Taking Review Requests: Not at the moment, but if you're requesting a guest post, interview etc then please see my policy before requesting.

Hosting Giveaways: Yes

Accepting Author Interviews/Guest Posts: Yes

• My review policy and contact info is located OVER HERE.

Bloggers, I would love to interview you, have you guest post and/or guest review here! Please contact me if you're interested!




Sunday, March 31, 2013

Book Blind Date #9


Book Blind Date is something that Danielle from Book Whore Blog and I decided to start after seeing a Facebook post on the Lawrence Public Library Page about a book blind date. This really got us thinking, what if the only thing you new about a book was what the story was about? No character names, no pretty covers to suck you in.

Here's how it works, you know the old saying never judge a book by its cover? Well you won't be able to, for this meme you are going to decide which book you would go on a "date" with based on the synopsis. Names and identifying phrases are removed just to make things fair. The only rule is: No Googling the synopsis, you have to pick a "date" based on what you read below.


So take part in the Book Blind Date and link up your blog! We'll be stopping by some of your blogs to check out your blind dates ;)

Last Week's Blind Dates:




Book Blind Date #1
For years, ***** has resisted anything resembling a true emotional connection, preferring instead to explore life, and his own desires, without committing to anyone for very long. The reason remains known only to a few, among them *****, his college cohort in female conquests, and life-long friend. At thirty-seven, while he is close to achieving his career goal, head chef at a five-star restaurant in Chicago, he is still very much alone.

After an intensely emotional relationship with ***** in Ann Arbor, *****'s heart is left shattered. Completely broken by what he believes was his one true love, he arrives at a Chicago food and beer festival, prepared to drink his sorrow away. When the two men meet, their lives change forever. But time is of the essence. When ***** acknowledges his true feelings, he will stop at nothing to keep them together, including finding a surrogate mother for the child ***** so desperately wants.


***** is recovering from a nasty divorce, needs cash and believes carrying their baby will fulfill her in ways marriage never did. None of them could suspect that the connection they share would provide the final emotional key to their life-long puzzle.

When *****’s secret is revealed, time becomes the one luxury they don't have, setting in motion a chain of events that destroys the fragile illusion of happiness for them, and everyone who loves them.


Book Blind Date #2
To unearth a centuries-old secret, an archaeologist must team up with the rakish thief who's stolen both an ancient relic and her heart...
 

Oh, is he handsome. And charming. And sexy as all get out. Dr. ***** isn't the type to go home with a guy she barely knows. But, hey, this is Italy and the red-blooded ***** seems much more enticing than cataloging a bunch of dusty artifacts.

After being fully seduced, ***** wakes to an empty bed and, worse yet, an empty safe. She's staked her career as an archaeologist on collecting the three Furies, a priceless set of ancient Greek reliefs. Now the one she had is gone. But ***** won't just get mad. She'll get even.

She tracks ***** to Florida, and finds the sparks between them blaze hotter than the Miami sun. He may still have her relic, but he'll never find all three without her. And they're not the only ones on the hunt. To beat the other treasure seekers, they'll have to partner up--because suddenly ***** and ***** are in a race just to stay alive.



So which book would you like to cuddle up with? Don't forget to share your book blind date!





Review: Against the Wind by Regan Walker

Format: .doc (provided by author)
Release Date: March 19, 2013

A night in London’s most exclusive bordello. Agent of the Crown Sir Martin Powell would not normally indulge, but the end of his time spying against Napoleon deserves a victory celebration. Yet, such pleasure will not come cheap. 

The auburn-haired courtesan he calls “Kitten” is in truth Katherine, Lady Egerton, a dowager baroness and the daughter of an earl as elusive as she is alluring. She flees a fate worse than death into Martin's arms. 

But Martin has known darkness, too, and will touch her heart--as she has touched his. To the English Midlands they will steal, into the rising winds of revolution.

Against the Wind begins with three deaths all in the space of one chapter. Each death shapes the lead characters, Martin and Katherine, breaking them down, only to build them up even better than before. The journey that both characters take is dangerous, passionate and highly entertaining!

Sir Martin Powell has come home to England after spending many years as a spy in France. His wife and unborn child were accidentally shot and killed outside a cafe years before and their deaths have haunted him since. A night in an exclusive brothel brings him face to face with with Katherine, Lady Egerton. Believing her to be one of the "girls," they spend one very passionate night together, but before Martin can examine his powerful response to "Kit," she disappears. He quickly learns that she is in fact, a gently-bred young widow. He sets out to find her but along the way, Martin must complete one more assignment for his government.

As the second book in the Agents of the Crown trilogy, Against the Wind could easily have slipped into a slump but it doesn't, in fact, it is more passionate and more dangerous than it's predecessor. Author Regan Walker's dedication to her characters' stories keeps readers entertained from the very first paragraph, to the very last page. Her attention to detail assures that each scene is described vividly and easily creates images in readers' minds. Aside from the romance that begins to develop between Martin and Kit, there are a few scenes with Hugh and Mary, the hero and heroine from Racing with the Wind and of course, a little humor along the way.

Against the Wind keeps up a brisk pace, it's neither too slow nor too fast, which doesn't bore readers. It's also obvious that there was quite a bit of research involved and it gives the story more credibility while still maintaining the romance novel feel. And whether it's the progression of Martin and Kit's relationship or a villain to be captured, there is always something interesting and entertaining happening.

I enjoyed Against the Wind, more so than Racing with the Wind, Martin and Kit were fascinating characters and a romantic couple. The added spy games were thoroughly enjoyable as I have a soft spot for historical romances with spies.I cannot wait to read the third book in Regan Walker's Agents of the Crown trilogy. If you are looking for a romance with an eye for detail, a passionate love story and danger lurking at every corner, I suggest you pick up Against the Wind by Regan Walker.

Rating:
 

Find Author:
Online l Twitter l Facebook l GoodReads


Purchase Links:
  Kindle

Thursday, March 28, 2013

Feature & Follow!


This weeks Question:

Tell us about the most emotional scene you've ever read in a book, and how did you react?

My Answer:  

There have only been two books that have ever evoked a powerful response from me and they are from the same author. However it's Essence of Time by Liz Crowe that wins the title of "Tear Jerker" from me. I can't really say too much about "the moment" that made me cry an ocean without giving away the ending but I must say that it was so powerful that even now when I think about the whole book, my eyes mist over. It was my first m/m to m/f/m romance and it was beautifully done.

Essence of Time is the fourth book in the Stewart Realty series but it is well worth the wait.

*Right now Essence of Time is only .99 on Amazon, All Romance E-Books and Barnes and Noble!



RULES
To join the fun and make new book blogger friends, just follow these simple rules:
    • (Required) Follow the Follow My Book Blog Friday Hosts {Parajunkee & Alison Can Read}
    • (Required) Follow our Featured Bloggers
    • Put your Blog name & URL in the Linky thing. You can also grab the code if you would like to insert it into your posts.
    • Grab the button up there and place it in a post, this post is for people to find a place to say “hi” in your comments and that they are now following you.
    • If you are using WordPress or another CMS that doesn’t have GFC (Google Friends Connect) state in your posts how you would like to be followed
    • Follow Follow Follow as many as you can, as many as you want, or just follow a few. The whole point is to make new friends and find new blogs. Also, don’t just follow, comment and say hi. Another blogger might not know you are a new follower if you don’t say “HI”
    • If someone comments and says they are following you, be a dear and follow back. Spread the Love…and the followers
    • If you’re new to the follow Friday hop, comment and let me know, so I can stop by and check out your blog!

Cat Thursday

Welcome to the weekly meme hosted by The True Book Addict that celebrates the wonders and sometime hilarity of cats!

Join us by posting a favorite LOL cat pic you may have come across, famous cat art or even share with us pics of your own beloved cat(s). It's all for the love of cats! Enjoy!


I had a different post planned but Orion decided to commandeer the post instead. He decided he was going to be goofy on the old swing on the porch. Now in the few months he's been with us, he's never given so much as a second glance to that swing so he took me by surprise when he jumped up on there and started acting like a total dork.

He apparently wanted attention and wouldn't let me leave until I gave it to him. He has an "attention chair" in the living room that he gets on whenever he wants some love (which is more often than you think, I have to hide from him sometimes so he doesn't see me and get up on that darn chair). He starts rolling around on his "attention chair" so that whoever passes by has to stop and pet him, scratch his belly and chin... Oh and tell him how beautiful his eyes are *eye roll* 

After about 15 minutes of his shenanigans, he got up, jumped off and walked to the kitchen where he proceeded to ask for his second breakfast.






 

Wednesday, March 27, 2013

Review: Sand Castle Bay by Sherryl Woods

Format: Bound (provided by publisher)
Release Date: March 26, 2013

In a trade-off she’s lived to regret, Emily Castle left home years ago to become an interior designer. The youngest of three sisters, Emily desperately wanted to prove herself. Success, though, came at the cost of leaving behind the man she loved.

For Boone Dorsett, losing Emily left his heart shattered, but another woman was waiting in the wings. Now a widower with a young son, Boone has a second chance with Emily when a storm brings her home. But with his former in-laws threatening a custody suit, the stakes of loving her are higher than ever.

Will fate once again separate them—or is the time finally right for these two star-crossed lovers?

The first in a new trilogy by author Sherryl Woods was sort of "Back to the Beginning" for me. Sand Castle Bay reminds me of the romance novels I started off reading. The kind that melted your heart with the emotional connection between two people and left you with a smile on your face. It is a heartfelt story about second chances and new beginnings.

Sand Castle Bay is a romance novel that is more concerned about the emotional relationship rather than a physical one, so don't expect any sex scenes, they're implied and left to the readers' imagination. The lack of graphic sex scenes doesn't impact the overall story though,

The characters are entertaining and flawed, which makes for an interesting and amusing read. Emily Castle is back in her home town to help her grandmother after a hurricane maims the family restaurant. Unfortunately coming home means that she'll be seeing a lot of the man she once loved and left behind.

Boone Dorsett never truly got over Emily but he did marry and make a life with a good woman. When his wife dies, Boone is left to care for his son while his mother-in-law continually threatens him with a custody suit. Complicating matters is Emily's return and the resurfacing of the feelings he thought he'd left behind.

Boone and Emily have so many obstacles against them from the very moment they see each other again. Old hurts and resentments keep Boone from opening up to Emily, and now he has his son to consider. He's a great father, not perfect but every thing he does is out of love for his son. His guilt over his marriage stops him from truly moving on and is the one of the weaknesses his mother-in-law feeds on.

The pace of Boone and Emily's relationship is quite slow, and in this situation it works. Both characters have changed drastically in the span of ten years and they need to get to know each other as if they were strangers. There are some set backs in their relationship, particularly whenever Emily has to fly out to different locations to work. Boone doesn't seem very supportive or understanding, he allows his old fears to dictate his reactions but Emily is patient with him, she even shares his doubts and fears that their relationship will work.

My only real complaint about Sand Castle Bay is the way Emily is seemingly judged for having chosen her career over Boone when they were younger. It seemed as if everyone expected her to sacrifice her dreams of a career in exchange for young love. The judgmental comments from her own family began to grate on me after a while, especially whenever Cora Jane referred to Emily's leaving as "running off" and basically minimizing her achievements because she was "alone." However, in the end, her family redeemed themselves in my eyes by being supportive of Emily when she's offered an amazing job opportunity. I would have also liked to have seen a more solid resolution to Boone's problems with his mother-in-law.

Overall, Sand Castle Bay is a sweet, story about loving someone enough to accept them as they are and meeting them halfway.


Rating: 
Find Sherryl Woods:
Online l Facebook l Twitter l GoodReads

Purchase Links:
Amazon l Kindle

Monday, March 25, 2013

Book Blind Date #8


Book Blind Date is something that Danielle from Book Whore Blog and I decided to start after seeing a Facebook post on the Lawrence Public Library Page about a book blind date. This really got us thinking, what if the only thing you new about a book was what the story was about? No character names, no pretty covers to suck you in.

Here's how it works, you know the old saying never judge a book by its cover? Well you won't be able to, for this meme you are going to decide which book you would go on a "date" with based on the synopsis. Names and identifying phrases are removed just to make things fair. The only rule is: No Googling the synopsis, you have to pick a "date" based on what you read below.


So take part in the Book Blind Date and link up your blog! We'll be stopping by some of your blogs to check out your blind dates ;)

Last Week's Blind Dates: Taste by Kate Evangelista and More Than Meets the Ink by Elle Aycart

Book Blind Date #1
Battered by the sea, ***** remembers nothing of his past, his ducal rank, nor of the shipwreck that almost claimed his life. However, he's delighted to hear that the golden-haired vision tending his wounds is his wife. *****'s name and face may not be familiar, but her touch, her warmth, feel deliciously right. . .

When ***** prayed for a way to deter a bullying suitor, she didn't imagine she'd find the answer washed ashore on a desolate beach. Convincing ***** that he is her husband is surprisingly easy. Resisting the temptation to act his wife, in every way, will prove anything but. And now a passion begun in fantasy has become dangerously real--and completely irresistible. . .

Book Blind Date #2
When his father announced his engagement to a gold-digger with a lying, scheming fourteen-year old daughter, seventeen-year old ***** left ***** Ranch and never looked back. Until the day he got the phone call that his father had died unexpectedly.***** lives with guilt every day but can't quite work up the courage to track down the son of the man who raised her as his own. When ***** shows up at his father’s funeral eleven years later-and a hell of a man to be reckoned with-he has no interest in her too-late apology. Worse, they’ve inherited half shares of the family ranch—but only if they work together to catch *****, the stallion a young ***** let escape and made sure ***** took the blame for.***** proposes a secret competition to the beautiful witch who stole his life: whoever catches the stallion first gets the ranch all to themselves. It sounds simple, but once they’re out on the range, tempers and passions flare in the Texas heat and nothing goes as either of them expects.
  

So who would you like to cuddle up with?



Wednesday, March 20, 2013

Waiting on Wednesday

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

My Choice this week is: Any Duchess Will Do by Tessa Dare


What's a duke to do, when the girl who's perfectly wrong becomes the woman he can't live without?

Griffin York, the Duke of Halford, has no desire to wed this season—or any season—but his diabolical mother abducts him to "Spinster Cove" and insists he select a bride from the ladies in residence. Griff decides to teach her a lesson that will end the marriage debate forever. He chooses the serving girl.

Overworked and struggling, Pauline Simms doesn't dream about dukes. All she wants is to hang up her barmaid apron and open a bookshop. That dream becomes a possibility when an arrogant, sinfully attractive duke offers her a small fortune for a week's employment. Her duties are simple: submit to his mother's "duchess training"… and fail miserably.

But in London, Pauline isn't a miserable failure. She's a brave, quick-witted, beguiling failure—a woman who ignites Griff's desire and soothes the darkness in his soul. Keeping Pauline by his side won't be easy. Even if Society could accept a serving girl duchess—can a roguish duke convince a serving girl to trust him with her heart?

Monday, March 18, 2013

Book Blind Date #7


Book Blind Date is something that Danielle from Book Whore Blog and I decided to start after seeing a Facebook post on the Lawrence Public Library Page about a book blind date. This really got us thinking, what if the only thing you new about a book was what the story was about? No character names, no pretty covers to suck you in.

Here's how it works, you know the old saying never judge a book by its cover? Well you won't be able to, for this meme you are going to decide which book you would go on a "date" with based on the synopsis. Names and identifying phrases are removed just to make things fair. The only rule is: No Googling the synopsis, you have to pick a "date" based on what you read below.


So take part in the Book Blind Date and link up your blog! We'll be stopping by some of your blogs to check out your blind dates ;)

Last Week's Blind Dates: Taming of the Wolf by Lydia Dare and Fury by Laurann Dohner

Book Blind Date #1: 
Wickedly sexy ***** is a bad boy of the highest order -- tattoos and attitude included -- which unfortunately ranks way up on *****’s not-a-chance-in-hell list, right there along with skydiving naked over Teheran and juggling Ebola vials just for kicks. But what the heck, she’s on holiday, the guy is absolutely irresistible, and she needs to unplug from her life. With her dad and brother gone, ***** is left to deal with the family restaurant, which is fast going down the drain. Her employees are acting out, her boyfriend has bailed out, and her very own private stalker is emailing her to death with lovely threats of doom, fire, and dismemberment. So yeah, maybe a little holiday fling is in order. Strictly sex though, and no follow-up whatsoever once.

She hadn’t counted on her take-charge holiday fling having an opinion of his own and stubbornly sticking around, before and after the sex, making himself at home in her life. There is definitely more to
***** than meets her prejudiced eye, and even if she's not ready to look deeper, ***** isn't prepared to permit her not to.

Book Blind Date #2:
At *****, there's only one rule: no students on campus after curfew. ***** soon finds out why when she is left behind at sunset. A group calling themselves ***** threaten to taste her flesh until she is saved by a mysterious, alluring boy. With his pale skin, dark eyes, and mesmerizing voice, ***** is both irresistible and impenetrable. He warns her to stay away from his dangerous world of flesh eaters. Unfortunately, the gorgeous and playful ***** has other plans.

When ***** is caught between her physical and her emotional attraction, she becomes the keeper of a deadly secret that will rock the foundations of an ancient civilization living beneath *****. ***** doesn't realize until it is too late that the closer she gets to both ***** and ***** the more she is plunging them all into a centuries old feud.

So who would you snuggle up with? Don't forget to link your blog up and share your blind dates!



Friday, March 15, 2013

Review: Married to the Viscount by Sabrina Jeffries + Giveaway

Format: Kindle (Purchased)
Release Date: December 30, 2003

Abigail Mercer was breathless with anticipation at being reunited with Spencer Law, whom she met once and later married by proxy. But now the dashing Viscount Ravenswood denies all knowledge of their union! Far too many witnesses have made it impossible for the secretive Spencer to reject his "bride" without causing a scandal. So he has proposed a marriage in-name-only until they can locate his mysteriously absent younger brother—who is responsible for everything!—and untangle this messy affair.

Abigail is incensed, irate . . . and irresistibly attracted to this handsome, infuriating man who hides his smoldering passion behind a proper exterior. So the lady will agree to his terms on one condition: Spencer must seal their bargain with a kiss. But he finds that one deep, lingering, unforgettable kiss isn't nearly enough. And keeping his hands off his pretty wife is going to be much harder than he thought . . .

Married to the Viscount is one of my favorite Sabrina Jeffries books. It is one of the few books that checks off all the things that make a historical romance a hit for me.

Spencer Law, the Viscount Ravenswood is such a stuffy, arrogant and a generally unlikable fellow when he is first introduced to readers in Dance of Seduction so finding out he was to be the hero of the next book was a little hard to believe. Would this stuffy man lower his lofty standards and harsh character long enough to attract a woman? Apparently not, he had to be forced into a marriage in order to have a chance at love. Spencer was handsome and rich of course but at the beginning of Married to the Viscount he really doesn't have much else to commend him. He's courteous of Abby, the woman who claims to be his wife, but when he finds himself becoming attracted to her, he lets his insecurities and his secrets rule his verbal responses to her. At times he's cold and cruel to her and other times he's caring and sweet. It's enough to make a woman's head spin!

Abigail is a lovely heroine. When reading historical romances set in Regency England, it's always nice to have at least one American (preferably a woman) thrown into the mix to turn things upside down and Abby doesn't disappoint! She's definitely kind but she's also forthright, intelligent and sarcastic. She tries so hard to please her stranger husband, whom she's desperately attracted to but she doesn't cross the line into "wimpdom" by letting him walk all over her. That's so important in a heroine, just because she cares for the hero, she shouldn't let him do or say what he wants to her. Of course, she isn't made of stone and Spencer's objections to their marriage hurt her, but she doesn't shrivel up and whine, she gets up and fights dirty. She isn't afraid to tease him or to face him head on in an argument.

There's plenty of sexual tension between Spencer and Abby, almost from the beginning and it builds slowly and passionately. Mixed in with that passion is such angst from both characters, each one wanting the other and thinking it isn't possible. The longing adds such an appeal in the story that when I first read it, I just could not put it down until I finished it! Years later, upon reading it again on my Kindle, I found that I still loved Married to the Viscount as much as I did when I bought it in print.

Spencer and Abby's road to a happy ending was well written and perfectly timed. They got to know themselves and each other better through their forced circumstances, and Spencer had to choose between confronting his fears or losing Abby forever. Married to the Viscount is the last book of the Swanlea series but in my opinion can be read alone since the previous characters don't do much but play supportive roles.


Rating: 

Find Sabrina Jeffries:
Online l Facebook l Twitter l GoodReads

Purchase Links:
Amazon l Kindle l Barnes and Noble l Nook

** As of March 15, 2013 the ENTIRE Swanlea series is on sale for $1.99 each on Amazon as well as the "Lord" trilogy. Do yourself a favor and get them all before the sale ends!

One lucky winner will get Married to the Viscount for their KINDLE. So fill out the rafflecopter form below to enter!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, March 14, 2013

Cat Thursday

Welcome to the weekly meme hosted by The True Book Addict that celebrates the wonders and sometime hilarity of cats! Join us by posting a favorite LOL cat pic you may have come across, famous cat art or even share with us pics of your own beloved cat(s). It's all for the love of cats! Enjoy!

I think today I'll let you get to know Spencer. As I said last week, Spencer was very young when we found him. At the time we were living in an area famous for being a "Pet Dumping" ground. Spencer came toddling over with his ears still a little folded and his eyes still glazed, he had probably opened them a few days prior. He had a set of lungs on him though! Since we lived with a grumpy woman who owned the house, he was not allowed to be inside. This gave us many stressful and worrisome nights.

 Spencer has always had a um... Strong personality. I fell in love with him even as a cursed his antics as he grew.One of his things was climbing a small tree in the front yard and then yowling for someone to get him down. Another was waiting for me to walk outside of the house then attacking my ankles or chasing me around the yard before I was permitted back inside.

Two years later and we have moved again. Living with someone who DID permit us to make him an indoor cat (for now), he's a champion roach killer (which is WHY the home owner allows him to live inside) and still my baby. He LOVES having his picture taken too. He's a bit of an attention whore.







Wednesday, March 13, 2013

Wishlist Wednesday


Wishlist Wednesday is a book blog hop hosted by Pen to Paper where bloggers post about one book per week that has been on our wishlist for some time, or just added (it's entirely up to you), that we can't wait to get off the wishlist and onto our wonderful shelves.

So what do you need to do to join in?
  • Follow Pen to Paper as host of the meme.
  • Please consider adding the blog hop button to your blog somewhere, so others can find it easily and join in too! Help spread the word! The code will be at the bottom of the post under the linky.
  • Pick a book from your wishlist that you are dying to get to put on your shelves.
  • Do a post telling your readers about the book and why it's on your wishlist.
  • Add your blog to the linky at the bottom of this post.
  • Put a link back to pen to paper (http://www.pentopaperblog.com) somewhere in your post, and a note saying that Pen to Paper is the host of the meme.
  • Visit the other blogs and enjoy!

There are soooo many books on my wishlist it's not even funny! This week it's The Dark Lady by Maire Clairemont. I read a novella by this author back in December and really enjoyed her passionate writing style so when I read what her debut novel was going to be about, I was immediately interested. A heroine who is locked in an asylum? Plus I've been hearing great things about this book. I hate being left out!!!

The Victorian era was full of majestic beauty and scandalous secrets—a time when corsets were the least of a woman’s restrictions, and men could kill or be killed in the name of honor.…
Lord Ian Blake has returned from India a broken man. Years ago, he pledged to Lady Eva Carin—his childhood companion and first love—that he would bring her husband back alive. His failure haunts him. But even his jaded soul can’t anticipate the shocking sight of beautiful, independent Eva confined in a madhouse.…
Locked in an asylum, forgotten by society, Eva is adrift in both body and mind. For Ian to break her free, they must cross a powerful enemy—and prove her sanity to England’s unforgiving aristocracy. But the biggest danger of all may come when the secrets of Eva’s tragic past are finally unlocked....

Find Máire Claremont:

Tuesday, March 12, 2013

Review: The Problem with Seduction by Emma Locke

Format: epub (provided by author)
Release Date: February 13, 2013

AN OUTRAGEOUS PROPOSITION
Elizabeth Spencer needs a man. Preferably one who won't be too picky about the morality of her proposition, or his reputation. Lord Constantine Alexander can't afford another trip to debtors' prison, which makes him the perfect candidate. She doesn't expect him to have a heart of gold, or to hold up his end of the bargain—particularly when his high-in-the-instep family gets involved. Nor does she expect to find him irresistible, because while she needs a man, she doesn't particularly want one.

A WICKED BARGAIN
When a beautiful courtesan offers to satisfy his creditors, Con leaps at the opportunity. Never mind his mother and brothers are suspicious of his newfound fortune—being with Elizabeth is intoxicating enough to wipe any thought of scruples away. He soon realizes it's not just his future he's been gambling, but his future family. How can he convince London's premier courtesan he's more than a callow rake?

The opening to The Problem with Seduction is quite an attention grabber. Who wouldn't pay attention when the hero politely tells another man that the baby he has in his home actually belongs to him? And all because the heroine, a courtesan, has offered the hero a large sum of money to do so! The possibilities for this story were endless!

Elizabeth Spencer has changed drastically from the first book (The Trouble with Being Wicked) to the second. Gone is the spoiled, simpering, whining courtesan and in her place is a strong willed, intelligent, fiercely protective mama trying to change her ways to give her child a better life. Though she may have known many people (men) as a courtesan, she has learned that she can only trust herself and has lead a rather lonely life.

Lord Constantine Alexander on the other hand, has so many people around him he doesn't know what to do with them! As the fourth son of five in the family, Con constantly has his patience tested by his brothers and his affairs are often the topic of discussion among them and their mother. I loved the family dynamic with Con's family. They're meddlesome, infuriating, nagging and caring, in their own dysfunctional way. They were amusing and stubbornly loyal, even when they don't agree with one another.

Initially the relationship between Con and Elizabeth is purely business but Con's plan to help Elizabeth backfires and he is forced to spend more time in her company, thus giving both characters a chance to get to know each other and for those sparks to fly. The emotional connection that forms between them gives more power to the love that eventually blooms, which is important because Con and Elizabeth are constantly tested. There are plenty of villains and conflicts that they have to face alone and together. The pace of the book is a bit slower than what readers may be used to, but thankfully there isn't a dull moment with Con, Elizabeth and the entire Alexander clan.

The Problem with Seduction is, in my opinion, better than the first book in the series (The Trouble with Being Wicked). There is a huge growth for Elizabeth, turning her from an unlikable character, to a character the evokes sympathy and admiration in readers. I went from not caring about her to rooting for her to get everything she ever wanted. I can't wait to see what author Emma Locke has in store with the next book in the series, The Art of Ruining a Rake.


Rating: 

Find Emma Locke:
Online l Twitter l Facebook l GoodReads

Purchase Links:

Sunday, March 10, 2013

Book Blind Date #6


Book Blind Date is something that Danielle from Book Whore Blog and I decided to start after seeing a Facebook post on the Lawrence Public Library Page about a book blind date. This really got us thinking, what if the only thing you new about a book was what the story was about? No character names, no pretty covers to suck you in.

Here's how it works, you know the old saying never judge a book by its cover? Well you won't be able to, for this meme you are going to decide which book you would go on a "date" with based on the synopsis. Names and identifying phrases are removed just to make things fair. The only rule is: No Googling the synopsis, you have to pick a "date" based on what you read below.


So take part in the Book Blind Date and link up your blog! We'll be stopping by some of your blogs to check out your blind dates ;)

Last Week's Blind Dates: After Dark with a Scoundrel by Alexandra Hawkins and Acheron by Sherrilyn Kenyon

Book Blind Date #1:
Lord ***** has fought his true nature his entire life, but whenever the moonlight proves too powerful, ***** is unable to control the werewolf within him. It is on one such moonlit night that ***** accidentally bites the beautiful Scottish witch, *****.

Though now bound to him irrevocably, ***** decides that she wants nothing to do with him. When she flees to her native Scotland, ***** has no choice but to follow her and convince her that it was nothing short of destiny that has bound them together body and soul.

Book Blind Date #2:
***** is horrified to discover the pharmaceutical company she works for is doing illegal experiments. Company scientists have spliced human and animal DNA, creating exotic new species. One such “experiment” captures her heart and she’ll do anything to save him—even if he hates her for it. 

***** has never known compassion or love. He’s spent his life in a cell, chained and abused by humans. The one woman he allowed himself to trust betrayed him. Now he’s free and set on vengeance. He vows to end her life but when she’s finally in his grasp, harming her is the last thing he wants to do to the sexy little human. ***** can’t resist ***** —the touch of her hands, her mouth on his skin, her body wrapped around his.

He’s obsessed with the scent of his woman. And ***** wants *****—always has. She craves his big, powerful body and wants to heal his desolate heart. But loving ***** is one thing…taming him is another. 

So which book would you like to cuddle up with? Don't forget to share your book blind date!



Book Promotion: Big Bad Bite by Jessie Lane

Author Jessie Lane (a pseudonym for the writing duo of Melissa Pahl and Crystal Leo) will be re-releasing Big Bad Bite with a few big changes, including a cover makeover!

“We're excited to announce that Big Bad Bite had a makeover! Inside and out! We have a sexy new cover featuring our favorite Wolf, Adam, AND Big Bad Bite was sent off and edited by the amazing girls at C&D Editing.

Some might wonder, "Has the story changed?"

The answer to that would be yes and no. No, because the story line is still the same. Yes, because it no longer has those pesky grammatical errors, info dumps were cut down, inconsistencies were caught, and best of all, a tiny scene was added! Overall, it's a better story, but still has a kick ass, snarky heroine Jenna, and the snarly, but lovable, Adam who wants her.

So, if you haven't picked up your copy of Big Bad Bite yet, then go get it today!”

 
What would it be like to live in a world where you are considered abnormal to those who are above the norm?

Jenna O’ Conner has been taught her whole life to hide from everyone. Never to let anyone to close enough to know that she would prefer a shotgun for her birthday over of a bouquet of roses. She’s been smothered by her over protective family so that no one learns what she truly is. Which is not human. Nor, is she considered the norm for the supernatural Other community that is benevolent enough to share this world with the humans. In a desperate attempt to live her own life away from the small town she was raised in, Jenna obtains her dream job as the newest member on the Wilmington Police Department’s SWAT Team. What she didn’t predict was that she would run into trouble her first day on the job, in the form of a deadly, mouthwatering man named Adam McPhee. Who is also not human, but more like a wolf walking around in human skin.

He’s determined to figure out exactly what Jenna is, which unbeknownst to him, could very well put her life in danger. He’s also determined to have her all to himself. As if that wasn’t enough for Jenna to deal with, bad news blows into town. A group of extremist Shifters who think humans are cattle and factions of Others worldwide should stay within their own species - never to intermingle. Chaos ensues. Jenna has to find a way to shut them down, but in the process of trying to do that, discovers things about herself that even she never thought was possible. Who said the wolf was what you had to worry about?

Welcome to the real world.

Excerpt

The house seemed so much bigger to her before she parked two shifters and a demon in the living room. Now, with the three large-bodied men huddled in the room, she feels damn near claustrophobic. Her uncle and brother are smashed next to each other on her small, dove grey loveseat, while Kent occupies her only other sitting option in the room, a vibrant purple, suede, tufted armchair. The look of barely suppressed disgust on his face at having to sit in what he has announced is “a girly monstrosity that no man should ever have to suffer, in the house of his newest partner, who he expected to have better taste, no less.” At least that’s the reason he will give his therapist for the nightmares he’s sure to endure.

Jenna just thinks the whole damn thing is hysterical. In the chair that her mama gifted her, sits a five-foot eleven-inch, two hundred pound, leanly muscled, smooth talking, lady killer with an easy confidence that lands him firmly in the egotistical category, but at the moment, a lady killer that would probably rather abstain from sex for an entire month than sit in Jenna’s girly chair. She can tell that the only thing that equals Kent’s repulsion for her chair is his surprise that she would even own it.

Sure, she likes being a cop and generally does mental happy dances whenever she’s able to outperform her testosterone-laden coworkers who presume she is going to be more of a hindrance than a help because of her carrying reproductive organs. She also likes to play with guns and can shoot almost any gun she can get her hands on at an expert level when most women would rather get a pedicure than pick up a handgun.

However, all of that doesn’t mean that she can’t enjoy some of the feminine ideals of life. Such as pretty furniture that’s also super comfortable. You’ll never catch her with anything pink in her house, but that purple chair with its lush, velvet fabric is her favorite piece of furniture to curl up in after a long day at work. The fact that it makes her partner uncomfortable to sit in, as if the level of girliness would rub off on him, is a bonus. He’s acting like it is only a matter of time before someone will walk into the living room and demand his man card back.

Find Jessie Lane:

Purchase Links: 

Thursday, March 7, 2013

Feature & Follow



This weeks Question:

What is a book you didn’t like that all your friends raved about or what book did you love that wasn’t popular?

My Answer: There's quite a few of them in both categories actually and I don't really like to talk about books I didn't like because it's all a matter of opinion. So one book that I loved but a lot of people didn't was Twilight and the other books in the series that followed. I saw something different than what others saw. I saw Bella Swan, Edward Cullen and Jacob Black differently than others who read and hated the books. I ignored any one who hated the books but hadn't read them.



RULES
To join the fun and make new book blogger friends, just follow these simple rules:
    • (Required) Follow the Follow My Book Blog Friday Hosts {Parajunkee & Alison Can Read}
    • (Required) Follow our Featured Bloggers
    • Put your Blog name & URL in the Linky thing. You can also grab the code if you would like to insert it into your posts.
    • Grab the button up there and place it in a post, this post is for people to find a place to say “hi” in your comments and that they are now following you.
    • If you are using WordPress or another CMS that doesn’t have GFC (Google Friends Connect) state in your posts how you would like to be followed
    • Follow Follow Follow as many as you can, as many as you want, or just follow a few. The whole point is to make new friends and find new blogs. Also, don’t just follow, comment and say hi. Another blogger might not know you are a new follower if you don’t say “HI”
    • If someone comments and says they are following you, be a dear and follow back. Spread the Love…and the followers
    • If you’re new to the follow Friday hop, comment and let me know, so I can stop by and check out your blog!

Wednesday, March 6, 2013

Cat Thursday


Welcome to the weekly meme hosted by The True Book Addict that celebrates the wonders and sometime hilarity of cats!

Join us by posting a favorite LOL cat pic you may have come across, famous cat art or even share with us pics of your own beloved cat(s). It's all for the love of cats! Enjoy!



I have always wanted to participate in this since I first saw it on Herding Cats and Burning Soup but for some reason would always forget. I have always wanted to share my pics because I have quite the zoo. I am terribly allergic to cats but that didn't stop me from getting 3. All three were quite literally picked up off the streets.

Spencer (the blond) had barely opened his eyes when my mom and I heard him mewling from across the street, he's now going to be 4 years old and he's a devil child and acts like a dog sometimes because he hadn't seen another cat, just dogs until about three years ago, which is when the lovely Amelia (Tortoise Shell) joined our motley crew.

Amelia is the most loving, patient cat we've ever met. She wasn't even a year old when she was brought to us by my sister who found her at work. Someone was going to throw her in the dumpster and my sister, short of committing a crime, took her away. After her initial vet visit a few days later, it was revealed that she wasn't even a year old and had had kittens that had probably died. After being fixed, we introduced her to Spencer and hoped for the best.

Well they took to each other very well, played every day (and night) and even cuddled together for naps. Amelia is the perfect match for Spencer. Where he's wild and playful, she's calm and patient. He drives her crazy sometimes though but she's very graceful and sweet to him.

Then there's Orion, my gorgeous white with baby blues boy. He was skin and bones when I finally won his trust. His previous owner (across the street) is one of those people who like pets when they're little and dump them when they're older.

Anyway, we had to get a voucher to get him fixed and while he's lovable with me and my mom, he's having a hard time adjusting to living with two other cats. Spencer and he have their issues right now and prefer to say away from each other. Amelia, ever so patient, gives Orion his space and doesn't hiss or get mad at him if he wants to sniff her or get close. She even instigates play with him to get him to relax.

Sunday, March 3, 2013

Book Blind Date #5


Book Blind Date is something that Danielle from Book Whore Blog and I decided to start after seeing a Facebook post on the Lawrence Public Library Page about a book blind date. This really got us thinking, what if the only thing you new about a book was what the story was about? No character names, no pretty covers to suck you in.

Here's how it works, you know the old saying never judge a book by its cover? Well you won't be able to, for this meme you are going to decide which book you would go on a "date" with based on the synopsis. Names and identifying phrases are removed just to make things fair. The only rule is: No Googling the synopsis, you have to pick a "date" based on what you read below.


So take part in the Book Blind Date and link up your blog! We'll be stopping by some of your blogs to check out your blind dates ;)

Last Week's Blind Dates: To Seduce a Sinner by Elizabeth Hoyt (Author of the Month on the blog + Giveaway) and Passion Unleashed by Larissa Ione

Book Blind Date #1
ONE STOLEN KISS
Young, tender, and highly impressionable, Lady ***** can’t help but be intrigued by her brother’s wayward friends—the wickedly charming *****. One man in particular, the dashing Lord *****, known simply as “*****” among the ton, utterly captivates her—in spite of his reputation as a notorious womanizer. But when she steals an innocent kiss from *****, ***** is swiftly packed off to boarding school, safely away from danger…and desire.

​ONE SWEET SEDUCTION
Five years later, ***** returns—a proper lady and ravishing beauty. Miss Swann’s Academy for Young Ladies has taught her how to behave in polite society. But all the training in the world cannot extinguish her love for *****. Now, she hopes to beat the master of seduction at his own game—by daring ***** to love her in return. This time, both of their hearts are on the line…and winner takes all.

Book Blind Date #2
Eleven thousand years ago a god was born. Cursed into the body of a human, ***** endured a lifetime of hatred. His human death unleashed an unspeakable horror that almost destroyed the earth. Brought back against his will, he became the sole defender of mankind.

Only it was never that simple…
For centuries, he has fought for our survival and hidden a past he never wants revealed.
Now his survival, and ours, hinges on the very woman who threatens him. Old enemies reawaken and unite to kill them both.
War has never been deadlier… or more fun.

So which book would you like to cuddle up with? Don't forget to share your book blind date!