Taking Review Requests: Not at the moment, but if you're requesting a guest post, interview etc then please see my policy before requesting.

Hosting Giveaways: Yes

Accepting Author Interviews/Guest Posts: Yes

• My review policy and contact info is located OVER HERE.

Bloggers, I would love to interview you, have you guest post and/or guest review here! Please contact me if you're interested!




Friday, August 29, 2014

Romance Wrangler Book Tour: The de Valery Code by Darcy Burke (Interview, Review + Giveaway)

I've just discovered a new series to love! I also got the chance to ask author Darcy Burke a handful of questions for today's stop so sit back and enjoy. Oh and big thanks to Kati from Romance Wrangler who asked me to be a part of this tour.


About Darcy Burke:

Darcy Burke wrote her first book at age 11, a happily ever after about a swan addicted to magic and the female swan who loved him, with exceedingly poor illustrations. Darcy writes hot, action-packed historical and sexy, emotional contemporary romance.

A native Oregonian, Darcy lives on the edge of wine country with her devoted husband, their two great kids, and two Bengal cats. In her “spare” time Darcy is a serial volunteer enrolled in a 12-step program where one learns to say “no,” but she keeps having to start over. She’s also a fair-weather runner, and her happy places are Disneyland and Labor Day weekend at the Gorge.

Find Darcy:


Adria: Hi Darcy and welcome to the blog!
Darcy: Thank you for having me!

Adria: For those who are unfamiliar with your work can you tell them a little about The de Valery Code?
Darcy: The de Valery Code is the first book in my Regency Treasure Hunters series. It was supposed to be a prequel novella and it is still a bit of a prequel, but it’s definitely a novel! The de Valery Code is a secret cipher hidden in a medieval manuscript that may or may not lead to a treasure related to King Arthur. The hero and heroine are on a quest to solve the code and hopefully find the treasure. If you think the title of the book is shamelessly ripped from The da Vinci Code, you might be correct (thanks to my husband for suggesting it!).

Adria: I love the idea of treasure hunting in the Regency period because there wasn’t much in the way of technology to make it a little easier. What is the inspiration for the story itself?
Darcy: Mostly, I just wanted to write an action-adventure treasure hunt. I like road stories so this fits that as well. I’d started a book a few years back about a heroine who was sort of a precursor to an archaeologist (and she’ll actually appear in book four in the series) and that idea came from my visit to Wales several years ago. I’m Welsh by descent (my grandmother was born there) and am intrigued by its rich history and all of the treasures that have been found from so many eras in time. This series sort of captures all of that, I hope!

Adria: What kind of research went into The de Valery Code?
Darcy: So much, lol. Because the story delves into Arthurian legend, I did a lot of reading on how and where it originated. I consciously decided to veer from strict legend to tell my own story, but there are a lot of fun facts (or theories) woven in.

Adria: What are you currently working on?
Darcy: I’m actually working on the second full length book in my contemporary Ribbon Ridge series, coming in February from Avon Impulse. I’m so excited to share my corner of the world (Oregon Wine Country) and the sprawling Archer family with readers. I’m also working on Regency Treasure Hunters Book Two, Romancing the Earl. If you aren’t signed up for my newsletter, be sure to do so because subscribers will get the first look at the gorgeous cover for Romancing the Earl!

Adria: Thanks for stopping by Darcy, is there anything else you would like to add?
Darcy: No, but thanks again for having me! I hope you enjoy The de Valery Code!


Thursday, August 28, 2014

Goddess Fish Promotions Blog Tour: Guarding Poppy by Christine Wenrick (Review, Interview + Giveaway)


I'm super excited to not only review Guarding Poppy but to also have a chance to catch up with author Christine Wenrick. She's been a guest on the blog before and I'm happy to have her here once again since she's one of my more recent favorites! I hope you enjoy today's stop and don't forget that there's a giveaway that includes a grand prize of a $100 Amazon Giftcard!

About Christine:

Christine is a graduate of Washington State University where she received a BA in Interior Design. And true to form of using mostly her ‘right brain’, she splits her time between her commercial design career and her imaginary world of writing.

She lives in the scenic Pacific Northwest where she enjoys hiking, camping and photographing many of the wonderful places that served as inspiration for her writing.

Her biggest reward in life is any given day when one of her books connects with a reader because she herself is such a lover of reading.

Some of her favorite authors include Lisa Kleypas, Julia Quinn, and Kimberly Derting.


Find Christine: 
Online l Facebook l Facebook Fan Page l Twitter l GoodReads l Amazon






Adria: Hi Christine! Welcome back to the blog, it’s great having you here again! I do hope you’re not allergic to cats (I am) because I’ve got two busybodies that refuse to leave:


Christine: Glad to be back! And I love cats so we should be just fine.

Wednesday, August 27, 2014

Book Blast: Sculptor's Desire by Kerry Adrienne

Ellora’s Cave presents Sculptor’s Desire by Kerry Adrienne. The second book in Adrienne’s Gallant Gentlemen’s Guild series, Sculptor’s Desire give new meaning to staying up past your bedtime! Check out the blurb, excerpt and don’t forget to enter to win PRIZE?

About Kerry:

Kerry loves history and spends large amounts of time wondering about people who lived and walked on Earth in the past. She’s a mom to three daughters, six cats, and various small animals, including a panther chameleon.

In addition to writing, she’s a college instructor, artist, costumer, and editor. Her new love is her Mini Cooper Convertible, Sheldon, and they have already gone on many adventures.

Find Kerry Adrienne:


Tuesday, August 26, 2014

ARC Review: Under His Protection by Katie Reus

Format: .mobi (provided by publisher in exchange for an honest review)
Release Date: September 1, 2014

Julieta’s stalker doesn’t play by the rules

Lingerie shop owner Julieta Mederos has worked hard to get her business off the ground. Now she’s looking forward to some quality time with her friends and her big, boisterous family. But explicit texts from random phone numbers and vandalism at her shop makes it clear someone dangerous has fixated on her. Without any solid leads, the police can’t help her and she’s forced to turn to the last man she wants to depend on.

…but neither does Ivan.

Former Army Ranger and newest Red Stone Security employee Ivan Mitchell has gotten used to being alone in the world. He never even thinks about it anymore—until he meets sexy, independent Julieta. She’s everything he could ever want…but she seems determined to keep him at arm’s length. Until now. Maybe the cops can’t do anything to protect her, but he can. When things escalate faster than even he expected, he finds himself pulling out his most extreme combat skills to protect her. He’ll do what it takes to save her life—and prove to her she belongs in his.

I totally love this series! Romance, action, suspense and a mysterious villain? What's not to love?

Monday, August 25, 2014

ARC Review: Beauty's Beast by Amanda Ashley

Format: .mobi (provided by publisher in exchange for an honest review)
Release Date: September 2, 2014

Beauty

Fair of face and figure, Kristine is young, innocent, pure. Yet she has been condemned to the gallows for killing a man. The only one who can save her is a lord so infamous that some say he is the son of the Devil himself. . .

And the Beast

Erik Trevayne is called the Demon Lord of Hawksbridge Castle, but few know of the curse he lives under. Or the terrifying changes slowly gnawing away at his humanity. When he weds her, all he wants of Kristine is a son. But when he beds her, a wild hope is born--that love that can tame even the most monstrous of beasts...

Sometimes it’s the dark and gritty stories that get to you in the best possible way.


Saturday, August 23, 2014

BLOG BARRAGE: Tempted by a Rogue Prince by Felicity Heaton (Exerpt + Giveaway)



I've read most of the books in Felicity's Vampire Erotic Theatre series and have enjoyed them but I have to say that this series is my favorite so far, and Tempted by a Rogue Prince is the one to beat in my opinion. In case you're wondering, I've reviewed that book over at I Smell Sheep. Anyway, don't forget to enter the giveaway at Felicity's website. There are THREE Amazon giftcards up for grabs!


Tempted by a Rogue Prince, the third book in New York Times best-seller Felicity Heaton’s hot new paranormal romance series, Eternal Mates, is now available in ebook and paperback. To celebrate the release, she’s holding a FANTASTIC GIVEAWAY at her website.

Tempted by a Rogue Prince and the Eternal Mates series is set in the same world as the Vampire Erotic Theatre series, so if you’re a fan of that series, you will love Eternal Mates. Throughout this series, you’ll have a chance to catch up with the cast of the Vampire Erotic Theatre series and learn more about their world. In Claimed by a Demon King, you’ll get to visit the theatre, and some of the favourite characters in the Vampire Erotic Theatre series.

About Felicity Heaton:
Felicity Heaton is a New York Times and USA Today international best-selling author writing passionate paranormal romance books. In her books, she creates detailed worlds, twisting plots, mind-blowing action, intense emotion and heart-stopping romances with leading men that vary from dark deadly vampires to sexy shape-shifters and wicked werewolves, to sinful angels and hot demons! If you're a fan of paranormal romance authors Lara Adrian, J R Ward, Sherrilyn Kenyon, Gena Showalter and Christine Feehan then you will enjoy her books too.

If you love your angels a little dark and wicked, the best-selling Her Angel series is for you. If you like strong, powerful, and dark vampires then try the Vampires Realm series or any of her stand-alone vampire romance books. If you’re looking for vampire romances that are sinful, passionate and erotic then try the best-selling Vampire Erotic Theatre series. Or if you prefer huge detailed worlds filled with hot-blooded alpha males in every species, from elves to demons to dragons to shifters and angels, then take a look at the new Eternal Mates series.


Find Felicity:




An elf prince on the verge of losing himself to the darkness, Vail is maddened by the forty-two centuries he was under the control of a witch and forced to war with his brother. Now, he roams Hell seeking an escape from his terrible past and the heads of all who bear magic. When demons of the Fifth Realm capture him, he sees a chance to end his existence, but when he wakes in a cell to a beautiful female, he finds not death but his only shot at salvation—his true fated mate.

Captured by the enemy of the Third Realm when the war ended, Rosalind has spent months in the cells of the Fifth Realm with her magic bound, forced to heal the new king’s demon warriors, and haunted by the lives she has taken. When she’s brought to heal an unconscious man, she discovers her only hope of escape has come in the form of her worst nightmare and the first part of a prediction that might spell her doom—a devastatingly handsome and dangerous dark elf prince.

Unwilling to fall under the control of anyone ever again, Vail must escape before the Fifth King can use him as a pawn in a deadly game of revenge, but he cannot leave without Rosalind, the woman who looks at him with dark desire in her stunning eyes and awakens a fierce hunger in his heart. A witch who drives him mad with need even as the darkness within whispers she will enslave him too.

Can Rosalind escape her fate as they embark on a journey fraught with danger and resist the temptation of her rogue elf prince? And can Vail overcome the memories that madden him in order to seize his chance for salvation and the heart of his fated female forever?

Purchase Links:



Excerpt


The man on the cold stone slab before her twitched and moaned, the sound strained and filled with agony that tore at her and compelled her to help him.


“I don’t have power over this man’s life,” Rosalind whispered to him in reply to the incubus, her eyes fixed on his face, taking in the dark circles beneath his eyes and the hollows of his cheeks. “I don’t have the right to choose whether he lives or dies.”


“Because the demons told you to heal him?” the incubus said.


“No.” Rosalind shook her head and looked across at him. “Because it isn’t in my nature to do such a thing. I will heal him.”


The man scoffed. “And you will live to regret it, Little Girl.”


“I’m not a girl. I’m over one hundred years old… and do I look like a girl to you?” Rosalind stood and ran her hands down her tattered black dress, the traditional garb of a witch on duty.


The incubus’s eyes followed them, the blue and gold in his irises increasing, and he muttered, “No.”


He turned away, pressing his bare back against the bars of his cell and revealing the twin lines of markings where they joined between his shoulders and formed a line down his back that ended in a diamond above the waist of his low-slung black jeans.


At least he would be quiet now. She hoped. Healing always required focus, and something told her that this time it would need the highest level of concentration she could manage.


Something else told her that the incubus might be right. She might regret healing this man. If he was as dangerous as he felt, he might well kill her upon waking.


But maybe that would be what she deserved after the things she had done.


She had vowed to protect lives, to do all in her power to tend to people’s needs, and she had been protecting lives in the war between the Third and Fifth Realms, but she had also been taking them.


If this man was a killer and deserved death because of it, then surely she deserved the same fate in order to maintain the balance and order of the world?


She closed her eyes against the memories that welled up, lashing at her. She hated that she now knew how to kill. She hated knowing she was capable of that darkness. It scared her.


She feared becoming like her sister, a dark witch drawing on the shadowy other side for her power—the realm of death.


But worse than that, she feared that now she knew how to kill, she could do it again if she had to, and next time it would be easier.


Rosalind opened her eyes and focused on the man in front of her, on the present rather than the past or what might lay ahead in her future.


The aura of danger clinging to him was growing stronger. He was healing himself. Was he one of the warriors from the war? If he was, what side had he fought on and what species was he?


The only way to find out the answers to those questions was to complete the task she had been sent here to do.


She blew out her breath and held her hands over his bare chest. As she lowered them, bringing them almost into contact with his skin, she channelled the only power available to her into him, seeking out his wounds and fixing them as best she could. There were so many.


Her power drained quickly and she had to take regular breaks to avoid overtaxing herself and passing out. She didn’t want to lose consciousness in a cell with this dangerous stranger, not when she didn’t have the power to protect herself.


The fast drain on her power confirmed something for her though. This man’s injuries and wounds ran deeper than those of the flesh that she could see. He was weak for a reason, whether that was a sickness of the body or of the mind.


His eyelids fluttered and she withdrew her hands again, her breath lodging in her throat as she waited. His long black lashes lifted, revealing steel-blue eyes. His dilated pupils swiftly narrowed and his hands shot up above his head. He snarled at the cuffs and pulled his wrists apart, tugging the chain between them taut. He heaved harder, his muscles tensing and rippling beneath his bloodstained pale skin, and growled when the chain didn’t break.


“They dampen our powers,” she said.


His gaze darted to her and narrowed, steel blue-grey that burned into her, sending a fierce shiver of awareness through her that drew every drop of her focus to him. What species was he? Vampire? Werewolf? Both of them had a human appearance and she had met many of their kind in the past, but none had affected her as this man did.


He struggled harder against his bonds and the metal sliced into his wrists, spilling blood down his arms. It didn’t stop him from fighting the restraints.


“Stop!” Rosalind snapped, her voice echoing around the stone cells.


He turned a murderous glare on her and flexed his fingers. His demeanour changed instantly, becoming distraught as his eyes went to his wrists and he flexed his fingers again. Over and over. He did it at least ten times before he began to growl and try harder, struggling against his bonds at the same time. Was something supposed to happen whenever he flexed his fingers?


He kept trying, clearly convinced that if he just kept doing it, whatever he was expecting would happen.


It wouldn’t.

She could sympathise. After the demons of the Fifth Realm had captured her during the battle and she had awoken in her cell, she had tried for hours to blast the bars and every demon who had strolled along the corridor and smirked at her.

She had been convinced that she could find the trick to get around the spell embedded into the metal.


This man was too.


His eyes went glassy and he sagged against the stone bench, his cuffed wrists dropping and slamming hard into his heaving chest.


Rosalind inched closer.


The man managed to slide his gaze her way, and passed out.


She sighed, carefully moved his hands back down to his stomach, and went back to work. She held one hand over his forehead and the other above his heart, closed her eyes, and shut the world out as she channelled as much energy as she could spare into him.


“Let him die,” the incubus whispered, a seductive proposition when healing the man was weakening her, leaving her more vulnerable than ever.


She lifted her head and gave the incubus a sorrowful smile. “I cannot. I must heal him. I took a vow.”


His expression turned solemn. “I understand the power of a vow, but if he wakes and kills you, I will say I told you so.”


She smiled properly for the first time in weeks. “I can take that.”


The incubus smiled too and muttered in the fae tongue. “We’re all fucked if he wakes up.”


Rosalind ignored that, sure that he knew she could understand the fae tongue since most witches could speak the language as they worked closely with his kind. He was doing it on purpose to distract her from her work. One tiny mistake and she could kill her patient.


She had to maintain rigid control over her healing spell. They were dangerous, with a tendency to go awry if the controlling witch’s link to it broke.


Awry being a polite way of saying inflicting crippling pain on the patient by attempting to heal anything and everything, even functioning organs and joints, before it fizzled out.


When she had no more energy to expend, she sat back on her heels and her shoulders sagged as she wiped the sweat from her brow with the back of her hand. He was looking better, but was nowhere close to being healed. She couldn’t do anything more for him right now. She needed to rest until her strength returned, and then she would begin again.


She stared at him, the incubus’s warning ringing in her tired mind.


Who was this dangerous and deadly male?


She willed him to wake and tell her.


She wanted to know him.


Head on over to Felicity's website to enter to win one of three Amazon giftcards!

Friday, August 22, 2014

ARC Review: Irresistible Force by D.D. Ayers

Format: .mobi (provided by publisher in exchange for an honest review)
Release Date: August 26, 2014

When adrenaline runs high, so does the force of desire…

For Shay Appleton, it’s love at first sight when a gorgeous stray dog is brought into the animal shelter where she works. She just knows he’ll make a terrific watch dog—and with an abusive ex who won’t let go, she needs all the protection she can get. But Shay never suspected that her new pet is actually a trained police K-9 named Bogart—until Bogart’s even more gorgeous, human partner shows up on her doorstep.

Officer James Cannon is one tall, strong alpha male who’s convinced that Shay stole his dog. But once he gets closer to the suspect, he realizes that this stubborn, independent woman not only needs a guard dog, she needs James as well. It seems that someone from her past is stalking her, and threatening her life. When danger meets desire, will James risk his career and his best friend…to protect the woman who’s stolen his heart?


Irresistible Force left me on the fence about whether or not to continue reading the series.

Thursday, August 21, 2014

Tasty Book Tours: I Adored a Lord by Katharine Ashe (Review + Giveaway)


Hi and welcome to my stop on Katharine Ashe's blog tour for I Adored a Lord. I'm very happy to participate on this tour because it allowed me to discover a new to me author and a book I truly enjoyed and connected to! Check out my thoughts on I Adored a Lord and don't forget to enter the giveaway at the end of the post!

About Katharine:
Award-winning, best-selling author KATHARINE ASHE writes intensely lush historical romance, including How To Be a Proper Lady, among Amazon's 10 Best Books of 2012 in Romance, and eight other acclaimed novels set in the era of the British Empire. With the publication of her debut novel in 2010, she earned a spot among the American Library Association's "New Stars of Historical Romance." She was a nominee for the 2013 Library of Virginia Literary Award in Fiction, and in 2011 she won the coveted Reviewers' Choice Award for Best Historical Romantic Adventure. Katharine is also a finalist for the 2014 RITA® Award, the highest honor in the romance fiction industry, for How To Marry A Highlander.

She lives in the wonderfully warm Southeast with her beloved husband, son, dog, and a garden she likes to call romantic rather than unkempt. A professor of European History at Duke University, Katharine writes fiction because she thinks modern readers deserve high adventure and breathtaking sensuality too. For more about her books, please visit her at www.KatharineAshe.com.

Find Katharine:

Wednesday, August 20, 2014

Goddess Fish Promotions: The Honeymoon Prize by Melissa McClone (Review + Giveaway)


Welcome to my stop on Melissa McClone's tour! If you're looking for a lighthearted read with a sweet and slow romance then this is your book! There's a tour giveaway of a $25 giftcard to Amazon!

About Melissa McClone:
With a degree in mechanical engineering from Stanford University, Melissa McClone worked for a major airline where she traveled the globe and met her husband. But analyzing jet engine performance couldn’t compete with her love of writing happily ever afters. Her first full-time writing endeavor was her first sale when she was pregnant with her first child! Since then, she has published over thirty romance novels with Harlequin and Tule Publishing Group. She’s also been nominated for Romance Writers of America’s RITA® award. When she isn’t writing, you can usually find her driving her minivan to/from her children’s swim practices and other activities. She also sends care packages to deployed service members and fosters cats through a local no-kill animal shelter. Melissa lives in the Pacific Northwest with her husband, three school-aged children, two spoiled Norwegian Elkhounds and cats who think they rule the house. They do!

Website: http://www.melissamcclone.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/MelissaMcCloneBooks

Twitter: @melissamcclone

Tuesday, August 19, 2014

Review: Four Weeks Till Forever by Nadia Lee

Format: .mobi (provided by publisher in exchange for an honest review)
Release Date: July 19, 2014

He's never met a woman he wants to spend his life with...

The man: Billionaire playboy Mark Pryce.

The problem: A "real" date for his family's Fourth of July party...or he'll have to attend with the heiress his mother's picked out for him to marry.

The woman: His best friend's executive assistant Hilary Rosenberg--the only one who can save him from this fate worse than death.

...she is convinced good men are a thing of the past.

Disillusioned by a series of painful relationships, Hilary has no interest in dating Mark--even as a pretense--for the next four weeks. He's too sexy, too smart, altogether too attractive--and a sure bet to break her heart. But she owes him a favor, and she always pays her debts.

When their charade threatens to turn into a happily ever after, can a reformed playboy convince his wary Cinderella that fairy tale endings really can come true?

Yep, I'm definitely hooked on this series!

Monday, August 18, 2014

ARC Review: A SEAL'S Fantasy by Tawny Weber

Format: .mobi (provided by publisher in exchange for an honest review)
Release Date: September 1, 2014

Subject: Navy SEAL Lieutenant Dominic Castillo

Mission: Protect—not seduce!—his sexy target

Dominic Castillo loves his SEAL team like brothers—except one, who made sure Castillo was left behind during the latest mission. But when his rival is kidnapped by a vicious drug lord, Castillo receives a black ops mission of his own: protect his rival's sister. And any mistakes will either result in her death…or his.

Lara Banks clearly has no interest in being protected by a military man, especially an acquaintance of her estranged brother. So why is she doing her best to drive him crazy with pure temptation? Lara insists on having her naughty way with him—over and over—but is fulfilling their fantasies worth the price?

Tawny Weber sure knows how to write a military romance!

Friday, August 15, 2014

Review: Return to Homecoming Ranch by Julia London

Format: .mobi (provided by publisher in exchange for an honest review)
Release Date: July 22, 2014

Curly-haired Libby Tyler never stops smiling…until her beloved boyfriend suddenly forces her out of their home and away from his adoring kids. When she learns he dumped her for his flighty ex-wife, Libby’s sadness turns to fury—and she very publicly smashes his truck with a golf club, earning herself a trip to a mental health center for some “rest.”

Handsome, hazel-eyed deputy Sam Winters has been sober for two years. Afraid of backsliding, he lives in the mountains and keeps his distance from people. Yet he never forgot Libby, his former colleague at the sheriff’s office whose charm and cheerfulness always warmed his days.

Now Libby’s back, ignoring the townspeople’s whispers (and her ex’s restraining order) while desperately trying to make Homecoming Ranch a successful event destination. She keeps causing trouble for Sam, but he finds her smile more beautiful than ever…and his touch gives her thrills she’s never felt. Could these two lost souls mend each other’s broken hearts?


Return to Homecoming Ranch was a definitely a challenge for me as a reader.


Thursday, August 14, 2014

Goddess Fish Promotions: Traitor's Legacy by Beth Trissel (Excerpt + Giveaway)



This post is part of a virtual book tour organized by Goddess Fish Promotions. Beth will be awarding a $35 Amazon gift card to a randomly drawn winner via the rafflecopter at the end of this post.




1781. On opposite sides of the War of Independence, British Captain Jacob Vaughan and Claire Monroe find themselves thrust together by chance and expediency.



Captain Vaughan comes to a stately North Carolina manor to catch a spy. Instead, he finds himself in bedlam: the head of the household is an old man ravaged by madness, the one sane male of the family is the very man he is hunting, and the household is overseen by his beguiling sister Claire.




Torn between duty, love, and allegiances, yearning desperately for peace, will Captain Vaughan and Claire Monroe forge a peace of their own against the vagaries of war and the betrayal of false friends?




Now enjoy an excerpt:



SEndeavoring not to soil her sleeve, he circled his arm around hers. Tingles pulsed through him.



He felt her fear, also her resolve. Admiration for Claire only grew, and his distraction with it. Her lovely name slipped insistently through his mind. He wished she might slip into his arms and––



Stop! he ordered himself.



He must attend to the urgent reason for his arrival at Thornton Hall and not dwell on its young mistress, or the coveted promotion would pass him by again. And he’d have to answer for yet another misadventure.



‘Damn foolishness. Rein yourself in, sir,’ his father would chide.



And he’d be right. But even that old warhorse would be hard-pressed to withstand the charms of Claire Monroe.





Married to my high school sweetheart, I live on a farm in the Shenandoah Valley of Virginia surrounded by my children, grandbabies, and assorted animals. An avid gardener, my love of herbs and heirloom plants figures into my work. The rich history of Virginia, the Native Americans and the people who journeyed here from far beyond her borders are at the heart of my inspiration. In addition to American settings, I also write historical and time travel romances set in the British Isles, and nonfiction about gardening, herbal lore, and country life.



Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Author-Beth-Trissel/276061290666



My Blog: http://bethtrissel.wordpress.com/



Twitter: http://twitter.com/BethTrissel



Amazon Author Page: http://www.amazon.com/Beth-Trissel/e/B002BLLAJ6/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1404073285&sr=1-2-ent



Barnes and Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/s/beth-trissel?store=allproducts&keyword=beth+trissel




a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, August 13, 2014

ARC Review: How the Scoundrel Seduces by Sabrina Jeffries

Format: .mobi (provided by publisher in exchange for an honest review)
Release Date: August 19, 2014

Lady Zoe Keane’s father is pressing her to marry a cousin she’s never met. As Lord and Lady Olivier’s only child, spirited Zoe will one day inherit the title of countess and their Yorkshire estate, the land she adores—but she wants to marry for love. Then an unsolved family mystery shatters her world: is it possible Zoe’s birth mother was actually a Romany named Drina? Desperate to know her true lineage, Zoe hires the Duke’s Men to search for the woman who will determine her destiny.

Tristan Bonnaud is the man for the job, and not because the roguish investigator cares about a spoiled aristocrat and her inheritance “problem.” To protect himself from his villainous half-brother, Tristan needs to track down his Romany horse trader friend who has information about a decade-old scandal—and this young beauty’s far-fetched case is just the excuse he needs.

But if untangling the past isn’t risky enough, the sizzling attraction drawing the scoundrel to the lady is the most dangerously seductive surprise of all.


Well now I'm in a bit of a pickle. How the Scoundrel Seduces is a contender for my favorite book out of the series...

Tuesday, August 12, 2014

ARC Review: What a Duke Dares by Anna Campbell

Format: .mobi (provided by publisher in exchange for an honest review)
Release Date: August 26, 2014

A REPUTATION AT RISK

What woman in her right mind would say no to marrying the dashing Duke of Sedgemoor? Miss Penelope Thorne, that's who. She's known Camden Rothermere since they were children-and she also knows she'd bring nothing but scandal to his name.

Cam can hardly believe Penelope turned down his proposal. But if she wants to run off to the Continent and set the rumor mill ablaze, he can't stop her. Then her brother's dying request sends him to bring home the one woman he thought he'd finally gotten over.

The only way they'll both get back to London without their reputations in tatters is to pretend they're married during the journey. That means kissing like they mean it and even sharing a bed-until it becomes hard to tell where the game ends and true desire begins . . .

An emotionally reluctant, brooding Duke and a lively, scandal prone lady who have a history together? What more could I ask for? I love me some passionate angst and characters who push one another's boundaries. Naturally, What a Duke Dares sent my romantic little heart into a fluttering frenzy!


Friday, August 8, 2014

Review: Trust by Design by Stacey Joy Netzel

Format: .mobi (provided by author in exchange for an honest review)
Release Date: May 1, 2014

Cinderella and Prince Charming...brought together by chance, or design?

Interior Designer Gina Allen is flat broke thanks to a shady assistant who didn’t pay the taxes. Now she has no choice but to accept a job from the very rich, very handsome CEO Dean Daley—even though he’s accused her of conspiring to steal his software designs.

Keep your friends close and your enemies closer—that’s why Dean hires his rival’s ex-girlfriend. If he can use her to prove Jack is behind the spiraling downfall of his company, he might be able to turn things around before losing everything.

Dean, however, doesn’t count on Gina being everything he never expected, or his heart being in more danger than his business. Will the trust they’ve built be enough to keep them together—or will an unexpected betrayal tear them apart…and possibly cost them their lives?

I may have let out a loud “Woo hoo!” when I got Trust by Design to review. That’s a maybe. I will not admit to this without proper motivation. Or blackmail.

What I will admit to is having a thing for author Stacy Joy Netzel’s writing style. Whether it’s a romantic suspense or contemporary romance, she has a particular formula that just works for me as a reader.

Thursday, August 7, 2014

Review: The Secrets of a Scoundrel by Gaelen Foley

Format: .mobi (purchased)
Release Date: June 24, 2014

Nick, Lord Forrester, has a reputation that is legendary— both as a lethal warrior and a wicked lover. But when his rule-breaking ways land him in a Scottish dungeon, he's left there to rot, until a mysterious lady visits his cell and offers him a way out.

All he must do is risk his neck on the mission she proposes—and obey her every command. One look at the luscious beauty has Nick ready to promise her anything, but he must resist his desire, or she could send him straight back to prison.

Virginia, Lady Burke, is well aware that the powerful ex-spy will try to take command of their quest, but it's her job to keep him under control. Yet how can she keep this untamable scoundrel under her thumb when all she really wants is to unleash the smoldering passion between them?


The Secrets of a Scoundrel is hands down the best book of the Inferno Club series! A fitting end for the spies of The Order!

Wednesday, August 6, 2014

Review: One Night of Sin by Elle Kennedy

Format: .mobi (provided by publisher in exchange for an honest review)
Release Date: August 4, 2014

When it comes to sex, good girl Skyler Thompson always plays it safe, choosing stable and sedate over wild and thrilling. She doesn’t do one-night-stands, but one look at sinfully sexy Gage Holt and she’s willing to reconsider. He makes her want to be bad for once in her life, and she’s prepared to take what she wants.

Danger follows former MMA fighter Gage Holt like a shadow. Despite his successes as part owner of Sin, an exclusive nightclub in Boston, Gage can’t risk getting involved with a woman, especially one as sweet as Skyler. Still, he can’t resist a taste—and it’s so damn good he has to see her again.

As addicted as he is to her, Gage knows there’s no future for him and Skyler—not with his past lurking in the dark corners of an MMA cage. But Skyler’s tougher than she looks, and she’s ready to fight for her man.


I’m totally fanning myself right now. One Night of Sin is a hell of a novella! If you’re looking for a short but super hot read then this is it!

Tuesday, August 5, 2014

Blog Tour: Mean Streak by Sandra Brown (Feature + Giveaway)

Do I have any Sandra Brown fans here? I confess I've never read any of her books so I'd love to hear from some fans on what book I should pick up first!


Dr. Emory Charbonneau, a pediatrician and marathon runner, disappears on a mountain road in North Carolina. By the time her husband Jeff, miffed over a recent argument, reports her missing, the trail has grown cold. Literally. Fog and ice encapsulate the mountainous wilderness and paralyze the search for her.

While police suspect Jeff of “instant divorce,” Emory, suffering from an unexplained head injury, regains consciousness and finds herself the captive of a man whose violent past is so dark that he won’t even tell her his name. She’s determined to escape him, and willing to take any risks necessary to survive.

Unexpectedly, however, the two have a dangerous encounter with people who adhere to a code of justice all their own. At the center of the dispute is a desperate young woman whom Emory can’t turn her back on, even if it means breaking the law.

As her husband’s deception is revealed, and the FBI closes in on her captor, Emory begins to wonder if the man with no name is, in fact, her rescuer.



Purchase links:
Grand Central: http://bit.ly/1sfgSQL
Barnes & Noble:http://bit.ly/1pxCNSa



About Sandra Brown:
Sandra Brown is the author of more than sixty New York Times bestsellers, including DEADLINE (2013), LOW PRESSURE (2012), LETHAL (2011), TOUGH CUSTOMER (2010), SMASH CUT (2009), SMOKE SCREEN (2008), PLAY DIRTY (2007), RICOCHET (2006), and CHILL FACTOR, all of which have jumped onto the Times bestseller list in the number one to five spot.

Brown began her writing career in 1981 and since then has published over seventy novels, bringing the number of copies of her books in print worldwide to upwards of eighty million. Her work has been translated into thirty-four languages.

Brown holds an honorary Doctorate of Humane Letters from Texas Christian University. She served as the president of the Mystery Writers of American in 2012 and was named ITW's Thriller Master for 2008, the top award given by the International Thriller Writer’s Association. Other awards and commendations include the 2007 Texas Medal of Arts Award for Literature and the Romance Writers of America’s Lifetime Achievement Award.



Places to find Sandra Brown:





- 10 autographed copies of Mean Streak by Sandra Brown (International)

a Rafflecopter giveaway