Taking Review Requests: Not at the moment, but if you're requesting a guest post, interview etc then please see my policy before requesting.

Hosting Giveaways: Yes

Accepting Author Interviews/Guest Posts: Yes

• My review policy and contact info is located OVER HERE.

Bloggers, I would love to interview you, have you guest post and/or guest review here! Please contact me if you're interested!




Sunday, February 24, 2013

Book Blind Date #4


Book Blind Date is something that Danielle from Book Whore Blog and I decided to start after seeing a Facebook post on the Lawrence Public Library Page about a book blind date. This really got us thinking, what if the only thing you new about a book was what the story was about? No character names, no pretty covers to suck you in.

Here's how it works, you know the old saying never judge a book by its cover? Well you won't be able to, for this meme you are going to decide which book you would go on a "date" with based on the synopsis. Names and identifying phrases are removed just to make things fair. The only rule is: No Googling the synopsis, you have to pick a "date" based on what you read below.


So take part in the Book Blind Date and link up your blog! We'll be stopping by some of your blogs to check out your blind dates ;)

Last Week's Blind Dates: To Desire a Wicked Duke by Nicole Jordan and When Darkness Comes by Alexandra Ivy

Blind Date #1
THE ONE THING HE CANNOT REVEAL
For years, ***** has loved Lord ***** from afar . . . watching him seduce a succession of lovers, and once, catching a glimpse of heartbreaking depths beneath his roguish veneer. When he’s jilted on his wedding day, she boldly offers to be his.

TO THE ONE WOMAN HE MOST DESIRES
***** gladly weds *****, if only to produce an heir. But he’s pleasantly surprised: A shy and proper Lady by day, she’s a wanton at night, giving him her body—though not her heart.

IS HIS DEEPEST NEED . . .
Determined to learn her secrets, this sinner starts to woo his seductive new wife—while hiding the nightmares from his soldiering days in the Colonies that still haunt him. Yet when a deadly betrayal from the past threatens to tear them apart, Lord ***** must bare his soul to the woman he married...or risk losing her forever.

Blind Date #2
Forbidden Temptations…
***** is an archaeologist and treasure hunter—and a woman with a secret. Since she was seven, she’s been the keeper of a powerful charm that grants her health and immortality ... as long as she stays a virgin. But ***** isn’t all that innocent. And when a dangerously handsome stranger brings her to the brink of ecstasy, she wonders if she’s finally met the one man she cannot resist.

Fatal Desires…
***** is a demon with a death wish. But when an old enemy poisons him, he must find ***** and persuade her to give him the only known antidote in the universe—her charm. Yet, as she begins to surrender to his seductions, and ***** senses the cure is within his grasp, he realizes a horrible truth: he’s falling for the woman whose life he must take in order to save his own.
  

So which book would you like to cuddle up with? Don't forget to share your book blind date! 



Random Giveaway: When You Give a Duke a Diamond by Shana Galen


This is why I love e-book sales, I get to do more giveaways! There are quite a few new releases that are on my Wish List this year, many of them are coming out next week (February 26), here's hoping I can snag them all for my Kindle!

Anyway, one of the authors who has a new book coming out is the wonderfully talented Shana Galen. I'm a relatively new fan of Shana's, I've only been a fan for about five months. That's how long it took me to get all of her books and read them.

So, just in time for the release of If You Give a Rake a Ruby, I am giving away a Kindle copy of the first book in the Jewels of the Ton series, When You Give a Duke a Diamond.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Saturday, February 23, 2013

Before you spend that book money...

Another New Release Day is fast approaching. It's that day you wait for because you know the latest books by your favorite authors are going to be released. For me, they're like mini-Christmases all year round, but they're also days that I can go broke in a matter of seconds (Darn that internet shopping). So before you go on your own shopping spree, might I remind you that the following books will also go on sale and you just might want to save a little money for them. I promise they won't disappoint.

1. Edge of Dawn by Lara Adrian.
I have already read and reviewed this book and let me tell you for like, the millionth time, it doesn't disappoint! The entire series is headed in a new direction that has great potential, many new faces and appearances from familiar favorites.
Purchase: Hardcover l Kindle





2. Lord of Darkness by Elizabeth Hoyt.
Another book I was very lucky to be able to read and review. I think that this book is the most romantic out of the entire Maiden Lane series, and that's saying a lot considering that Thief of Shadows was very successful and a fan favorite. Godric won me over with his quiet strength and modern intelligence. And can I just say that I despise the color pink but this cover makes it work and is tied with Thief of Shadows for most beautiful (in my opinion).
Purchase: Paperback l Kindle


3. Dusk with a Dangerous Duke by Alexandra Hawkins.
Ever since I picked up the first book in the Lords of Vice series, I've been hooked on Alexandra Hawkins' heroes. They're deliciously wicked and highly addictive.The series is almost finished with the last LoV, Frost, getting his book soon.
Purchase: Paperback l Kindle





4. The Earl is Mine by Kieran Kramer.
The next book in the House of Brady series promises more romance, humor and friendship for fans new and old. After reading the novella, The Earl with the Secret Tattoo, I am eager to pick up the rest of Kieran's books, especially this upcoming story. Pippa seems like my favorite kind of heroine.
Purchase: Paperback l Kindle




5. Beauty Awakened by Gena Showalter.
I loved the first book in the new spin off of the Lords of the Underworld series. The Angels of the Dark series features some of the sexiest, most deadly angels to ever grace a romance novel's pages. I can't wait to get my hands on this one!
Purchase: Paperback l Kindle





I know, I know, I've probably just made things harder for you. I'd say I was sorry but I'm really not. Look for giveaways featuring some, if not all these books in the future!

Friday, February 22, 2013

ARC Review: The Charmed Fates by Christine Wenrick + Giveaway

Format: .pdf (provided by author)
Release Date: March 1, 2013

Over a year has passed since Olivia Ann Greyson discovered that she is a Charmer, a Dhampir fated to be part of the violent supernatural world that surrounds our human one. In that time, she has strengthened herself physically, learned of her family’s secret past, and found a deep and abiding love with the strongest man she has ever met, Daywalker Caleb Wolfe. But Olivia’s biggest challenge still lies ahead of her . . .

Dark vampire lord Luther Davin has been obsessed with capturing Olivia so he can use her special gifts for his own reasons. As Caleb and Olivia try to make a new life together with their coven, the Nightwalker’s attempts to capture her only intensify and inadvertently bring an unwelcome visitor from Caleb’s past barging back into his life.

She is Caelestis—Celeste to the modern world—and she claims to be Caleb’s first and rightful mate. Although Olivia has grown confident and secure in her relationship with Caleb, she soon realizes that Celeste sees herself as no less than a goddess among mere mortals and will stop at nothing to get Caleb back—which means Olivia herself must die!

When these two threats collide and fate steps in to pull Olivia away from her new family, will she be ready for her darkest hour and her greatest battle?

As much as I try to avoid books told in first person, I couldn't help but fall in love with the paranormal world that author Christine Wenrick created with her first book, The Charmed. Her second book, The Charmed Souls kicked up the danger and now with the third and final book in her trilogy, The Charmed Fates brings about the battle for possession of Olivia Grayson, with the enemy wanting her powerful gift and her supernatural family wanting her safe and loved. This book is, in my opinion, a little darker than its predecessors but that was just fine with me. Paranormal romances shouldn't be easy, sweet and clean.

This time around, Olivia has more than just a power hungry vampire after her, she also has to contend with her beloved mate Caleb's ex, Celeste. Celeste is no ordinary, petty, jealous ex-girlfriend though, she's a 600 year old vampire who claims to be Caleb's true mate and she'll stop at nothing to get him back. As much as I despised Celeste, I have to give Christine Wenrick credit. She made Celeste more than just a blonde supernatural bimbo out for blood, she made Celeste sneaky, diabolical and so arrogant that at times it seemed like she would succeed in getting between Caleb and Olivia.

The Charmed Fates proved that Christine Wenrick isn't above getting her characters dirty, bloody and in a few cases, dead. Caleb and Olivia's love is stretched to its limits in this book but what was admirable about Olivia was that while she suffered from the occasional bout of suspicion and doubt, when it came to Caleb's feelings towards Celeste, she wasn't whiny or clingy, she had her pride, she was logical and she was tough. Caleb was patient with her, as he always is, though it was great to see him at times worried that he might lose Olivia's love and trust (after all no one likes an over confident hero). Even with all the emotional upheaval that came with Celeste's appearance, the passion between Caleb and Olivia was still present, the love and devotion that the two had for each other was still powerful but not sickeningly sweet. I loved the way they met (Olivia was 16, Caleb was 29 and still human) and how they reunited years later and fell in love.

Playing second fiddle but still managing to make big impressions are Jax and Gemma. The ever stoic Jax is now happily mated to the upbeat but feisty Gemma but their happiness is short lived. The only times I wished that The Charmed Fates, heck the whole trilogy hadn't been written in first person was when these two were involved. I would have loved to have gotten into their heads. Caleb's too.

The third and final book in Christine Wenrick's Charmed trilogy left me with a smile on my face and a special place in my heart for the characters that loved and lost throughout the series. At times, The Charmed Fates was predictable but there were a few scenes that left me with my jaw hanging open. Olivia and Caleb may have started out as the main characters in the first book (The Charmed) but in The Charmed Fates there's plenty of Jax, Gemma and later, Alec to go around. I was sad to see the end of this story as I've become very attached to the above characters as well as a few others. The ending was bittersweet but fitting. So as much as I hate to let go of such a fun cast of characters, eager to read the first book in a new series, The Men of Brahm Hill, featuring the very sexy and mysterious Kane. I can't wait to get a copy of the final version of The Charmed Fates for my Kindle.



Rating: 

Find Author:
Online l Facebook l Twitter l GoodReads

Pre-Order The Charmed Fates (book 3):
Kindle l Nook l Kobo l Smashwords  

Purchase The Charmed Souls (book 2):
 Kindle l Nook l Kobo l Smashwords

Purchase The Charmed (book 1):
 Kindle l Nook l Kobo l Smashwords


Christine is graciously giving away a copy of one of the books in the trilogy to a lucky winner. So fill out the rafflecopter form below for your chance to win!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, February 18, 2013

Author! Author! Interview with: K.D. Mclean + Giveaway

The thing I noticed about K.D. Mclean right away is that she's funny. She doesn't take herself too seriously (Have you seen her blog posts?), so I was anxious to ask her a few questions just to see if that sense of humor extends to interviews. I'm glad to say it does, so read on and prepared to be entertained, but first, a little bit about K.D.


KD McLean was born in a dark time- it was 2:00 AM, but with grit and determination, she persevered until the light came. And we haven't been able to get rid of her since.

Having experienced a husband who, as Rachel's ex did- 'drift' led KD to internet dating. Of course that was well after the voodoo dolls were put away. She reeled in her share of eels and carp in the Plenty of Fish pond.

Like Rachel, KD is enjoying her own happy ever after with a intelligent and handsome man- who keeps hiding her eyeglasses so he can stay handsome.

Being single, without a billionaire boyfriend was tough. She's got the guy, and buys Lottery tickets- half a loaf and all that, you see?

The Story of Rachel is her first novel. The topic was inspired by some book she picked up somewhere. It was a wonderful book- the woman who wrote it might make some money, KD hopes. She has tried and failed miserably in this paragraph to create a witty reference to the number fifty for some reason.

Sensuality and laughter are two qualities that make life a blessing. There are many others, of course, but the most important gift of life- love- is deeply enhanced by these two endowments.

She's not saying a word about her research for this novel. Nope. Not a damn word. Kids and grandchildren… need we say more?

Life is good. Life is a gift. KD knows this. 


Find K.D. Mclean:


Hi K.D. thanks for taking the time to answer a few (difficult, torture) questions for my blog. I'm kidding, I don't think they're too bad (I hope not anyway).
The questions are fine! Barbara Walters and Oprah better start looking over their shoulders! Just so you know- this is my first blog interview. I’m glad it’s with you Adria.

*Aww, thanks K.D. that means a lot since I'm going back to school soon to study journalism.


Okay K.D. can you tell us a little about yourself? No cheating by copying your bio!!! :D
Damn… and I just learned how to copy and paste this past year. I’m really good at it too! Well, I’m 54, and started writing this past summer. The Story of Rachel is the first time I ever completed a novel.

Besides writing, I live a fairly normal life. I’m semi-retired, two adult kids and a grandma. Living here in Canada, I ski in the winter, golf in the summer. I enjoy following American politics, as my Life Partner, Desmond X. Torres is a transplanted New Yorker.

Right now I’m pretty boring in that I’m constantly writing and working on getting good at the craft. I wish I majored in writing in college now! I feel like I have a lot of catching up to do!

*Ah Canada, another place I'd like to visit.


While The Story of Rachel is an erotic, light-medium BDSM romance, it has some pretty funny moments in it. Mostly involving Rachel and her internal musings. Is she based on someone you know?
Pretty much! Me, to tell you the truth. In the book, I presented a character who truly, at 36, didn’t know that vanilla was a term used in other things besides baking. Well, that was me when I met Desmond, for example.

The disparity between ‘Tinderbox’, ‘Ladylike’, and Rachel herself were shaped by my own experiences- too often women battle themselves as much as the outside world when they’re exploring things sexual. I used Freud’s construct of Id (Tinderbox), Superego (Ladylike) and Ego (Rachel) to try to bring this internal struggle out before the reader. Tinderbox loves all things chocolate, Ladylike watches her weight, and Rachel is the one who would go to the gym and have an ice cream cone on the way home.

* I know I studied Id, Superego and Ego a bit in high school and again in college but I couldn't remember exactly what we studied, I had to Google it and got a great refresher. I can agree with your comment about women battling themselves. I know I'm guilty of doing it with almost everything!


What was the most challenging part of writing The Story of Rachel? The most rewarding?
There were two challenges. The first was to decide how I portrayed the sex scenes. That was a struggle to develop a voice in the context of the novel that was consistent for the character of Rachel. I ended up keeping the language more PG than R. I did this deliberately because Rachel has an air of innocence or maybe naiveté about her. The second part was trying to write from a guy’s perspective- how they are with each other when no women are around. Desmond helped a lot with that.

* The sex scenes were steamy and really, the language was fine, I know a lot of authors like to kick the language up to R or even X rated but it's not always necessary. 


The Story of Rachel is part of your Tales of Pandora series, how many books do you have planned and who's story is next?
There are three books in the works right now. I’m finishing up the final manuscript to go out to my editor this week. It’s called ‘Soldier Boi’ and introduces new main characters. With a heavier BDSM theme; and in this one, the woman- Nancy- is a Domme. I also am writing ‘Annik’s Story’, in which I explore her life as a prostitute/ Escort and how she tries to find the courage to love in spite of her life choices.


What authors do you like to read on your spare time?
There are so many! Stephen King, of course. I just finished Colleen Hoover’s ‘Hopeless’. W O W what a book! I don’t usually read YA, but took a look at it when I heard about her phenomenal success this year on Amazon. I read the first few pages online, and wound up buying the book and read it in just a few days. Alice Walker’s work is absolutely wonderful- she dances the line between erotic and funny like no one else- Wallbanger is a book I’ve thoroughly enjoyed, and I’m reading her backlist Redhead series right now.

* Awww, everyone I know has read or is reading Wallbanger! I've been wanting to read it for a long time. Though I will admit, I read it back when it was still Twilight fanfiction. I don't usually read YA but I read Kate Evangelista's Taste. It was a great Paranormal that took me by surprise.


Not too challenging so far right? Okay, how about some quick pick/just for fun questions? Ready?

Chocolate cake or chocolate ice cream?
Chocolate ice cream. With Hershey’s syrup.

* Love that!

Dark or Blond hair on a man?
Dark hair- salt and pepper. With a beard.


Print book or e-book?
Now that’s an interesting question! I’ve been a ‘print gal’ up until this last year. I had to start reading e-books; c’mon, I’m chasing my dreams using them as my tool! Now, I am an e-book addict. I love the convenience of carrying ten or more books with me, I can read at night in bed and not keep Desmond awake, I don’t need glasses, because I can change the font and size of the type, and I don’t have to worry about bookmarking a spot- it remembers where I left off for each book!

Definitely an ebook gal now.

* All reasons why I love my Kindle. I am a book hoarder, I don't like to borrow my favorite books because inevitably I will want to read THAT book at 11:00 at night and I can't go to the library or to a friend's at that time. I have to buy the books I love but before e-readers I had (and still have) four 35 gallon containers filled with books and a bunch of them stuffed every where in the house. With an e-reader I can have hundreds of books at my disposal without taking up room.


Favorite kind of music?
So many genres I like. New Age music, Golden Oldies, 80’s rock, Soft Jazz, Blues. I’m not crazy about rap nor industrial rock. Even so- I love Evanescence- ‘Fallen’ got me hooked. I’m a closet Country fan too. Timmmm McGrawwwwww……

* I love almost all genres, I'm a total music lover. Currently I listen to movie scores, they bring out my creative side. I love country music, not the old stuff but anything from 2000 on to today I love it. Tim McGraw is yummy and so are so many of the men of country music.

Favorite TV Show?
I loved ‘Lost’ and ‘The West Wing’- I have both series. Current TV- Boardwalk Empire, and The Newsroom.

* I'm an NCIS and Castle girl myself. Oh and I love documentaries. That sounds so boring out loud.


Last movie you saw in the theater?
A great film- The Cloud Atlas. I was surprised it didn’t do well; it was an epic film. Oops- and my most recent movie was Skyfall. I’m glad they fixed Bond; Casino Royale was terrific, but they sort of lost their way with Quantum of Solace; Skyfall put them on the right track again. I hope Adele wins the Oscar for it!

* I don't remember the last movie I saw in the theater. So sad.


Is there anything else you'd like readers to know about you or your books?
YES!!!
I’ve had a bit of writer’s block this past week or two. Now I’ve only been writing for a short time, and I so love doing it. This past January, I entered The Story of Rachel into the Amazon Breakthrough Novel Awards contest. After entering, I saw on a website that it was estimated somewhere between two and four thousand entries in my genre, and only four hundred would go on.

That made me feel kind of down. Who do I think I am even trying?

I just learned about an hour ago that The Story of Rachel has gone on to the second round! It’s the American Idol of e-books, and I got in! YAYYY!!!!!

* Congrats K.D. and best of luck! Thanks for answering my questions!

Well now that you've had a chance to get to know K.D. a bit, you can get your hands on The Story of Rachel. Fill out the rafflecopter below for your chance to win!

Rachel Collins is praying. And not for world peace. Thirty six years old and single, her prayer is self-centered. "Kill me now, Lord," she pleads during her latest attempt to meet Mr. Right via the internet.

She’s not hoping for a billionaire or even a millionaire, just a guy who can strike a spark to her tinder! Is she asking too much? She's a great gal! Just ask her parents! She might be a bit naive about some things, but capable enough- she's a correspondent for a major magazine, after all. So there!

On assignment she meets Michael, 42 years old, also a writer. The attraction is immediate and intense. Rachel, who sees vanilla as only a baking ingredient, enchants him. Michael can whip up some pretty hot delights himself, outside of the kitchen. He introduces a curious Rachel to powerful experiences of sensuality. Her Ladylike sense of propriety engages in a running battle with her now sparked Tinderbox desires.

Michael is an excellent cook and knows how to turn up the heat. Sampling the flavors offered, Rachel experiences humorous hiccups. On a date, Michael ramps up the risqué, resulting in a memorable skirt swirling salsa dance. Rachel's "What the hell, I ain't getting any younger" attitude spurs Michael to take her to the exclusive, adults only club Pandora's. Here, Rachel witnesses even more variations of earthly delights, and begins a lifelong friendship with another guest.

Michael is a realist, convinced that within 90 days, his affair with Rachel will be but another painful memory of loss. He is neither willing nor able to yell 'Geronimo' and fall for her. He can't, and that's that.

Maybe he should just get a damn dog.

This modern, urban, grown up love story is a recipe –three cups romance and one cup of slapdash humor. Blend in spices of eroticism, and beat until smooth.

Purchase Links:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Sunday, February 17, 2013

Book Blind Date #3


Book Blind Date is something that Danielle from Book Whore Blog and I decided to start after seeing a Facebook post on the Lawrence Public Library Page about a book blind date. This really got us thinking, what if the only thing you new about a book was what the story was about? No character names, no pretty covers to suck you in.

Here's how it works, you know the old saying never judge a book by its cover? Well you won't be able to, for this meme you are going to decide which book you would go on a "date" with based on the synopsis. Names and identifying phrases are removed just to make things fair. The only rule is: No Googling the synopsis, you have to pick a "date" based on what you read below.


So take part in the Book Blind Date and link up your blog! We'll be stopping by some of your blogs to check out your blind dates ;)

Last Week's Blind Dates: The Imposter by Celeste Bradley and The Pirate Lord by Sabrina Jeffries

Blind Date #1
Two years after losing her beloved fiancé to war, ***** feels ready to chance love again. Thus, she’s aghast when a threatening scandal forces her to wed her longtime nemesis, *****, Duke of *****. The impossibly arrogant, irresistibly seductive nobleman is the last man she could ever imagine loving! Making matters worse, ***** discovers secrets in *****’s wicked past that send her fleeing London for his remote castle in Cornwall.
Having long desired *****, ***** is exasperated that the ton thinks he’s driven his reluctant new bride from their marriage bed and so follows hard on her heels. Naturally, their spirited rivalry leads to glorious, pleasure-filled nights — complicated by a mysterious ghost who haunts *****’s castle and *****’s vexing insistence that he play matchmaker to her friends. But can blazing desire between two warring hearts turn into wedded bliss and timeless love?

Blind Date #2
It's been a hell of a day for *****. In just a few hours, she's survived an explosion, watched her employer die, had a startling dream, and now she finds herself in a seedy Chicago hotel with the sexy, unearthly *****, a man she both desires and fears.

For 341 years, ***** has stood as guardian to The *****, a mortal woman chosen to hold back the darkness. A terrible twist of fate has now made ***** that woman. Three hours ago, ***** would have used all his charms to seduce her. Now she is his to protect. And he will do so until his very death.

A terrifying plan has been set in motion, one that will plunge ***** and ***** into an epic battle between good and evil—and a desperate race to save their love...
  

So which book would you like to cuddle up with? Don't forget to share your book blind date!



Saturday, February 16, 2013

Review: The Story of Rachel by K.D. Mclean

Format: .mobi (provided by author)
Release Date:  January 15, 2013

Rachel Collins is praying. And not for world peace. Thirty six years old and single, her prayer is self-centered. "Kill me now, Lord," she pleads during her latest attempt to meet Mr. Right via the internet.

She’s not hoping for a billionaire or even a millionaire, just a guy who can strike a spark to her tinder! Is she asking too much? She's a great gal! Just ask her parents! She might be a bit naive about some things, but capable enough- she's a correspondent for a major magazine, after all. So there!

On assignment she meets Michael, 42 years old, also a writer. The attraction is immediate and intense. Rachel, who sees vanilla as only a baking ingredient, enchants him. Michael can whip up some pretty hot delights himself, outside of the kitchen. He introduces a curious Rachel to powerful experiences of sensuality. Her Ladylike sense of propriety engages in a running battle with her now sparked Tinderbox desires.

Michael is an excellent cook and knows how to turn up the heat. Sampling the flavors offered, Rachel experiences humorous hiccups. On a date, Michael ramps up the risqué, resulting in a memorable skirt swirling salsa dance. Rachel's "What the hell, I ain't getting any younger" attitude spurs Michael to take her to the exclusive, adults only club Pandora's. Here, Rachel witnesses even more variations of earthly delights, and begins a lifelong friendship with another guest.

Michael is a realist, convinced that within 90 days, his affair with Rachel will be but another painful memory of loss. He is neither willing nor able to yell 'Geronimo' and fall for her. He can't, and that's that.

Maybe he should just get a damn dog.

This modern, urban, grown up love story is a recipe –three cups romance and one cup of slapdash humor. Blend in spices of eroticism, and beat until smooth.

The Story of Rachel is a very steamy, sometimes funny, always entertaining read by K.D. Mclean. While the cover is very hot, and gives readers an idea of what happens to Rachel, the truth is, the cover doesn't prepare readers for how funny this book can be at times!

Rachel is 36, not very common for a erotic romance, at least, not in the ones I've read. She's looking for love in all the wrong places and finding bottom of the barrel quality men. Just in the first few pages, I was giggling at the situation Rachel found herself in. This isn't the first time online dating hasn't worked out for her though. I immediately sympathized with her. Anyone who has dated for a while has had at least one cringe worthy date/relationship, though Rachel seemed to have exceeded the quota of losers she's had dates with. Although a bit sexually naive, Rachel isn't an off putting character, quite the opposite, she makes it okay to NOT be a sexual dynamo. She's smart, courageous, friendly and did I mention funny?

Not to be outdone is Michael, the handsome, savvy hero of the story. Here's a man who knows how to be a Dom without being an a-hole. He doesn't expect Rachel to jump head first into the world of BDSM, he introduces her step by step and always gives her chances to opt out. At first, Michael doesn't seem like the emotionally shut off guy that he actually is, he's funny, caring, persuasive and sexy. He doesn't treat Rachel like her opinions don't matter, but he's flawed. He's a loner and unprepared for Rachel and what he begins to feel for her. There's quite a bit of angst between the two towards the end and it makes the ending much sweeter.

Even with it's comedic moments, The Story of Rachel is not a comedy, it's definitely an erotic romance with plenty of steamy goodness that, while erotic, doesn't overwhelm readers. The Story of Rachel can be read by both fans of BDSM and non fans because of the light to medium BDSM element. Thank goodness because I don't enjoy heavy BDSM books.

An enjoyable read all around, The Story of Rachel strikes up a balance between sexy and silly that will appeal to different types of readers and at the great price of $2.99 it really can't get better than that.


Rating: 

Find Author:
Online l Facebook l GoodReads

Purchase Links:

Thursday, February 14, 2013

ARC Review: If You Give a Rake a Ruby by Shana Galen

Format: .mobi (provided by NetGalley)
Release Date: March 5, 2013

Her Mysterious Past is the Best Revenge...
Fallon, the Marchioness of Mystery, is a celebrated courtesan with her finger on the pulse of high society. She's adored by men, hated by their wives. No one knows anything about her past, and she plans to keep it that way.

Only He Can Offer Her a Dazzling Future...
Warrick Fitzhugh will do anything to protect his compatriots in the Foreign Office, including seduce Fallon, who he thinks can lead him to the deadliest crime lord in London. He knows he's putting his life on the line...
To Warrick's shock, Fallon is not who he thinks she is, and the secrets she's keeping are exactly what makes her his heart's desire...

This is why I started reading historical romance. For books like this. The mystery, the danger and of course, the passion. Not every author can make a historical romance with espionage work, I've read some that didn't engage me as a reader. I know of only two other authors who bring such excitement, anticipation and romance to their spy romances, Gaelen Foley and Celeste Bradley. Those two women have made me fall in love with spies and their adventures and have set high standards.

Sunday, February 10, 2013

Book Blind Date #2


Book Blind Date is something that Danielle from Book Whore Blog and I decided to start after seeing a Facebook post on the Lawrence Public Library Page about a book blind date. This really got us thinking, what if the only thing you new about a book was what the story was about? No character names, no pretty covers to suck you in.

Here's how it works, you know the old saying never judge a book by its cover? Well you won't be able to, for this meme you are going to decide which book you would go on a "date" with based on the synopsis. Names and identifying phrases are removed just to make things fair. The only rule is: No Googling the synopsis, you have to pick a "date" based on what you read below.


So take part in the Book Blind Date and link up your blog! We'll be stopping by some of your blogs to check out your blind dates ;)

Last Week's Blind Dates: 
 Midnight Awakening by Lara Adrian and River's End by Nora Roberts


Blind Date #1

It isn't easy moving about Society dressed like a dandy--especially when one is a ruthless spy. But that's precisely the latest mission for *****'s club  master *****. ***** is posing as Sir *****, the elusive cartoonist whose scathing political caricatures have all of London abuzz. The true identity of Sir ***** is a mystery, and ***** hopes that impersonating him will flush out the real menace before his cartoons do further damage to the government. Now, if  ***** could only find a way to get the irksome, yet oddly appealing widow ***** off his trail...

When ***** meets Sir ***** at a ball, she's certain he is an impostor--because she's the true Sir *****. Secretly penning the cartoons under the frothy nom de plume, ***** hopes to save enough money so that she can leave her in-laws and find a new life. Now she is determined to reveal an impostor's identity--and that means doing some undercover work herself. But pretending to be someone you're not has a funny way of making a woman do things she wouldn't ordinarily dream of--even if it drives her straight into the arms of her devilishly handsome adversary!

Blind Date #2

A splendid opportunity—a shipload of women, theirs for the taking! Pirate captain ***** couldn’t be more delighted. His men are tired of wandering the high seas and ready to settle down with wives on an uncharted island paradise. Surely, these New South Wales-bound women will be grateful for an alternative to the life of drudgery awaiting them at the end of their journey.

Married? To pirates? ***** couldn’t be more appalled. First she demands proper courting—at least a month. The darkly handsome pirate lord grants a week. Then ***** insists the men vacate their huts for the women—and ***** demands kisses in return. As the demands heat up, so do their passions—and soon ***** can’t recall why she’s fighting the devilishly captain so hard…
  

So which book would you like to cuddle up with? 




Review: The Shamrock and the Rose by Regan Walker

Format: Kindle format (provided by author)
Release Date: February 1, 2013

Set in London in 1818, it's the story of Rose Collingwood, daughter of a baron, who wanted to play Portia in The Merchant of Venice. To accept the part at the Theatre-Royal at Haymarket, the very proper young lady assumes the disguise of Miss Lily Underwood, the actress. Who knew all of London would soon be at her feet sending her love notes? One such Valentine goes awry only to be found by the dashing Irish barrister, Morgan O'Connell. Though he would have seduced the actress, Morgan must court the lady. Given three choices much like Portia's suitors, can she resist the handsome Irish rogue? And who is it who is following her?

Whether it's a full length novel or a novella, Regan Walker sure knows how to write a romance. She creates realistic but interesting characters who come to life within the first few pages.

The Shamrock and the Rose is another romantic adventure by the author of Racing with the Wind and The Holly and the Thistle. At only 56 print pages in length, The Shamrock and the Rose explores the social and religious conflicts when English bred Rose Collingwood catches the attention of Irishman Morgan O'Connell. Their attraction is instantaneous but filled with obstacles including hidden identities and anonymous notes that start off as admiration for Rose but quickly progress to disturbing and threatening.

Without revealing too much (it is a novella after all), I will say that The Shamrock and the Rose is my favorite story from Regan Walker. I love stories where the hero and heroine are from different social standings and must overcome not only their own upbringings but the disapproval of the society they live in.

One thing about the hero Morgan that made me relate to him was the fact that he was infatuated with the character Portia from The Merchant of Venice, much like I tend to become infatuated with characters in romance novels and end up wishing I had a boyfriend or friend like certain characters. Morgan's infatuation with Portia could have been an obstacle in his relationship with Rose, who played the character on stage, but thankfully Morgan had no problem seeing Rose as herself and not as the character she played.

Rose, although an actress, is a bit naive at times, as most young women were in 1818, but she still manages to be brave, witty and somewhat independent. A woman who tries to find her own way through life while defying social rules is a character to be admired.

The Shamrock and the Rose is a worthy read and for fans who are eagerly awaiting Walker's next book in the Agents of the Crown trilogy, it is just enough to satisfy and make the wait a little easier.



Rating: 

Find Author:
Online l Facebook l Twitter l GoodReads

Purchase Links:







Friday, February 8, 2013

Giveaway: Floor Time by Liz Crowe

In an effort to try and get at least one person hooked on Liz Crowe's books and her overall UNIQUE writing style, I am giving away a Kindle copy of Floor Time to one person who has never read one of Liz's books. There's no risk for you readers at all because the book is free AND you can ask me any question you want about Floor Time because I've read it and reviewed it HERE

So, what are you waiting for? It's a free book by an author who will stick in your mind no matter what.

Jack Gordon is Ann Arbor's most delectable bachelor. At age thirty-five, he's made millions as a top-selling Ann Arbor real estate broker and has the right connections to close a deal by any means necessary. With his rugged good looks and compelling personality, he has a virtual black book most men would kill for and he uses it often, never settling for one woman for very long.

While his D/s past remains buried, exactly where he wants it, an undercurrent of boredom and dissatisfaction runs through his life now. A disastrous experience years earlier made him swear off the whole scene, but the more Jack suppresses his natural Dom, the more his frustration grows.

Sara Thornton, a rookie in the real estate game, has fast-tracked herself to the top of the Ann Arbor market. Her life reflects a disciplined and focused routine, exactly the way she wants it. However, as her career takes off, the fulfillment she seeks remains inexplicably out of reach. The one thing she knows for sure, she will not join the Jack Gordon groupies in her company, no matter how tempting that might seem.

A chance encounter, then a difficult transaction, throw Jack and Sara together and the sparks fly high and hot and often. Forced to confront the compulsions that gain momentum with each sizzling encounter, their relationship seems to spiral out of control until Jack finally admits what he needs, and shows Sara what she's been missing.

Purchase Links: Amazon l Kindle l Barnes and Noble l Nook

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, February 7, 2013

Feature & Follow Friday! I'm a featured blog!


Feature and Follow is a weekly meme hosted by Parajunkee and Alison Can Read. This is to promote blogs, have new followers and to be friends with everyone!!

RULES
To join the fun and make new book blogger friends, just follow these simple rules:
    • (Required) Follow the Follow My Book Blog Friday Hosts {Parajunkee & Alison Can Read}
    • (Required) Follow our Featured Bloggers
    • Put your Blog name & URL in the Linky thing. You can also grab the code if you would like to insert it into your posts.
    • Grab the button up there and place it in a post, this post is for people to find a place to say “hi” in your comments and that they are now following you.
    • If you are using WordPress or another CMS that doesn’t have GFC (Google Friends Connect) state in your posts how you would like to be followed
    • Follow Follow Follow as many as you can, as many as you want, or just follow a few. The whole point is to make new friends and find new blogs. Also, don’t just follow, comment and say hi. Another blogger might not know you are a new follower if you don’t say “HI”
    • If someone comments and says they are following you, be a dear and follow back. Spread the Love…and the followers
    • If you’re new to the follow Friday hop, comment and let me know, so I can stop by and check out your blog!
 I am super excited because this week I am one of the featured blogs!!! Yay for my little corner of the internet! I can't wait to chat with new and old followers, feel free to drop by here, on FB or Twitter at any time! I'm always up for book discussions, movie discussions, silly discussions or if we've got similar tastes in romance novels, we can swap recommendations!

Q. Happy Mardi Gras! If they were throwing the HOTTEST books off of a Mardi Gras float -- what would you do to have them throw to you…?

A. What WOULDN'T I do? I would definitely do the flashing thing, then there's doing my funky dance moves (I can't dance, it's like a nightmare if I try). I think it would be easier to list the things I wouldn't do, because with free books on the line there isn't much I wouldn't do for a chance at nabbing some of my favorites.




Tuesday, February 5, 2013

Wishlist Wednesday

Wishlist Wednesday is a book blog hop hosted by Pen to Paper where we will post about one book per week that has been on our wishlist for some time, or just added (it's entirely up to you), that we can't wait to get off the wishlist and onto our wonderful shelves.

So what do you need to do to join in?

  • Follow Pen to Paper as host of the meme.
  • Please consider adding the blog hop button to your blog somewhere, so others can find it easily and join in too! Help spread the word! The code will be at the bottom of the post under the linky.
  • Pick a book from your wishlist that you are dying to get to put on your shelves.
  • Do a post telling your readers about the book and why it's on your wishlist.
  • Add your blog to the linky at the bottom of this post.
  • Put a link back to pen to paper (http://www.pentopaperblog.com) somewhere in your post, and a note saying that Pen to Paper is the host of the meme.
  • Visit the other blogs and enjoy!

My choice this week? When She Said I Do by Celeste Bradley.

Angel's Sin

Caught in a rainstorm, Miss Calliope Worthington takes shelter in a seemingly abandoned mansion. But when she finds a string of pearls in a dusty chest, she is caught red-handed by the house’s reclusive owner—Mr. Ren Porter—a fiery demon of a man who demands that Callie pay for the necklace…with her innocence.

Devil's Bargain

When he first lays eyes on the beautiful trespasser, Ren mistakes her for an angel. But when he realizes Callie is a thief, he strikes a bargain she cannot refuse. She must take his hand in marriage and pay him back in full: one night of passion for each stolen pearl. But when Callie surrenders to his desires—night after wicked night—he awakens something deep inside of her. Something powerful and passionate. Like a fairy tale come true, the monster she married has become the man she loves…when she said I do.

I loved Celeste's Liar's Club and Royal Four series so much and I was so happy to hear Ren was going to get his chance at happiness. This book is one of my "I need to get ASAP" books.

Find Celeste Bradley: 
Online
Purchase: 

Win a Kindle Fire from Waves of Fiction!



Promotion Time!!! 
Waves of Fiction and Winter Haven Books are having a follower appreciation giveaway and the prize is a Kindle Fire! So click on the banner and head on over and enter for your chance to win!

Sunday, February 3, 2013

Book Blind Date #1


Book Blind Date is something that Danielle from Book Whore Blog and I decided to start after seeing a Facebook post on the Lawrence Public Library Page about a book blind date. This really got us thinking, what if the only thing you new about a book was what the story was about? No character names, no pretty covers to suck you in.

Here's how it works, you know the old saying never judge a book by its cover? Well you won't be able to, for this meme you are going to decide which book you would go on a "date" with based on the synopsis. Names and identifying phrases are removed just to make things fair. The only rule is: No Googling the synopsis, you have to pick a "date" based on what you read below.


So take part in the Book Blind Date and link up your blog! We'll be stopping by some of your blogs to check out your blind dates ;)

 Blind Date #1

HE HAS RESISTED TEMPTATION FOR CENTURIES, A STONE-COLD WARRIOR WHOSE FROZEN HEART REFUSES TO THAW--UNTIL HER . . . .

With a dagger in her hand and vengeance on her mind, beauty ***** prowls Boston's streets in search of retribution against the Rogue vampires who took from her everything she cherished. Using an extraordinary psychic gift, she tracks her prey, well aware that the power she possesses is destroying her. She must learn to harness this gift, and for that she can turn to only one man--the deadliest of the ***** warriors, *****.

No stranger to loss, ***** knows *****'s pain. He knows fury, but when he slays his enemies it is with ice in his veins. He is perfect in his self-control, until ***** seeks his aid in her personal war. An unholy alliance is forged, a bond that will link them by blood and vow--and plunge them into a tempest of danger, desire, and the darkest passions of the heart . . . .

Blind Date #2

*****’s parents were among Hollywood’s golden couples…until the night a monster came and took her mother away forever. A monster with the face of her father…

Sheltered from the truth, an older
***** only dimly recalls her night of terror—but her recurring nightmares make her realize she must piece together the real story. Assisted by *****, the son of the police detective who found her cowering in her closet so many years before, she may have her chance. ***** wants to reconstruct the night that has become an infamous part of Hollywood history. He also wants to help ***** and heal the longing in her lonely heart. But once the door to her past is opened, there’s no telling what’s waiting on the other side. For somewhere, not too far away, the monster walks again… 

So who would YOU choose to cuddle up with?



Friday, February 1, 2013

Author of the Month: Lara Adrian


There are many people who will say that the vampire genre has been "overdone" and should simply go away. In some ways this is true, but for me, there will never be enough vampire heroes in romance novels. Why? Well because there's just so much to expand on with a mythical creature like the vampire. Strengths, weaknesses, powers... That kind of thing. So naturally in the PNR genre there's something for every taste, however, very few authors have captured and held my attention like Lara Adrian. She's one of the few authors that I picked up on when they debuted a series and that I have faithfully kept reading to the present day.

It was my curiosity that led me to Lara Adrian. It was May 2007, and the first book in her Midnight Breed series (Kiss of Midnight) had just been released. I didn't know that though. At the time I was going through a magazine phase (I would buy weekly magazines like US Weekly, OK Magazine and Life & Style for the celeb pics) and hadn't really been reading a whole lot. Much less any of the latest romance novels, I didn't even know what was popular at the time, even though I have always loved vampires, good or bad. There's just something about those fangs.

The ad that started it all.
 I picked up the May 21, 2007 issue of "US Weekly" and prepared to start clipping pictures when I noticed an ad for a new paranormal romance. Now for as long as I could remember I've had a thing for vampires (and pirates) and I liked what I read, so I logged on to the internet and did a search for Lara Adrian and found her site. I liked what I saw so I clipped the ad out of the magazine and put it in my purse to remind me to look for it the next time I went to Target. A few days later I made the decision to spend my magazine money on Kiss of Midnight.


Best. Decision. Ever!

I fell in love with the world Lara Adrian created and the different take on one of the most well known and written about mythological creatures in history. Her Breed warriors are tough, sarcastic, drop dead sexy and her heroines are strong willed, intelligent and uniquely designed mates for the warriors.

I know, there are literally hundreds of books about vampires, from Dracula types that terrorize humans, to Twilight types that are a few steps short of warm and fuzzy, to romance novel hero types that just rev up readers' engines in a great way, but to me, there are very few like Lara Adrian's vampires. They're the type of heroes I can't stay away from, dark, dangerous, tortured and sarcastic as hell. Each one is special and each one has their own "groupies" among readers. While some fans can confidently say that they love only one Breed male, I am quite shameless in saying I love SIX of those sexy males. Lucan, Dante, Tegan (definitely a top contenter), Andreas, Chase and now Kellan Archer. Where they a boy band, my walls would be covered in posters. Those males just have that Je ne sais quoi that makes them so unforgettable.

But it takes more than just sexy males with fangs to keep me coming back for more. The heroines can not be, under no circumstances, weak, whiny, pathetic, dumb or worse, needy. Thank goodness Lara Adrian doesn't seem to know the meaning of those words. Her heroines, while human and very fragile compared to immortal vampires, are sassy, independent, stubborn and put up just enough of a fight to keep the Breed males on their toes. Not an easy task since these males have been around for hundreds of years.

The Midnight Breed series hasn't lost it's steam, if anything, it's gearing up to bring even more action, tension, danger, mystery and yes, sexier, steamier scenes to readers, starting with Edge of Dawn. This soon to be released story of the next generation of Breed Warriors and their mates takes readers in a new direction while still maintaining the connection to old fan favorites. I think, as long as the stories are steamy, the heroines get tougher and I get to see my favorites once in awhile, I'll be one happy, lifelong fan. You can see my ARC Review here.

I have no doubt Lara Adrian can meet readers' expectations, but I wouldn't be surprised if she blew them out of the water.

So if you haven't checked out the Midnight Breed series, now's the perfect time to do it! I'm giving away an e-copy YOUR CHOICE of any book in the Midnight Breed series! You have all month to get as many entries as possible! Make sure you leave a comment telling me which book you'd like to win!!

Find Lara Adrian:
Online l Twitter l Facebook l GoodReads

Pre-Order Edge of Dawn:
Amazon l Kindle l Barnes and Noble l Nook

Purchase other Midnight Breed Books: Amazon l Kindle l Barnes and Noble l Nook

a Rafflecopter giveaway