Taking Review Requests: Yes but only if I've reviewed the author in the past. Interviews and guest posts are open to new-to-me authors. Please see my policy before requesting.

Hosting Giveaways: Yes

Accepting Author Interviews/Guest Posts: Yes

• My review policy and contact info is located OVER HERE.

Bloggers, I would love to interview you, have you guest post and/or guest review here! Please contact me if you're interested!




Wednesday, July 31, 2013

Waiting on Wednesday: Two for Blue?


"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

This week's pre-publication "can't-wait-to-read" selection is: True Spies and Sapphires are an Earl's Best Friend both by Shana Galen.

Why two this week? Well they're both by one of my favorite authors, Shana Galen! Shana always gives readers well written romances mixed with humor and passion. Both of these books contain spies, which in historical romances are my favorite and last but not least, both covers have blue in them, which again, is my favorite color.


He's weary of deception...

Baron Winslow Keating is honor-bound to finish one last mission as an elite spy for the Barbican group even though he just wants to go home and be with his family. But after years of secrecy and absence, his daughters hardly know him and his wife has given up on him. . .

She wants to try a little intrigue . . .

Elinor has had enough of domestic boredom. She contemplates an affair with a rakish spy, only to discover a world of intrigue and treachery that she never knew existed. Even more shocking, her neglectful husband is suddenly very attentive - quite the jealous type - and apparently there is much more to him than she ever knew . . .

* Pre-Order Links:
Amazon l Kindle


Oh and did I mention that sapphires are also my birthstone? It seems like Sapphires are an Earl's Best Friend and I are just meant to be! Just look at how gorgeous the blue cover is!

What better disguise for a secret agent than that of a courtesan?

Lily Dawson, dubbed the Countess of Charm, is a spy working for the Crown to uncover a traitor.

Andrew Booth-Payne, Earl of Darlington, wants to hate Lily for taking up with his father, but something about Lily intrigues him.

When he discovers there is more to her flirtation than greed, he knows he must help her uncover a traitor. Even if that traitor is his own father…

* Pre-Order Links:
Amazon l Kindle
(none available at the moment, it's a 2014 release)

* Using the purchase links on this blog allows me to see a small percentage of the sale. It will help sponsor future giveaways.

Tuesday, July 30, 2013

Top off Tuesday


What better way than to top off a good book than with a GREAT Cover!

Every week, Amanda from On a Book Bender, Christi from Smitten with Reading, and Felicia from Geeky Bloggers Book Blog want to see those Top Off Tuesday covers that grab your attention!

Please play along and tell us your favorites (old, new, or not yet released). Button made by Missie at The Unread Reader and Diana at Book of Secrets

Every once in awhile there are covers that just make you say Oh My!  Sometimes it is good, sometimes it is bad, and sometimes it is head scratching. The point of Top Off Tuesday is to show you the ones with their Tops Off!

This week's TOP OFF TUESDAY selection is: Guardian by Nancy Northcott

I just finished reading and reviewing this book for I Smell Sheep and not only is it a hot, sexy paranormal romance, but the cover is drool worthy too!

A POWER TO KILL

FBI agent Camellia "Mel" Wray is no stranger to violence but when an old friend is brutally murdered, she takes it personally. The case hits even closer to her heart when the best person to help with the investigation is Dr. Stefan Harper, the only man she ever loved-and lost. One look at the gorgeous medical expert and Mel realizes he's still impossible to resist-and still harboring a secret after all these years . . .

A POWER TO LOVE

Afraid Mel wouldn't accept him, Stefan never revealed his study of magical medicine or his abilities, instead allowing her to believe he'd been unfaithful. Now she's back in his life-and their mutual attraction burns hotter than ever. But when something dark and otherworldly threatens humans, Stefan must summon his mage powers to keep everyone safe. Will Mel be able to trust him again? Or will their love cost him even more than it did the first time?


* Purchase Links:
Amazon l Kindle

* Using the purchase links on this blog allows me to see a small percentage of the sale. It will help sponsor future giveaways.

Monday, July 29, 2013

Quote-tastic



Hosted by Herding Cats and Burning Soup, Quote-tastic is a weekly Monday meme that gives readers a chance to share their favorite book quotes. So settle back, share your favorite quote and tell me why you chose it!


This week's quote:
"Where would I be, then? At home I suppose, mending your shirt cuffs?"

"No, in my bed. Under me."

- Lady Aline and John McKenna, Again the Magic by Lisa Kleypas


Why I chose it:
It's such a sexy quote, I had to fan myself a bit after reading it for the first time. Proof that less is definitely more. McKenna couldn't have been more sexy if he had gone into detail about what he wanted to do to Aline


Find Lisa Kleypas:


* Purchase Links:
Amazon l Kindle l

* Using the purchase links on this blog allows me to see a small percentage of the sale. It will help sponsor future giveaways.




  • Everyone's welcome to join in. Authors, bloggers, readers. The more the merrier!
  • Just grab the button and toss up your post :)
  • Don't have a blog? No worries, just leave your favorites in the comment section.
  • Don't forget to check out every one else's quotes, you may find your next read in one of the participating blogs!


Book Blind Date #26



Book Blind Date is something that Danielle from Book Whore Blog and I decided to start after seeing a Facebook post on the Lawrence Public Library Page about a book blind date. This really got us thinking, what if the only thing you new about a book was what the story was about? No character names, no pretty covers to suck you in.

Here's how it works, you know the old saying never judge a book by its cover? Well you won't be able to, for this meme you are going to decide which book you would go on a "date" with based on the synopsis. Names and identifying phrases are removed just to make things fair. The only rule is: No Googling the synopsis, you have to pick a "date" based on what you read below.



Last Week's Blind Dates:



Blind Date #1
Revenge should be sweet, but it may cost him everything...

The Marquis de V***** escaped certain death in the French Revolution and is now an infamous privateer. Out to avenge the death of his mentor, B***** discovers himself astonishingly out of his depth when confronted with a beautiful, daring young woman who is out for his blood...

Forgiveness is unthinkable, but it may be her only hope...

British Admiral's daughter R***** R***** believes B***** responsible for her fiancé's death. But once the fiery beauty crosses swords with B*****, she's not so sure she really wants him to change his wicked ways...


Blind Date #2
SHE FOLLOWS THE RULES

As the Collegium council's top sheriff of the southeastern United States, V**** B***** doesn't just take her job seriously, she takes it personally. So when a notorious traitor wanted by the authorities suddenly risks his life to save hers, she has to wonder why.

HE BREAKS EVERY ONE OF THEM

As a mage, G***** is sworn to protect innocents from dark magic, which is how he finds himself fighting side by side with the beautiful V**** B*****. But when the council finds out the two have been working together, they're both left running for their lives-from the law, the threat of a ghoul takeover, and a possible Collegium mole.



Each Monday you can join in and set up your own book blind date. Just link back to this blog and Danielle's blog. To join in just try the following.

1. Select a 2 books to be the "blind dates"

2. Set them up without the covers so readers can pick without ever seeing the beauty of the cover.

3. Star out the names. **** That way if readers have heard of the characters they aren't prejudice.

4. Link up each Monday. And post the cover to your previous weeks blind dates.

5. Join in and select which blind date you would choose in others match ups.





Saturday, July 27, 2013

ARC Review: A Wanted Man by Rebecca Hagen Lee

Format: .mobi (provided by Penguin Publishing through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review)
Release Date: August 6, 2013

A thoroughly English girl raised in Hong Kong, Julie Jane Parham has spent her entire life walking the line between two worlds. When her closest friend, Su Mi, becomes the victim of an arranged marriage gone horribly wrong, Julie travels to San Francisco in order to buy back her freedom and soon finds herself in over her head.

On a rescue mission of his own, Will Keegan uses his saloon, The Silken Angel, as a front to whisk Chinese prostitutes away from the city’s ruthless brothel owners to a life of freedom, risking his own hide in the process.

Sparring with a spirited British lady is the last thing Will Keegan needs, but he isn’t about to let lovely Julie throw herself headfirst into danger. And as the urge to protect her turns into something more, Will knows he must get Julie to trust him, or chance losing her forever…

Will Keegan is tortured by memories of his best friend Jame's first wife, whom he was desperately in love with and was devastated when she died. Terrified that he might be repeating the same mistake with Jame's second wife, he resigns from his position as vice president of the firm he runs with James, and moves to San Fransisco. There he sets up the Silken Angel Saloon as a front for his true purpose in the city: Rescuing girls who are being sold into prostitution.

Will is prepared for anything that might happen.

Except a nosy, red-haired woman named Julia Jane Parham (aka Julie).

Used to the meek, docile Chinese women, Will finds Julie's blunt speech, brazen manner and unflinching loyalty to her cause refreshing, even though he doesn't quite know how to handle her. He certainly doesn't know why she's going around asking questions that no missionary should be asking, but he does know she's likely to end up dead if she keeps asking them.

Raised as a lady, with all the refinements and luxeries money could afford in Hong Kong, Julie is every inch the lady. Believing that she was to be married to an honorable man when they arrived in California, Jane's friend, Su Mi was instead sold into prostitution in San Francisco. Without any hesitation, Julie embarks on a dangerous journey to rescue her friend from the cruel life she's been forced into. She just didn't count on meeting a man who could help her, or ruin her.

I enjoyed this story very much, author Rebecca Hagen Lee is new to me but I enjoyed the storyline and I especially enjoyed the heroine Julie.

While there is a romance developing between Will and Julie, A Wanted Man isn't all sunshine and rainbows, the grim circumstances enforce the sense of urgency and danger that Will and Julie face. Tragedy seems to follow these two around and though they've had their fair share of tough breaks, Will and Julie refuse to succumb to the negativity around them.

There's a lot of information to digest about the sale of innocent girls into the slave trade and for some readers it may make the overall pace of the story seem like a slow crawl. At times it seemed like A Wanted Man was more about inciting a response to what was being done to these girls rather than a romance. I felt a little guilty about wanting more of a romance between Will and Julie, like I was brushing off a very realistic conflict and victims in favor of the cat and mouse game between a man and a woman.

Then I mentally slapped and reminded myself that this was a romance novel and it's okay to want more romance between the two lead characters.

A Wanted Man was an interesting read for me. The conflict wasn't a so much a person but a situation that had to be stopped at all costs. Parts of the book were less predictable than the romances I'm used to reading and did make me tear up at times. The second book in a series, it can be read as a stand alone without fear of major spoilers.

Just FYI, the hero of the first book is Will's best friend James, and may offer more insight to Will's motives and character. I plan on reading that book soon.

Rating:

Find Rebecca Hagan Lee:
Website l Facebook l Twitter l GoodReads


* Purchase Links:
Amazon l Kindle l

* Using the purchase links on this blog allows me to see a small percentage of the sale. It will help sponser future giveaways. 



Friday, July 26, 2013

Review: Hunting Season by Shelly Laurenston

Format: .mobi (purchased)
Release Date: October 2, 2009

Neecy Lawrence, winged warrior for a Viking Goddess, doesn't know what to do with a nice guy. Most days she's barely polite, much less nice. But Raven leader and loyal Odin warrior, Will Yager, isn't just nice. He's gorgeous, hot, and determined to have Neecy in his bed and his life until Ragnarok comes.

It's just too bad Neecy is the most difficult woman Yager has ever known. Second in command to The Crows, a violent band of rowdy warrior women, Neecy's only concerns are keeping her "girls" safe and making up for a past she can't outrun. As far as she's concerned, Yager is nothing but a distraction she can't afford to deal with.

But Yager wants Neecy. In fact, he's wanted her for a long time. Not just for a night, but forever. And like any self-respecting Viking, Yager will risk everything to get the one woman who makes his warrior life more than worth it.

WARNING: Reading Hunting Season by Shelly Laurenston is guaranteed to 1.) Make you blush and/or fan yourself from all the sexy goodness and 2.) Make you cuss like a sailor after you read it.

Did that get your attention? I hope so because Hunting Season is in two words: Scorching. Hot. I'm not kidding, it's turn-you-into-a-puddle-of-hormones hot. But it's not even all about the sex, though there's plenty of that. Hunting Season has so many laugh out loud moments that you really don't want to read it in public, unless you're comfortable being stared at.

Crow warrior Denise "Neecy" Lawrence is my kind of bitch. I'm not kidding. She's such a viscious warrior, loyal friend, snarky bitch, and totally independent. There is not one once of weak on her and I loved it! She's an educated woman with a Ph.D who can also cut loose in a club with her Crow sisters. She's my definition of a "Man Eater" simply because lesser men get devoured by her. Until Willhem Yager. He's a threat to Neecy's ordered world and handling him like she would any other man just doesn't seem to work. Coincidently, part of the reason Neecy was so appealing to me was because she reminded me of (I'm showing my geekiness here) Shayera Hol, aka Hawkgirl in the animated series Justice League Unlimited.

Willhem Yager is the closest an author has ever gotten to MY idea of a perfect man. He's a total alpha to be sure, but he's not controlling with Neecy (not that she would allow it, she'd rip him to shreds). He finds Neecy's visciousness and independence sexy as hell which in turn made me find HIM deliciously sexy. He isn't one of those jerks that gets off on controlling every aspect of a woman's life and who only dates "innocent" push overs who are desperate for a man. No, Will likes his women tough and challenging. He doesn't want Neecy to change who she is at all, he just wants her to make peace with her past and make room for him in her life. He's definitely more stubborn than Neecy, which is an advantage, and if he wants Neecy in his life forever, he's going to need every advantage he can get! Did I mention he's a Raven? A winged warrior for the god Odin. *sighs* He's hot AND he's got wings. Oh and one more thing, he's a closet geek! Why do I say that? Well you'll have to read the book to find out.

While there are some action scenes as the Crows and the Ravens fight in the name of their respective gods Skuld and Odin, they don't overwhelm the book with blood bath after blood bath. There's also plenty of time to get to know all the characters involved.

Aside from the amazing sexual chemistry (and sex scenes) between Will and Neecy, there's an abundance of very likable second characters, my favorites being Crows Arri and Janelle and Ravens Tye and Mike. The snarking from those four would make a great ADULT comedy hour. The few non-Wll/Neecy scenes were just as entertaining as if Will and Neecy were in them. There truly isn't a boring moment in Hunting Season and that's what makes it so memorable in my mind. I can honestly say that those cranky, party loving Crow bitches are the kind of women I wish I could be friends with and those Raven warriors? Definitely the type I'd go for.

There are more than the usual amount of sex scenes in Hunting Season, all of them erotic and graphic. So if you're a little more on the conservative side, then this is not the book for you. Sadly author Shelly Laurenston has no current plans to continue this series.

So if independent, bitchy females, geeky, dirty talking alpha males and laugh out loud dialogue is your thing, you really need to get Hunting Season by Shelly Laurenston. I know I'm going to get more of her books as soon as I can.


Rating:


Find Shelly Laurenston:
Online


* Purchase Links:
Amazon l Kindle l

* Using the purchase links on this blog allows me to see a small percentage of the sale. It will help sponsor future giveaways.

Feature and Follow Friday!


This weeks Question:

What do you do with your books after you’re done reading them?

Answer: It depends on whether or not I liked them. If I didn't like them, then they get donated, given away or sold, but if I did like them then they're stuck with me forever. Then all my friends have to listen to me talk about them endlessly.


RULES
To join the fun and make new book blogger friends, just follow these simple rules:
    • (Required) Follow the Follow My Book Blog Friday Hosts {Parajunkee & Alison Can Read}
    • (Required) Follow our Featured Bloggers
    • Put your Blog name & URL in the Linky thing. You can also grab the code if you would like to insert it into your posts.
    • Grab the button up there and place it in a post, this post is for people to find a place to say “hi” in your comments and that they are now following you.
    • If you are using WordPress or another CMS that doesn’t have GFC (Google Friends Connect) state in your posts how you would like to be followed
    • Follow Follow Follow as many as you can, as many as you want, or just follow a few. The whole point is to make new friends and find new blogs. Also, don’t just follow, comment and say hi. Another blogger might not know you are a new follower if you don’t say “HI”
    • If someone comments and says they are following you, be a dear and follow back. Spread the Love…and the followers
    • If you’re new to the follow Friday hop, comment and let me know, so I can stop by and check out your blog!


Thursday, July 25, 2013

Cat Thursday: Self massage

Welcome to the weekly meme hosted by The True Book Addict that celebrates the wonders and sometime hilarity of cats!

Join us by posting a favorite LOL cat pic you may have come across, famous cat art or even share with us pics of your own beloved cat(s). It's all for the love of cats! Enjoy!




I have something a little different this week. Instead of just photos I have a video. That's right, this week my internet wasn't such a pain and I was able to upload a short video of Orion massaging himself on the wooden planks of a swing that my aunt has in the backyard. For some odd reason, Orion likes to jump on it with enough force to make it swing back and forth and while it's swinging, he massages himself on the seat. He's a strange one but he does enjoy massages once in a while. So enjoy the photo and video and maybe sometime in the future I can get other videos of my felines uploaded to share with you all.



Wednesday, July 24, 2013

Waiting on Wednesday: Crave the Night


"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

This week's pre-publication "can't-wait-to-read" selection is: Crave the Night by Lara Adrian

There's not even a blurb for this book yet and the release is MONTHS away, February 25, 2014 in fact, but it's at the TOP of my list of 2014 anticipated releases. I adore the Midnight Breed series, and the new direction the series is going in. I've been a fan of Lara Adrian's since the first book, Kiss of Midnight came out in 2010! So as the end of 2013 gets closer, be ready to see (and hear) a lot of talk about this book from me ;)


* Pre-Order Links: 
Amazon (hardcover) l Kindle

* Using the purchase links on this blog allows me to see a small percentage of the sale. It will help sponsor future giveaways.

Tuesday, July 23, 2013

Top Off Tuesday!


What better way than to top off a good book than with a GREAT Cover!

Every week, Amanda from On a Book Bender, Christi from Smitten with Reading, and Felicia from Geeky Bloggers Book Blog want to see those Top Off Tuesday covers that grab your attention!

Please play along and tell us your favorites (old, new, or not yet released). Button made by Missie at The Unread Reader and Diana at Book of Secrets

Every once in awhile there are covers that just make you say Oh My!  Sometimes it is good, sometimes it is bad, and sometimes it is head scratching. The point of Top Off Tuesday is to show you the ones with their Tops Off!

This week's TOP OFF TUESDAY selection is: Hunting Season by Shelly Laurenston

Not only is the cover hot but so is the story!!! *fans self*


Neecy Lawrence, winged warrior for a Viking goddess and second-in-command of the fierce Crows, doesn’t know what to do with a nice guy. As it is, making up for a past she’d sooner forget leaves her barely polite most days. But Raven leader and loyal Odin warrior, Will Yager, isn’t just nice. He’s gorgeous, hot, and a distraction she simply can’t afford.

Yager has wanted Neecy in his life—and in his bed—for a long time. Not just for a night, but forever. And, like any self-respecting Viking, he’ll stop at nothing to get what he wants. So what if she’s the most difficult, complex, never-gives-him-a-break woman he’s ever known? She’s more than worth the effort. In fact, she’s worth everything.

And if it turns out that twenty-four hours of non-stop, any-way-she-wants-it sex doesn’t work with Neecy? Then it looks like he’ll just have to get a little more creative…

Warning: Contains a strong, intelligent, ass-kicking heroine; an alpha hero with the occasional geeky tendency; gritty, realistic violence; and sex so hot that, well, let’s just say there’s not enough ice water in the world…

* Purchase Links:
Amazon l Kindle

* Using the purchase links on this blog allows me to see a small percentage of the sale. It will help sponsor future giveaways.

Monday, July 22, 2013

Book Blind Date #25



Book Blind Date is something that Danielle from Book Whore Blog and I decided to start after seeing a Facebook post on the Lawrence Public Library Page about a book blind date. This really got us thinking, what if the only thing you new about a book was what the story was about? No character names, no pretty covers to suck you in.

Here's how it works, you know the old saying never judge a book by its cover? Well you won't be able to, for this meme you are going to decide which book you would go on a "date" with based on the synopsis. Names and identifying phrases are removed just to make things fair. The only rule is: No Googling the synopsis, you have to pick a "date" based on what you read below.



Last Week's Blind Dates:


Blind Date #1
One night . . . one violent, supernatural battle . . . and five stories of the men whose lives will be changed by it.

K***, Brethren Guardian and one of the few, Natural Shape-Shifters left in existence, survives the bloody battle of Brahm Hill but loses two of his closest friends. For all of his good-natured sarcasm and eye-popping good looks, K*** finds himself unable to completely forget about that night, so he seeks comfort in the one thing he is truly good at . . . sex!

This shape-shifting bad boy believes in having a good time—a very good time, usually involving mingled heavy breathing with a sexy Dhampir in a tiny closet somewhere. But when K*** is sent into the freezing tundra of the Northwest Territories to investigate a troublesome supernatural being reported to be on the loose, he soon crosses paths with a woman who almost instantly drives him insane with desire . . . because she doesn’t seem to be falling for his charms.

It’s completely inexplicable.

S*** M****** has a job to do, and she needs to be focused on that, not spending all her time rebuffing the advances of this way-too-cocky and handsome stranger. Yet, there is something irresistible about this self-involved playboy that she can’t seem to ignore. And when the 'Unidentified' K*** is sent to investigate takes an unnatural interest in S***, protecting her becomes the Guardian’s top priority.

But . . . can he save S*** from a supernatural being no one has ever encountered before?


Blind Date #2
The bastard son of a nobleman, J***** B****** is now polished to perfection, enthralling the ton with wit and charm while clandestinely plotting to ruin the lords, ravish the ladies, and have the last laugh on a society that once spurned him. But meeting L** C*********, a decent man and founder of the exclusive Stud Club, and L***, L**’s enchanting sister, made J***** reconsider his wild ways. When L**’s tragic murder demands that J***** hunt for justice, he vows to see the woman he secretly loves married to a man of her own class.

L***, however, has a very different husband in mind. She’s adored J***** forever, loves the man beneath the rakish facade, and wants to savor the delicious attraction they share—as his wife. His insistence on marrying her off only reinforces her intent to prove he is the only man for her. Obsessed with catching a killer, J***** sinks back to the gutters of his youth, forcing L*** to reach out with a sweet, reckless passion J***** can’t resist. Can her desire for a scoundrel save them both–or will dangerous secrets threaten more than their tender love?



Each Monday you can join in and set up your own book blind date. Just link back to this blog and Danielle's blog. To join in just try the following.

1. Select a 2 books to be the "blind dates"

2. Set them up without the covers so readers can pick without ever seeing the beauty of the cover.

3. Star out the names. **** That way if readers have heard of the characters they aren't prejudice.

4. Link up each Monday. And post the cover to your previous weeks blind dates.

5. Join in and select which blind date you would choose in others match ups.

Saturday, July 20, 2013

Blog Tour: Romancing the Bookworm by Kate Evangelista (Review) + Giveaway


Thank you to Omnific Publishing and AToMR for allowing me to take part in this tour!


Sometimes, even the best-laid plans can unravel.

It's spring break, and Tamara Winters would rather stay on campus and read romance novels than flaunt her size-fourteen body on a beach. But her best friend, Rony, has other ideas. Against her wishes, Tamara is whisked away to picturesque Maverick Bay, where she's wrangled into waiting tables with Rony at the Shore Shack for its busy week leading to Maverick's Surf Invitational. There she meets fellow schoolmate Xavier Solomon, the Invitational's organizer and campus womanizer by reputation. From the moment Tamara sees him emerging from the waves like a hero in of one of her romance novels, all she wants to do is run away from the feelings he inspires in her.

Little does she know Xavier has been watching her for weeks now. In fact, after failed attempts at asking her out on campus, he's concocted a crazy plan: fabricating romantic situations straight out of her favorite books. Xavier quickly realizes that if Tamara gets a whiff of his designs, he might as well spell CREEPER across his forehead. Yet as they grow closer, he's convinced it's a risk worth taking. What he hasn't planned on, of course, is his drug-addicted, alcoholic stepbrother, who decides to join the fun and put a wrench in Xavier’s scheme.

Spring break is proving hotter than Tamara expected. Will her romance novels be able to compete?


Release date: July 9, 2013 **
Publisher: Omnific Publishing
Age Group: New Adult
Genre: Contemporary romance
Goodreads: Add it to your shelf
Purchase Links: Amazon l Barnes and Noble

This book should be labeled a romantic comedy. Or at least come with a warning label that says "May cause sporadic bouts of Laughing Out Loud, Uncontrollable Giggles, and Secondhand Embarrassment, reader discretion is advised." All three of those happened to me. Repeatedly. I like to read at home but I also read while waiting at the pharmacy or at the doctor's clinic. Two places that are never empty and I'm a very "expressive" reader.

Tamara is a totally bookworm. She would much rather spend her spring break reading a good romance novel, so when her best friend Rony drags her along on a vacation, Tamara feels it's a waste of precious reading time. Until she sees Xavier Solomon, a fellow schoolmate and known womanizer. Everything in Tamara warns her to stay away from him but Xavier has other plans. Tired of Tamara ignoring him and more than a little desperate to get her to go out with him, Xavier makes a last ditch effort to win Tamara. He is reenacting scenes from her favorite romance novels. It works beautifully but as they grow closer, Xavier realizes that the truth might push her away. As if that wasn't enough, his drug addict stepbrother suddenly shows up and starts causing problems. Suddenly his easy-as-pie plan turns into something infinitely more complicated.

There's so much to talk about with this book but first, can I thank author Kate Evangelista for making Tamara a size 14 instead of a size 4? Don't get me wrong, I don't mind thin heroines at all but I do like a little size diversity now and again. Besides, if you've ever seen a size 14 woman before, you'll know that's in no way "overweight." I myself am a size 11 and definitely don't look like the stereotype presented in the media. So props to her for creating a very realistic heroine.

Tamara is awkward and at times lacks a verbal filter which lead to the reactions mentioned above. She can be a bit short sighted in the real world, sometimes not paying attention to Rony or what's happening around her and it at times makes her look like a selfish friend. She isn't though, she's just, well, a bookworm. Bookworms don't pay much attention to anything once they start a good book. The world could end and they wouldn't even notice! She is definitely a true representation of a bookworm. Tamara may prefer to have her nose in a book but that doesn't mean she's timid, just unused to actively participating in the real world.

Xavier is a good guy. He's a bit cocky in everything he does and at first he's so sure his plan to win Tamara will work, but after awhile he becomes less sure of himself and more vulnerable. That made him more of a hero in my eyes. No one likes an infallible character. The way he treats Tamara is a mixture of respect, lust, playfulness and genuine affection. Once they got to know each other, they were not only lovers, but great friends who laughed and communicated well with each other.

The supporting cast is quite entertaining as well. Hudson and Rony are your typical siblings with not so typical good looks and good hearts. At times they provide the comedy in the form of bickering and/or basically steamrollering over Xavier and Tamera's objections.

Romancing the Bookworm is what I'd like to read in any kind of romance novel, whether it's contemporary, paranormal, historical, adult or New Adult. The characters are enjoyable, the dialogue is witty and the pace is smooth and quick, no droning on and on until the reader is almost comatose. While I'm still not going to be a regular New Adult reader, I will make an exception for Kate Evangelista. She impressed me with her YA novel Taste and she continues to do so with Romancing the Bookworm.

Rating:
 

**Reviewers received a complimentary Advanced Reader Copy by the publisher in exchange for their honest thoughts/review of the book. The provided review copy was not a finished copy on sale. Reviews should be based on content and not editing as some things were changed in the finished copy.


There are quite a few prizes with this tour, one of them being a very lovely necklace that says "Surf" (pictured) and copies of Romancing the Bookworm. All you have to do is fill in the rafflecopter form below! Good luck!









a Rafflecopter giveaway

Friday, July 19, 2013

Feature & Follow!


This weeks Question:
Book Vacay: Where is the best destination reading spot for you? (Where do you like to go to read other then your home)

Answer: I can read almost anywhere as long as the noise level isn't too loud and no one I know is around. If the book is really good, then I tend to ignore everything around me until I'm done or there's an alien invasion.


RULES
To join the fun and make new book blogger friends, just follow these simple rules:
    • (Required) Follow the Follow My Book Blog Friday Hosts {Parajunkee & Alison Can Read}
    • (Required) Follow our Featured Bloggers
    • Put your Blog name & URL in the Linky thing. You can also grab the code if you would like to insert it into your posts.
    • Grab the button up there and place it in a post, this post is for people to find a place to say “hi” in your comments and that they are now following you.
    • If you are using WordPress or another CMS that doesn’t have GFC (Google Friends Connect) state in your posts how you would like to be followed
    • Follow Follow Follow as many as you can, as many as you want, or just follow a few. The whole point is to make new friends and find new blogs. Also, don’t just follow, comment and say hi. Another blogger might not know you are a new follower if you don’t say “HI”
    • If someone comments and says they are following you, be a dear and follow back. Spread the Love…and the followers
    • If you’re new to the follow Friday hop, comment and let me know, so I can stop by and check out your blog!



Thursday, July 18, 2013

Blog Hop: Hot Summer Romance Giveaway!



I was in a near panic with this particular hop. Why? Because I couldn't remember a single summer romance from my vast collection of books. I wanted it to fit the theme of the hop and here I was the night before still trying to find a book to give away. Luckily during a chat with some fellow bloggers they reminded me of an anthology that had a summer romance in it. Hopefully you'll enjoy this anthology and maybe even find a new favorite author for your list! Even the cover is perfect for summer!

Now, don't forget that each blog on the blog hop has their own giveaways but there are also TWO Grand Prizes:
1.) Kindle Fire
2.) $50 Amazon Gift Card
 


Ready, Set, Jett by Lori Foster

A vacation from her no-strings romance with her sexy next-door neighbor. That's what Natalie Alexander needs to get her head—and heart—together. But her solo trip south turns into a disaster when gorgeous Jett Sutter turns up with another challenge.

Gail's Gone Wild by Susan Donovan

Single mom Gail Chapman insists on chaperoning her teenage daughter's spring-break trip to Key West. But she never expects to face temptation—in the hunky form of Jesse Batista, the mysterious man in the cottage next door.

Just One Taste by Victoria Dahl

All-work-and-no-play businessman Eric Donovan won't be distracted by a "businesswoman" who's all wrong for him. Beth Cantrell owns a women's erotica shop! And she has a juicy little secret. Can she tempt him to put pleasure before business for once?

Purchase Links:
Amazon l Kindle


a Rafflecopter giveaway





Cat Thursday: That Darn Cat!

Welcome to the weekly meme hosted by The True Book Addict that celebrates the wonders and sometime hilarity of cats!

Join us by posting a favorite LOL cat pic you may have come across, famous cat art or even share with us pics of your own beloved cat(s). It's all for the love of cats! Enjoy!



Sinatra
Okay so not only do I have three cats but my aunt has one too. Her name is Sinatra. Yes, like Frank Sinatra, this is because when she was a baby, she had blue eyes and my late uncle didn't know that they change color. Long story short, this cat has my uncle's bad attitude. She's a horrible cat and not exactly my favorite animal in the house. The birds hate her and dive bomb her all summer long, she hates Orion, Spencer and Amelia (though the feeling is mutual with Amelia) and she teases Mr. Pud which sends him into a fit of barking. 


Wednesday, July 17, 2013

Waiting On Wednesday!


"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

This week's pre-publication "can't-wait-to-read" selection is: Someone Else's Skye by Christine Wenrick

I really loved her Charmed trilogy which was a surprise to me because I don't care much for first person romances but Christine does such a wonderful job of telling a story that I became a fan immediately. Naturally the spin off series is high on my list of "Most Anticipated Books" this year. I can't wait to read this book!

Kane, Brethren Guardian and one of the few Natural Shape-Shifters left in existence, survived the bloody battle of Brahm Hill but lost two of his closest friends. For all of his good-natured sarcasm and eye-popping good looks, Kane finds himself unable to completely forget about that night, so he seeks comfort in the one thing he is truly good at . . . sex!

This shape-shifting bad boy believes in having a good time—a very good time, usually involving some mingled heavy breathing with a sexy Dhampir in a tiny closet somewhere. But when he’s sent into the freezing tundra of the Northwest Territories to investigate a troublesome supernatural being on the loose, he ends up crossing paths with a woman who almost instantly drives him insane with want . . . because she doesn’t seem to be falling for the shifter’s charms.

It’s completely inexplicable.

Skye Matthews has a job to do, and she needs to be focused on that, not spending all her time rebuffing the advances of this way-too-cocky and handsome stranger. Yet, there is something irresistible about this self-involved playboy that Skye can’t seem to stay away from. And when the unidentified Kane is sent to investigate takes an unnatural interest in her, protecting her becomes the Guardian’s top priority.

But… can Kane save Skye from a supernatural being no one has ever encountered before?

Tuesday, July 16, 2013

ARC Review: Run to Rome by Stacey Joy Netzel

Format: Print (provided by author in exchange for an honest review)
Release Date: July 20, 2013

Love him and leave him.

Nine months ago, undercover detective, Ispettore Evalina Gallo, protected her heart the only way she knew how, never expecting to see her savior-turned-one-night-stand again. When he returns to Italia--now a person of interest in an investigation of a local organized crime family--her personal connection to the rugged American gets her assigned to the case.

A second chance to make things right.

With his mother's pleas ringing in his ears, Ben Sanders plans to retrieve a stolen bible his father shipped to Italy thirteen years ago, and then get out as fast as he can. But with the arrival of the beautiful detective, he suspects his mother's desire to right past wrongs might not be the whole truth.

Destiny will not be denied.

Now, less than twenty-four hours after entering the country, he's getting shot at--again. In a race from Milan to Rome to find the precious book before anyone else, time is ticking for the one-time lovers. Attraction burns hotter than molten lava, but amid secrets and half-truths, they must learn to trust each other if they have any hope of a future together.

To think it all started with a book recommendation from a friend. Now I am officially a devoted fan and it's all Danielle from Book Whore Blog's fault. If any of you are regular visitors on her blog or chat with her regularly then you know that Danielle is THE #1 fan of author Stacey Joy Netzel. With good reason. Run to Rome delivers romance, suspense, humor and an overall good time in one wonderful book.

Ben Sanders and undercover agent Evalina Gallo were introduced to readers in book 1 (Lost in Italy). After nearly being killed by criminals, Ben spent one incredible night in Italy with Evalina, only to wake up to her gone. Nine months later Ben is not only back in Italy but face to face with the one woman he couldn't forget. Unfortunately it's not a happy reunion, Ben has become a person of interest in an investigation involving a local crime family with ties to Ben and his own complicated family. He's there to retrieve a stolen bible for his mother but begins to suspect there is more to the story than he's been told.

Monday, July 15, 2013

Book Blind Date #24



Book Blind Date is something that Danielle from Book Whore Blog and I decided to start after seeing a Facebook post on the Lawrence Public Library Page about a book blind date. This really got us thinking, what if the only thing you new about a book was what the story was about? No character names, no pretty covers to suck you in.

Here's how it works, you know the old saying never judge a book by its cover? Well you won't be able to, for this meme you are going to decide which book you would go on a "date" with based on the synopsis. Names and identifying phrases are removed just to make things fair. The only rule is: No Googling the synopsis, you have to pick a "date" based on what you read below.



Last Week's Blind Dates:


Blind Date #1

Sometimes, even the best-laid plans can unravel.

It's spring break, and T**** W***** would rather stay on campus and read romance novels than flaunt her size-fourteen body on a beach. But her best friend, R****, has other ideas. Against her wishes, T***** is whisked away to picturesque Maverick Bay, where she's wrangled into waiting tables with R**** at the Shore Shack for its busy week leading to Maverick's Surf Invitational. There she meets fellow schoolmate X**** S******, the Invitational's organizer and campus womanizer by reputation. From the moment T***** sees him emerging from the waves like a hero in of one of her romance novels, all she wants to do is run away from the feelings he inspires in her.

Little does she know X**** has been watching her for weeks now. In fact, after failed attempts at asking her out on campus, he's concocted a crazy plan: fabricating romantic situations straight out of her favorite books. X**** quickly realizes that if T***** gets a whiff of his designs, he might as well spell CREEPER across his forehead. Yet as they grow closer, he's convinced it's a risk worth taking. What he hasn't planned on, of course, is his drug-addicted, alcoholic stepbrother, who decides to join the fun and put a wrench in X****’s scheme.

Spring break is proving hotter than T***** expected. Will her romance novels be able to compete?


Blind Date #2
For more than three hundred years, Bluff House has sat above Whiskey Beach, guarding its shore—and its secrets. But to E** L*****, it’s home…

A Boston lawyer, E** has weathered an intense year of public scrutiny and police investigations after being accused of—but never arrested for—the murder of his soon-to-be-ex wife.


He finds sanctuary at Bluff House, even though his beloved grandmother is in Boston recuperating from a nasty fall. A*** W**** is always there, though. Whiskey Beach’s resident housekeeper, yoga instructor, jewelry maker, and massage therapist, A*** is a woman of many talents—including helping E** take control of his life and clear his name. But as they become entangled in each other, they find themselves caught in a net that stretches back for centuries—one that has ensnared a man intent on reaping the rewards of destroying E** L***** once and for all…



Each Monday you can join in and set up your own book blind date. Just link back to this blog and Danielle's blog. To join in just try the following.

1. Select a 2 books to be the "blind dates"

2. Set them up without the covers so readers can pick without ever seeing the beauty of the cover.

3. Star out the names. **** That way if readers have heard of the characters they aren't prejudice.

4. Link up each Monday. And post the cover to your previous weeks blind dates.

5. Join in and select which blind date you would choose in others match ups.





Saturday, July 13, 2013

Blog Tour Stop: Secret Maneuvers/Interview with Jessie Lane + Giveaway!


I am thrilled to be a part of Jessie Lane's book tour for Secret Maneuvers. This is my first time interviewing a writing duo and there are a few questions I've always wanted to ask! Before I get to the interview though, let's find out a little more about this talented pair!


Jessie Lane is the writing team of Crystal Leo and Melissa Pahl. The two sisters-in-law share a passionate love of naughty romance, cliff hanging suspense, and out-of-this-world characters that demand your attention, or threaten to slap you around until you do pay attention to them. Because really, it is ALL about the characters. (They're kind of megalomaniacs - but don't tell them that we said that.)

Their first YA novel, The Burning Star, was released in May 2012. Big Bad Bite is their second novel, but their first adult paranormal romance, and was released in January 2013. Their third book, Secret Maneuvers, releases on June 15, 2013, and will be the start of a new adult contemporary romance series (Ex Ops Series). They are now working on their next three novels, Walk On The Striped Side (Big Bad Bite Series #2), Stripping Her Defenses (Ex Ops Series #2), and The Frozen Star (YA Star Series #2).

With these projects underway, they are looking forward to showing the rest of the world their crazy stories, heroes and heroines that often plague their minds until written, and hope you will join them on their journey!



Find Jessie Lane:

Welcome and thank you so much for taking the time to chat with me on my little corner of the internet! 
Crystal and Melissa: Thank you Adria for inviting us! We’re very excited to be here talking with you today. :)


First of all, congratulations on the release of Secret Maneuvers! This is your third published book, do you think you'll ever get used to seeing your work out there for the public to read?
Crystal: Thank you! We’re pretty excited about this book. As for your question, no. I don’t think I’ll ever get used to see my work on anywhere but my desktop. Which I’m sure is unbelievable to some because they must think, “But you wrote the book”. It’s always very surreal for me when the book is published and I see it out there on websites like Amazon or B&N or some blogger’s website. I almost want to say, “Huh. How’d that get there?” I get to feel that sense of awe every time I see it somewhere though, and that’s pretty cool.

Melissa: She’s just being modest. But, she’s right. It is somewhat surreal and really cool when we get to see our books out there for the public to read.


I'm always impressed with writing teams because I can't even write by myself because it seems like I always have two versions of any story/essay/poem in my head and inevitably, there's an argument. How difficult is it for you two to write together? Do you have drastically different styles/views or are you pretty much in sync with each other? When there's a difference of opinion in regards to a storyline, how do you go about solving it?
Melissa: It’s not that difficult for us to write together because we think way too much alike, so our writing styles are very similar. Now when we have issues with the storyline we tend to just call the other and work it out over the phone or through email since we live so far apart.

Crystal: *nods head* What she said.


I'm very particular about my environment when I'm writing, it has to be quiet. Are you two particular about yours or can you write no matter what the environment is like?
Crystal: Quiet. I have to have it. Unfortunately in my busy house, it can sometimes be a non-existent. Like right now, my husband is hammering away on something. *glares through the floor at annoying husband* Sometimes I can tune everyone out if I listen to music, but that doesn’t always work for me.

Melissa: My husband is a gamer and is always playing his ps3 in the same room as I’m typing, so my escape is headphones and Pandora music.


Is there any chance that you both will want to do solo projects in the future?
Crystal: Maybe one day. I’m comfortable working with Melissa right now, and we’ve loaded ourselves with a pretty busy schedule. Perhaps when one of our three on-going series are done, and I have some spare time I would consider a solo project.

Melissa: Actually, I do have a few ideas that I’m working on that Crystal knows about. But I don’t see those being finished for a while.


What were some of the challenges you came across while writing Secret Maneuvers?
Melissa: Going back and forth between the characters views.

Crystal: There is a situation that I can’t talk about in the book without being super spoilery about, but it was the hardest for me because I struggled with what the characters emotions should be.


What authors/genres do you like to read when you have time off?
Crystal: I mainly read a variety of romance genres these days, although I have read high fantasy (Elizabeth Haydon’s Rhapsody Series) and young adult (Melissa Marr’s Wickedly Lovely Series) in the past. Some of my favorite authors are Karen Marie Moning, Jeaniene Frost, Kresley Cole, Maya Banks, Jaci Burton, Kristen Ashley, Lora Leigh and Shelly Laurenston.

Melissa: I pretty much read whatever Crystal tells me too! *LOL* But my favorite author is Cassandra Clare, whom I actually was able to go to a book signing for recently. *Jumps up and down like a teenager* It was my nerdy moment.


And now for a little bit of fun :)
Last movie you saw in theaters?
Crystal: Magic Mike with Melissa and my step-sister Lisa. *woot woot!* Joe Manganiello dressed as a fireman! Be still my heart.

Melissa: So glad we didn’t take mom to see that with us! LOL. The Hobbit with my husband.
*Whimpers* I STILL haven't seen Magic Mike, but I did see The Hobbit. I'm a huge fan :)

Favorite tv show?
Crystal: I’ve recently fallen in love with Game of Thrones.

Melissa:
The Voice and Vikings.

*I LOVE Game of Thrones!!! Totally Team Targaryen ;) and The Voice is the only reality show I never miss, cause I love Adam and Blake.

Favorite snack?
Crystal: Chocolate – but don’t tell my husband! *grumbles* Stupid healthy eating…

Melissa:
Can we all say cheesecake…



Favorite music?
Crystal: Rock n Roll! *throws up the devil horns and gives a rebel yell*

Melissa:
Pretty much everything.



If you could make one of your books into a movie, which book would it be and who would be your ideal cast?
Crystal: For a movie, Secret Maneuvers. Now if we were talking a tv show? Big Bad Bite. Could you imagine Grandma Ivanov on the tv screen? That would be a riot! As for casting? I would cast Chris Hemsworth for Bobby (you think he could pull off a Georgia drawl?) and I’ll let Mel pick for Annabelle.

Melissa: You and your Chris Hemsworth…*bad sissy* Annabelle ummm…..Jennifer Lawrence. She can kick some booty.


Thanks so much and best of luck to you with all your future books!
Thank you so much for having us today Adria! We had a blast!


Some mistakes from the past haunt us forever...

One 'dear John' letter haunts Bobby Baker's every living moment. It’s the letter he stupidly wrote to his high school sweetheart, Belle, right after he left to join the Army. The letter that he told her that he wasn't so sure if they were ready for forever yet. But before he can let her know that the letter, and his second thoughts, are nothing but a mistake, she up and disappears from the small Georgia town they were both raised in.

unless fate steps in with a second chance. 

Fifteen years later, Belle unknowingly walks back into Bobby's life when her job as an ATF Agent forces her to work with a group of men secretly headed by the CIA to help her track down whoever is involved in funneling black market weapons to a drug cartel in Mexico.

Bobby will use this mission to try and soothe Belle's hurt feelings while proving to her that their love is still meant for forever. He'll use every dirty trick he's learned since he joined the Army to maneuver her back into his life for the long haul. But Belle's not making it easy as she keeps him at arm's length in the hopes that mistakes of her own never come to light.


Purchase Links:





Be sure to check out the rest of the blog tour stops and enter the tour wide giveaway! One lucky person will win the following:
  • Secret Maneuvers ebook
  • Custom designed bag
  • Custom designed dog tags
  • $50 Gift Card to Amazon or Barnes and Noble
  • REV IT UP by Julie Ann Walker
  • IN THE AIR TONIGHT by Stephanie Tyler
  • FREE FALL by Catherine Mann
  • Catherine Mann bookmark



a Rafflecopter giveaway

Friday, July 12, 2013

Review: Wild for Mr. Wrong by Virna DePaul

Format: .mobi (free on amazon)
Release Date: March 14, 2011

Can an uptight prosecutor with a dark past and a laid-back, southern defense attorney find love despite their opposing agendas?

She's determined to keep her distance. He wants to pull her close. Together they'll find their place in each other's hearts.






Wild for Mr Wrong is actually the second book by Virna DePaul that I've read and I've noticed two things about her work: One, she has great story ideas and two, she excels at creating palpable sexual tension between her characters!

Daniel and Bryn are on opposite sides of the courtroom, he's the defense and she's the prosecution. They couldn't be more wrong for each other but despite that, sparks fly between them whenever they're near each other. Bryn is so stubborn that it seemed like she would never give Daniel a chance, however, Daniel has quite the reputation as a ladies man and a woman like Bryn isn't the type who lets a man love her and leave her.

Though it's a short story, Wild for Mr Wrong has everything that a full length novel has except of course for the length. The characters are likable, the storyline is entertaining and the ending leaves a reader wanting to dive right into the next contemporary romance by the author. I would have loved to see Daniel and Bryn's story as a novel instead of a novella, but that's just me being greedy.


Rating:

Find Virna DePaul:
Online l Facebook l Twitter l GoodReads


* Purchase Links:
Amazon l Kindle l

* Using the purchase links on this blog allows me to see a small percentage of the sale. It will help sponsor future giveaways.

Thursday, July 11, 2013

Cat Thursday!

Welcome to the weekly meme hosted by The True Book Addict that celebrates the wonders and sometime hilarity of cats!

Join us by posting a favorite LOL cat pic you may have come across, famous cat art or even share with us pics of your own beloved cat(s). It's all for the love of cats! Enjoy!



So Spencer and Amelia have never experienced curtains so we decided to let them see the curtains in the living room up close, hoping of course, that Spencer's mischievous personality wouldn't bring them down.Thankfully they were more interested in looking out the big window.