Taking Review Requests: Yes but only if I've reviewed the author in the past. Interviews and guest posts are open to new-to-me authors. Please see my policy before requesting.

Hosting Giveaways: Yes

Accepting Author Interviews/Guest Posts: Yes

• My review policy and contact info is located OVER HERE.

Bloggers, I would love to interview you, have you guest post and/or guest review here! Please contact me if you're interested!




Monday, August 31, 2015

Review: Recipe for Temptation by Gina Gordon


Yeah, this book didn't really work for me. The heroine was just too malleable to be likable.

Format: .mobi (A copy of this book was provided by the publisher via NetGalley for the purpose of an honest review. )
Publisher: Entangled - Brazen
Release Date: August 11, 2015

She’s the woman he loves to hate.

Penn Foster wants a lot of things. She wants a spot on the board of a charitable foundation. She wants to win the stupid, plastic family trophy. And more than anything, she wants her tall, hot, and brooding boss naked in her bed. Now, on a Hawaiian vacation with her family, she’s desperately trying not to think about how he’d sound whispering dirty things in her ear.

He’s the man she can’t have…or can she?


Cole Murphy keeps himself locked down, away from the press and out of the spotlight. Still haunted by a traumatic childhood, his ability to trust has been decimated. Penn, with her sexy body and confidence, is the only person able to drag him out of his shell. Which is why he crashes her vacation and accepts her proposition for no-strings sex. But is the inescapable heat building between them a delicious temptation, or will it end in total disaster?

Cole Murphy and Penn Foster have an unusual relationship. They’re too snarky and defensive to be full on friends but they don’t actually hate each other enough to be enemies either and I refuse to label them “frenemies” (They aren’t teenagers you know). Anyway, in her professional life Penn wants a spot on the board of a charitable organization and in her personal life, she wants to win the plastic trophy in her family’s yearly game (It sounds as ridiculous as it is).

Friday, August 28, 2015

Favorite Character Friday: Blade is his name...

Favorite Character Friday is a weekly meme hosted by Adria's Romance Reviews that gives readers a chance to celebrate their favorite characters!

Why a weekly meme? Because really, with millions of books out there and more coming out every week, characters are like potato chips, you can't have just one.

How it works: Every week you pick one of your favorite characters and tell everyone who it is, what book they're from and WHY they're one of your favorite characters. Be sure to include the blurb and book cover as well! Share the love and maybe someone will read that same book and see why that character is one of your favorites! Unlike the Book Boyfriend meme (which was a great meme), your Favorite Character Fridays choice can be male or female!

Be sure to link back to Adria's Romance Reviews and share the link via the linky widget below.

Favorite Character: Billy Blade

Thursday, August 27, 2015

Throwback Thursday Reviews: Take a Chance on Me by Jennifer Dawson

Throwback Thursday Reviews on the blog is dedicated to those oldies but goodies that you just can't help but talk about, in a review of course! Shed some light on some of your older favorites and hopefully you'll get someone hooked on a new book, series and/or author! If you've got an oldie but goodie, share it with me! There's no such thing as "Too Many Books!"


Format: .mobi (Purchased)
Publisher: Zebra
Release Date: February 14, 2014

Gorgeous runaway brides. . .

When Maddie Donovan runs out on her high school sweetheart moments before walking down the aisle, she ends up at a bar in the small town of Revival, Illinois, with only the wedding dress on her back, fifty dollars to her name, and her "good girl" reputation in tatters. Not ready to return to Chicago and face the music, she accepts hot bartender Mitch Riley's offer to stay at his place. But sharing such close quarters is driving Maddie insane with desire.

Always drink for free. . .


Mitch thinks he's seen it all--until Maddie strides into his bar in full wedding attire and downs three shots of whiskey. Though the gorgeous knockout seems tough as nails, he also senses her vulnerability. With a troubled past of his own, Mitch has no interest in ties of any kind--yet he can't help falling for Maddie. Now he's got to find a way to convince her to give love a second chance.

Maddie Donovan ran out of her own wedding to her high school sweetheart and is now in a small town called Revival. Low on cash, tired and dirty, she decides to abandon her “good girl” reputation and get drunk in a bar. With nowhere to go, Maddie reluctantly accepts the bartender’s completely platonic offer to stay at his place. Good idea in theory, bad idea in reality.

Wednesday, August 26, 2015

Review: Forbidden by Jess Michaels


This full length Woodleys novel ALMOST makes up for the fact that the Woodley I was looking forward to the most had a novella instead of a novel. However, after this one, I just might have to revise my choice of "Favorite Woodley" to one that hasn't had their own book yet!

Format: .mobi (A copy of this book was provided by the publisher via NetGalley for the purpose of an honest review. )
Publisher: The Passionate Pen
Release Date: August 25, 2015

Jude Samson has worked for the Woodley family for such a long time that he is seen as a brother. But he has very unbrotherly feelings toward the youngest of the clan, Lady Audrey. When they find themselves off at the family’s country estate, long simmering desires will come to the forefront and Jude won’t be able to stop himself from taking that one, oh-so-forbidden taste.

After seeing what it has done to her family, Audrey is afraid of passion. But the moment Jude touches her, fear is washed away by intense and powerful lust. Only Jude has a secret that could destroy everything that is beginning to develop between them. And when it comes out, it will change everything.

Lady Audrey Woodley has seen what passion can do to a person. Her brother’s passion for his first wife almost destroyed him and her older sister’s passion for her worthless husband has taken her far away from her family. Naturally Audrey fears what she doesn’t know but that doesn’t stop her from having intense feelings for a family friend. Worse still, the moment he kisses her, Audrey forgets her fear and wants more but when she finally lets her guard down, a terrible secret just might take away Audrey’s chance for happiness.

Jude Samson has been the man of affairs for the Woodley family for so long that he is seen more as a brother than an employee. Except when it comes to Lady Audrey, his feelings are less than brotherly. When he and Audrey find themselves working together to redecorate the family’s country estate, those feelings become harder and harder to hide. So does the painful secret about the Woodleys that Jude has carried around for years.

Tuesday, August 25, 2015

Tuesday Jams: Remembering Aaliyah

Brazen Babe Reviews have this awesome meme called Tuesday Jams where you share a song that you currently love and can't get out of your head (Or in my case, off "repeat" on my iPod). Everyone's welcome to join in, the more the merrier! Be sure to leave your link on their blog post so that others can stop by and see your selection!

So, the one other thing I love just as much as reading? Listening to music! Though the majority of my music is modern country or movie scores, I do listen to a little bit of everything and am always on the look out for more music to add to my collection (You should see my iTunes library, it's HUGE). That's why Tuesday Jams has just become one of my new favorite memes!

Can't get out of my head song(s) this week are: The songs of Aaliyah.

Monday, August 24, 2015

Review: Blackmailed by the Hero by Julie Particka


Entangled Brazen keeps hitting them out of the park with me. Yet another new to me author that I enjoyed! Has anyone read any other books by Julie Particka?

Format: .mobi (A copy of this book was provided by the publisher via NetGalley for the purpose of an honest review. )
Publisher: Entangled - Brazen
Release Date: August 11, 2015

Party planner Vicky Stone is on a post-divorce mission. Not only does she intend to land her dream promotion, she’s going to indulge in a night of hot hook-up sex. Preferably with the hunky actor she just met at a work function, no-fraternization rules be damned. Fortunately, his drunken directions included a right that should have been a left, landing her in bed with her brother's extra-hot, extra-off-limits best friend instead of the unemployment line.

And, oh, he feels good. Too good.

Bad boy Dante Palladino’s forbidden fantasies are about to come true…until Vicky realizes who she’s feeling up. And to find out she risked her job for sex with some loser? Not on his watch. Dante throws down the ultimate, albeit self-serving, blackmail. Vicky will date him—and only him—and her secret will be safe. But Vicky swore never to fall for another guy who could break her heart...and Dante’s on course to do just that.

Recently divorced party planner Vicky Stone is trying to work her way up to her dream promotion without capitalizing on her Hollywood connections. Along the way, she plans on indulging in a one night stand, the hell with the no fraternization rules. Vicky believes the actor she just met at a work function will do quite nicely but as fate would have it, he gives her the wrong directions to his room and Vicky ends up in bed with a very familiar face.

Friday, August 21, 2015

Favorite Character Friday: The Big Kahuna

Favorite Character Friday is a weekly meme hosted by Adria's Romance Reviews that gives readers a chance to celebrate their favorite characters!

Why a weekly meme? Because really, with millions of books out there and more coming out every week, characters are like potato chips, you can't have just one.

How it works: Every week you pick one of your favorite characters and tell everyone who it is, what book they're from and WHY they're one of your favorite characters. Be sure to include the blurb and book cover as well! Share the love and maybe someone will read that same book and see why that character is one of your favorites! Unlike the Book Boyfriend meme (which was a great meme), your Favorite Character Fridays choice can be male or female!

Be sure to link back to Adria's Romance Reviews and share the link via the linky widget below.

Favorite Character: Acheron

Book Title & Author: The Dark Hunter Series by Sherrilyn Kenyon (Appearances), Acheron (His story)

Thursday, August 20, 2015

DNF: Sinful Rewards 11 by Cynthia Sax


This was definitely one of those Did I read the same book everyone else did? cases. It seems like everyone loved this novella while I couldn't stand to finish it!

Format: .mobi (A copy of this book was provided by the publisher via NetGalley for the purpose of an honest review. )
Publisher: Avon Impulse
Release Date: May 12, 2015

Bee Carter has been invited to one of Chicago's most glamorous charity balls. Attending this high-society event will be a dream come true, giving her the sense of belonging she's always craved and memories she could never duplicate.

But it will also test her relationship. Because her date won't be the man she believes she loves. Instead, she'll be arriving on the tuxedo-clad arm of his rival, a man who has never stopped wanting her, desiring her touch, her kisses, and her passion.

How much will Bee risk to make a dream come true? Will her newfound love withstand the temptation of another, a man willing to do anything to claim her?

Sadly, Sinful Rewards 11 was a flat out DNF. I just could not see past the Bee’s obsessive need to constantly remind me that her man was “big and strong” or that he was a military man. I mean she mentioned it in EVERY OTHER SENTENCE! She reminded me of those nasty little high schoolers who just HAS to let everyone within hearing range that they’re with the big strong captain of whatever sports team. It was nauseating! I get it sweetie, your man is a big strong hunk of burning love with a big dick he knows how to use in order to get you to see another galaxy. No need to remind me constantly. I think she may have used up every possible word there was to describe her man. “Massive, big, huge…” It goes on and on!

Wednesday, August 19, 2015

Review: Hold Me Until Midnight by Christina Phillips


Thank you Entangled Brazen and Christina Phillips for this one! I'm seriously in love with the Grayson brothers!

Format: .mobi (A copy of this book was provided by the publisher via NetGalley for the purpose of an honest review. )
Publisher: Entangled - Brazen
Release Date: June 9, 2015

Every good girl loves a very bad boy...

Scarlett Ashford needs a date for her father's wedding. Only she doesn't just need a guy in a suit-she needs a bodyguard. The only problem is that Jackson Grayson is big and gorgeous and way too sexy. So much so that Scarlett's tempted to let this hot bad boy ruin her oh-so-good reputation...

Jackson doesn't do relationships and he certainly doesn't sleep with clients. Yet he can't fight their inconvenient attraction, or how badly he wants Scarlett's warm and wicked curves against his body. He wants her. Now. Even if it's just for one night, and even if walking away the next morning isn't as easy as he thought.

Besides, one hot and incredibly intense night between a bad boy and a pampered princess could never turn into something real...could it?

Scarlett Ashford needs more than just a date for her father’s upcoming wedding; she needs someone intimidating, someone who isn’t afraid to stand up to the people in her rich and snobby world. Someone like Jackson Grayson.

Tuesday, August 18, 2015

Tuesday Jams!

Brazen Babe Reviews have this awesome meme called Tuesday Jams where you share a song that you currently love and can't get out of your head (Or in my case, off "repeat" on my iPod). Everyone's welcome to join in, the more the merrier! Be sure to leave your link on their blog post so that others can stop by and see your selection!

So, the one other thing I love just as much as reading? Listening to music! Though the majority of my music is modern country or movie scores, I do listen to a little bit of everything and am always on the look out for more music to add to my collection (You should see my iTunes library, it's HUGE). That's why Tuesday Jams has just become one of my new favorite memes!

Can't get out of my head song(s) this week are: If by Janet Jackson.

Monday, August 17, 2015

Review: Last of the Red Hot Riders by Tina Leonard


Has anyone read the first book in the series? Would you recommend it to me or not?

Format: .mobi (A copy of this book was provided by the publisher via NetGalley for the purpose of an honest review. )
Publisher: Random House Publishing - Loveswept
Release Date: May 26, 2015

The toughest rodeo rider in Hell, Texas, discovers his tender side with a feisty cowgirl in this sexy new novel from USA Today bestselling author Tina Leonard.

Cameron Dix knows that becoming an elite rider is the first step to realizing her dream: owning a special-needs equestrian academy. Only one thing stands in her way—and he's big, tall, and sizzles like a Texas steak. Superhunk Saint Markham claims that he isn't happy about all the women galloping into town, but the heat in his eyes tells Cameron a different story. What else can a fiery redhead do but let her hair down and give in to desire hot enough to melt her saddle?

Saint has seen what happens when women come marching into the Hell's Outlaws Training Center: Strong men crumble. Problem is, he's got rivals willing to train a talented lady rider like Cameron. But after one night of passion, he's branded. And from the moment he kisses her ruby lips, Cameron is his—even if he's too stubborn to admit it. Now Saint must stake his claim on a life of delicious sin with the woman he loves.

Owning a special needs equestrian academy has always been Cameron Dix’s dream but she’s a smart woman and knows that in order to achieve that dream she has to become one of the best bullfighting riders anyone’s ever seen. The only problem is her unwanted attraction to Saint Markham, her reluctant but drop dead sexy instructor.

Friday, August 14, 2015

Favorite Character Friday #31

Favorite Character Friday is a weekly meme hosted by Adria's Romance Reviews that gives readers a chance to celebrate their favorite characters!

Why a weekly meme? Because really, with millions of books out there and more coming out every week, characters are like potato chips, you can't have just one.

How it works: Every week you pick one of your favorite characters and tell everyone who it is, what book they're from and WHY they're one of your favorite characters. Be sure to include the blurb and book cover as well! Share the love and maybe someone will read that same book and see why that character is one of your favorites! Unlike the Book Boyfriend meme (which was a great meme), your Favorite Character Fridays choice can be male or female!

Be sure to link back to Adria's Romance Reviews and share the link via the linky widget below.

Favorite Character: Mira

Book Title & Author: Edge of Dawn by Lara Adrian

Thursday, August 13, 2015

Review: Even the Score by Kate Meader


Tell me I'm not the only one who really liked this book! I really hope there are going to be more books in this series soon.

Format: .mobi (A copy of this book was provided by the publisher via NetGalley for the purpose of an honest review. )
Publisher: Entangled - Brazen
Release Date: July 21, 2015

He'll make her an offer she can't refuse...


Actress Tess McKenzie is performing in the Tenth Circle of Showbiz Hell-dinner theater. All she really wants is to start a theater of her own. Then Tess receives an offer she can't refuse. She'll get her funding...if she pretends to be the fiancée to her nemesis, Texan property tycoon Hunter Dade. If she's going to pull this off, she'll need all the luck she can get. Break a leg, indeed.

On the verge of a big business deal, Hunter needs to hire a fiancée. He hasn't quite forgiven Tess for ruining his wedding, but when their chemistry goes from combative to straight-up lust, the "no sex" clause in their mutually beneficial arrangement is tested. Which is a serious problem, because if Tess isn't careful, she'll go from breaking a leg to breaking her heart...

Hunter Dade and Tess McKenzie’s first meeting went less than well. Their second encounter even less so since Tess managed to convince Hunter’s fiancé to run off with someone else. Time doesn’t necessarily heal all wounds, especially the ones that have to do with pride and vanity. When Hunter needs to hire a fake fiancé in order to close a business deal, Tess is the only viable candidate and Hunter sees it as an opportunity for revenge as well. Their off the charts physical chemistry is matched only by their constant bickering, which leads to some very steamy moments. Little by little, the millionaire Texas cowboy and the struggling stage actress discover that they may not be as different or as indifferent to each other as they originally thought.

Nice shootin’ Tex.

Wednesday, August 12, 2015

Review: If You Dare by Jessica Lemmon


Gah, I seriously think this one should have been saved for Halloween since it revolves around what happens at a rumored haunted house and cause I just LOVE Halloween.

Format: .mobi (A copy of this book was provided by the publisher via NetGalley for the purpose of an honest review. )
Publisher: Entangled - Lovestruck
Release Date: July 21, 2015

Lily McIntire is in the creepiest mansion in town. Alone. At night. Because she’s an idiot—and can’t ignore a dare from her cocky and infuriatingly hot co-worker, Marcus Black. But she'll be damned if she's going to give him the satisfaction of winning.

Marcus has had a thing for Lily for ages, and he has no intention of losing this bet. His plan? Scare her out of the house, and into his arms. Once there, scaring her turns into protecting her and soon after, into seducing her. And his plan is working…

Lily is having trouble relegating Marcus to the role of “asshat” as easily as before. He came to her rescue, and he’s actually funny. Charming. Sexy as sin on a stick. But Lily has a strict no-love-in-the-workplace rule, and even one night of the best sex ever won’t make her change her mind. So she’s calling everything off…

Surviving a night in the mansion might just be the easy part. Surviving Marcus’s increasingly convincing advances is going to take everything she has. Losing is not an option…

NOTE: This title was previously published November 2013 on Flaunt as a novella but has been significantly revised and lots of yummy new scenes added to give readers a full-length category romance full of humor and sizzle.

I have never had such fun reading an enemies to lovers romance like I did with If You Dare. It wasn’t just that Marcus and Lily were enemies, but that their antagonistic relationship included the adult version of pigtail pulling, food stealing and making faces at one another. Technically these two didn’t actively hate one another, they were more like professional rivals with a dose of mistrust on Lily’s side.

Tuesday, August 11, 2015

Tuesday Jams: No way, THAT'S the name of the artist?

Brazen Babe Reviews have this awesome meme called Tuesday Jams where you share a song that you currently love and can't get out of your head (Or in my case, off "repeat" on my iPod). Everyone's welcome to join in, the more the merrier! Be sure to leave your link on their blog post so that others can stop by and see your selection!

So, the one other thing I love just as much as reading? Listening to music! Though the majority of my music is modern country or movie scores, I do listen to a little bit of everything and am always on the look out for more music to add to my collection (You should see my iTunes library, it's HUGE). That's why Tuesday Jams has just become one of my new favorite memes!

Can't get out of my head song(s) this week are: Africa and I’ll Be Over You by Toto.

Monday, August 10, 2015

Tasty Book Tours: Playing for Her Heart by Megan Erickson (Review + Giveaway)


Goodness gracious but this book was super sexy! While I enjoyed the first book in the series, I LOVED this one. I would love to Cosplay one day but for that I'd need a heck of a lot of confidence!

About Megan Erickson

Megan worked as a journalist covering real-life dramas before she decided she liked writing her own endings better and switched to fiction.

She lives in Pennsylvania with her husband, two kids and two cats.

When she's not tapping away on her laptop, she's probably listening to the characters in her head who won't stop talking.

Find Author:
Online l Facebook l Twitter l Pinterest








Format: .mobi (A copy of this book was provided by the publisher via NetGalley for the purpose of an honest review. )
Publisher: Entangled - Brazen
Release Date: August 11, 2015

She wanted fantasy. He's about to make it a reality...

Grant Osprey just had the hottest sex of his life. Sure, they were both in costume, and yes, it was anonymous, but he never expected her to bolt in the middle of the night without so much as a good bye, let alone exchanging numbers. Or names. All he's left with are her panties and some seriously X-rated memories...until he meets his business partner's little sister.

Only Chloe Talley isn't the bold, sexy vixen he remembers. And she wants nothing to do with him.

Cosplay is Chloe's only chance to leave her boring, socially awkward world behind. To forget that she's failing at life and can't be with anyone, let alone a single-father like Grant. But the raw hunger between them is undeniable. With him, she can be a misbehaving maid. A sexy call girl for hire. Each scene pushes Chloe beyond her strict boundaries, until Grant demands the one character she can't play.

Chloe Talley needs to pretend to be someone else in order to escape the grief, despair and overwhelming shyness of her everyday life. When she hooks up with an anonymous stranger at Comic Con, she’s a bold, daring, sexy seductress. Even though their chemistry is amazing, Chloe still slips away without saying goodbye and believes that is that. Until she joins her brother on a business lunch and learns that her mysterious hook up was none other than her brother’s business partner and close friend!

Friday, August 7, 2015

Favorite Character Friday #30

Favorite Character Friday is a weekly meme hosted by Adria's Romance Reviews that gives readers a chance to celebrate their favorite characters!

Why a weekly meme? Because really, with millions of books out there and more coming out every week, characters are like potato chips, you can't have just one.

How it works: Every week you pick on of your favorite characters and tell every one who it is, what book they're from and WHY they're one of your favorite characters. Be sure to include the blurb and book cover as well! Share the love and maybe someone will read that same book and see why that character is one of your favorites! Unlike the Book Boyfriend meme (which was a great meme), your Favorite Character Fridays choice can be male or female!

Be sure to link back to Adria's Romance Reviews and share the link there in the comments (If the meme gets bigger, then a linky form will be added).

Thursday, August 6, 2015

Review: The Art of Sinning by Sabrina Jeffries


I don't think there's ever going to be a point where I DON'T love a historical romance by this author. Have you guys read this one yet? Is there an author that has yet to disappoint you? Share!

Format: .mobi (A copy of this book was provided by the publisher via NetGalley for the purpose of an honest review. )
Publisher: Pocket Books
Release Date: July 21, 2015

The first novel in the Sinful Suitors series by New York Times bestselling author Sabrina Jeffries!

At St. George’s Club, guardians conspire to keep their unattached sisters and wards out of the clutches of sinful suitors. Which works fine…except when the sinful suitors are members!

American artist Jeremy Keane refuses to return home and take over his father’s business. He’d much rather sample bevvies of beauties abroad, in search of a model for the provocative masterpiece he’s driven to paint. When he meets Lady Yvette Barlow at a London wedding, he realizes she’s perfect for his work—and determines to capture the young heiress’s defiant spirit and breathtaking sensuality on canvas.

No stranger to scandal, Yvette agrees to be Keane’s subject—in exchange for his help gaining entry to the city’s brothels he knows intimately, so she can track a missing woman and solve a family mystery. But when their practical partnership leads to lessons in the art of sinning, can they find a bold and lasting love?

American artist Jeremy Keane journeyed to London in order to escape the pressure to take over his father’s business. Instead he found himself surrounded by his distant cousin and her family, all wanting to help him find happiness. As well meaning as they are, Jeremy just wants to find a muse for his latest painting, which he believes he’s found in Lady Yvette Barlow.

Wednesday, August 5, 2015

Review: Wild Nights by Karen Erickson


I just know I've read another Karen Erickson book before but I just can't remember which one. It must be that old age catching up to me ;)

Format: .mobi (A copy of this book was provided by the publisher via NetGalley for the purpose of an honest review. )
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Release Date: July 21, 2015

A guy of her own? She’s not holding her breath—until he steals it away.

Vegas Nights, Book 3

Natalie’s girls-only weekend in Vegas is shot to hell, thanks to her friends ditching her for very sexy, very famous guys. Not that she blames them. She knows what lonely feels like. A nurse’s long hours leave little time for a social life.

Then she collides with and spills her drink all over a very fine, very exposed male chest. A chest belonging to Noah Wilde, lead singer for the infamous Wilde & Wicked rock band. Thankfully, he’s merely amused as she tries to take care of the mess she made.

Noah sure would like to make a mess of the gorgeous, petite lady with luminous blue eyes. There’s no resisting the urge to tempt her along for an adventurous night of gambling, drinking, eating, and sin.

But during the harsh light of day, Noah has a change of heart. Not about the fact he likes Natalie—a lot. He’s not sure he wants to drag this sweet lady through his sordid life. Even though sparing her could cost them both a chance at forever.

Warning: Contains a nurse who thought she knew all there was to know about anatomy, and a rock god who’s about to show her a few spots she missed. To say they both hit the jackpot would be an understatement.

A girls night only in Vegas sounds like the perfect chance to blow off some steam for Natalie. As a nurse she doesn’t have much time for a personal life, but after her two friends ditch her for two sexy as sin celebrities, Natalie is left feeling lonely, unsure and ready to call it a night but a chance accident has Natalie spilling her drink all over the lead singer of rock band Wilde & Wicked.

Tuesday, August 4, 2015

Tasty Book Tours: The Highlander Takes a Bride by Lynsay Sands (Review, Excerpt + Giveaway)


Good Tuesday everyone! Who loves Highland romances? Are you used to the way some authors write their characters' dialogue? It took me forever to learn that "You ken" meant "You know" and don't get me started on the other little phrases. Slowed me down some but I still enjoyed the book!

About Lynsay Sands

LYNSAY SANDS is the nationally bestselling author of the Argeneau/Rogue Hunter vampire series, as well as numerous historicals and anthologies. She’s been writing stories since grade school and considers herself incredibly lucky to be able to make a career out of it. Her hope is that readers can get away from their everyday stress through her stories, and if there’s occasional uncontrollable fits of laughter, that’s just a big bonus. Please visit her on the web at www.lynsaysands.net.


Find Author:
Online l Facebook l Twitter




Format: .mobi (A copy of this book was provided by the publisher via Edelweiss for the purpose of an honest review. )
Publisher: Avon Romance
Release Date: July 6, 2015

Sword fighting, swearing, and riding astride come naturally to Saidh Buchanan. Simpering and holding her tongue-definitely not. Raised alongside seven boisterous brothers, Saidh has little interest in saddling herself with a husband…until she glimpses the new Laird MacDonnell bathing naked in the loch. Though she’s far from a proper lady, the brawny Highlander makes Saidh feel every inch a woman.

She has an angel’s looks, a warrior’s temper, and seeks out his kisses with wanton eagerness. Little wonder that Greer is intrigued by his comely guest. When reckless desire overtakes them, he’s more than willing to make an honest woman of her. But Saidh is the target of a hidden enemy, and Greer faces the battle of his life…to safeguard the woman he wants above all others.

Saidh Buchanan is no simpering, whimpering damsel in distress. Swearing, sword fighting and riding are more her style, as is being brutally honest. She has no interest in settling down with a husband any time soon, until she stumbles upon the new but reluctant Laird MacDonnell in all his glory bathing in the loch.

Monday, August 3, 2015

Review: The Bourbon Kings by J.R. Ward


I have never read a J.R. Ward book until now so I really don't have anything to contribute to the debate about this particular book. Tell me though, if you've been a longtime fan, how does this book measure up? Do you recommend Ward's books to me? If so, which ones?

Format: Hardcover (A copy of this book was provided by the publisher via NetGalley for the purpose of an honest review. )
Publisher: Berkley NAL
Release Date: July 28, 2015

For generations, the Bradford family has worn the mantle of kings of the bourbon capital of the world. Their sustained wealth has afforded them prestige and privilege—as well as a hard-won division of class on their sprawling estate, Easterly. Upstairs, a dynasty that by all appearances plays by the rules of good fortune and good taste. Downstairs, the staff who work tirelessly to maintain the impeccable Bradford facade. And never the twain shall meet.

For Lizzie King, Easterly’s head gardener, crossing that divide nearly ruined her life. Falling in love with Tulane, the prodigal son of the bourbon dynasty, was nothing that she intended or wanted—and their bitter breakup only served to prove her instincts were right. Now, after two years of staying away, Tulane is finally coming home again, and he is bringing the past with him. No one will be left unmarked: not Tulane’s beautiful and ruthless wife; not his older brother, whose bitterness and bad blood know no bounds; and especially not the ironfisted Bradford patriarch, a man with few morals, fewer scruples, and many, many terrible secrets.

As family tensions—professional and intimately private—ignite, Easterly and all its inhabitants are thrown into the grips of an irrevocable transformation, and only the cunning will survive.

The Bourbon Kings needs a theme song, ASAP!

Saturday, August 1, 2015

You Took a Break... Now What?

A break really does do a mind and body well. So I highly recommend breaks to fellow bloggers. I’ll be taking another one for Christmas that’s for sure. But this was my first longtime break since I started the blog and I’m asking myself:

I’m back to blogging… Now what?

Well for starters there have been a few changes with the way the blog looks and there will be some more changes in the future. My review policy was tweaked a bit to reflect certain changes/trends that are happening. Oh, and the way I structure reviews is a bit different but I’m not sure that’s going to stay since it would require extra work graphic wise. I like the idea of a “Review Card” at the beginning of each review but since each “Card” would be personalized, I would have to make them in advance and so far I haven’t been able to get ahead very much. So that’s strictly on the “Trial Basis” list. I’ve updated the “About Me” section and am working on organizing the “Helpful Links for Bloggers and Authors” page among other things.

I am limiting my book review posts to about 3 or 4 to make room for memes and other types of posts since I felt things were getting a bit monotonous around here. I hope you like some of the things I’ve got planned but more importantly, that I can keep up with it!!

Actually, the real reason for this post is because I wanted to give away an Amazon gift card. I didn’t want to draw in total strangers but rather, give the handful of great visitors I have a chance to win something as a thank you. So you see, that’s why I rambled on for a bit and didn’t include the word “Giveaway” anywhere on the title. So good luck to you guys and thanks for sticking around!