Taking Review Requests: Not at the moment, but if you're requesting a guest post, interview etc then please see my policy before requesting.

Hosting Giveaways: Yes

Accepting Author Interviews/Guest Posts: Yes

• My review policy and contact info is located OVER HERE.

Bloggers, I would love to interview you, have you guest post and/or guest review here! Please contact me if you're interested!




Wednesday, September 30, 2015

Review: Slow Ride by Cathryn Fox


Hmm, for such a short read, this one left a pretty neat impression. Add another author to my list please!


Format: .mobi (A copy of this book was provided by the publisher via NetGalley for the purpose of an honest review. )
Publisher: Entangled - Brazen
Release Date: September 28, 2015

He's looking for love. She's looking for trouble...

As a successful doctor and weekend cowboy, Chase Cooper enjoys a full life with plenty of female company. But lately, something hasn't felt right. He's been distracted. Antsy. Damn it, he's been lonely. With an eye on settling down with a nice girl, Coop invites his high school best friend down to his ranch to see if maybe she's the one for him...

Instead, her twin sister shows up. The one who loathes him.

Julia Blair is already halfway to Coop's ranch when she learns the invitation wasn't for her, but her vivacious twin sister. She has two choices: slink back home, or see just how far this farce will go. One glance at hotter-than-sin Coop, and she knows she's playing a dangerously hot game. Because what this cowboy wants, this cowboy gets...

Previously released on Entangled's Flaunt imprint as Cowboy's Way - November 2013 and has been enhanced with new material.

Julia Blair may not be as vivacious and outgoing as her twin sister but that didn’t stop Chase Cooper from developing a crush on her when they were teens. Years later Julia mistakenly takes up a mysterious invitation to a weekend on a ranch and when she arrives she is horrified to find out that the invitation was from Cooper and it was meant for Julia’s sister. However, Coop isn’t ready to let his high school crush walk away without giving him a chance to prove that it’s always been her for him.

Tuesday, September 29, 2015

Review: One Moonlit Night by Gaelen Foley




Format: .mobi (A copy of this book was provided by the author for the purpose of an honest review. )
Publisher: Gaelen Foley
Release Date: September 11, 2015

WELCOME TO MOONLIGHT SQUARE ~ REGENCY LONDON'S MOST EXCLUSIVE ADDRESS!**

At the ripe old age of two-and-twenty, Lady Katrina Glendon just can't seem to snare a husband. Whether her frank tongue or slightly eccentric ways bear the blame, she faces a houseful of younger sisters clamoring for her, the eldest, to marry and move aside before they all end up as spinsters. When her latest suitor defects and proposes to another girl, Trinny throws up her hands in despair of ever finding a fiancé. But sometimes destiny waits just around the corner...and love lives right across the square!

Gable Winston-McCray, the charming, understated Viscount Roland saunters through life as a wealthy, sophisticated rakehell and man-about-town. Heir to an earldom, the handsome hedonist would rather dally with bored Society wives than acquire a bride of his own, much to his father's dismay. Until, one moonlit night, fate strikes! Unsuspecting neighbors meet and become flirtatious allies. So when Gable receives his father's ultimatum to wed or go penniless, he offers Trinny a marriage of convenience. Alas, the pretty redhead cannot possibly accept such an unfeeling proposal--even if her dear "Lord Sweet Cheeks" might be the man of her dreams...


Coasting through his life of privilege and women, Gable Winston-McCray, the Viscount Roland was unprepared for meeting Lady Katrina “Trinny” Glendon. Or for the strange things she makes him feel. Her latest suitor has up and married someone else and she’s feeling the pressure from her younger sisters to marry and stop holding up their chances at marriage!


Tuesday Jams: Flashback Baby!

Brazen Babe Reviews have this awesome meme called Tuesday Jams where you share a song that you currently love and can't get out of your head (Or in my case, off "repeat" on my iPod). Everyone's welcome to join in, the more the merrier! Be sure to leave your link on their blog post so that others can stop by and see your selection!

So, the one other thing I love just as much as reading? Listening to music! Though the majority of my music is modern country or movie scores, I do listen to a little bit of everything and am always on the look out for more music to add to my collection (You should see my iTunes library, it's HUGE). That's why Tuesday Jams has just become one of my new favorite memes!

Can't get out of my head song(s) this week are: Everybody (Backstreet’s Back) by the Backstreet Boys.

Okay so I celebrated my birthday yesterday and I’m still rocking out to this song. It was my favorite when it first came out and “X” amount of years later, it’s still a song I just HAVE to dance to! And yes, I totally rocked the choreography on it too ;)



Monday, September 28, 2015

Review: Hold Me Until Morning by Christina Phillips


Okay so I’ve fallen head over heels for the Grayson brothers. Who doesn’t love brothers who came from a tough neighborhood and have made something successful of themselves? Of course, I can’t say who is my favorite since there’s still one more brother before the series is done. I may have to do “extensive research” to find the answer though. And by extensive research I mean several re-reads ;)

Format: .mobi (A copy of this book was provided by the publisher via NetGalley for the purpose of an honest review. )
Publisher: Entangled - Brazen
Release Date: September 28, 2015

She's the one girl he should never touch...
Cooper Grayson is supposed to hole up in a mountain cabin and protect his best friend's little sister from the paparazzi for a week. That's it. But Paris O'Connell isn't a kid anymore, and it's hard to remember this isstrictly business when she bats her big green eyes at him...then crashes through all his carefully placed boundaries.

Paris loves a challenge. And gorgeous Cooper Grayson is the most dangerous challenge she's faced yet. He ignores the sizzling attraction that keeps her awake at nights, and he doesn't care about her fame or her contacts, only seeing her. When they finally kiss, Cooper leaves her bare. Exposed. His for the taking. And take he does...

For one incredibly hot week, Cooper fulfils her every fantasy. But when the real world crashes in, so does reality. And reality tells them there's no way a Hollywood star and a bad boy from the wrong side of town could ever have a future together...


It’s fun when an author puts one or more of her characters in Hollywood but only when that author creates her own celebrities instead of using real ones. Take the heroine of Hold Me Until Morning, she’s a pretty hot commodity when the book starts but the poor girl is on the verge of a nervous breakdown so she takes herself on a little hideaway vacation where not even her questionable mother knows. To protect her from the possibility of paparazzi, her brother has enlisted the help of an old childhood crush. Out of one tough situation and into another right?

Sunday, September 27, 2015

What We Watched: Week of 9-21-15



Okay so another of my hobbies is watching television shows. I don't do this as often because I really can't stand reality shows and that's all there is now. However, there are a few shows that have snagged my attention and while these weekly posts aren't reviews per say, I thought it might be fun to share my thoughts on each week's episodes.

My tv partner is always Mr. Pud and he ALWAYS has something to say either in a look, gesture or in simply taking some of my snacks for himself.

I hope you'll share with me YOUR thoughts on not just these shows but your own favorites too!

*** Just a warning though. Given that these are not reviews but commentaries on each show, expect SPOILERS.

Saturday, September 26, 2015

Odds and Ends Reviews: Not Your Mother, NYC, and Boots No. 7

Welcome to the Odds and Ends Reviews part of the blog. As much as I LOVE reviewing romance novels, I also like talking about and yes, reviewing other things as well. Thanks to Anna at Herding Cats and Burning Soup, I joined Influenster which basically allows you to review products based on your likes. I felt that those products, along with anything else I might pick up on my own, deserved a spot on the blog too.


As always though, I'd LOVE to hear your feedback on some or all of the products I feature here. Feel free to let me know of other products you think I should try too. I'm always looking for bargains in EVERYTHING.

Disclaimer:
* Unless otherwise stated, all products mentioned in this post were given to me by their respective companies via Influenster for the purpose of an honest review.


Developing a beauty regimen isn’t easy. It takes time, patience and of course, money. That last one is a big deal too and if you’re a book lover like me, well, you need as many deals, steals and inexpensive products as you can get. The trick though is finding products that work for YOU. Up until now, skin and hair care products and makeup choices weren’t really an issue. I was and in some ways, still am a tomboy and to me, spending hours on end doing this to my hair or putting this on my face was something that bored me to pieces. That changed when I took a good look in the mirror one day and realized that I had, among other things, dry skin, bags under my eyes, uneven skin tone, thin, dead looking hair and that my way of putting my make up on (Basically the “Throw it on and go” method) was just not working.

So, at 30 I am trying different products to find the ones that work for me and that are affordable. It’s going to be a learning experience, one that I’m actually excited about. So I hope that my experience with these products and others will also help you find something that YOU enjoy and that will fit in with your budget.

Friday, September 25, 2015

Favorite Character Friday!


Favorite Character Friday is a weekly meme hosted by Adria's Romance Reviews that gives readers a chance to celebrate their favorite characters!

Why a weekly meme? Because really, with millions of books out there and more coming out every week, characters are like potato chips, you can't have just one.

How it works: Every week you pick one of your favorite characters and tell every one who it is, what book they're from and WHY they're one of your favorite characters. Be sure to include the blurb and book cover as well! Share the love and maybe someone will read that same book and see why that character is one of your favorites! Unlike the Book Boyfriend meme (which was a great meme), your Favorite Character Fridays choice can be male or female!

Be sure to link back to Adria's Romance Reviews and share the link via the linky widget below.

Favorite Character: Lady Venetia Campbell

Thursday, September 24, 2015

Review: A Duke but No Gentleman by Alexandra Hawkins


Oh boy. This is one of those books that is going to have people who either really love it, or really hate it.

Format: .mobi (A copy of this book was provided by the publisher via NetGalley for the purpose of an honest review. )
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Release Date: June 30, 2015

In the last opulent days of the eighteenth century, a friendly wager turns into a heated feud that spans decades…and a love affair like none other.

What does it take to tempt a lady…

London, 1792. The Duke of Blackbern and the Marquess of Norgrave are boyhood friends who will still compete at anything. Racing, drinking, gambling, even seduction--until Lady Imogen Sunter crosses their path. Achingly beautiful, and innocent, she has no understanding of the jaded gentlemen who are courting her for favors--of how far they are willing to go to get what they want…

In this game of seduce and destroy?


Fighting for Imogen's affection should have been no more than their usual spirited rivalry. But when Blackbern discovers his feelings for Imogen have deepened, all bets are off. Norgrave, driven by his own demons, won't forsake his pride--and with one shocking act of betrayal that threatens Imogen and Blackbern's newfound desire, Norgrave will set the course for a generation of Regency bad boys who will go down in history as the Masters of Seduction...in A Duke But No Gentleman by Alexandra Hawkins.

Boyhood friends Tristan Bailey Rook, the Duke of Blackbern and Cason Brant, the Marquess of Norgrave have always highly competitive streak with just about anything. Not caring who was damaged or destroyed during their “games,” the two built quite a reputation among society.

But when Lady Imogen Sunter enters the picture, Blackbern and Norgraves’ games take on a different tone. The two agree to compete for Imogen’s affections as part of a new game to ease their boredom. When Blackbern begins to develop genuine feelings for Imogen it triggers a dark response in Norgrave that pushes him to try and win at all costs. When Norgrave’s actions lead him to commit the ultimate betrayal, all bets are off and the two friends become sworn enemies, with Imogen caught in the middle.

Wednesday, September 23, 2015

Blog Hop: Rockin' Reads!

Thanks to Anna over at Herding Cats and Burning Soup for hosting not only this hop but others as well and for making them so easy to find and sign up for.


Tuesday, September 22, 2015

Tuesday Jams!

Brazen Babe Reviews have this awesome meme called Tuesday Jams where you share a song that you currently love and can't get out of your head (Or in my case, off "repeat" on my iPod). Everyone's welcome to join in, the more the merrier! Be sure to leave your link on their blog post so that others can stop by and see your selection!

So, the one other thing I love just as much as reading? Listening to music! Though the majority of my music is modern country or movie scores, I do listen to a little bit of everything and am always on the look out for more music to add to my collection (You should see my iTunes library, it's HUGE). That's why Tuesday Jams has just become one of my new favorite memes!

Can't get out of my head song(s) this week are: Just Feel Better by Santana feat. Aerosmith

Who doesn’t know this song? Back when Santana was doing a bunch of duets with popular singers, this one stood out for me because of the lyrics and of course Steven Tyler’s recognizable vocals.



Monday, September 21, 2015

Review: Bonded by Laura Wright


*sighs* I had higher hopes for this book to be honest. Of course, I always have reservations about the accidental baby troupe and I thought that would be my only issue. Sadly it wasn't.

Format: .mobi (A copy of this book was provided by the publisher via NetGalley for the purpose of an honest review. )
Publisher: PENGUIN GROUP Berkley, NAL / Signet Romance, DAW
Release Date: September 1, 2015

Ranch hand Blue Perez's once simple life is spinning out of control. He's discovered he has three half-brothers, and they're not ready to accept his claim on the ranch. Also, Blue's girlfriend may have betrayed him in the worst way possible. And after one evening of drowning his sorrows at the bar, there's someone he can't get out of his mind, a woman who says she's carrying his child.

Following a night of breathtaking passion in the arms of a man who now rules her dreams, waitress Emily Shiver is contemplating her next step. Blue is determined to be a part of her life, yet she would rather raise the baby on her own. But when she becomes the target of someone's dark obsession, Emily must let Blue in—to both her heart and her future.

Blue Perez’s once calm life has been turned upside down and inside out. He has just discovered that his mother lied about his father’s identity, and that he now has three half-brothers who are just as stunned as he is. On top of that big whopper of a revelation comes a betrayal from a girlfriend and a one night stand with a beautiful woman that has serious consequences.

Friday, September 18, 2015

Favorite Character Friday: Lord Treason!


Favorite Character Friday is a weekly meme hosted by Adria's Romance Reviews that gives readers a chance to celebrate their favorite characters!

Why a weekly meme? Because really, with millions of books out there and more coming out every week, characters are like potato chips, you can't have just one.

How it works: Every week you pick one of your favorite characters and tell every one who it is, what book they're from and WHY they're one of your favorite characters. Be sure to include the blurb and book cover as well! Share the love and maybe someone will read that same book and see why that character is one of your favorites! Unlike the Book Boyfriend meme (which was a great meme), your Favorite Character Fridays choice can be male or female!

Be sure to link back to Adria's Romance Reviews and share the link via the linky widget below.

Favorite Character: Nathaniel Stonewell aka “Lord Treason”

Book Title & Author: To Wed a Scandalous Spy by Celeste Bradley

Thursday, September 17, 2015

Throwback Thursday Review: The Winner Takes it All by Jennifer Dawson

Throwback Thursday Reviews on the blog is dedicated to those oldies but goodies that you just can't help but talk about, in a review of course! Shed some light on some of your older favorites and hopefully you'll get someone hooked on a new book, series and/or author! If you've got an oldie but goodie, share it with me! There's no such thing as "Too Many Books!"

With the third book in this series by new to me author Jennifer Dawson just around the corner; I felt I had some catching up to do. I LOVE these characters! They’re passionate, opinionated and stubborn but they’re also loyal, loving and addictive.

Format: .mobi (Purchased )
Publisher: Zebra
Release Date: December 2, 2014

For two stubborn people. . .
Corporate mogul Shane Donovan sees the ultra-cool, collected Cecilia Riley as an ice queen--even if he can't deny that, on the surface, she's a work of perfection his body can't ignore. Forced to spend two weeks in the same house for his sister's upcoming wedding, Shane senses that deep down Cecilia mirrors his need. And he's determined to draw her into a sexy game that will melt away her reserve. . .

Losing is not an option. . .
Career-driven Cecilia Riley has just enough free time in her schedule to head out of town for her brother's wedding. But her agenda is thrown for a loop by the presence of Shane. Though his over-confident attitude leaves a lot to be desired, his insanely hot body has kept Cecilia up nights. Unsure what game Shane is playing, Cecilia takes the bait, bent on resisting him at all costs.
But as Shane and Cecilia discover, temptation follows no rules. . .

With Shane Donovan’s sister marrying Cecilia Riley’s brother, the two are resigned to having to spend two weeks in the same house even though Shane thinks Cecilia is a cold hearted woman and Cecilia would rather be anywhere than in the middle of her own awkward family reunion.

Wednesday, September 16, 2015

HCBS Promotions: Monica Beggs by Sheri Fredricks (Interview + Giveaway)

 

Happy Hump Day people! Today, thanks to Herding Cats and Burning Soup Promotions author Sheri Fredricks is answering a few questions for me and she just landed on one of my notorious lists (Of which there are now 13): “Fun Interviewees”.

There’s also an amazing giveaway of an e-set of Sheri’s ENTIRE BACKLIST! Hours and hours of reading guys! So read on and enjoy your day!!

About Sheri Fredricks:

Always on the hunt for the uncommon things in life, award-winning author Sheri Fredricks thrives on creating one-of-a-kind adventures.

A former engineering secretary, she lives on California’s beautiful central coast. "I wanted to move away from a profession of inflexible right angles and create an unboxed world with no boundaries." A voracious reader since her early years, Sheri found her brain crowded with stories of her own. "Ultimately," she says, "my husband encouraged me to write them all down."

Winner of the Paranormal Romance Guild Reviewer’s Choice Award and a Finalist multiple times for InD’Tale Magazine’s Reward Of Novel Excellence award (RONE), she has numerous five-star reviews everywhere eBooks are sold.

Sheri loves to spend time at home and connecting with readers. A computer hutch keeps her focused on creating stories, but the panoramic view of life on a ranch will call her outside to play in the sun.






Adria: Hi Sheri! Welcome to the blog! How is the weather where you’re at? I’m from Texas so it’s still pretty hot. Only in El Paso can you experience extreme heat, rain and harsh winds in one week! I can’t wait for winter.
Sheri: Hi Adriana! Thanks for asking me to stop by. Yeah, I hear you on the weather. Where I live on the central coast of California, the temperature was 106* during the day and in the 50’s at night. Wish we had your rain to end our drought. Feel free to send some my way. Come on El Nino!
Adria: Right now we’ve got high 90’s with a 30% chance of rain which means humidity, another enemy of mine.

Review: Caught by Clare James


I read this book TWICE and it still didn’t work for me.

Format: .mobi (A copy of this book was provided by the publisher via NetGalley for the purpose of an honest review. )
Publisher: Entangled – Brazen
Release Date: June 30, 2015

She was hired to clean up his image. He wants nothing more than to get her dirty.


Watching sex tapes at the office is just part of PR professional Vivian Blake's job, especially when she has to clean up a celebrity's image. Except that her newest client isn't quite that easy. Racecar driver Jarod Cage is beyond hot, and his onscreen "performance" is already compromising Viv's cool professionalism.

While Jarod hasn't exactly been discreet about his personal life, he never thought his reputation could cost him both his sponsor and his racing career. Now he has to put his future in the hands of a tiny, pixie-like publicist. Which is becoming a problem, because the heat between them is about to redline. But when you go this hard and fast, putting on the brakes is the most dangerous thing you can do...

So basically a bad boy racecar driver gets caught with his pants down literally and PR professional is hired to “clean up” his image. Sparks fly and they both have to come to terms with their personal baggage and the possibility of a real relationship.

Tuesday, September 15, 2015

Tasty Book Tours: A Little Thing Called Love by Cathy Maxwell (ARC Review + Giveaway)


I'm so happy to have caught this new series by Cathy Maxwell (A new to me author) from the beginning. It seems like it could be interesting!

About the Author:

New York Times Bestselling Author, Cathy Maxwell, spends hours in front of her computer pondering the question, “Why do people fall in love?”

It remains for her the great mystery of life and the secret to happiness.

She lives in beautiful Virginia with children, horses, dogs, and cats.

Find Author:




Format: .mobi (A copy of this book was provided by the publisher via Edelweiss for the purpose of an honest review. )
Publisher: Avon Impulse
Release Date: September 22, 2015

Grandmother, grandmother, who shall it be
Who shall it be who will marry me?
Duke, Earl, a powerful marquess?
When my heart is given to Fyclan Morris…


In New York Times bestselling author Cathy Maxwell's new novella, beautiful Jennifer Tarleton has no lack of noble suitors, but the only man who captures her attention is the one her father will never let her marry: Fyclan Morris. He's a brash adventurer, witty, courageous…and Irish! Even worse, her father blames her for their reversal of fortune…

And it's a fortune—or rather, his grandmother the fortune teller—who foretold that Fyclan would meet "the one,", a love prophesied in the stars. He vows nothing will stand in the way of making Jennifer his bride, but is the price too high? Or is a thing called love worth every challenge?


Jennifer Tarleton can have her pick of any nobleman she wants, in fact, her father’s gaming debts insist that she pick the wealthiest of them all. Resigned to her fate, Jennifer retreats into

Tuesday Jams!

Brazen Babe Reviews have this awesome meme called Tuesday Jams where you share a song that you currently love and can't get out of your head (Or in my case, off "repeat" on my iPod). Everyone's welcome to join in, the more the merrier! Be sure to leave your link on their blog post so that others can stop by and see your selection!

So, the one other thing I love just as much as reading? Listening to music! Though the majority of my music is modern country or movie scores, I do listen to a little bit of everything and am always on the look out for more music to add to my collection (You should see my iTunes library, it's HUGE). That's why Tuesday Jams has just become one of my new favorite memes!

Can't get out of my head song(s) this week are: Breath of Life by Florence + the Machine.

I love the “Gothic” sound of this song! I have such a weakness for songs that sound like this and Florence Welch’s haunting voice and lyrics are just icing on an already amazing cake. I put this song on repeat over and over whenever I’m sketching or creating anything because it’s such a motivator for me!



Monday, September 14, 2015

Tasty Book Tours: The Heat of the Moment by Katie Rose (Author Interview + Giveaway)

http://www.tastybooktours.com/2015/07/the-heat-of-moment-boys-of-summer-3-by.html

Hey guys! So, sports romances yay or nay? Personally I think it all depends on the author. I've read one of Katie Rose's books before and I really enjoyed it. I have yet to read this one but I will definitely remedy that!

About the Author:
Award-winning historical author Katie Rose makes her contemporary debut with the Boys of Summer novels, Bring on the Heat and Too Hot to Handle, which combine Katie’s true loves: baseball and romance!

When not watching baseball, Katie is at her lake house in New Jersey, hard at work on her next book.



Find Author:
Online l Facebook l Twitter l GoodReads



Adria: Hi Katie! Thanks for giving me a bit of your time.
Congratulations on the upcoming release of Heat of the Moment! It’s the third book in the Boys of Summer series right? What made you want to write a sports romance?

Katie: My daughter used to drag me to watch the Phillies every Sunday. Originally not a sports fan, I soon discovered that these guys are HOT! I had been writing historicals, but once I got an eyeful of Chase Utley and Cole Hamels, to name a few, I realized that no swashbuckling hero had anything on these guys!

Sunday, September 13, 2015

What We Watched with Adria and Mr. Pud


Aside from my deep love of romance novels is my love for a good, fun TV show. I’m not much of TV watcher because I don’t like soap opera type TV shows and reality TV is a huge no for me. Though to be completely honest, I do have a fondness for the blind auditions on The Voice because I love the sarcastic banter between the coaches. Anyway, since soap opera drama and reality shows is what makes up 90% of TV these days, I am rather limited to what I watch (Unless it’s re-runs of shows from a time where creativity meant something).

However, I’ve managed to get hooked on a handful of shows that while well known, aren’t really what you’d call “mainstream” viewing. They’re more like The Little TV Shows That Could (For Now) and I thought it’d be nice to not only do a recap each week of my favorite shows as they progress but also to see if out of the new shows premiering this fall, any of them will catch my fancy. I won’t be reviewing them per say, just sharing my thoughts, questions and/or theories on that week’s episode. Nothing too long just a few quick sentences.

Obviously the season hasn’t started yet but here’s a rundown of what I hope to be recapping:

Returning Favorites:

Thursday, September 10, 2015

Review: Nailed by Amie Stuart




Format: .mobi (A copy of this book was provided by the publisher via Reading Alley for the purpose of an honest review. )
Publisher: Self Published
Release Date: March 24, 2015

"Lay Low and Live" is what's kept Bonnie James alive for three years. As resident fix-it girl for a tiny apartment complex in an even tinier Texas town, she makes enough money to pay the bills, but being on the run is lonely. Then Bonnie's latest one-night stand turns out to be the bounty hunter sent to track her down, and more importantly, track down the sister she thought was dead.

Wynn Collier is in big trouble: He's got to find what Bonnie's hiding and deliver it to his latest client—On Time Or Else. Manhandling Bonnie violates his personal code, but Wynn is more than happy to use naughtier, more entertaining, forms of persuasion to get what he wants. Living outside the law comes at a high price for the both of them…but so does settling down.

On the run for over three years, Bonnie James has temporarily settled in a tiny Texas town as the resident fix-it-all girl of a small apartment complex. Making just enough to pay the bills, Bonnie does everything possible to keep a low profile until her latest one night stand turns out to be a bounty hunter sent to track her and her supposedly dead sister down.

Wednesday, September 9, 2015

Review: His Lover to Protect by Katee Robert


This one was quite a bit better than the previous one. Alexis is totally different to her sister Avery and I feel I connected with Alexis more even though our life goals couldn't be more different.

Format: .mobi (A copy of this book was provided by the publisher via NetGalley for the purpose of an honest review. )
Publisher: Entangled - Brazen
Release Date: September 7, 2015

He's never met a challenge he couldn't take...

Alexis Yeung did everything right....only to watch everything go horribly, horribly wrong. Broken and angry, Alexis high-tails it to Europe, determined to face the world on her own terms and without consequence. Which includes a mind-blowing night with a sexy, scarred stranger.

Except, embittered former pararescuer Luke Jackson isn't exactly a stranger. He's supposed to keep an eye on Alexis without her knowing. Ending up in bed together was definitely not the plan. Now he's chasing her (admittedly hot) ass across Europe, a game of cat and mouse that always ends with the two of them tangled up in the sheets.

Something in their scarred, damaged souls calls to each other. And God help them, the sex is unbelievably hot. But if Alexis discovers who Luke really is, he'll lose the one thing that makes him feel whole...

Alexis Yeung has survived things that would have taken a lesser woman down, but she didn’t survive them unscathed. Suffering from more than just a broken engagement, Alexis runs off to Europe to regain her self confidence and take control of her life again. One night with a sexy stranger seems like the perfect way to start too, but unknown to her, the stranger isn’t just a random tourist.

Luke Jackson has his own demons to face but he’s put them on hold in order to do a favor for a friend. Keeping an eye on Alexis without her knowledge seems easy enough for the former pararescuer but when he’s near her, all logic and skills go out the window. Alexis challenges him at every turn, something Luke finds irresistible. After one night together, Luke finds himself becoming addicted to the cat and mouse game they seem to be playing as he chases her all over Europe.

Wow, I REALLY liked this one! Alexis' story was more gripping and emotionally motivated than her sister Avery's.

Tuesday, September 8, 2015

Tuesday Jams!

Brazen Babe Reviews have this awesome meme called Tuesday Jams where you share a song that you currently love and can't get out of your head (Or in my case, off "repeat" on my iPod). Everyone's welcome to join in, the more the merrier! Be sure to leave your link on their blog post so that others can stop by and see your selection!

So, the one other thing I love just as much as reading? Listening to music! Though the majority of my music is modern country or movie scores, I do listen to a little bit of everything and am always on the look out for more music to add to my collection (You should see my iTunes library, it's HUGE). That's why Tuesday Jams has just become one of my new favorite memes!

Can't get out of my head song(s) this week are: Wild Child by Kenny Chesney feat. Grace Potter.

I loved this song when it first came out earlier this year but it wasn’t until I read Chasing Mr. Wrong by Joya Ryan that I felt the song fit the story that I remembered how much I loved the lyrics of the song and fell in love all over again. It’s a song about a woman who can’t and won’t be tamed and the man singing it says that even though he knows he can’t keep her, he’s still going to love her any way and enjoy the time they have together and that her “Wild Child” ways are part of what makes her so special.

I just love the lyrics and on some level, I can relate to the woman in the song.


Monday, September 7, 2015

Review: Chasing Mr. Wrong by Joya Ryan + Music Selection


I LOVE this series! Granted, this is only my second time reading a book in the Chasing Love series but dayum are they hot and fun, just like I like them! I even picked a song for this particular couple too!

Format: .mobi (A copy of this book was provided by the publisher via NetGalley for the purpose of an honest review. )
Publisher: Entangled - Brazen
Release Date: September 7, 2015

Who needs Mr. Right when you can have the perfect Mr. Wrong?

Ryder Diamond-the town's golden boy-doesn't have time for taking chances, let alone love. Against his better judgment, he lets his buddies set him up on a blind date with a girl who's only passing through town. But temporary or not, Whitney James sets fire to desires he can't control.

Before they know it, Ryder and Whitney are in a supply closet, drowning in lust. She's only in town for the summer-what better way to spend it than in the arms of Mr. Perfect? Except, she's wild and free, and he's Mr. Stability. Which means he may as well be Mr. Wrong.

And her new job? It's with Ryder's sister.

Sex and the inability to keep their hands off each other are the only things they have in common. But this little hook-up has "disaster" written all over it...and the only way Ryder can save his reputation is by avoiding the sweet little firecracker who could ruin it all.


Chasing Mr. Wrong never felt so right! I’ve been waiting for what seems like forever for the next book in the Chasing Love series by Joya Ryan. I can’t believe I missed out on the first two books in the series!

Friday, September 4, 2015

Favorite Character Friday: She's a Goddess I Tell You!


Favorite Character Friday is a weekly meme hosted by Adria's Romance Reviews that gives readers a chance to celebrate their favorite characters!

Why a weekly meme? Because really, with millions of books out there and more coming out every week, characters are like potato chips, you can't have just one.

How it works: Every week you pick one of your favorite characters and tell every one who it is, what book they're from and WHY they're one of your favorite characters. Be sure to include the blurb and book cover as well! Share the love and maybe someone will read that same book and see why that character is one of your favorites! Unlike the Book Boyfriend meme (which was a great meme), your Favorite Character Fridays choice can be male or female!

Be sure to link back to Adria's Romance Reviews and share the link via the linky widget below.

Favorite Character: Bethany (aka Bet’anya Agriosa, Bathymaas)

Thursday, September 3, 2015

Throwback Thursday Review: Three Fates by Nora Roberts


You gotta love Nora Roberts. She’s one of the greatest romance authors ever and she was the first author I read and fell in love with so it’s been great going through my local library and reliving the books I read so many years ago.

Format: .mobi (Library Check Out )
Publisher: Jove
Release Date: March 25, 2003

When the Lusitania sank, one survivor became a changed man, giving up his life as a petty thief—but keeping the small silver statue he lifted, a family heirloom to future generations.

Now, nearly a century later, that priceless heirloom, one of a long-separated set of three, has been stolen. And Malachi, Gideon, and Rebecca Sullivan are determined to recover their great-great-grandfather’s treasure, reunite the Three Fates, and make their fortune.

The quest will take them from their home in Ireland to Helsinki, Prague, and New York where they will meet a brilliant scholar who will aid them in their hunt—and an ambitious woman who will stop at nothing to acquire the Fates...

After the Lusitania sank, one of the survivors gave up a life of petty theft to become an honest man. Of course, he kept a small silver statue that he lifted from one of the unfortunate passengers aboard the ship. The statue was to become a family heirloom to pass down from generation to generation.

Almost a century later, the statue has become priceless, one of a set of three and it has been stolen. Now siblings Malachi, Gideon and Rebecca Sullivan are determined to recover their heirloom along with the other two statues in order to make a fortune. Along the way they find a shy but brilliant scholar, a down on her luck stripper and a mysterious security expert who join the Sullivans on their quest for the statues. But what starts off as a recovery mission soon takes a turn into a deadly game between them and a dangerous woman who will do anything to acquire the statues for herself.

Wednesday, September 2, 2015

Review: Kissing Vicious by Brooklyn Ann


Who needs another rock star romance? Well, I do! I was really impressed with this book and can't wait to read the next one.

Format: .mobi (A copy of this book was won in a giveaway and not required to be reviewed)
Publisher: Boroughs Publishing Group
Release Date: August 20, 2015

Aspiring guitarist Kinley Black is about to get her first big break—as a roadie for Viciöus, her favorite heavy metal band, and for the rock god she always dreamt might make her a woman.

THE ROADIE

At 15, aspiring guitarist Kinley Black wished she were a boy. At 16, after hearing Quinn Mayne sing, she wanted him to make her a woman. Now, at 22, her dreams have come true. Quinn’s band Viciöus needs someone to lug their amps around the country, to strive and sweat with the guys. She just has to act like one of them.

AND THE ROCK GOD

Quinn had to admit the new chick could pull her weight, but that didn’t mean his road manager made the right choice. Taking a hottie on a heavy metal music tour was like dangling meat in front of a pack of feral hounds—and Quinn could be part dog himself. But more surprising than her beautiful body are Kinley’s sweet licks, so that no man could help but demand a jam session. Quinn will soon do anything to possess her, and to put Kinley in the spotlight where she belongs. And to keep her safe and sound from the wolves.

Kinley Black’s unconventional hobbies include playing the guitar and co-owning a blog dedicated to metal music. When she scores a backstage interview with Vicious, one of the most popular bands ever it’s a dream come true, but once backstage, Kinley gets far more than she could have thought: A chance to be a roadie for her favorite band. She just has to maintain her “Just One of the Guys” attitude, which becomes more difficult with every moment spent in the Quinn Mayne’s presence.

Tuesday, September 1, 2015

Tuesday Jams

Brazen Babe Reviews have this awesome meme called Tuesday Jams where you share a song that you currently love and can't get out of your head (Or in my case, off "repeat" on my iPod). Everyone's welcome to join in, the more the merrier! Be sure to leave your link on their blog post so that others can stop by and see your selection!

So, the one other thing I love just as much as reading? Listening to music! Though the majority of my music is modern country or movie scores, I do listen to a little bit of everything and am always on the look out for more music to add to my collection (You should see my iTunes library, it's HUGE). That's why Tuesday Jams has just become one of my new favorite memes!

Can't get out of my head song(s) this week are: Chains by Nick Jonas.
I haven’t been a teenager for a long time but there’s something about this song and Jonas’ voice that have me playing it over and over again. I couldn’t stand Jealous’ lyrics so I was pleasantly surprised by the catchiness of this tune.