Taking Review Requests: Not at the moment, but if you're requesting a guest post, interview etc then please see my policy before requesting.

Hosting Giveaways: Yes

Accepting Author Interviews/Guest Posts: Yes

• My review policy and contact info is located OVER HERE.

Bloggers, I would love to interview you, have you guest post and/or guest review here! Please contact me if you're interested!




Friday, May 31, 2013

Feature and Follow Friday!


This weeks Question:
Q: What blogger would you most like to meet in real life? Tell us about him or her.

A. Oh wow, I can't pick just one. I've been a blogger for just about a year and in that time I've been so blessed to have met quite a few lovely ladies, so I'm going to mention the two bloggers that I chat with the most these days.

- Danielle from Book Whore Book Blog is one of the nicest people there is. She's so helpful, funny and we have a lot of romance novels in common. She's introduced me to some authors that I now cannot live without. She started the Cover Wars meme which I like to check out every week and her "Let's Talk" posts provide a great way to chat with her and other book lovers. She was the first friend I made when I started blogging.

- Anna from Herding Cats and Burning Soup is also a wonderful blogger. She's got a great reviewing voice, honest and funny plus she's got that silly herd of hers that provide endless entertainment. Did I mention the recipe posts?


RULES
To join the fun and make new book blogger friends, just follow these simple rules:
    • (Required) Follow the Follow My Book Blog Friday Hosts {Parajunkee & Alison Can Read}
    • (Required) Follow our Featured Bloggers
    • Put your Blog name & URL in the Linky thing. You can also grab the code if you would like to insert it into your posts.
    • Grab the button up there and place it in a post, this post is for people to find a place to say “hi” in your comments and that they are now following you.
    • If you are using WordPress or another CMS that doesn’t have GFC (Google Friends Connect) state in your posts how you would like to be followed
    • Follow Follow Follow as many as you can, as many as you want, or just follow a few. The whole point is to make new friends and find new blogs. Also, don’t just follow, comment and say hi. Another blogger might not know you are a new follower if you don’t say “HI”
    • If someone comments and says they are following you, be a dear and follow back. Spread the Love…and the followers
    • If you’re new to the follow Friday hop, comment and let me know, so I can stop by and check out your blog!

Review: Executive Sweet by Sage Ardman

Format: .mobi (provided by author in exchange for an honest review)
Release Date: May 30, 2013

Kay Samson is fresh out of business school and has a job as a junior executive—or so she thinks. But the job turns out to be something else: a bizarre game of erotic high-finance business deals. Although it starts off innocently, with just a little teasing, the game draws her in deeper with each new deal, and thrills her more than she could ever imagine. Who would have thought that her brains and her beauty could work together so powerfully?

Kay’s partner in this game is Dan Avery, the handsome CEO of the company. The two of them might seem like a perfect match, but neither wants to get romantically involved. Dan has a history of bad relationships, and refuses to wreck the game by having another bitter breakup. Kay is wary of men, who always lust for her looks and never care about what’s inside. Besides, they’re both having too much fun manipulating unsuspecting businessmen.

But with all the sexually-charged business deals going on, how long can they keep the game going and stay out of trouble?

First time romance author Sage Ardman manages to make the ordinarily dull sounding business world fun, dangerous and sexy. Who knew it could be done right? The two lead characters are serious about their work but not so serious about the romance budding between them.

Dan Avery and Kay Samson are an ideal couple even if they don't realize it. They're both intelligent, driven and fiercely independent. They compliment each other without trying to and work well as a team... of con artists.

Yes, the hero and heroine of this book are con artists out to settle the score with unscrupulous buisnessmen by hitting them where it hurts, their money belts. Because who hasn't imagined doing just that right?

Executive Sweet is a series of Cat-and-Mouse games that can keep readers on the edge of their seats wondering if and when Dan and Kay will be caught, and of course, when will they realize they're fast falling for each other.

While Dan is the hot shot boss in the book, it's Kay that really steals the show. She's beautiful, she knows it and she's not afraid to use how men see her to her advantage. However, Kay never makes the reader feel like she's rubbing her beauty in their faces, more like she's owning up to it and not trying to present a sense of false modesty. It was also great to see a female character who could match and in some cases, outsmart men who were both powerful and rich.

The supporting cast of characters, many of whom know what Dan and Kay are up to (which in my opinion wasn't very smart, I mean, people can be bought you know) are silly, fun and sometimes a great diversion from the seriousness of the game.

With each successful con, the suspense builds and builds while also making readers feel like they're along for the ride, the thrill of the game but the uncertainty of the outcome plagues not only the characters but the readers as well.

Executive Sweet is an interesting read, definitely the first con-artist romance I've read, so if you're looking for a different setting for a contemporary romance, then give this one a try.

Rating: 

Find Sage Ardman:
Online l Facebook l Twitter l GoodReads

Purchase Links:
Kindle l  

Thursday, May 30, 2013

Blog Tour Stop - Romantic Tales: Bedtime Stories + Giveaway

 




Genre: Multi-Genre
Tone: Adult Romance, Erotic Romance
Heat Level: 4
Publisher: MTR Publishing
Publishing Date: 3/29/2013
Series, #: 4 in Romantic Tales Bedtime Stories
Format: Epub, Mobi, Pdf, Lit, Rb,
Words: 35K+

Romantic Tales: Bedtime Stories has a little of everything. From your everyday Contemporary Romance (The Getaway) To your Hot and Heavy Rockers turned Werewolves (Crave) and your Sci-Fi/Paranormal with Erotic overtones…. (The Genesis Project) Each Episode will entice its readers, draw them in. A quick Bedtime story before they dream, keeping them pleasantly satisfied while peaking their interests for next month’s installment. All for 99 cents. During the interim there will be previews of next month’s Episode…

In Season 2 of Romantic Tales: Bedtime Stories the Author’s have all added a little something more. Ms. Ross continues with Mike and Juliet’s Contemporary Romance, in Nothing Else Matters. This story takes place after the wedding. Ms. Eden takes you on a journey three thousand years plus into the future where female assassins get down to business in Red Hawk Mercenary Group: Ghost. Ms. Langston brings you into a world of Contemporary Romance where a woman can go online and order the man of their dreams in Mail Order Groom.

Read a book before bedtime and fall in love with Romantic Tales.

Grab Your Copy at:

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Romantic-Tales-Bedtime-Stories-ebook/dp/B00C2HEW8A/ref=sr_1_14?ie=UTF8&qid=1364480074&sr=8-14&keywords=Tigris+Eden

Barnes & Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/romantic-tales-ty-langston/1114924590?ean=2940016247663

All Romance eBooks: https://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-romantictalesbedtimestoriesepisode4-1057516-172.html


Wednesday, May 29, 2013

Review: Any Duchess Will Do by Tessa Dare

Format: .mobi (purchase)
Release Date: May 28, 2013

Griffin York, the Duke of Halford, has no desire to wed this season—or any season—but his diabolical mother abducts him to “Spinster Cove” and insists he select a bride from the ladies in residence. Griff decides to teach her a lesson that will end the marriage debate forever. He chooses the serving girl.

Overworked and struggling, Pauline Simms doesn’t dream about dukes. All she wants is to hang up her barmaid apron and open a bookshop. That dream becomes a possibility when an arrogant, sinfully attractive duke offers her a small fortune for a week’s employment. Her duties are simple: submit to his mother’s “duchess training”… and fail miserably.

But in London, Pauline isn’t a miserable failure. She’s a brave, quick-witted, beguiling failure—a woman who ignites Griff’s desire and soothes the darkness in his soul. Keeping Pauline by his side won’t be easy. Even if Society could accept a serving girl duchess—can a roguish duke convince a serving girl to trust him with her heart?

Well hot damn, I think I have a new favorite Tessa Dare book.

Okay maybe it hasn't dethroned my favorite but it is a tie now.

A humble heroine who wants a better life for her and her sister, a reformed hero tortured by an event in his past, a loving, conniving duchess who doesn't know how to help her only child and the reappearance of series favorites make Any Duchess Will Do a romantic, fun and engaging story that will make longtime fans ecstatic.

Tuesday, May 28, 2013

Review: Sea Glass Island by Sherryl Woods + Giveaway

Format: .mobi (provided by Harlequin MIRA through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review)
Release Date: May 28, 2013

With her two younger sisters heading for the altar, will Samantha Castle exchange old dreams for new ones? Lately she'd rather be on the North Carolina coast with family than in New York with agents and actors. Though she vows not to let her teenage crush on Ethan Cole influence her decision, it's hard to ignore her feelings for the local war hero.

Ethan lost more than his leg in Afghanistan. He lost his belief in love. Even being surrounded by couples intent on capturing happily-ever-after won't open this jaded doctor's heart. It's going to take a sexy, determined woman—one who won't take no for an answer.

Samantha Castle had a crush on Ethan Cole in high school, only he didn't know she existed. Ethan doesn't want any complications in his life, the last one left him a shattered man and his career in the military left him without a leg.

The final book in the Ocean Breeze trilogy, Sea Glass Island is in my opinion, the best out of the three books and closes up the trilogy quite nicely.

Ethan Cole's background as a military man, his injury and his fiance's abandonment have left him slightly bitter and reluctant to trust Samantha. It also makes him a multi-dimentional character and the most interesting of all three heroes in the series. Ethan seems more flesh and blood than Boone or Wade and his relationship hangups are part of what make Sea Glass Island more interesting and engaging than its predecessors.

His way of coping with what life has done to him is to retreat within himself and avoid emotional entanglements. Ironic really since he's a doctor and he does genuinely care about his patients. Samantha represents a threat to his way of life. She makes him feel things he hasn't felt before and for the first time in a long time he catches himself starting to hope. He responds by shutting down at odd times and being gruff and at times rude.

Samantha, like her sisters, has had to learn tough lessons in life all on her own. She learned the hard way that being beautiful wasn't enough to make it as an actress and now that she's not as young as she used to be, she doesn't quite know what to do with herself.

Sea Glass Island isn't as dramatic as Sand Castle Bay and Wind Chime Point, even though the heroine is an actress but it does bring the Castle sisters full circle not only individually but as a family unit. Samantha finally gets the chance to work on her relationship with her sister Emily and her father. Their absentee father finally steps up and starts to get to know his adult daughters, which is awkward at times but works it's way up to heartwarming, and their grandmother Cora Jane can finally sit back and relax now that she's meddled in her granddaughters' lives to her satisfaction.

Family is everything in a small town and Sherryl Woods shows that no matter what happens in life, a good, strong family can make even the impossible seem possible. Sea Glass Island brings closure to the Castle family and fans of the trilogy in a way that will leave a smile on your face for days to come.


Rating:


Find Sherryl Woods:
Online l Facebook l Twitter l GoodReads


* Purchase Links:
Amazon l Kindle l

* Using the purchase links on this blog allows me to see a small percentage of the sale. It will help sponser future giveaways. 

Up for grabs are two PRINT copies for two US/CAN winners! Fill out the rafflecopter form below!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Top Off Tuesday & New Releases!


What better way than to top off a good book than with a GREAT Cover!

Every week, Amanda from On a Book Bender, Christi from Smitten with Reading, and Felicia from Geeky Bloggers Book Blog want to see those Top Off Tuesday covers that grab your attention!

Please play along and tell us your favorites (old, new, or not yet released). Button made by Missie at The Unread Reader and Diana at Book of Secrets


Every once in awhile there are covers that just make you say Oh My!  Sometimes it is good, sometimes it is bad, and sometimes it is head scratching. The point of Top Off Tuesday is to show you the ones with their Tops Off!

This is one of my favorite series and one of only a handful of erotic romance novels that I read. Laurann Dohner writes such sexy alpha males that never cross over into that overbearing, controlling a-hole category that seems to be all the rage these days. Is it any wonder that the covers are equally drool worthy?





Ellie is horrified to discover the pharmaceutical company she works for is doing illegal experiments. Company scientists have spliced human and animal DNA, creating exotic new species. One such “experiment” captures her heart and she’ll do anything to save him—even if he hates her for it.

Fury has never known compassion or love. He’s spent his life in a cell, chained and abused by humans. The one woman he allowed himself to trust betrayed him. Now he’s free and set on vengeance. He vows to end her life but when she’s finally in his grasp, harming her is the last thing he wants to do to the sexy little human.

Fury can’t resist Ellie—the touch of her hands, her mouth on his skin, her body wrapped around his. He’s obsessed with the scent of his woman. And Ellie wants Fury—always has. She craves his big, powerful body and wants to heal his desolate heart.

But loving Fury is one thing…taming him is another.

Purchase Links: *


Monday, May 27, 2013

Book Blind Date #17


Book Blind Date is something that Danielle from Book Whore Blog and I decided to start after seeing a Facebook post on the Lawrence Public Library Page about a book blind date. This really got us thinking, what if the only thing you new about a book was what the story was about? No character names, no pretty covers to suck you in.

Here's how it works, you know the old saying never judge a book by its cover? Well you won't be able to, for this meme you are going to decide which book you would go on a "date" with based on the synopsis. Names and identifying phrases are removed just to make things fair. The only rule is: No Googling the synopsis, you have to pick a "date" based on what you read below.



Last Week's Blind Dates:


Blind Date #1
The G***** brothers left behind their family's Virginia estate—and the bad memories it holds—years ago. But their dying grandfather's request brings them home: to a failing business, a legacy of secrets and a deathbed promise to make things right.

As the eldest brother, attorney J**** G***** is determined to take responsibility for G***** Aeronautics, his family's failing business. But the years of mismanagement seem impossible to untangle. As CEO, he hires a consultant to turn the company around. Smart, sexy S**** B***** is the right person for the job—and the right woman to turn J****'s world upside down.

But the passion between them is jeopardized when old secrets begin to emerge. A woman from J****'s past suddenly reappears. And an explosive discovery changes everything J**** thinks he knows about his mother—and his father, who was convicted of her murder.

J**** G***** tried to leave his family history behind once before. But this time he needs to face the past…or risk losing his future.

Three brothers. One legacy. A lifetime of secrets.


Blind Date #2
He was a dangerous man to love—and the last man she thought she'd marry.

To prevent a dear friend from wedding the notorious I** L*****, Viscount St. C****, F**** T**** set out to expose him for the scoundrel he is—never anticipating the consequences. Because now the dashing, dangerous lord is short a bride, in desperate need of an heir . . . and has set his sights on F****!

I** is indeed looking for a wife to secure his fortune, but this saucy, stubborn beauty might be more than he can handle. Never one to shy from a challenge—and enchanted by a face and form that could bring the most indifferent husband to his knees—suddenly I** is about to discover the one thing more perilous than wedding vows: actually falling in love with his bride!


Each Monday you can join in and set up your own book blind date. Just link back to this blog and Danielle's blog. To join in just try the following.

1. Select a 2 books to be the "blind dates"

2. Set them up without the covers so readers can pick without ever seeing the beauty of the cover.

3. Star out the names. **** That way if readers have heard of the characters they aren't prejudice.

4. Link up each Monday. And post the cover to your previous weeks blind dates.

5. Join in and select which blind date you would choose in others match ups.



Saturday, May 25, 2013

Author! Author! Interview with: Sage Ardman + Giveaway

Happy Saturday everyone! Today author Sage Ardman is answering a few of my questions. Executive Sweet is a contemporary romance (and Sage's debut as a romance author) set in the business world, which is new for me. Be sure to enter the giveaway at the end of the interview for a chance to win a bound copy of Executive Sweet.

Without further ado, here's a little about Sage:

Executive Sweet is my third book, but first novel. My other two books are non-fiction, and weren't nearly as much fun to write.

After a lifetime of reading general fiction, I discovered romance at age 59, and fell in love with it. Now I fill my time reading and writing romance novels.

Also, I never drank whiskey before. But since I wrote characters who drink it, I became curious. Now it's my favorite drink.

Life in Northern California is full of surprises, including Executive Sweet. I have been happily married for nearly thirty years, and we have raised two wonderful children. I honestly wouldn't trade places with anyone else, living or dead, real or imagined.

Find Sage Ardman:


I never would have thought the world of executives and business deals as sexy and thrilling. What made you decide to write a romance set in that world?
I've never actually worked in the world of business, so I was free to fantasize about it as much as I liked. Is that world as sexy as I make it sound? I doubt it. But whenever I watch a movie or television show, they all seem determined to sex-up those poor business folks. Wait! Did I say "poor business folks"? That's a joke. The people in my book are definitely the 1%, and they're anything but poor. So perhaps that world really is as sexy as I imagine it.


Are Kay and Dan based on any one you know?
As the book's dedication attests, Kay is based on a real person, but I'm not telling who (no, it's not me). In truth, there are bits of many real people sprinkled all over the characters in my book. Doesn't every fiction author do this? Even I appear in a few places. I recently heard about an author who has a sign in her kitchen that reads "Watch out or I'll write you into my next book." How true.
* Darn, I was hoping I'd trip you up with that question and you'd spill. Can't blame a girl for trying though :)

What were some of the challenges, if any, of writing Executive Sweet?
The biggest challenge was to make it real, while still being outrageous in so many ways. Why would a successful and intelligent woman jeopardize her future by doing these things? I want my readers to believe that this could actually happen, so I tried to make each step of Kay's journey be well motivated. The other challenge was to learn about the world of business and the world of con games, both of which were unfamiliar to me.
* I would imagine learning about the world of con artists and cons would be fascinating.

Aside from reading or writing, what do you like to do on your spare time?
For the past year, while writing this book, I've been immersing myself in the world of con games. The Executive Sweet website (executive-sweet.com) has a page on female con artists in movies, TV, and romance novels. Everything in that list is something I've seen or read. So besides reading books, I spend way too much time watching movies and TV shows. I keep looking for more stories, gobbling them up, and then adding them to my website. It's a fulltime job.


Who would you picture as Kay and Dan if Executive Sweet were made into a movie?
One pairing that immediately comes to mind is Jennifer Lawrence and Bradley Cooper. Other actresses I've thought about include Megan Fox, Scarlett Johansson, and Christina Ricci. If I could synthesize the perfect Dan, it would be a younger Robert Downey, Jr. And I'd also be happy with Hugh Jackman (who wouldn't?)

Then, when I watch television shows about con artists, I find it easy to imagine some of these actors in my book, especially since I get to see them pulling off cons so well. From the British TV show Hustle I would cast Jamie Murray or Kelly Adams as Kay. From the American TV show Leverage, I would cast Christian Kane as Dan (he's a charmer).
* Points for me for knowing who Christian Kane was without having to Google him. Great choices. Especially Hugh Jackman and Robert Downey Jr.

What are you currently working on?
I'm writing a follow-on book, from the same world, but with a different couple. In this next book, Kay's friend Rebecca is the heroine (it was either her or Constance Westerley, so that probably tells you that Constance will find love, too, if I get around to a third book). The hero is O.E. Orton. But this book will switch genres from suspense to comedy. Let's face it, Orton is a comic character.


Is there anything else you'd like readers to know?
The main theme of Executive Sweet is the overwhelming power that women have over men. This is not some random idea...it's a documented fact. I even have a page on the book's website where I list scientific research papers that prove this fact. The sad truth is that in the presence of women, men lose their memory, lose their ability to reason, and act poorly (take risks, overeat, work too hard, etc.) A friend of mine looked at these papers and pointed out that men may not be as stupid as women think they are, but it's impossible for women to tell because their very presence makes men dumb.
* Ha ha I did notice the effect Kay had on the men around her. What I admired was that she didn't try to downplay her looks but she wasn't conceited about it either.


Sage is graciously offering a lucky reader a SIGNED & DEDICATED print copy of Executive Sweet today. Fill in the rafflecopter and good luck! US/CAN only please.


Kay Samson is fresh out of business school and has a job as a junior executive—or so she thinks. But the job turns out to be something else: a bizarre game of erotic high-finance business deals. Although it starts off innocently, with just a little teasing, the game draws her in deeper with each new deal, and thrills her more than she could ever imagine. Who would have thought that her brains and her beauty could work together so powerfully?
Kay’s partner in this game is Dan Avery, the handsome CEO of the company. The two of them might seem like a perfect match, but neither wants to get romantically involved. Dan has a history of bad relationships, and refuses to wreck the game by having another bitter breakup. Kay is wary of men, who always lust for her looks and never care about what’s inside. Besides, they’re both having too much fun manipulating unsuspecting businessmen.
But with all the sexually-charged business deals going on, how long can they keep the game going and stay out of trouble?


a Rafflecopter giveaway


Wednesday, May 22, 2013

ARC Review: Lover Be Mine by Nicole Jordan

Format: .mobi (Provided by NetGalley)
Release Date: May 28, 2013

The last thing Sophie Fortin expects at a masquerade ball is a dazzling kiss from a pirate. Her desire quickly falters when she learns her masked gentleman is devilishly scandalous Lord Jack, a member of the captivating Wilde clan—and a man she’s forbidden to acknowledge. But when Jack begins a breathtaking seduction, Sophie can barely resist.
Jack never imagined that the daughter of his family’s mortal enemy would awaken such fierce passion within him—until one unforgettable kiss changes his mind forever. Soon, Jack is hell-bent on winning Sophie’s hand, going so far as to abduct her to save her from marrying a rival nobleman.

Determined to woo Sophie and her unyielding parents, Jack is faced with the one decision he’d sworn never to make. The secret heir to a prince, Jack has spurned his royal heritage for years… but for Sophie he’ll risk all to turn a legacy of heartbreak into love ever after.

The second book in Nicole Jordan's Legendary Lovers series takes the black sheep of an already wild family and shoves him into the spotlight. Lover Be Mine is Jack's story, and according to his adopted sister Kate's mad theory, his legendary lover's tale is Romeo & Juliet with the daughter of a rival family being his Juliet.

Lord Jack Wilde is definitely a rascal. He's dashing, intelligent and not all that interested in finding his ideal match, much less if it means encouraging his meddling female relatives' matchmaking. But before he can form an adequate refusal, he finds himself at a masquerade ball, partially out of curiosity, to take a peek at his "Juliet." When Jack sees Sophie Fortin he is instantly intrigued, as well as attracted to her beauty.

Sophie Fortin is practically engaged to a Duke when she meets a mysterious man dressed as a pirate. Actually, she takes the initiative and approaches him when she sees him staring at her. She's intelligent, bold, kind, and a loyal daughter, which makes it easy for her father to manipulate her to his liking. Aside from wanting to please her parents, Sophie is incapable of purposely being cruel to any one, but she doesn't allow any one to speak to her as if she were inferior.

Jack and Sophie are well matched, Jack encourages Sophie to live her life instead of just existing as a duty bound female. In return, Sophie calms the wildness in Jack and helps him move past his very difficult childhood. She also pushes him to make amends with his estranged father, a man who never married Jack's mother and then left her to die at the hands of a Paris mob.

The passion between Jack and Sophie was slow to build on Sophie's side as she was trying desperately to remain faithful to her fiance. The two characters have some rather interesting exchanges both of a regular nature and a sexual one. Even when Jack was making her blush madly, Sophie didn't back down from him and when she couldn't gain the upper hand physically, she used her intellect to cut his cocky attitude and sometimes overbearing ego down to size.

Lover Be Mine saw the reunion of the entire Wilde family, including the often annoying Kate. Though she wasn't as bad as she was in Princess Charming (partially because she isn't in as many scenes), she still annoyed me with her nagging about her theory, even recruiting her cousin Skye to her cause. Apparently, Kate still doesn't know the meaning of the words "sneaky" or "subtle." At this rate, I don't know what kind of heroine she'll make when the time comes, or if she'll even be interesting.

Through it all, Lover Be Mine is another fun, romantic novel by Nicole Jordan, and one that I kept saying "Just one more page" to.



Rating: 

Find Author:
Online l Facebook l GoodReads


Purchase Links:
Amazon l Kindle

Tuesday, May 21, 2013

Top Off Tuesday!


What better way than to top off a good book than with a GREAT Cover!

Every week, Amanda from On a Book Bender, Christi from Smitten with Reading, and Felicia from Geeky Bloggers Book Blog want to see those Top Off Tuesday covers that grab your attention!

Please play along and tell us your favorites (old, new, or not yet released). Button made by Missie at The Unread Reader and Diana at Book of Secrets

Every once in awhile there are covers that just make you say Oh My!  Sometimes it is good, sometimes it is bad, and sometimes it is head scratching. The point of Top Off Tuesday is to show you the ones with their Tops Off!


Alice is all grown up. Running the Mad Hatter's Cupcakery and Tea Shoppe is a delicious job, until fate--and a fairy godmother with a weakness for bad boys--throws her a curveball. Now, Alice is the newest resident of Wonderland, where the Mad Hatter fuels her fantasies and thrills her body with his dark touch.

The Mad Hatter may have a voice and a body made for sex, but he takes no lovers. Ever. But a determined fairy godmother has forced Alice into Wonderland--and his arms. Now, as desire and madness converge, the Hatter must decide if he will fight the fairy godmother's mating--or fight for Alice.




Purchase Links *
Kindle l Kindle (Bundle) l Amazon (Bundle)



* Using the purchase links on this blog helps sponser future giveaways. You don't have to do anything extra, just use the links provided! Thanks.

Monday, May 20, 2013

ARC Review: Blind Attraction by Eden Summers

Format: .mobi (provided by author)
Release Date: May 28, 2013

He can seduce with a single glance.

Peering down at a sea of fans, rock star, Mitchell Davies can’t deny the innocent beauty of a woman in the front row. He’ll stop at nothing to get to know her. When a public altercation leaves her weak and defenseless, he takes the opportunity to be her savior.

She’s been sheltered from the world.

Alana Shelton wants to spread her wings and experience life away from her restrictive upbringing. But she isn’t prepared for a gorgeous stranger to sweep her off her feet while at her most vulnerable.

Attraction will bring them together, but their pasts will try to tear them apart.

He wants to teach her how to trust, but she’ll show him how to love. In a glamorous world of rock-and-roll, only time will tell if they’re up for the challenge.

I've been wanting to read a romance with a musician/celebrity as one of the main characters but have put it off due to the latest "trends" in romance not being my cup of tea. I also didn't want to read a romance where every other line of dialogue was a music pun. Enter Blind Attraction, the first book in a series about an insanely popular band made up of five men, Blake, Mason, Ryan, Sean and Mitchell, better known as Reckless Beat.

While playing an intimate concert for their most devoted fans, lead guitarist Mitch spies a beautiful woman in the audience who doesn't quite fit the criterea of Super Fan. Mitch knows the perks, and has taken advantage of them on numerous occasions but for some reason, this mystery woman is different. He doesn't want her to be one of the groupies and is delighted to find that she not only ISN'T a longtime fan, but that she isn't impressed with his level of fame, in fact, his fame seems to be one very big strike against him.

Alana Shelton's taking some very big steps for someone who has lived in seclusion most of her life. She's at her first concert and away from home. Unsure of what to expect, she catches the eye of the lead guitarist of the band and begins making some very interesting discoveries about herself, men, and the world in general. Though she's had a sheltered life, Alana never comes across as stupidly naive, dumb or annoying. I honestly though that because of her background, she was going to be one of those dreaded female characters with the "Save Me I'm Helpless and Dumb as Dirt" complex. I'm so happy she was the opposite. Alana's willingness to continuously step outside her comfort zone made her a respectable female character and someone to admire. She also calls Mitch by his full name, "Mitchell" in perhaps an attempt to separate the man from the music idol. At least, that's my theory.

Though meant to be the supporting cast, the remaining members of Reckless Beat are hard to keep in the background, they're funny, sarcastic and intriguing. Thankfully, they'll each be getting their own books. I do hope Alana's friend Kate will be part of the cast for a long time to come, she's quite refreshing in her roles as Reckless Beat groupie, Mother Hen and Loyal Friend.

Not to be overlooked is the chemistry between Mitch and Alana. It's immediate and electrifying but also tender, unsure and timid. There was a moment where I thought Blind Attraction was going to turn into one of those novels where a third person gets thrown into the sex scenes for no other reason than it's the "in thing" to do and does nothing to further the story. Not so, but that's all I will say on it, you'll have to get the book and read it.

The pacing of the story is moderate, with enough time spent on establishing and developing the relationship between Mitch and Alana as well as their individual growth. There's never a dull moment in this book and before I knew it, I was at the end of the story and desperate for the next installment.

Blind Attraction is a sizzling, humorously entertaining start to a series that will have readers falling in love with Mitch, Alana and the rest of the gang. I'm definitely a Reckless Beat groupie and I cannot wait for book 2 in the series!



Rating: 

Find Author:
Online l Facebook l Twitter l GoodReads

Purchase Links: 
Amazon l Kindle

Book Blind Date #16


Book Blind Date is something that Danielle from Book Whore Blog and I decided to start after seeing a Facebook post on the Lawrence Public Library Page about a book blind date. This really got us thinking, what if the only thing you new about a book was what the story was about? No character names, no pretty covers to suck you in.

Here's how it works, you know the old saying never judge a book by its cover? Well you won't be able to, for this meme you are going to decide which book you would go on a "date" with based on the synopsis. Names and identifying phrases are removed just to make things fair. The only rule is: No Googling the synopsis, you have to pick a "date" based on what you read below.



Last Week's Blind Dates:


Blind Date #1
ALL FEAR THE ENEMY OF OLD
Driven by his insatiable need for revenge, L****, the Lore’s most ruthless vampire, plots to seize the Horde’s crown by offering up the soul of his lovely new captive, E**** P****. Yet the young human soon tempts him beyond reason.

A DEADLY FORCE DWELLS WITHIN HER
E**** P****’s life was a living hell—even before an evil immortal abducted her. Though he plans to sacrifice her, the vampire seems to ache for her touch, showering her with sexual pleasure. In a bid to save her soul, she surrenders her body, while vowing to protect her heart.


CENTURIES OF COLD INDIFFERENCE SHATTERED
In one month, L**** must choose between a millennia-old blood vendetta and his irresistible prisoner. Will he succumb to the miseries of his past . . . or risk everything for a future with her?

Blind Date #2
She's either headed for jail...or for the best sex of her life.

T**** J**** has been crushing on sexy firefighter E**** R****, her best friend’s brother, since her sixteenth birthday. She knows acting on her attraction will ruin their friendship, but she can’t fight the temptation of his sweat-slicked skin as he works out. Every hot-blooded woman loves to drool over a sexy piece of man flesh, but watching one from the shadows of your porch when he has no idea you’re spying on him? Totally illegal.

For years E**** has watched men go in and out of T****’s life, but how’s a guy supposed to put the moves on his kid sister’s best friend without looking like a perv? But when T**** lets out an ear-piercing scream from her front yard, E**** drops everything to rush to her aid. And finds out that the woman of his dreams has been sneaking a peek at his workouts…
 



Each Monday you can join in and set up your own book blind date. Just link back to this blog and Danielle's blog. To join in just try the following.

1. Select a 2 books to be the "blind dates"

2. Set them up without the covers so readers can pick without ever seeing the beauty of the cover.

3. Star out the names. **** That way if readers have heard of the characters they aren't prejudice.

4. Link up each Monday. And post the cover to your previous weeks blind dates.





5. Join in and select which blind date you would choose in others match ups.

Friday, May 17, 2013

Feature & Follow Friday


This weeks Question:

Q: School is out! What is your favorite Summer Reading book??

A: I am re-reading Joan Swan's Phoenix Rising series. The third book is due out later but I just want to make sure my memory is up to date with the (yummy) characters.


RULES
To join the fun and make new book blogger friends, just follow these simple rules:
    • (Required) Follow the Follow My Book Blog Friday Hosts {Parajunkee & Alison Can Read}
    • (Required) Follow our Featured Bloggers
    • Put your Blog name & URL in the Linky thing. You can also grab the code if you would like to insert it into your posts.
    • Grab the button up there and place it in a post, this post is for people to find a place to say “hi” in your comments and that they are now following you.
    • If you are using WordPress or another CMS that doesn’t have GFC (Google Friends Connect) state in your posts how you would like to be followed
    • Follow Follow Follow as many as you can, as many as you want, or just follow a few. The whole point is to make new friends and find new blogs. Also, don’t just follow, comment and say hi. Another blogger might not know you are a new follower if you don’t say “HI”
    • If someone comments and says they are following you, be a dear and follow back. Spread the Love…and the followers
    • If you’re new to the follow Friday hop, comment and let me know, so I can stop by and check out your blog!

Thursday, May 16, 2013

Giveaway: The Charmed by Christine Wenrick

Olivia Ann Greyson sees only one future for herself—to compose and perform the music she has loved since she was a child. But that future changes in an instant when a commuter train taking her to the city crashes and is attacked by, unbelievably, a coven of vampires! As the rabid creatures feed their thirst on the surviving passengers, Olivia is spared from an unthinkable fate because of the intervention of another vampire—Caleb Wolfe, a figure from her past who, for reasons he doesn’t understand himself, would do anything to protect her.

After one familiar touch, Olivia recognizes the man behind the vampire. Soon love, and a powerful supernatural connection, begins to grow between them. But with that connection Olivia starts to notice starling changes happening within herself, and violent events make it clear that the vampire coven which wanted her the night of the train crash won’t stop until they have her.

Time is running out for Olivia and Caleb to discover why all this is happening. And the answers they find may painfully tear their new love apart.

Purchase Links:

One lucky reader will get an e-copy of The Charmed in any format they choose. Just fill out the rafflecopter form below to enter!


Wednesday, May 15, 2013

Blog Tour: A Surfire Way by J.T. Bock + Giveaway




ISBN: 9780988836204

UltraAgent Surefire’s plan is simple: Capture the transhuman thief Raven. Win back the respect of her father. Get a raise.

Easy, right?

Except Surefire just broke the number one rule of her employer, UltraSecurity, a niche security firm that solves crimes committed by genetically enhanced humans like Raven. She trailed Raven into a warehouse without backup. And something more powerful than any transhuman is waiting inside.

Raven’s plan is simple: Atone for his past crimes. Return stolen spiritual artifacts to restore the world’s balance. Don’t get caught by UltraSecurity.

Easy, right?

Until a spunky UltraSecurity agent is suddenly on his tail, although Raven wishes she was on … well, never mind … he can’t get distracted from his mission. Because she’s followed him into a warehouse filled with his reclaimed relics, and Raven’s ex-partner in crime is about to unleash a supernatural-sized complication into his plan.

His old partner has accidentally summoned an Aztec god who will destroy the world unless Raven stops this spirit with a superiority complex. To do this, Raven must team up with Surefire and reveal the truth about his powers, exposing her to a force that can either save the world or destroy them both.

Following Raven into that warehouse throws Surefire into a surreal world filled with moody gods, day-glo skulls, dizzying dimensional portals, maniacal half-roach magicians, and a sexy thief who is more than he appears under his snug t-shirt. Is Raven a criminal, or is he working for a higher power? Surefire needs to be certain, because if she joins him on this mission, she’ll have to surrender everything she believed in for a surefire way to save the world, discover her destiny and find true love.

J.T. Bock's A Surefire Way, the first tale of the UltraSecurity force, delivers the following:
     a group of superhumans (UltraAgents) joined to protect citizens from evildoers—for a pre-contracted fee
     a kick-butt, rookie agent with daddy issues who doesn't follow the rules
     a quick-tempered boss annoyed with his rookie agent for not following the rules
     a flawed, yet incredibly attractive, hero afraid of bugs
     a half-roach villain with an ego problem
     a self-absorbed, vengeful god set to destroy the world (What else would a god do with his time?)
     a sexy goddess with a personality disorder
     a forbidden romance and even more forbidden sexytime
     loads of action and adventure like running, jumping, shooting guns and things, traveling to alternate worlds, battling cranky gods, bouncing a head around, searching for creepy Aztec skulls, and other fun stuff
     Did we mention forbidden love?


About J.T. Bock:

When J.T. Bock was a child, she wanted to be James Bond or Indiana Jones or a vampire hunter or Wonder Woman. Whatever brought her the most action, adventure and romance while play acting on her stage—otherwise known as her grandmother’s basement. Now J.T. has assembled her own team of action heroes, supernatural creatures and maniacal villains and set them on adventures far from her basement to exotic lands and alternate dimensions.

From a secret location outside of Washington, DC, J.T. conjures these pulse-pounding tales to share with those kindred readers looking for an exciting escape. Her alternate identity enjoys spending time with her workaholic husband and their sidekick rescue dog, traveling to interesting locales (San Diego Comic-Con), and enjoying life to the fullest with an amazing group of family and friends and a good glass of wine.

Check out J.T.’s latest adventures on her website (www.jtbock.com) or find her by flashing her initials in the sky, opening up her favorite bottle of Pinot Noir.

Find J.T. Bock


Wanna win an e-copy of Surefire Way? Fill out the rafflecopter form and you're in!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, May 14, 2013

Top Off Tuesday!


What better way than to top off a good book than with a GREAT Cover!

Every week, Amanda from On a Book Bender, Christi from Smitten with Reading, and Felicia from Geeky Bloggers Book Blog want to see those Top Off Tuesday covers that grab your attention! 

Please play along and tell us your favorites (old, new, or not yet released). Button made by Missie at The Unread Reader and Diana at Book of Secrets

Every once in awhile there are covers that just make you say Oh My!  Sometimes it is good, sometimes it is bad, and sometimes it is head scratching. The point of Top Off Tuesday is to show you the ones with their Tops Off! 

Dr. Alyssa Foster will admit to a bad boy fetish. . .
But when she finds herself face to face with a convicted murderer with a determination for freedom and an eye on her as his get out of jail free card, Alyssa knows she's in deep trouble. . .. Not just because Teague Creek is a prisoner desperate for freedom, but because his every touch makes her desperate for more.


A man with a life sentence has nothing to lose. . .
Teague Creek has one shot at freedom, but his plan to escape with a hostage develops a fatal flaw: Alyssa. On the run from both the law and deadly undercover operatives who know of his strange abilities, he needs to avoid trouble, but every heated kiss tells him the fire between them could be just as devastating as the flames that changed him forever.

Purchase Links:

Monday, May 13, 2013

Book Blind Date #15


Book Blind Date is something that Danielle from Book Whore Blog and I decided to start after seeing a Facebook post on the Lawrence Public Library Page about a book blind date. This really got us thinking, what if the only thing you new about a book was what the story was about? No character names, no pretty covers to suck you in.

Here's how it works, you know the old saying never judge a book by its cover? Well you won't be able to, for this meme you are going to decide which book you would go on a "date" with based on the synopsis. Names and identifying phrases are removed just to make things fair. The only rule is: No Googling the synopsis, you have to pick a "date" based on what you read below.



Last Week's Blind Dates:


Blind Date #1
Professional mercenary D**** M**** lives by one hard and fast rule: business should never be personal. If a cause appeals to him and the price is right, he'll take the mission he's offered. But then the lovely M**** A**** asks him to help her track down the men who'd had her kidnapped—and for the first time, D****'s tempted to combine work with pleasure.

Fiercely independent, M**** vows to trust no one until she's uncovered the truth. Could the enemy be her powerful estranged father? The ex-fiancĂ© who still holds a grudge? Or the not-so-shy fan of her bestselling novels? As the danger heats up around them, the only anchor M**** has is D**** himself. But what she feels for him just might be the most frightening thing of all….

Blind Date #2
A Dream of Desire Awakened . . .

Beautiful Lady E**** dreams of the rapture of love and the joys of marriage. The youngest daughter of an English lord at war, she is shaken by the arrival of a mysterious stranger to her father's castle. Could this breathtaking man be E****'s yearned-for lover? Indeed, D**** de M****, Earl of R******, has come for E**** . . . but romance has nothing to do with it.

In the Tender Embrace of an Enemy . . .

D**** would never have entered the home of his most hated adversary had not the King himself ordered him to take in his foe's daughter for a year to forge bonds of peace between their two feuding houses. Worse still, here is a lass whose exquisite loveliness could tempt D**** to betray his sworn vow never to let anther close to his heart. E**** knows the searing heat of her passion could burn down the defenses of this proud warrior. But will the surrender of the sweet nectar of his lips and his bold, sensuous caress ignite a blaze so hot it consumes them both?


Each Monday you can join in and set up your own book blind date. Just link back to this blog and Danielle's blog. To join in just try the following.

1. Select a 2 books to be the "blind dates"

2. Set them up without the covers so readers can pick without ever seeing the beauty of the cover.

3. Star out the names. **** That way if readers have heard of the characters they aren't prejudice.

4. Link up each Monday. And post the cover to your previous weeks blind dates.

5. Join in and select which blind date you would choose in others match ups.



Sunday, May 12, 2013

Book Tour: Wolf's Desire by Ambrielle Kirk + Giveaway


When Keira becomes a widow, she realizes that the life she once had wasn’t normal after all. After her husband is brutally murdered, she is more than just alone but vulnerable to threats and tangled in a web of greed. Her decisions lead her into a corner, and her safety is jeopardized.



Aiden, Caedmon Council member, has never failed when it comes to fulfilling the terms of his employment contract. When he is hired to protect an heiress, he doesn’t plan on her being the only woman to bring both challenge and purpose in his life. Without hesitation, he vows to keep the grieving Keira safe—even from himself.



Keira trusts Aiden unconditionally and finds joy whenever they are together, but can love transcend a tragedy? Aiden’s urge to protect her is just as great as his desire to claim her. Once the passion is unleashed and fueled by the need to have all of her, the wolf will accept nothing less than his mate.

Ambrielle Kirk's Wolf's Desire is a swift, sexy dip into a dangerous paranormal world where the slightest hesitation can result in death.

Keira Ellis became a widow in a grisly way. Her husband was brutally murdered and Keira insists that there were two killers, one human, and one... Other. Her husband hasn't been dead for very long before her life is threatened. Determined to find out why her husband was murdered, Keira hires Aiden Price to protect her. As danger stalks them both, Keira learns that not only was her husband murdered, but that his killer is now after her as well.

Wolf's Desire is relatively short for a paranormal romance but it packs a lot into it. There's a lot of fast paced action in this book that keeps a reader interested without overlooking the developing romance between Aiden and Keira. The pacing is brisk but easy to follow and the entire book flows quite smoothly, with very little "slow spots" to contend with. The characters are entertaining and likable, however, Keira was a little slow to warm up to. She came off as incompetent, especially in a tough situation. She wanted answers to her husband's murder, even though she knew it could be dangerous. That was admirable but yet, the sound of an angry male on the phone was enough to send fear through her. She had a bit of a defenseless damsel vibe and that wasn't helpful to Aiden at all. It wasn't until the last quarter of the book that she started to really be a heroine instead of just a woman in trouble.

Aiden on the other hand was a sturdy character. He isn't protective just because it's his job, but because it's in his nature. He won't prey upon innocents but he will go through someone who threatens their safety. He's also secretive, patient, intelligent and kind. He's an alpha male who didn't abuse his power or force Keira to do anything that wasn't in the interest of keeping her alive. He's intensely attracted to Keira, due in part to the fact that she is his mate. Ever the professional, he continues to resist her because she needs his protection more.

All in all, Wolf's Desire is a fun read. Readers who want a paranormal romance that doesn't have too much of a paranormal element will enjoy Ambrielle Kirk's work. Wolf's Desire is part of a series but thankfully can be read and understood as a stand alone novel. That doesn't mean that the other books in the series shouldn't be read as well, considering that there's a back story to the Caedmon wolves that seems very interesting.

Rating:

Author Bio:
Multi-published author Ambrielle Kirk writes erotic, paranormal romance, and urban fantasy. Ambrielle lives in Atlanta, GA where she works in the accounting and finance industry. She holds a Master's Degree in Accounting. Since graduation she's worked in the public and private accounting sectors. She is the wife of a loving husband, and the mother of a beautiful girl. She works and writes full-time. A bestselling author in several sub-genres at ARe and Amazon, she has also earned a 2012 Swirl Award in the paranormal category. She's a member of RWA, FF&P special interest chapter of RWA, and co-founder and treasurer of Cultural, Interracial, and Multicultural special interest chapter of RWA. Ambrielle Kirk is also an admin at the blog, IRMC Books.


ISBN/ASIN: B00C4BERTS
159 Pages
Find Ambrielle Kirk:

Purchase Links:

Book Tour Provided by: 
 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Saturday, May 11, 2013

Author & Blogger Sponsered Kindle Fire Giveaway

May Kindle Giveaway


This is a joint AUTHOR & BLOGGER SPONSORED GIVEAWAY!



Kindle Fire HD 7" Giveaway
The winner will have the option of receiving a 7" Kindle Fire HD (US Only)


Or $199 Amazon.com Gift Card (International)


Or $199 in Paypal Cash (International)





Sponsoring Bloggers & Authors
  1. I Am A Reader, Not A Writer
  2. Feed Your Reader
  3. Girls with Books
  4. Just Bookin' Around
  5. The (Mis)Adventures of a Twenty-Something Year Old Girl
  6. Books, Beauty and Bodacious Deals
  7. Author Emma Michaels
  8. Page Flipperz YA
  9. Lori's Reading Corner
  10. Oh, Chrys!
  11. Author Josh Baker
  12. Author Roxanne Crouse
  13. Eve's Fan Garden
  14. Author Elizabeth Isaacs
  15. Chapter Break
  16. Buku-Buku Didi
  17. Molly & Mel's Obsessions Book Blog
  18. Author Jennifer Laurens
  19. Author MK McClintock
  20. Bookhounds
  21. Step Into Fiction
  22. Author Lena Sledge
  23. Author Taylor Dean
  24. Leisure Reads
  25. Libby's Library
  26. A Bookish Escape
  27. Ramblings of a Diva Book Nerd
  28. Suspense Author Kim Cresswell
  29. Suzy Turner, YA Author
  30. Books Unhinged by StacyHgg
  31. Author Lori Verni-Fogarsi
  32. Fae Books
  33. Word to Dreams
  34. Kid Lit Frenzy
  35. Author Tressa Messenger
  36. Auggie Talk
  37. Phantasmic Reads
  38. Kerry Taylor
  39. Reviews by Martha's Bookshelf
  40. Marissa's Space


Giveaway Details

1 winner will receive their choice of a Kindle Fire 7" HD (US Only), $199 Amazon Gift Card or $199 in Paypal Cash (International).

Ends 5/31/13

Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader, Not A Writer http://iamareader.com and sponsored by the participating authors & bloggers. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.


a Rafflecopter giveaway