. )
Publisher: Entangled Brazen
Release Date: June 9, 2015

Tina Borlenghi is a billionaire businesswoman, heiress to the Borlenghi fortune, and living la dolce vita. She's also a magnet for men who crave fame and celebrity. So while in New York City launching a new fashion boutique, Tina is more than intrigued when sports bar owner Luke Pederson mistakes her for a sales assistant. He's sexier than sin and only interested in her. What's the harm in a little steamy role-playing?

Luke can't get enough of Tina. And yet, something feels…off. Why is she so secretive? As their role-playing encounters become more erotic, Luke’s suspicions grow. The woman rocking his world is hiding something. Something big. He’s ready to play for keeps, but finding out who Tina really is may just turn the tables on everything he thought he knew about love.


Tina Borlenghi is the billionaire in Turning the Tables and I have to say it’s a welcome change in the billionaire romance trope. Anyway, because of Tina’s immense wealth she’s attracted men who just want to use her for her money and family name but while in New York launching a new boutique she’s mistaken for a sales associate by bar owner Luke Pederson. A chance to have a normal affair with a normal attraction to a man who doesn’t know who she is too good to pass up. But of course the affair turns serious and Luke begins to suspect that Tina hasn’t told him the entire truth.


Tasty Book Tour: Manaconda by Taryn Elliott & Cari Quinn (Promo + Giveaway)


Enter to Win a $25.00 eGift Card to Choice Book Seller
and eBook copy of THE OPENING ACT



MANACONDA
Hammered #1
Taryn Elliott & Cari Quinn
Releasing on January 19, 2016.
Rainbow Rage Publishing



Friday, January 15, 2016

Favorite Character Friday


Favorite Character Friday is a weekly meme hosted by Adria's Romance Reviews that gives readers a chance to celebrate their favorite characters!

Why a weekly meme? Because really, with millions of books out there and more coming out every week, characters are like potato chips, you can't have just one.

How it works: Every week you pick one of your favorite characters and tell every one who it is, what book they're from and WHY they're one of your favorite characters. Be sure to include the blurb and book cover as well! Share the love and maybe someone will read that same book and see why that character is one of your favorites! Unlike the Book Boyfriend meme (which was a great meme), your Favorite Character Fridays choice can be male or female!

Be sure to link back to Adria's Romance Reviews and share the link via the linky widget below.

Favorite Character: Anthony Moretti!

Thursday, January 14, 2016

Review: One Touch More by Mandy Baxter


Yay for new to me authors!


Format: .mobi (A copy of this book was provided by the publisher via NetGalley for the purpose of an honest review. )
Publisher: Zebra
Release Date: October 27, 2015

Strong, relentless, and lethal, he plays every angle to trap the worst criminals. But for the one woman he can't resist, he'll break all the rules…

For hotel manager Tabitha Martin, bad boys usually spell disaster. And her new guest promises just that, with his formidable build, tattooed biceps, and quiet take-no-mess attitude. Tabitha is already putting everything on the line to escape her vicious drug-dealing ex's control for good—but a single sizzling moment in “Damien Evans'” arms has her wanting all the trouble he can give…


He's been undercover too long and likes living dangerously too much. U. S. Marshal Parker Evans figures maybe that's why he doesn't immediately put Tabitha in custody. Sure, she's his one chance to finally take down a major drug ring. But every minute he protects this mostly innocent blonde leaves his heart all too vulnerable. And the cost of desire could be a deadly endgame…


U.S. Marshal Parker Evans has been undercover so long that he not only looks the part with his intimidating build and tattoos, he also lives dangerously and plays by his own rules. When he gets a chance to take down a major drug ring by using hotel manager Tabitha Martin, Parker hesitates to take her into custody because of his growing attraction to her. Meanwhile all Tabitha wants is to escape her drug dealing ex and avoid men who have “Trouble” written all over them. When she meets “Damien Evans” she knows he’s the very definition of trouble but she can’t help wanting to be with him.

Wednesday, January 13, 2016

Review: Not Always a Saint by Mary Jo Putney


Even in the best series there is going to be a book that lets your down. This was it for me.


Format: .mobi (A copy of this book was provided by the publisher via NetGalley for the purpose of an honest review. )
Publisher:
Release Date: August 25, 2015

After the death of his sweetheart when he was at university, Daniel Herbert buried his grief in medical studies and his passion for healing. Viewed as a saint by those who know him, in his own mind he never quite manages to live up to his own high standards.

Most men would be thrilled to learn they've inherited a title and estate from a distant relative, but Daniel is appalled because the burden of wealth will interfere with his medical calling. Warily he accepts that he must enter society and seek a wife—a sensible woman who can oversee his properties, leaving him free to continue his work. He does not expect to become intoxicated by a woman called the Black Widow, who is as mysterious as she is shockingly beautiful…

Jessie Kelham’s looks have always been a curse. Now alone with a young daughter and a perilous secret, she is in need of protection. But dangerously attractive Daniel Herbert is not the kind of husband she has in mind. If he recognizes her, the demons of her past will surely erupt. Yet they cannot keep apart—and soon they are drawn into a union that may bring joy—or shattering danger…


I’m not sure what went wrong with this book because up until now I’ve enjoyed this series by Mary Jo Putney so Not Always a Saint was a bit of a letdown and to me seemed like it was part of a totally different series.

Tuesday, January 12, 2016

Review: Hold Me Until Forever by Christina Phillips


I'm kind of sad to see this series end. The Grayson brothers really made an impression on me and well, you all know how it feels to say goodbye right?

Format: .mobi (A copy of this book was provided by the publisher via NetGalley for the purpose of an honest review. )
Publisher: Entangled - Brazen
Release Date: January 4, 2016

Ella Clark has been in love with Alex Grayson forever. She’s tired of being invisible—or worse, being treated like his kid sister. If she can just get him to drop his iron-fisted control for two seconds, she’ll prove she knows exactly how to blow his mind.

Alex has been fighting his attraction to Ella since her should-have-been-innocent sweet sixteen kiss burned down his world. He's damaged, and there's no way he'll ever drag her into his screwed up life. Until she offers him something he's always craved—steamy, no-strings sex inside his exclusive BDSM club. Where she'll be safe from the darkness that haunts him.

Except there's nothing safe about being with Ella, and the more she gives, the harder it is to let her go. If he stays, he risks everything, but how can he walk away from the only woman he's ever needed?



So, Ella Clark wants Alex Grayson, she’s wanted him since she was 16 years old but the stubborn man refuses to acknowledge that the attraction is mutual. In a last ditch effort to get him to stop treating her like his sister, Ella offers Alex no-strings sex at his BDSM club. Of course, the only thing Ella knows about BDSM is that she’s never tried it before.

Tuesday Jams: I've missed you!!!

Brazen Babe Reviews have this awesome meme called Tuesday Jams where you share a song that you currently love and can't get out of your head (Or in my case, off "repeat" on my iPod). Everyone's welcome to join in, the more the merrier! Be sure to leave your link on their blog post so that others can stop by and see your selection!

So, the one other thing I love just as much as reading? Listening to music! Though the majority of my music is modern country or movie scores, I do listen to a little bit of everything and am always on the look out for more music to add to my collection (You should see my iTunes library, it's HUGE). That's why Tuesday Jams has just become one of my new favorite memes!

Can't get out of my head song(s) this week are: Something Better feat. Lady Antebellum by Audien.


Monday, January 11, 2016

Review: Tempted by Jess Michaels


I can’t believe it’s been a little more than a year since I stumbled across this author! Now here I am bouncing in my seat like a puppy because the next book in this series will finally solve the mystery of the missing sibling!!

Format: .mobi (A copy of this book was provided by the publisher via NetGalley for the purpose of an honest review. )
Publisher: The Passionate Pen
Release Date: January 12, 2016

The youngest son of the Woodley clan, Gabriel has been obsessed with bringing his missing twin sister home since she disappeared over two years ago. His drive has forced him to block out all else, including any feelings he may have for the beautiful Juliet Gray. But when she is brought to London by Gabriel’s mother, avoiding the desire she inspires becomes impossible.

Juliet never wanted to come to London in the first place, especially since she knows she won’t be able to avoid Gabriel, who has been both confusing and drawing her from the moment they met. But to give her father a chance at happiness, she’ll stay in town. When Gabriel asks for her help in finding his sister, explosive secrets will be spilled and long suppressed longings will overflow. But will their search bring them love or expose them to a danger that could destroy all they’ve built?


The Woodleys have come a long way from book one but they have yet to find their missing sister, Claire. Tempted is Gabriel’s story, he’s Claire’s twin and is easily the most intense and reclusive of the Woodley clan. Since Claire disappeared, he’s dedicated every waking moment to finding her and bringing her home. As much as he loves his other siblings, he also resents them for seeming to move on, get married and have children while Claire is gone.

Humble healer Juliet Gray is responsible for saving Gabriel’s mother’s life and she should have gone her own way after but the Woodleys are a grateful and unusual family and they begin to include her in their lives as one of their own. Juliet’s presence makes Gabriel question his decision to focus solely on the search for his twin and try as he might, he can’t completely push her away.

Friday, January 8, 2016

Favorite Character Friday: Happy New Year!


Favorite Character Friday is a weekly meme hosted by Adria's Romance Reviews that gives readers a chance to celebrate their favorite characters!

Why a weekly meme? Because really, with millions of books out there and more coming out every week, characters are like potato chips, you can't have just one.

How it works: Every week you pick one of your favorite characters and tell every one who it is, what book they're from and WHY they're one of your favorite characters. Be sure to include the blurb and book cover as well! Share the love and maybe someone will read that same book and see why that character is one of your favorites! Unlike the Book Boyfriend meme (which was a great meme), your Favorite Character Fridays choice can be male or female!

Be sure to link back to Adria's Romance Reviews and share the link via the linky widget below.

Favorite Character: Annie White

Thursday, January 7, 2016

The Herd Presents: Hello My Name Is... Blog Hop (Giveaway)



We’re ringing in the New Year with lots of giveaways! And by sharing some fun and wacky facts about ourselves. There’s a new giveaway at each stop so be sure to visit them all!

Adria: Happy New Year lovelies! I hope you had a good holiday season and are ready for the new year to begin! This year I’ve decided to bypass the resolutions because I’m just horrible at sticking to them. I make them on January 1st only to break them January 10th.

This is such a fun idea for a hop so I have to say a big thank you to Anna for turning the usual “Share wacky facts” bit into a hop where we can all participate and YOU can win awesome prizes. So, I was struggling to find 5 wacky facts about myself to share with you guys and then I got carried away and ended up with 10. You can even find a bonus fact over at I Smell Sheep where I guest review. Hopefully they're not TOO weird though ;)


Wednesday, January 6, 2016

Review: Tied to Trouble by Megan Erickson



If you’re a fan of M/M romance then you have to read this one! I have been trying to find a good read for ages and this was it!

Format: .mobi (A copy of this book was provided by the publisher via NetGalley for the purpose of an honest review. )
Publisher: Entangled Brazen
Release Date: January 4, 2016

Between love and hate, there's a whole lot of trouble...

Chad Lake only showed up at his sister's party for the free food, but when he spots an uptight nerd at the edge of the crowd, he can't resist trying to ruffle the guy's perfect bow tie and impeccable hair. The hottie's ready for him, though, and in the end, it's Chad who's left wide-eyed, his ears still ringing with the filthy things Bow Tie whispered in his ear. No one gets the upper hand on Chad. Ever.

Owen Hawkins has heard all about the cocky Adonis from Chad's sister--the same sister who holds Owen's career advancement in her hands. He has every intention of steering clear of the other man...until Chad's sexy taunts push him too far. There's something intriguing about Chad, and even though Owen knows that getting tangled up with the infuriating man is trouble, he can't seem to stay away...


Bow ties, dapper dicks and nerds galore! I tell you I will never look at bow ties the same way again. *snorts* Okay so I’m having trouble getting my thoughts in order because all I can see are well, what I mentioned at the beginning and it’s not a bad thing at all in the case of Chad and Owen. Okay, taking a deep breath to get the giggles under control.