Taking Review Requests: Yes but only if I've reviewed the author in the past. Interviews and guest posts are open to new-to-me authors. Please see my policy before requesting.

Hosting Giveaways: Yes

Accepting Author Interviews/Guest Posts: Yes

• My review policy and contact info is located OVER HERE.

Bloggers, I would love to interview you, have you guest post and/or guest review here! Please contact me if you're interested!




Friday, October 30, 2015

Favorite Character Friday!


Favorite Character Friday is a weekly meme hosted by Adria's Romance Reviews that gives readers a chance to celebrate their favorite characters!

Why a weekly meme? Because really, with millions of books out there and more coming out every week, characters are like potato chips, you can't have just one.

How it works: Every week you pick one of your favorite characters and tell every one who it is, what book they're from and WHY they're one of your favorite characters. Be sure to include the blurb and book cover as well! Share the love and maybe someone will read that same book and see why that character is one of your favorites! Unlike the Book Boyfriend meme (which was a great meme), your Favorite Character Fridays choice can be male or female!

Be sure to link back to Adria's Romance Reviews and share the link via the linky widget below.

Favorite Character: Reed Miller

Thursday, October 29, 2015

Tasty Book Tour: I Need a Hero by Codi Gary (Excerpt + Giveaway)


So Codi Gary has started a new series and it kicks off with I Need a Hero, a novella introduction to her Men in Uniform series. I’ve read the novella and if you’re interested, my review is HERE. It’s a solid start and while it’s definitely a story focused on Oliver and Evelyn, it takes a moment or two to introduce some other interesting characters. So enjoy the excerpt, enter the giveaway and good luck!!

About Codi Gary:
An obsessive bookworm, CODI GARY likes to write sexy small-town contemporary romances with humor, grand gestures, and blush-worthy moments.

When she’s not writing, she can be found reading her favorite authors, squealing over her must-watch shows, and playing with her children.

She lives in Idaho with her family.

Find Author:
Online l Facebook l Twitter l Pinterest



Wednesday, October 28, 2015

Tasty Book Tour: Scandal Takes the Stage by Eva Leigh (Review + Giveaway)


Okay so I epically screwed up. I accidentally posted the review that was schedule for TODAY'S blog tour stop back on October 14. So that's why you're seeing it again today. My biggest apologies to everyone for the mix up and thanks for stopping by again.

About Eva Leigh:
EVA LEIGH is the pen name of a RITA® Award-nominated romance author who writes novels chock-full of smart women and sexy men.

She enjoys baking, Tweeting about boots, and listening to music from the ‘80s.

Eva and her husband live in Central California.


Find Eva:

Online l Facebook l Twitter l GoodReads



Format: .mobi (A copy of this book was provided by the publisher via NetGalley for the purpose of an honest review. )
Publisher: Avon
Release Date: October 27, 2015

Together they may create a scandal worthy of the stage, but can their love last after the final curtain falls…?

Successful playwright Maggie Delamere has no interest in the flirtations of noblemen like Cameron, Viscount Marwood. She once paid dearly for a moment of weakness…and vows to rebuff the wildly persistent—and irritatingly handsome—scoundrel at every turn. But when pressure to deliver a new play hampers her creativity, an invitation to use his country estate as a writer’s retreat is too tempting to resist....

For years, Cam has admired Maggie’s brilliant work and he can’t pass up the opportunity to discover if the beautiful, mysterious playwright is as passionate and clever as the words that flow from her quill. He’s never offered a lady his bed without being in it, but if it means loosening Maggie’s pen—and her inhibitions—he’ll do exactly that.

But soon Cam’s plans for seduction become a fight for Maggie’s heart. He’s more than the scandalous, carefree rake society believes him to be…and she’s the only woman who has ever noticed.

A moment of weakness and girlish fantasy lead playwright Maggie Delamere to a devastating conclusion: Commoners like her should never aspire to be part of the titled world of aristocrats. So when Cameron, Viscount Marwood takes an interest in her she firmly and quite rudely rebuffs him. Unfortunately Maggie is under pressure to deliver her next big play and her inspiration is nowhere to be found. An invitation from Cam to retreat to his country estate in order to gain inspiration is too tempting to pass up. From there Cam and Maggie get to know each other more and more, making Maggie nervous that she’s falling for the same trap she did before. Cameron on the other hand isn’t as reluctant to explore what’s happening between them.

Tuesday, October 27, 2015

Book Blitz: One Wild Winter's Eve by Anne Barton (Interview, Review + giveaway)



It's books like One Wild Winter's Eve that have me LOVING what I do here! Then to put a cherry on top of this already awesome ice cream sundae, Anne Barton herself is answering a few of my questions! So hang out for a bit will you and don’t forget to enter the giveaway!

About Anne:
Anne Barton began swiping romance novels off her mom's bookshelf as a teenager, so when she had the chance to spend a semester in London-home to her favorite heroes-she packed her bags and promptly fell in love with the city, its history, and its pubs. She dreamed of writing romance, but somehow ended up a software analyst instead.

Fortunately, a few years and a few careers later, Anne found her way back to writing the stories she loves and in 2011 won the Romance Writers of America's Golden Heart® for Regency Historical Romance. She lives in Maryland with her husband (who, sadly, is not a peer of the realm-but a great guy nonetheless) and her three children, who try valiantly not to roll their eyes whenever she quotes Jane Austen. Her weaknesses include reality TV, cute-but-impractical shoes, and caffeinated beverages of all kinds.

Find Author:
Online l Facebook l Twitter l GoodReads l



Adria: Hi Anne! Thank you so much for taking some time out of your schedule to answer some of my questions! I’m a new fan of yours and before we get started I just have to say that I LOVED One Wild Winter’s Eve so much! It was just so good! For me it’s going to be the book to beat out of the series (I’ve only read one other book in the series so it’s all new to me). I could keep going on and on but then I’d waste my time and yours instead of asking some questions.
Anne: Hi Adria, it’s lovely to meet you! Thank you for reading the book and totally making my day. I’m so happy that you liked Rose and Charles’s story.


Monday, October 26, 2015

Review: A Moment of Weakness by Brooklyn Skye


Format: .mobi (A copy of this book was provided by the publisher via NetGalley for the purpose of an honest review. )
Publisher: Entangled - Brazen
Release Date: October 19, 2015

He can fight anything...except his need for her.
Until her new job starts in September, buttoned-up elementary school teacher Laurel Harris is at loose ends and in need of cash. Fortunately her best friend's older brother is a single dad and desperately needs a nanny. Or so she's told. She doesn't anticipate him being such a menacing, muscled, and undeniably gorgeous man...or that he has zero interest in hiring a nanny.

Micah Crane will do right by his young daughter, no matter the cost. And right now, that cost is juggling parenthood with long hours at his bar and working as an enforcer for a notorious crime boss. He doesn't need another complication in his life, but the sweet, frustratingly opinionated little blonde hell-bent on caring for his daughter stirs his blood like no woman ever has.

All it takes is a moment of weakness to ignite the lust blazing between them. A moment that will unravel their self-control and unleash all of Micah's darkest secrets...


I didn’t fall in love with this book and it had mostly to do with the heroine. Some of you might become big fans though. It’s one of those books that can make people say “Did I read the same book?”

Sunday, October 25, 2015

What We Watched: October 19, 2015



Okay so another of my hobbies is watching television shows. I don't do this as often because I really can't stand reality shows and that's all there is now. However, there are a few shows that have snagged my attention and while these weekly posts aren't reviews per say, I thought it might be fun to share my thoughts on each week's episodes.

My tv partner is always Mr. Pud and he ALWAYS has something to say either in a look, gesture or in simply taking some of my snacks for himself.

I hope you'll share with me YOUR thoughts on not just these shows but your own favorites too!

*** Just a warning though. Given that these are not reviews but commentaries on each show, expect SPOILERS.

Friday, October 23, 2015

Favorite Character Friday: A little demon told me


Favorite Character Friday is a weekly meme hosted by Adria's Romance Reviews that gives readers a chance to celebrate their favorite characters!

Why a weekly meme? Because really, with millions of books out there and more coming out every week, characters are like potato chips, you can't have just one.

How it works: Every week you pick one of your favorite characters and tell every one who it is, what book they're from and WHY they're one of your favorite characters. Be sure to include the blurb and book cover as well! Share the love and maybe someone will read that same book and see why that character is one of your favorites! Unlike the Book Boyfriend meme (which was a great meme), your Favorite Character Fridays choice can be male or female!

Be sure to link back to Adria's Romance Reviews and share the link via the linky widget below.

Favorite Character: THE Simi

Wednesday, October 21, 2015

Review: Deceived by Jess Michaels


Whew, I had fun with this book and all but the one thing that kept popping into my mind was One book closer to Claire’s story! No offense Evan and Josie.


Format: .mobi (Purchased)
Publisher: The Passionate Pen
Release Date: October 13, 2015

Josie Westfall spent a lifetime feeling alone and bullied and an unfortunate incident involving her best friend’s brother, Evan, only made things worse. Still, when she and her mother are invited to the wedding he will be attending, they can’t exactly refuse. She hopes to avoid him, but instead they are thrown together and she is shocked to find that she actually begins to like the man she’s thought of as an enemy for years.

Evan has always felt terrible about what he said to Josie years before, but he’s never quite been able to make it up to her. When he tries, he discovers Josie may have a few secrets and some information about his missing sister. Now he must decide, should he betray her by trading on the unexpected attraction between them and discover what she knows? Or could the possibility of love be worth more than anything else?


A thoughtless comment from a childhood crush changed Josie Westfall’s life forever. Whispers and cruel taunts followed her through to adulthood and Josie’s never forgiven her best friend’s brother. Josie has managed to avoid Evan for years but when she and her mother are invited to a wedding, Josie is forced to spend time with the man she holds responsible for her public torment.

Tuesday, October 20, 2015

Review: Duke of Scandal by Gaelen Foley







Format: .mobi (A copy of this book was provided by the publisher via NetGalley for the purpose of an honest review. )
Publisher: Gaelen Foley (Self-Published)
Release Date: October 13, 2015

Jason Hawthorne, the Duke of Netherford, made it clear to the young, lovesick Felicity Carvel long ago that nothing could ever happen between them. He has earned his reputation as the Duke of Scandal--and she's his best friend's little sister. For honor's sake, he vows to stay away from the lovely innocent. But six years of the wealthy libertine's life have left Jason empty and exhausted, while Felicity has blossomed into a strong, beautiful woman, ripe for love and marriage.

When a sudden windfall makes her one of the most sought-after heiresses in London, chased all over Town by fortune-hunters, Jason knows he must keep the rogues at bay until her brother returns from his dangerous mission abroad. Unfortunately, the scandalous attraction between them has only grown to a searing intensity. Deep down, Felicity still wants Jason for her own. But after getting her heart broken once before by Naughty Netherford, does she dare attempt to play with fire again--and this time, can Jason resist?


Jason Hawthorne, the Duke of Netherford, aka “Naughty Netherford” and the straitlaced, reluctant heiress Felicity Carvel have know each other most of their lives. Jason has been best friends with Felicity’s brother since they were children and of course as the younger girl, Felicity fell in love with Jason at a young age but when she declared herself to him, he broke her heart and became distant. Now as adults, Felicity finds herself the recipient of her late aunt’s fortune and in need of help keeping the fortune hunters at bay but her brother is off on an expedition so Jason appoints himself as her protector and well, all that time together leads to a second chance at romance.

Monday, October 19, 2015

Review: Wild Ride by Cathryn Fox


Who knew a NOVELLA length series of stories would be so interesting?

Format: .mobi (A copy of this book was provided by the publisher via NetGalley for the purpose of an honest review. )
Publisher: Entangled - Brazen
Release Date: October 19, 2015

Marketing Tycoon Tyler Mackenzie, a.k.a. Wildman Mac, has a knack for knowing what people want and, more importantly, what they need…so when he decides to show sweet and sexy yoga instructor Jess Gray that she's the one for him, he puts a seductive campaign into motion.

When Mac defines the terms for the week and insists she do everything he says, Jess can't help but be intrigued. Since this good girl wants to break free and do something naughty, she agrees to his terms and soon finds herself embarking on a sexual journey that knows no limits. For Jess this is one week of living out her fantasies, but Mac is determined to make this wild ride last forever.


Following up on a ridiculous plan he and his two buddies made, Tyler Mackenzie invites his high school crush Jess Gray to spend a week with him on his ranch. At first Jess is reluctant to stay when she finds out the reason she was invited, but Tyler convinces her to stay and lays down a plan to help Jess shed her good girl ways. Little does Jess know that Tyler is planning on making their arrangement long term.

Sunday, October 18, 2015

What We Watched: October 12, 2015



Okay so another of my hobbies is watching television shows. I don't do this as often because I really can't stand reality shows and that's all there is now. However, there are a few shows that have snagged my attention and while these weekly posts aren't reviews per say, I thought it might be fun to share my thoughts on each week's episodes.

My tv partner is always Mr. Pud and he ALWAYS has something to say either in a look, gesture or in simply taking some of my snacks for himself.

I hope you'll share with me YOUR thoughts on not just these shows but your own favorites too!

*** Just a warning though. Given that these are not reviews but commentaries on each show, expect SPOILERS.

Friday, October 16, 2015

Favorite Character Friday


Favorite Character Friday is a weekly meme hosted by Adria's Romance Reviews that gives readers a chance to celebrate their favorite characters!

Why a weekly meme? Because really, with millions of books out there and more coming out every week, characters are like potato chips, you can't have just one.

How it works: Every week you pick one of your favorite characters and tell every one who it is, what book they're from and WHY they're one of your favorite characters. Be sure to include the blurb and book cover as well! Share the love and maybe someone will read that same book and see why that character is one of your favorites! Unlike the Book Boyfriend meme (which was a great meme), your Favorite Character Fridays choice can be male or female!

Be sure to link back to Adria's Romance Reviews and share the link via the linky widget below.

Favorite Character: Lady Anne Hayworth

Thursday, October 15, 2015

Review: A Bad Boy for Christmas by Jessica Lemmon



Tis the season for… Christmas romances! I know my Christmas romance season got off to a positive start with this one by Jessica Lemmon.

Format: .mobi (A copy of this book was provided by the publisher via NetGalley for the purpose of an honest review. )
Publisher: Forever
Release Date: September 29, 2015

Connor McClain knows what he wants. And after four harrowing years in Afghanistan, that's a quiet life in the lakeside town of Evergreen Cove. But coming home has land mines of its own-the most dangerous of them being long-legged bombshell Faith Garrett. Now getting her into his arms this holiday is going to require more than mistletoe . . .

With a cheating ex behind her, all Faith wants is a relaxing holiday free from man drama. And even though every moment with gorgeous Connor is a sweet temptation, Faith is determined not to give in. But Jack Frost has other plans, and soon Faith and Connor are snowbound in a winter wonderland with only the sparks flying between them to keep them warm. As one hot kiss leads to another, they'll have to decide if they're ready to give each other the best gift of all-love.


Conner McClain’s quiet life in his hometown of Evergreen Cove gets turned upside down when he crosses the line between flirting and passionate kisses with Faith Garrett. Connor is sure he wants to be more than just a fling to Faith but she’s going to need some convincing.

Wednesday, October 14, 2015

Tasty Book Tour: The Wicked Quills of London (Promo, Excerpt, Review + Giveaway)


Happy Wednesday everyone! So, has anyone read Eva Leigh yet? I need to check out the first book in the Wicked Quills soon since I’ve heard it’s the best one so far. We’ll see though huh?

About Eva Leigh:
EVA LEIGH is the pen name of a RITA® Award-nominated romance author who writes novels chock-full of smart women and sexy men.

She enjoys baking, Tweeting about boots, and listening to music from the ‘80s.

Eva and her husband live in Central California.


Find Eva:

Online l Facebook l Twitter l GoodReads



About Forever Your Earl:
Eleanor Hawke loves a good scandal. And readers of her successful gossip rag live for the exploits of her favorite subject: Daniel Balfour, the notorious Earl of Ashford. So when the earl himself marches into her office one day and invites her to experience his illicit pursuits firsthand, Eleanor is stunned. Gambling hells, phaeton races, masquerades…What more could a scandal writer want than a secret look into the life of this devilishly handsome rake?

Daniel has secrets and if The Hawk’s Eye gets wind of them, a man’s life could be at stake. And what better way to distract a gossip than by feeding her the scandal she desperately craves? But Daniel never expected the sharp mind and biting wit of the beautiful writer, and their desire for each other threatens even his best laid plans.

But when Eleanor learns the truth of his deception, Daniel will do anything to prove a romance between a commoner and an earl could really last forever.

Tuesday, October 13, 2015

Review: I Want You to Want Me by Erika Kelly


I hit a few bumps along the way but overall it’s not a bad story.

Format: .mobi (A copy of this book was provided by the publisher via NetGalley for the purpose of an honest review. )
Publisher: Berkley
Release Date: July 7, 2015

Derek Valencia finally has the success he’s worked so hard for. His band is touring its debut album and great reviews are rolling in. But when pictures of him tossing naked groupies off a balcony go viral, it’s damage-control time. He’s assigned a “babysitter” whose sole job is to keep him out of trouble.

Violet Davis swore she’d never work in the music industry again, but being a minder for a rock star will earn her enough to pay off the mortgage on her wildflower farm. And for a girl brought up in the foster care system, owning her own home means more to her than anything.

Though at first the two bang heads, the rocker and the farm girl soon grow close and realize that they make sweet music together. But can a girl who craves the stability of life on a farm really make it work with a man whose life is spent on the road with his band?

I had a love/hate relationship with I Want You to Want Me. The story was a solid one, pretty realistic in my opinion. Rock band gets out of control and needs someone to rein them in. Some poor shmuck is stuck with what is essentially a babysitting job. Problems, hijinks and a near death experience ensue before the band realizes that they’re headed down a destructive path. Erika Kelly didn’t sugar coat what was going down on that tour bus and on the road. These guys were little boys who had too much freedom and too many people kissing their collective butts so they desperately needed a reality check before they crashed and burned.

Monday, October 12, 2015

Review: Rogue Knight by Regan Walker


If Medieval Romance is your thing then I highly recommend you check out this series by Regan Walker!

Format: .mobi (A copy of this book was provided by the author for the purpose of an honest review. )
Publisher: Createspace
Release Date: October 7, 2015

York, England 1069… three years after the Norman Conquest

The North of England seethes with discontent under the heavy hand of William the Conqueror, who unleashes his fury on the rebels who dare to defy him. Amid the ensuing devastation, love blooms in the heart of a gallant Norman knight for a Yorkshire widow.

A LOVE NEITHER CAN DENY, A PASSION NEITHER CAN RESIST

Angry at the cruelty she has witnessed at the Normans’ hands, Emma of York is torn between her loyalty to her noble Danish father, a leader of the rebels, and her growing passion for an honorable French knight.

Loyal to King William, Sir Geoffroi de Tournai has no idea Emma hides a secret that could mean death for him and his fellow knights.

WAR DREW THEM TOGETHER, WAR WOULD TEAR THEM APART

War erupts, tearing asunder the tentative love growing between them, leaving each the enemy of the other. Will Sir Geoffroi, convinced Emma has betrayed him, defy his king to save her?

Taking place three years after the Norman Conquest, Rogue Knight is a story of love in the time of war between Emma of York, a widow who has nothing but resentment towards the cruel Normans and Sir Geoffroi de Tournai, a knight loyal to the king better known as William the Conqueror. As Geoffroi and Emma’s attraction begins to form the foundation of a lasting relationship, war erupts and tears them apart, leaving them little more than enemies. Convinced that Emma has betrayed him, Sir Geoffroi has to decide whether Emma is worth saving.

Sunday, October 11, 2015

What We Watched for the Week of: October 5, 2015



Okay so another of my hobbies is watching television shows. I don't do this as often because I really can't stand reality shows and that's all there is now. However, there are a few shows that have snagged my attention and while these weekly posts aren't reviews per say, I thought it might be fun to share my thoughts on each week's episodes.

My tv partner is always Mr. Pud and he ALWAYS has something to say either in a look, gesture or in simply taking some of my snacks for himself.

I hope you'll share with me YOUR thoughts on not just these shows but your own favorites too!

*** Just a warning though. Given that these are not reviews but commentaries on each show, expect SPOILERS.

Friday, October 9, 2015

ARC Review: I Need a Hero by Codi Gary


I’m slowly gaining a new appreciation for novellas. When they’re done right, they can be A LOT of fun!

Format: .mobi (A copy of this book was provided by the publisher via Edelweiss for the purpose of an honest review. )
Publisher: Avon Impulse
Release Date: October 22, 2015

Sergeant Oliver Martinez joined the military to serve his country—not plan parties. But after a run-in with his commanding officer, Oliver is suddenly responsible for the Alpha Dogs Training Program's upcoming charity event. Worse, he's got to work with the bossiest, sexiest woman he's ever met—who just happens to be the general's daughter.

When it comes to military men, Evelyn Reynolds is not interested. And with the opportunity to launch her new PR firm at the charity event, she doesn't have time for some sexy, arrogant jerk with a hero complex. Evelyn is determined to keep things professional—if only she can ignore how Oliver's muscles fill out a t-shirt and the infuriating way he makes her heart pound.

But when tempers flare and a scorching kiss turns into so much more, Oliver and Evelyn will have to decide if this attraction is forever…or just for now.

Pairing two strong willed characters like Oliver and Evelyn was bound to cause some serious tension but I wasn’t counting on it being so delicious!

Favorite Character Friday!


Favorite Character Friday is a weekly meme hosted by Adria's Romance Reviews that gives readers a chance to celebrate their favorite characters!

Why a weekly meme? Because really, with millions of books out there and more coming out every week, characters are like potato chips, you can't have just one.

How it works: Every week you pick one of your favorite characters and tell every one who it is, what book they're from and WHY they're one of your favorite characters. Be sure to include the blurb and book cover as well! Share the love and maybe someone will read that same book and see why that character is one of your favorites! Unlike the Book Boyfriend meme (which was a great meme), your Favorite Character Fridays choice can be male or female!

Be sure to link back to Adria's Romance Reviews and share the link via the linky widget below.

Favorite Character: Huck Galvin

Thursday, October 8, 2015

Review: The Prince and I by Karen Hawkins


I think this marks only my third book by Karen Hawkins. Isn’t that sad? Her books are part of my Mount Everest-like list of books I am saving to buy. Geez, that sounds pretty bad doesn’t it? I’m picturing a huge pile of books that I have to scale. Anyway, has anyone read the first book in this series?

Format: .mobi (A copy of this book was provided by the publisher via NetGalley for the purpose of an honest review. )
Publisher: Pocket Books
Release Date: August 25, 2015

Max Romanovin, Oxenburg’s warrior prince, is escorting his grandmother to a house party deep in the Highlands when he and his entourage are robbed at sword point by a group of ruffians led by a man the locals have dubbed “The Scottish Robin Hood.” The battle-savvy prince instantly realizes there’s something different about this thief, and it’s not just the Scottish accent—it’s the fact that “he” is really a “she.”

Lady Murian, a young widow out for revenge against the powerful earl who killed her husband and stole his birthright, is now living in the woods with her family’s banished retainers. To stay alive, she and her band of men rob rich nobles coming to visit the evil earl. But when she ambushes the Prince of Oxenburg’s golden coach, she gets far more than she expected. For when the prince uncovers her true identity, she’s afraid that hemight be the real thief…of her heart.


So, The Prince and I is basically a historical romance that starts when a group of thieves lead by “The Scottish Robin Hood” robs the coach of Oxenburg prince Max Romanovin. A bit of a scuffle ensues in which Max discovers that the leader of the merry band of thieves is a woman, not a man. Max then makes it his personal goal to find out more about her and the reason for her thievery.

Wednesday, October 7, 2015

Review: Claimed by Elle Kennedy


Seriously, only Elle Kennedy could get me to dip into the Dystopian sub-genre of romance again.

Format: Bound Copy (A copy of this book was provided by the publisher for the purpose of an honest review. )
Publisher: Signet
Release Date: October 6, 2015

After a devastating war decimated most of the world, Hudson Lane has only known the oppressive life under her own father’s tyranny. She finally escapes, branding herself an outlaw and hunted by the Enforcers. Her best chance at survival is Connor Mackenzie, an aggressively sensual fugitive who opens her eyes to the wicked possibilities of a world without rules.

As the leader of a band of outlaw fighters, Connor can’t resist the beautiful stranger who asks for his protection. Despite his reservations, he agrees to introduce her to a whole new way of life. But when Connor discovers Hudson’s connection to the enemies of liberty, he wonders how far he can trust the woman who has abandoned all inhibitions to challenge every forbidden desire

Hudson Lane has only known what it’s like to be oppressed by others. Her father was a tyrant, her once kind brother may be headed down the same path and now because of her father, Hudson is left with no other choice to escape the compound she lives in and brand herself an outlaw. With Enforcers ruthlessly hunting her in order to bring her back, Hudson’s only chance to survive in a war torn world is Connor Mackenzie, a man just as dangerous as those hunting her.

Monday, October 5, 2015

Review: Playing with Fire by Kate Meader


I liked almost everything in this book, except the heroine's off job behavior and that made a BIG difference in how I felt about the book at the end.

Format: .mobi (A copy of this book was provided by the publisher via NetGalley for the purpose of an honest review. )
Publisher: Pocket Books
Release Date: September 29,2015

As the only female firefighter at Engine Co. 6, Alexandra Dempsey gets it from all sides: the male coworkers who think she can’t do the job, the wives and girlfriends who see her as a threat to their firefighter men, and her overprotective foster brothers who want to shelter their baby sister at all costs. So when she single-handedly saves the life of Eli Cooper, Chicago’s devastatingly handsome mayor, she assumes the respect she’s longed for will finally come her way. But it seems Mr. Mayor has other ideas…

Eli Cooper’s mayoral ratings are plummeting, his chances at reelection dead in the water. When a sexy, curvaceous firefighter gives him the kiss of life, she does more than bring him back to the land of the living—she also breathes vitality into his campaign. Riding the wave of their feel-good story might prop up Eli’s flagging political fortunes, but the sizzling attraction between them can go nowhere; he’s her boss, and there are rules that must be obeyed. But you know what they say about rules: they’re made to be broken…


Engine Co. 6’s sole female firefighter, Alexandra Dempsey has had to battle for every scrap of respect she can get her hands on and it still isn’t enough. Her co-workers think she can’t handle the pressure, their wives and girlfriends think she’s after their men and her foster brothers are so protective of her it’s suffocating. When she single handedly saves the life of Chicago’s mayor, Alex thinks she’s finally won the respect she desperately craves.

Sunday, October 4, 2015

What We Watched: The Week of 9-28-15



So how did your week of premieres go?

I hope you'll share with me YOUR thoughts on not just these shows but your own favorites too!

*** Just a warning though. Given that these are not reviews but commentaries on each show, expect SPOILERS.

Friday, October 2, 2015

Tasty Book Tours: Breaking a Legend by Sarah Robinson (Review, Exerpt + Giveaway)



MMA romances are new to me, I don’t watch it on tv and I wouldn’t know any of the fighters even if they were wearing a blinking neon sign. However with the right author, an MMA fighter can be one hell of a character!

About Sarah:

Sarah Robinson is the bestselling author of The Photographer Trilogy and the Sand & Clay rock star series.

A native of Washington, D.C., Robinson has both her bachelor’s and master’s degrees in criminal psychology.

She is married to a local police officer who is just as much of an animal rescue enthusiast as she is. Together, they own a zoo of rescue and foster animals.

Find Author:




Format: .mobi (A copy of this book was provided by the publisher via NetGalley for the purpose of an honest review. )
Publisher: Loveswept
Release Date: September 29, 2015

As one of the big names at his family’s gym, Legends, MMA star Rory Kavanagh is used to being in the spotlight—until a gruesome leg injury knocks him out of the cage. Rory is left feeling sidelined in more ways than one, battling the inner demons that come with losing the one shot at his dreams. Then Clare walks into his life and gives him a new dream: winning her heart. There aren’t many new faces in Woodlawn these days, but this tough, beautiful stranger makes Rory want to get his life back into fighting shape.


Clare Ivers doesn’t think she’ll be able to tell anyone what really brought her to the close-knit Bronx neighborhood where she just started bartending. But her life’s on pause and her past is catching up fast, try as she might to move on—with new friends, steady work, and a chiseled alpha male trying to get her attention. Even though Rory’s more than a little intense, she can’t deny that her heart beats faster when he looks at her with those soulful silver eyes. Clare thought she was done with love, but Rory might just be man enough to show her she thought wrong.


Angry and bitter after a serious injury forces him out of the spotlight, MMA fighter Rory Kavanaugh is on a downward spiral that no one seems to be able to help him out of. He may be one of the main draws to Legends, his family owned and operated gym, but Rory is in no mood to be hassled over his behavior. Until he meets the new girl in town.