Taking Review Requests: Not at the moment, but if you're requesting a guest post, interview etc then please see my policy before requesting.

Hosting Giveaways: Yes

Accepting Author Interviews/Guest Posts: Yes

• My review policy and contact info is located OVER HERE.

Bloggers, I would love to interview you, have you guest post and/or guest review here! Please contact me if you're interested!




Monday, April 29, 2013

Blog Tour: Seducing Charlotte by Diana Quincy



Even if he is the catch of the season, Charlotte Livingston has a low opinion of the wildly handsome Marquess of Camryn. He’s an industrialist who thinks nothing of replacing workers with machines, depriving them of an honest living. Camryn is everything a social reformer like Charlotte detests. Besides, her loyalty belongs to another man.

Yet, as a violent machine-breakers rebellion rages across England, an undeniable attraction flares between the passionate adversaries. Camryn vows to destroy the rebel movement, unaware that the spinster who has captured his heart, harbors a secret - a shocking connection to one of its leaders that could shatter them both.

Purchase Link:
Kindle


About the Author:
Diana Quincy is an award-winning television journalist who decided she’d rather make up stories where a happy ending is always guaranteed. Growing up as a foreign service brat, Diana lived in many countries and is now settled in Virginia with her husband and two sons. When not bent over her laptop or trying to keep up with laundry, she enjoys reading, spending time with her family and dreams of traveling much more than her current schedule (and budget) allows.

Diana loves to hear from readers. You can visit her website and follow her on Twitter and Facebook.

Find Diana Quincy:



Book Blind Date #13


Book Blind Date is something that Danielle from Book Whore Blog and I decided to start after seeing a Facebook post on the Lawrence Public Library Page about a book blind date. This really got us thinking, what if the only thing you new about a book was what the story was about? No character names, no pretty covers to suck you in.

Here's how it works, you know the old saying never judge a book by its cover? Well you won't be able to, for this meme you are going to decide which book you would go on a "date" with based on the synopsis. Names and identifying phrases are removed just to make things fair. The only rule is: No Googling the synopsis, you have to pick a "date" based on what you read below.


So take part in the Book Blind Date and link up your blog! We'll be stopping by some of your blogs to check out your blind dates ;)

Last Week's Blind Dates:


Blind Date #1
L**** is no ordinary single mother. With feathers in all the right places, she's one of the hottest showgirls in Vegas. Aside from a hot-tempered ex-boyfriend on her sequined tail, L****'s biggest problem is finding a decent babysitter for her son. L****'s dilemma is solved when she ropes H****, the casino's shy-but very smart and cute-accountant, into the task.

Inheriting his chemist father's high I.Q. and sexy good looks, H**** has always been intrigued by L****. He isn't thrilled at the prospect of babysitting, but he'll do anything to get near the gal who fuels his craziest fantasies. Then L****'s dangerous ex comes knocking. Their option? Run faster than a pair of net stockings.

In disguise and on the lam, L****'s masquerading as the perfect wife. H****'s doubling as the he-man protector. But with a set-up this hot, who's fooling who? When the lights go down, and the masks come off, a nerd like H**** could be just the right ignition to set a woman like L**** on fire.

Blind Date #2
CAUGHT BETWEEN DUTY AND DESIRE…

S****, the Duchess of Calton, has finally moved on. After seven years mourning the loss of her husband, G****, at Waterloo, she has married his best friend and heir, T****. S**** gives herself to him body and soul…until the day G**** returns from the Continent, demanding his title, his lands—and his wife.

TORN BETWEEN TWO HUSBANDS…

Now S**** must choose between her first love and her new love, knowing that no matter what, her choice will destroy one of the men she adores. Will it be G****, her childhood sweetheart, whose loss nearly destroyed her once already? Or will it be T****, beloved friend turned lover, who supported her through the last, dark years and introduced her to a passion she had never known? As her two husbands battle for her heart, S**** finds herself immersed in a dangerous game—where the stakes are not only love…but life and death.



Saturday, April 27, 2013

Spring Cleaning #3: Wanton Dairymaid Trilogy by Tessa Dare


Remember that for the Spring Cleaning Giveaways you MUST have a US/CAN mailing address in order to enter. 

This week's giveaway features some of author Tessa Dare's earlier works. The Wanton Dairymaid trilogy were my first Tessa Dare books, they're what got me hooked! So one lucky winner will win all three books!


Ever the bold adventuress, Lucy Waltham has decided to go hunting for a husband. But first she needs some target practice. So she turns to her brother’s best friend, Jeremy Trescott, the Earl of Kendall, to hone her seductive wiles on him before setting her sights on another man. But her practice kisses spark a smoldering passion–one that could send all her plans up in smoke.

Jeremy has an influential title, a vast fortune, and a painful past full of long-buried secrets. He keeps a safe distance from his own emotions, but to distract Lucy from her reckless scheming, he must give his passions free rein. Their sensual battle of wills is as maddening as it is delicious, but the longer he succeeds in managing the headstrong temptress, the closer Jeremy comes to losing control. When scandal breaks, can he bring himself to abandon Lucy to her ruin? Or will he risk his heart and claim her for his own? 

Purchase Links: 


Desperate to escape a loveless marriage and society’s constraints, pampered heiress Sophia Hathaway jilts her groom, packs up her paints and sketchbook, and assumes a new identity, posing as a governess to secure passage on the Aphrodite. She wants a life of her own: unsheltered, unconventional, uninhibited. But it’s one thing to sketch her most wanton fantasies, and quite another to face the dangerously handsome libertine who would steal both her virtue and her gold.

To any well-bred lady, Benedict “Gray” Grayson is trouble in snug-fitting boots. A conscienceless scoundrel who sails the seas for pleasure and profit, Gray lives for conquest–until Sophia’s perception and artistry stir his heart. Suddenly he’ll brave sharks, fire, storm, and sea just to keep her at his side. She’s beautiful, refined, and ripe for seduction. Could this counterfeit governess be a rogue’s redemption? Or will the runaway heiress’s secrets destroy their only chance at love?
 


Purchase Links:


Only one thing could convince Sir Tobias Aldridge, an incorrigible libertine, to profess undying fidelity to a woman he’s just met. Revenge. What better way to get back at an enemy than by stealing the scoundrel’s sister? Not that Toby finds it a chore, seducing a beguiling, sultry beauty freshly arrived from the West Indies. When the prize is Isabel Grayson, vengeance is doubly rewarding.

Isabel is determined to marry a wealthy, powerful lord and become a lady of influence, using her rank and fortune to fight social injustice. Sir Toby, with his paltry title and infamous reputation, is unsuitable husband material–but he makes her blood race, her heart pound, and her long-buried passions come to the surface. If she can reform the charming devil, she’ll get exactly what she craves: society’s respect. But it’s a dangerous gamble. For if Toby wins this battle of persuasion, Isabel could lose her heart.

Purchase Links:


Find Tessa Dare: 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Friday, April 26, 2013

Feature & Follow Friday!


This weeks Question:
Is there a song that reminds you of a book? Or vice versa? What is the song & the book?

 A: There are just too many to name because I've read tons of romance novels. I'm the type that will read a book then days later I'll be listening to music and go "Hey that reminds me of this book I read!" But generically speaking there are two songs that can fit most romance novels. For the angsty, will-they-or-won't-they, passionate ones I find that Kenny Chesney's Come Over is spot on (lyrics & video) and for those "sexy times" I have to say that If Walls Could Talk by Celine Dion gets the job done (lyrics & song)




RULES
To join the fun and make new book blogger friends, just follow these simple rules:
    • (Required) Follow the Follow My Book Blog Friday Hosts {Parajunkee & Alison Can Read}
    • (Required) Follow our Featured Bloggers
    • Put your Blog name & URL in the Linky thing. You can also grab the code if you would like to insert it into your posts.
    • Grab the button up there and place it in a post, this post is for people to find a place to say “hi” in your comments and that they are now following you.
    • If you are using WordPress or another CMS that doesn’t have GFC (Google Friends Connect) state in your posts how you would like to be followed
    • Follow Follow Follow as many as you can, as many as you want, or just follow a few. The whole point is to make new friends and find new blogs. Also, don’t just follow, comment and say hi. Another blogger might not know you are a new follower if you don’t say “HI”
    • If someone comments and says they are following you, be a dear and follow back. Spread the Love…and the followers
    • If you’re new to the follow Friday hop, comment and let me know, so I can stop by and check out your blog!

Thursday, April 25, 2013

Review: Her Mad Hatter by Marie Hall

Format: .mobi (purchased)
Release Date: July 7, 2012

Alice is all grown up. Running the Mad Hatter's Cupcakery and Tea Shoppe is a delicious job, until fate--and a fairy godmother with a weakness for bad boys--throws her a curveball. Now, Alice is the newest resident of Wonderland, where the Mad Hatter fuels her fantasies and thrills her body with his dark touch.

The Mad Hatter may have a voice and a body made for sex, but he takes no lovers. Ever. But a determined fairy godmother has forced Alice into Wonderland--and his arms. Now, as desire and madness converge, the Hatter must decide if he will fight the fairy godmother's mating--or fight for Alice.

Take note e-book vendors, authors and publishers! Making a book (or in this case, a novella) free for a limited time CAN be beneficial to all involved! Allow me to explain.

A free book, especially if it's part of a series, allows a reader to give a new author a try without any risks. If the reader loves the book, they're more likely to rush back to the site where the book was offered, and purchase additional books by that author.

Her Mad Hatter by Marie Hall was such a book for me. The fact that it was free (as of 4/25/13) snagged my attention. But it was curiosity that made me pick it up at 2 a.m. and begin reading. What's different about Her Mad Hatter and the rest of the Kingdom series is that instead of being based on the heroes and heroines of popular fairy tales, Marie Hall has made the villains the heroes. 

The Mad Hatter is a deliciously tortured, drop dead sexy character. His decent into madness is fast approaching and the only thing that can stop him from losing his mind completely is true love. However, things aren't as easy as they seem. Especially not in Wonderland, and when the Hatter's potential mate looks eerily similar to the woman who betrayed him years before, things become even more complicated and dire.

At approximately 40,000 words, Her Mad Hatter packs a lot into a short amount of time and does it beautifully. Marie Hall's unique take on famous villains is refreshing, she creates sympathy for characters who have long been maligned.

If you don't get a chance to snag Her Mad Hatter while it's free, then you can purchase it as part of a bundle with books 2 and 3 of the Kingdom series for only $2.99. 

Marie Hall has a brand new fan in me and I will definitely be collecting her books as soon as I can.



Rating: 

Find Marie Hall:
Online l Facebook l Twitter l GoodReads

Purchase Links:
Kindle l Kindle (Bundle) l Amazon (Bundle)

Wednesday, April 24, 2013

Giveaway: Intimate Enemies


I apologize for the lack of posts this week, it has been a tough one all around. I hope to make up for it with a giveaway of one of my favorite authors. If you haven't read Joan Swan's books, you're missing some fun, sexy and exciting characters and stories (Mmm, Luke...)!

She is on a quest for answers; answers that could just get her killed.

Six months after the mysterious yacht explosion that killed Cassie Christo’s mother and stepbrother, authorities still have no answers to the cause. Searching for closure, Cassie returns to her childhood home on the Pacific Coast of Baja, Mexico, where she launches her own investigation into the accident. She never expected to find an adversary in the man who had once touched her heart with kindness in her darkest moment.

Rio’s been fantasizing about reconnecting with Cassie for months. But not here and sure as hell not now. As an undercover agent with U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement, he’s working the biggest sting operation in all of northern Mexico, and he definitely doesn’t have time for the wild attraction he feels for Cassie.

Not only is his cover on the line, so is his heart. Because as the end of a yearlong operation draws closer, Rio knows if he tells Cassie the truth about who and what he is, it won’t only jeopardize his mission, it may result in him losing her forever. And if he doesn’t, his lies and deception could get them both killed.

Purchase Links:

Find Joan Swan:

As of 4/22/13 Intimate Enemies is only .99 for Kindle!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, April 23, 2013

Feed Your Reader: Bringing you the best Kindle E-Book Deals and Steals!

Inspired Kathy from I Am A Reader, Not A Writer has launched a new site aimed at bringing you the best Kindle Ebook Deals and Steals.







Each day on feedyourreader.com you'll find a new list of available ebook deals (most for under $3).







And of course there will be lots of  Featured Freebies too!







To celebrate the launch of the new site she is giving away a Kindle Fire, Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash.




Win a 7" Kindle Fire (US only)











Or $100 Amazon.com Gift Card (International)









Or $100 in Paypal Cash (International)












Giveaway Details 

1 winner will receive their choice of a Kindle Fire 7" (US Only), $100 Amazon Gift Card or $100 in Paypal Cash (International).

Ends 5/5/13



Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader, Not A Writer http://iamareader.com. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW. Prize value $100-$159 US.




a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, April 22, 2013

Book Blind Date #12


Book Blind Date is something that Danielle from Book Whore Blog and I decided to start after seeing a Facebook post on the Lawrence Public Library Page about a book blind date. This really got us thinking, what if the only thing you new about a book was what the story was about? No character names, no pretty covers to suck you in.

Here's how it works, you know the old saying never judge a book by its cover? Well you won't be able to, for this meme you are going to decide which book you would go on a "date" with based on the synopsis. Names and identifying phrases are removed just to make things fair. The only rule is: No Googling the synopsis, you have to pick a "date" based on what you read below.


So take part in the Book Blind Date and link up your blog! We'll be stopping by some of your blogs to check out your blind dates ;)

Last Week's Blind Dates:


Blind Date #1
When E****’s son is kidnapped by the evil vampire C****, E**** vows to stop at nothing to find his hideaway—including intercepting the traveling party of C****’s beautiful bride-to-be. But instead of a vulnerable caravan, E**** is met by a feral band of female demons that includes H****, the bride—a creature of dark magic and darker passion.
 
Though the safety of his son is foremost, E**** can’t deny his unexpected connection to H****—inflaming a manic desire as primal as it is irresistible. As their bond intensifies, they move toward an inevitable and terrifying battle. With time running out, E**** realizes he must not only find and rescue his son but protect H**** from C**** and the underworld forces waiting to destroy her for her betrayal.  

Blind Date #2
Once, M**** felt a little exposed…
M****’s cocky ex-boyfriend is back in Bluebonnet, Texas. He ditched her—and their little town—just as some rather shocking photos showed up on the Internet. M**** wasn’t so lucky. Stuck in Bluebonnet and left to fend for herself, she’s never really shaken the scandal—or his betrayal. After nine long years, he’s back…
It’s time she gets even.
Former NHL hotshot D**** has returned home to open a survival training school and reinvent himself. When his high-school girlfriend enrolls in the program, he has no idea that M**** plans to get him in a compromising position. But to carry out her deviously sexy revenge, M**** will have to get up-close and personal with D**** all over again. She got nowhere being a good girl; it’s time to be a little naughty. But falling in love with the man who broke her heart was never part of the plan…




Thursday, April 18, 2013

Spring Cleaning Giveaway #2


I was pleasantly surprised with the number of entries and interest in the first giveaway so I hope you like this next one!

Brilliant but predictable and proper Rosamund Hall has lived her life buried in universities and libraries, discounting the legend of the Chosen as a myth.  Until Aaron Eagle shows up at her door. Aaron both unsettles and enthralls her. But she can’t resist his irresistible offers of clandestine visits to private museums, the hunt for a mysterious prophecy, or a makeover that unleashes her untamed soul. With the promise of a love that will defy fate itself, Rosamund is forced to confront the truth about the Chosen…and the man who sweeps her into a dangerous world of dark secrets.

Purchase Links:




When the world was young, twins were born. One brought light to a dark world; the other, darkness and danger. Their powers could not be denied, and they gathered others around them, men and women destined to use their gifts for good or evil. Today, their descendants walk the earth as the Chosen … and the ultimate battle is about to begin.
Jacqueline Vargha has always run from her gift. Now Caleb D’Angelo forces his way into her life, demands his place as her lover, and insists she take her place as one of the Chosen. She flees, he pursues, but she can no longer deny her visions, or the dangerous man who is her downfall … and her destiny.

Purchase Links:



Find Christina Dodd:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, April 17, 2013

Author! Author! Interview with January Valentine + Giveaway!


Today I have the pleasure of chatting with the very talented author of Head Over Wheels (my review can be found HERE). If you're a fan of the New Adult genre, you'll want to stick around because at the end of the interview, you'll have a chance to win one of TWO Kindle versions of Head Over Wheels!

January Valentine is the pen name of Victoria Valentine, New York writer, indie book publisher, and blogtalkradio show host.Victoria uses January, her birth month, when writing romance and thrillers. Children’s books and poetry are written under the name Victoria Valentine. Victoria hosts her radio show, Away With Words, every Wednesday @ 7 p.m. EST onblogtalkradio.com, where she interviews writers and poets.

Her books include: At the Stroke of Midnight: 24 tales of terror, The Cutest Little Duckie color storybook, Desert Noon romance poetry collection, Love Dreams contemporary romance, Sweet Dreams in the Mind of a Serial Killer, and new release, Head Over Wheels spicy young romance.

Victoria is currently working on the third book in her “Dream” series, Bad Dreams, a YA sci fi thriller releasing in summer 2013. Find January Valentine & Victoria Valentine on Amazon.com, Barnes & Noble, Kobo, iTunes, and Water Forest Press Books.

When not writing, Victoria publishes anthologies: A Hudson View Poetry Digest, Skyline Review, Literary House Review.

Find Victoria Valentine:

http://www.blogtalkradio.com/aww1 (Away With Words Radio Show)



Head Over Wheels is my first New Adult novel, as a matter of fact, I hadn't even heard of this genre until recently! How would you describe the New Adult genre?
I believe new adult bridges the gap that lies between young adult and adult, in my case, sensual contemporary romance. As Head Over Wheels is steamy, I've added a caution: 17+ to the synopsis. The new adult genre caters to the coming of age group of individuals who are legal adults finding their way in this world, coping with adult situations.


Did you base any of the characters on people you know or yourself?
No, I didn't base my characters on anyone I know. I think a little bit of every writer goes into their characters. Although Jewelia is not based on myself, she has the qualities I like to read in other books, and I would like to think I possess. All of my heroines are strong women who can hold their own where men are concerned, as well as in everyday life.


Were there any particular scenes in Head Over Wheels that were difficult to write?
None of the scenes were difficult to write. Head Over Wheels is a very sexy book, and the hot romance scenes were my favorite scenes to write. Other than that, I just write what comes into my head. A friend once said, we are the conduits. It's crazy but true. When I'm truly in my zone, my fingers hit the keyboard and I'm not thinking; it's as though my brain is unconsciously communicating with my fingers, and I'm on autopilot.


What has been the most rewarding part of being a published author?
Quite simply, to see my characters and plots come to life inside the covers of a book is incredibly rewarding. To have others read and enjoy my fiction is an extraordinary thrill, especially when I receive positive feedback. Evoking a reader's emotions, having him or her become actively involved in a world that I've created, is what gives me the inspiration to continue writing.


What are you currently working on?
I'm dipping my feet into the Young Adult category with a paranormal/sci fi trilogy. I tried to keep Head Over Wheels young adult romance, but Jewelia and Indigo were so damn hot, restraining their emotions was impossible. I'm writing about teens now, which is easier to control ... I hope :-) I'll let you know when the book is finished, whether or not it remains Young Adult or New Adult which offers more flexibility.


Who are some authors you enjoy reading on your spare time?
Between writing, publishing, and my blogtalkradio show, I don't have much time to read. But three of my favorite authors are Stephen King, Dean Koontz, and Nora Roberts.


Is there anything you'd like to add?
I would like to thank you for reading and reviewing Head Over Wheels. Writing is easy. Promoting and marketing is the difficult part. I'd like to thank my family, friends, readers and fans for their support. Without them, and dedicated book reviewers such as yourself, writing would be an impossible undertaking. 
* Thank you for allowing me the opportunity to read Head Over Wheels. I was pleasantly surprised at how much fun I had reading it. I look forward to more of your work in the New Adult genre!  

Victoria is generously giving TWO lucky commenters a KINDLE copy of Head Over Wheels so fill out the rafflecopter for your chance to win!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, April 16, 2013

Book Spotlight: Reckless by Skye Jordan


A couture wedding dress designer to the rich and famous, Lexi LaCroix’s image means everything. Raised on the wrong side of the tracks, her years of polish and hard work are finally about to pay off. She’s on the cusp of landing a partnership that will place her designs in high-end shops around the world, fulfilling lifelong dreams and providing financial security. But when she crosses paths with a sexier-than-sin, bad-boy biker who makes her realize how much living she’s sacrificed for her success, one touch is all it takes to threaten her carefully choreographed life.

Jax Chamberlin has been screwed over by gorgeous gold-diggers one too many times. Though he runs his own stunt company, all of America knows his family name, his Hollywood face, even his net worth, all years after he’s given up acting. Finding a woman who doesn’t plan to use him as a stepping stone to success is virtually impossible, so when the charming and mysterious Lexi offers him a chance at a totally anonymous hook-up during an out of town trip, Jax accepts. Only Lexi is more sextacular than charming, and Jax wants more. Lots more.

But Lexi’s got a major hang-up over his renegade lifestyle, and Jax isn’t willing to change his ways. Especially not when he discovers who she really is. Because if she finds out his connections could catapult her to the top of her career, he’s afraid the fantasy woman he’s falling for might just end up like all the rest. And this time, it’s not just his bad-boy reputation at risk, but his heart, too. 

Find Skye Jordan:
Online
(under construction) l Facebook l Twitter

Genre: Erotic Romance
Release Date: April 2013

Monday, April 15, 2013

Book Blind Date #11

Book Blind Date is something that Danielle from Book Whore Blog and I decided to start after seeing a Facebook post on the Lawrence Public Library Page about a book blind date. This really got us thinking, what if the only thing you new about a book was what the story was about? No character names, no pretty covers to suck you in.

Here's how it works, you know the old saying never judge a book by its cover? Well you won't be able to, for this meme you are going to decide which book you would go on a "date" with based on the synopsis. Names and identifying phrases are removed just to make things fair. The only rule is: No Googling the synopsis, you have to pick a "date" based on what you read below.

So take part in the Book Blind Date and link up your blog! We'll be stopping by some of your blogs to check out your blind dates ;)

Last Week's Blind Dates:



Book Blind Date #1:
O**** sees only one future for herself—to compose and perform the music she has loved since she was a child. But that future changes in an instant when a commuter train taking her to the city crashes and is attacked by, unbelievably, a coven of vampires! As the rabid creatures feed their thirst on the surviving passengers, O**** is spared from an unthinkable fate because of the intervention of another vampire—C****, a figure from her past who, for reasons he doesn’t understand himself, would do anything to protect her.

After one familiar touch, O**** recognizes the man behind the vampire. Soon love, and a powerful supernatural connection, begins to grow between them. But with that connection O**** starts to notice starling changes happening within herself, and violent events make it clear that the vampire coven which wanted her the night of the train crash won’t stop until they have her.

Time is running out for O**** and C**** to discover why all this is happening. And the answers they find may painfully tear their new love apart.

Book Blind Date #2:
M**** has always excelled in two things: research followed by hands-on application. She prides herself on being a lady in public, but after she's dumped yet again for being a lady in the bedroom, she's ready to go back to school.

Determined to find her inner sex diva, she enlists her childhood friend, M****, to tutor her after hours. Instead, she ends up in the wrong bed and gets a lesson in passion from M****'s twin brother, R****, a man M****'s always secretly wanted but never thought she could have.

Despite craving the occasional adventure, M****'s a small-town girl who wants roots and a family. R**** and M****, on the other hand, are celebrities who travel from one city to another, changing bed partners as easily as plane flights. R**** is outwardly the more reserved of the two but, unable to believe his good luck when he finds M**** waiting for him, he gives M**** her first taste of multiples right out the gate. Come morning, she's so mortified that she threw herself at R**** that she blurts out the truth about her tutoring experiment. Not about to let her get away from him, R**** convinces M**** that when it comes to sexual lessons, he's more than man enough for the job. His biggest challenge is teaching M**** that when it comes to pleasure, the key to his own is hers.

Can a woman who's always longed for hearth and home find satisfaction with a man whose entire life has been about moving on to the next big thing?

So who do you want to cuddle up with this week?

Sunday, April 14, 2013

Review: Terror Stash by Tracy Cooper-Posy

Format: pdf (provided by author)
Release Date: April 1, 2013

A stash of terrorists in a tiny town? No one believes her.

American diplomat Montana Dela Vega, posted to laid-back Western Australia, discovers a band of known terrorists hiding deep in the bush. Laughed at by superiors, she must find courage and her own resources to expose the ruthless zealots.

The only people who believe her wild story are Caden Rawn, the mysterious and physically intimidating man with a terrifying reputation, and a bloody history that dogs his every step; and Steve Scarborough, a local police officer with an instinct for the truth and a secret of his own.

Caden and Montana's private investigation entwines them in tragedy and fear, and teaches them the meaning of friendship...and love. They must face the cost of truth and the courage of their convictions for Montana's terrorists are very real and very deadly indeed--and they want Montana for themselves....

When I first began Terror Stash, two things immediately became clear. First, author Tracy Cooper-Posey doesn't waste time creating conflicts for her characters and second, some of the characters are Australian, and there was a bit of a translation breakdown between them and myself. I sadly, have no Australian friends to translate for me so I was on my own. Luckily, Terror Stash isn't too immersed in Australian lingo and slang so it's fairly simple for readers to follow the conversations between characters.

From the very beginning of Terror Stash, there's an overall feeling of suspicion and danger among the characters. Readers don't know who will turn out to be the villain, if any of them at all and that factor kept me turning the pages well into the early morning hours.

Caden and Montana are a great team, even if they don't agree at first. Where one lacks, the other excels. Montana pulls her own weight in this suspense filled story. She's quick witted and tough but she's not a machine, she just keeps her feelings on lock down. At times it seemed like Caden would never reach Montana and he had to resort to drastic measures to get her to admit that she cared about him. Montana forgave him a bit too quickly for my tastes, but ultimately, there was a satisfactory resolution to the conflict.

The suspense of Terror Stash can make readers feel as if they're standing on the edge of a cliff and don't know if they'll fall off or be pulled back just in time. It was exhilarating and fast paced. If you love a suspense filled romance, then definitely grab a copy of Terror Stash for your collection!

Rating: 

Find Author:
Online l Facebook l Twitter l GoodReads

Purchase Links:

Friday, April 12, 2013

Review: Princess Charming by Nicole Jordan

Format: .epub (purchased)
Release Date: January 31, 2012

Thanks to the mischievous meddling of his matchmaking sister, Ashton Wilde meets a damsel in distress during the midnight magic of a lavish ball. But Maura Collyer isn’t looking for a prince—or an intimate pairing with any member of the scandalous noble Wilde family.

Intrigued by Maura’s beauty and daring, Ash is determined to aid in the rescue of her beloved stallion, gambled away by her wicked stepmother to an evil viscount. As their adventure becomes rife with peril and passion, Ash suspects he’s found his heart’s desire.

Even though her dearest friend may be her self-proclaimed fairy godmother, Maura is mortified at being pushed into a romance with a notorious rake such as Ash. Dashing and charming, he comes to Maura’s rescue just in time to help her steal back her precious horse. As they flee across the countryside, she can’t resist his sweet seduction. But is her prince playing a role in a fairy tale to test an improbable theory, or is the love awakening in her heart proof of her own happily ever after?


Almost every romance novel is a fairytale. But what if one of the novel's main characters believed that she, her siblings and her cousins would be able to find their true match by imitating some of the most famous lovers of all time?

That's exactly what happens in the first book of an all new series by author Nicole Jordan. Princess Charming introduces readers to the Wilde clan, a group of cousins who have banded together after the deaths of their respective parents. Katherine Wilde has a theory that each of the Wilde cousins can find true and everlasting love by using history's legendary lovers as guides. According to her theory, her oldest brother Ash's tale is Cinderella, with Ash as Prince Charming and Kate's dearest friend Maura as Cinderella.

Aside from an evil stepmother and step sisters, there are no obvious similarities to the popular fairy tale and this book. For starters, Princess Charming is much more appealing simply because Maura is no wilting female singing and waiting to be rescued. Her beloved horse has been wrongfully sold and she will stop at nothing to get him back. She may be a Regency heroine but she can definitely discourage unwanted advances from men! She's stubborn and independent, they type of heroine that makes a romance novel interesting and fun.

Ash is not the typical Regency hero I've grown used to reading about. He's not overly cocky, he doesn't have hordes of women trailing after him, and family is his most important duty. He has a patience that was obviously developed through being the oldest of the Wilde cousins. Ash is a strong enough hero to match Maura's stubbornness and help her defeat the enemy, but he's not overbearing to where he crushes Maura's spirit or dilutes her personality. They were a wonderful match and their verbal sparring continually brought a smile to my face.

Ash and Maura's love story is passionate, with Maura being the more reluctant of the two, it's Ash that has to convince her that there's more to life than living in the middle of nowhere with her horses. Not to be outdone is the Wilde clan. They're loud, argumentative and staunchly loyal to one another. Their dynamic was quite entertaining and I look forward to seeing them all together for a few scenes in the next book.

My only sore point was Katherine, or Kate's insistence about her theory. She is the one who thought up the legendary lovers theory but she was far too obvious and pushy about it. Her meddling could have easily backfired in a major way. Normally scheming family members do not bother me but Kate interfered far too much and always with the same childish stubbornness. She was obsessed with her theory and expects every one to fall in line with what she says. A little more subtlety on her part would have been better received and painted her as an intelligent, sneaky young woman instead of a petulant child. Hopefully she won't have so many scenes in the upcoming books if she's going to continue with the same behavior. However, when she wasn't pushing her theory on any one, she was a delight.

Princess Charming is a delightful, passionate romance and a great start to a new series by an author I consider one of my "Must Haves." I cannot wait to see what Nicole Jordan has in store for the rest of the Wilde cousins.


Rating: 

Find Author:
Online l Facebook l GoodReads

Purchase Links:
Amazon l Kindle

Thursday, April 11, 2013

Cat Thursday: Lady Amelia

Welcome to the weekly meme hosted by The True Book Addict that celebrates the wonders and sometime hilarity of cats!

Join us by posting a favorite LOL cat pic you may have come across, famous cat art or even share with us pics of your own beloved cat(s). It's all for the love of cats! Enjoy!


Okay the boys have had their turns in the spotlight so I figured it's my little girl's turn. Amelia is a beautiful Tortoiseshell cat that was, as I understand it from her rescuer (my sister), about to be thrown into a trash can. Well, my sister can be quite explosive to say the least when she's riled and after ripping into several someone's, she brought Amelia to us. After a vet exam, we found out she was only about 8 months old, and had already had a litter that probably died as my sister found no kittens anywhere in the surrounding desert. So we scheduled her to be fixed.

Yes, that is Spencer under the pillow.
After she healed, I decided to introduce her to Spencer, who at the time was an only cat. Since I had no idea how to go about it, I put Amelia into an old cage that belonged to some ferrets my sister had (quite spacious really), and let Spencer come to her and sniff her, just to see both of their reactions. There was no aggression on either cat's side so I just opened up the cage and let Amelia lose. After some careful tiptoeing and some distant observing, Spencer walked right up to Amelia and started sniffing her and she started sniffing him. A few seconds later, Spencer turned to walk away when Amelia swatted his behind and he took it as a sign that she wanted to play.

And boy did they play those first few weeks. Non-stop running, tackling, ducking, jumping and just total chaos! Now they reserve their playing for the middle of the night o_0

Aside from being the ONLY girl in my entire pack of "Wildlings," she is also the one who keeps me from stuffing all the boys in boxes and mailing them to Timbuktu (Because just like human boys, they're loud, messy, stinky and needy). Amelia is a sweetheart, so patient with other animals, friendly to people who genuinely like her, and a lovebug. If my mom is putting on makeup and she is in the same room, she jumps on my mom's lap and wants to be petted and scratched.

Plus, she's just so darn gorgeous!

Wednesday, April 10, 2013

Spring Cleaning! Print book giveaway #1




Everyone has some spring cleaning to do and I'm no exception. I've been reading romance novels for over 10 years and I'm not the type of person that's content to just borrow my favorite books to read because inevitably I am going to want to read a particular book at 10 o'clock at night and well, libraries aren't open at that time. So over the years I've bought books left and right, new and used.

The problem is that my living situation has changed drastically. I have NO room for all these books and I don't want them to sit in storage when there are romance fans who could enjoy them. The only books I am making room for are those that I have been lucky enough to have signed by the authors themselves.

That's why I am going to be giving away the rest of my books ALL month long. I have two 35 gallon containers filled with romance novels and they've all got to go. So stop by here often to see what books I'll have up for grabs! Sometimes there will be more than one book up for grabs!

Please note that the Spring Cleaning Giveaways are for US/CAN mailing addresses only. Those of you who live outside of the US/CAN area, if you have someone living in the US or Canada who will mail the prize to you, then you may enter. So again, winners MUST have a MAILING ADDRESS that is in the US or Canada.

Up for grabs this week: The Captain of All Pleasure and The Price of Pleasure by Kresley Cole

Raised as a free spirit aboard her sea captain father’s clipper ship, Nicole Lassiter has never encountered an obstacle she couldn’t overcome—until she meets Captain Derek Sutherland.

His sizzling kisses leave her longing, but after they share a night of passion, his subsequent disdain makes her blood boil. Nicole vows to take her revenge—by helping her father beat Sutherland in a high-stakes competition: the Great Circle Race from England to Australia.

Nicole’s plans are thrown overboard after Sutherland inadvertently prevents her father from sailing, yet she remains undaunted—taking to the high seas with her father’s ship. But after a harrowing storm, she finds herself a virtual prisoner aboard Sutherland’s vessel. And while her mind tells her she should escape, her body urges her to surrender....
Purchase Links:



A man noted for his courage and integrity, Captain Grant Sutherland journeys to Oceania to find Victoria Dearbourne, an English girl lost at sea a decade before. He’s given her ailing grandfather his word—as a gentleman—to find and protect her. One look at a grown Victoria and Grant’s never felt less like one.

Tori relishes freedom, untamed passion, chaos above stifling order. Even more so when a proud, cold British captain arrives to rescue her. When Tori and Sutherland are separated from his crew and forced to survive together, she begins to see in him a man hungering for more. A man who once laughed. A man who admits to having dark desires but won’t take what she offers. Tori resolves to see how much temptation the captain can take before his legendary restraint is shattered...

Purchase Links:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, April 9, 2013

Author! Author! Interview with: Joanne Brothwell


I haven't been blogging long but I've been very fortunate to interview authors as well as review romance novels. Author Joanne Brothwell is the first author to come back to my little space on the internet. Today we're talking about Silencing Breath, the second book in a paranormal trilogy.

Joanne Brothwell lives in the country on the Canadian prairie where her stories are inspired by the dead things that appear at her doorstep on a daily basis. Of course, her two pets, a retired police dog with titanium fangs and a feral barn cat missing two toes, make the safety of surrounding wildlife, at best, uncertain.

Nicknames are something Joanne has in abundance; most notably “Grumpy Bunny” (her husband), and “Princess with a Sailor’s Mouth” (her friends). She’s known to daydream, and ever since grade school has been accused of having a poor attention span. The truth is, Joanne has an alternate reality inside her head, where characters speak to her, sometimes so loudly (and incessantly) she just can’t hear anything else!

Joanne is thrilled to see her alternate universe finally become real with the publication of her novel, Stealing Breath, and her prequel novella, Vicarious. Now, with the sequel Silencing Breath on the way, you can be rest assured you will see much more of Joanne’s writing in the future, as those characters in her head, having tasted the sweet freedom of release, simply refuse to be silenced!


Find Joanne:


Hi Joanne! Thank you for including me on your blog tour for Silencing Breath and for taking the time to chat with me again.
Thank you for having me today, Adria! And thank you for reviewing Silencing Breath!


For anyone who hasn't read Stealing Breath or Silencing Breath, could you tell them a little bit about these books and what makes them so unique?
I am tired of vampires and werewolves. I get tired of the same old in the paranormal genre. I wrote Stealing Breath and Silencing Breath because they were books I wanted to read myself. Not a single vampire or werewolf to be seen.
*They're definitely different! I've never read or heard of a Paranormal Romance like yours Joanne!

What were some of the challenges you faced while writing Silencing Breath and how did you overcome them?
The challenges I faced while writing Silencing Breath was mostly around trying to create a fresh and unique sequel, something that would be better than the first. I’m usually disappointed by sequels, and I didn’t want that to be the case with Silencing Breath.


Why write some chapters in first person and some in third (Which I enjoyed by the way)?
I wanted to have the perspective of the villain, Stefano, but I didn’t want the reader to have the same emotional intimacy that they would get from reading first person. It felt right, so I tried it. It seems to have worked!
* I loved it and I wish more authors who like to write in first person would do it too!

What are some of the challenges you've faced in promoting your books? Is there anything you've learned that you wish to pass on to other authors?
Nothing is predictable. I’ve tried everything, and I think at the end of the day, it is a crap-shoot. What works for one author doesn’t necessarily work for another.


Do you enjoy reading other genres?
I enjoy reading historicals, sometimes science fiction. I’m open to trying anything.


Saving Breath is the last book in the series and it's set for publication in 2014. What will that book be about and will that be the last time readers see Evan and Sarah?
Saving Breath is all about Sarah wanting Evan to be the man he used to be, and her process of learning that nothing will ever be the same again. So far, this is the last book in this series, but I love these characters so much, I could easily be swayed to write more adventures for them!
* I hope so, I think that with the backgrounds of both characters, there would be quite a bit of material to create more villains/conflicts for Evan and Sarah


Is there anything else you'd like to add?
I’d like to give a little plug for my other new release, Forest of the Forsaken: The Witch’s Snare. Here’s the blurb:

In this eerie adaptation of Hansel and Gretel, the fairy tale ending may be far from happy.

Following her mother’s death to cancer, Meg’s world crashes in around her. Her father re-marries within weeks of their loss, her witch step-mother is cold and rejecting, and her new step-brother, Joey, has some rather unusual sexual preferences. Meg’s only hope is to move away and leave her father and the tainted memories behind.

When her father forces her to attend his honeymoon with this new and unwanted blended family, Meg finds herself in the remote wilderness of the Rocky Mountains, miles from civilization. Meg begins to see things in the forbidding forest—strange, unexplainable things she believes are the result of compounding stress. But when her father and step-mother disappear, leaving Meg and Joey to fend for themselves, lost and without supplies, she realizes her paranormal visions are not merely her imagination after all.

Meg’s knows of the dangerous and tortured demons of Joey’s past but her heart can’t resist him. Bound together in desperation and fear, their romance blooms bright and all-consuming despite the evil magic of the formidable forest.

Will Meg and Joey find their way back to civilization? Or will their love wither in submission to the shadows within the Forest of the Forsaken?


Thank you again Joanne for stopping by and talking about your work!
Thank you so much for having me, Adria!

And if that hasn't gotten your attention, check out the book trailer for Silencing Breath:
 

Monday, April 8, 2013

Spotlight Review: Silencing Breath by Joanne Brothwell

Format: .pdf (provided by author)
Release Date: March 10, 2013

Just as Sarah is learning everything she can about her new abilities as an Indigo Child and settling into a normal life with her beloved Evan, her entire world shatters when Evan disappears without a trace.

Desperate to find him, Sarah’s attempts to uncover clues to his whereabouts end up leading her to a sadistic serial killer who confirms her worst fears are true, Evan has been kidnapped, and he is once again in the clutches of his brutal, abusive family of necromancers.

Sarah’s search leads her not only to the evil people of Evan’s past he tried so desperately to protect her from, but also to The Key of Solomon, an ancient text for summoning the dead.

Having learned my lesson when reading the first book in the series (Stealing Breath), I kept my reading to the daylight hours. It was a tough rule to stick to but I managed.

Author Joanne Brothwell has said that her stories are inspired by the various dead things that show up on her doorstep and it shows. There's a thriller/mild fear factor in Joanne's books that grabs readers and refuses to let them go until the end.

Hands down, Silencing Breath is my favorite of the series so far. Since Sarah and Evan's back stories are pretty much established by now, Silencing Breath can focus more on where their lives are headed and the conflicts that arise when Evan is kidnapped and forced back into the clutches of his family. Talk about a dysfunctional family reunion!

There's a bit of unresolved tension between Sarah and her friends, especially Amber, over her relationship with Evan. Though it is understandable that Amber would feel lingering resentment and suspicion towards Evan. What is amazing is that she can still be such a good friend to Sarah and truly wants her to be happy.

When Evan is taken, Sarah really steps up to the plate, balancing her "human" life with her paranormal one all the while trying desperately to find Evan. Sarah's growth since the first book is obvious, she's in more of a take charge state of mind, she knows what has to be done, even if she's not sure HOW to do them. Sure she makes mistakes along the way, but that just makes Silencing Breath more unpredictable and for this reader, more addictive.

Silencing Breath is written in both first person and third, something I have never experienced before Joanne Brothwell. Admittedly it takes some getting used to, but in the end it worked perfectly for me because I was able to experience parts of the story from a perspective other than Sarah's.

The intense and sometimes bloody scenes in Silencing Breath make it difficult to remember that there is a romance at the center and that is what drives Sarah, and forces her friends to follow her to an uncertain future. The scenes build in intensity to the very end when readers are left with only a sliver of hope for Evan and Sarah's happy ending.

Definitely delving into darker themes, the series has gone from the legend of the Indigo Child to the dark world of resurrecting the dead and the consequences of playing with dark magic. There are plenty surprises to be had with Silencing Breath.

Most surprising though is Stefano, Evan's brother. Is his about face permanent or will he go back to what he was before? His role in the series, and the answer of which side he will ultimately fight for, is one of the things I am personally looking forward to with the third and final book, Saving Breath (which is scheduled for a 2014 released).

That thud you heard was my head hitting the desk because of the long wait.

If you're looking for a paranormal romance without vampires and werewolves, then this is the series for you. Silencing Breath is an intricate, enticing and heart pounding adventure that will have readers on the edge of their seats until the very last page.


Rating: 

Find Joanne Brothwell:

Purchase Links:
Amazon l Kindle 

Be sure to stop by tomorrow, I'll be chatting with Joanne!