Taking Review Requests: Not at the moment, but if you're requesting a guest post, interview etc then please see my policy before requesting.

Hosting Giveaways: Yes

Accepting Author Interviews/Guest Posts: Yes

• My review policy and contact info is located OVER HERE.

Bloggers, I would love to interview you, have you guest post and/or guest review here! Please contact me if you're interested!




Thursday, January 31, 2013

Feature and Follow - The First Thing You'd Do...



RULES
To join the fun and make new book blogger friends, just follow these simple rules:
    • (Required) Follow the Follow My Book Blog Friday Hosts {Parajunkee & Alison Can Read}
    • (Required) Follow our Featured Bloggers
    • Put your Blog name & URL in the Linky thing. You can also grab the code if you would like to insert it into your posts.
    • Grab the button up there and place it in a post, this post is for people to find a place to say “hi” in your comments and that they are now following you.
    • If you are using WordPress or another CMS that doesn’t have GFC (Google Friends Connect) state in your posts how you would like to be followed
    • Follow Follow Follow as many as you can, as many as you want, or just follow a few. The whole point is to make new friends and find new blogs. Also, don’t just follow, comment and say hi. Another blogger might not know you are a new follower if you don’t say “HI”
    • If someone comments and says they are following you, be a dear and follow back. Spread the Love…and the followers
    • If you’re new to the follow Friday hop, comment and let me know, so I can stop by and check out your blog!

Q: What is the first thing you would do if you woke up to find yourself in your favorite book?  via @GizmosReviews

A: Oh the directions I could go with this question. Ha ha, okay so I don't have a single favorite book, I have quite a few, Rogue Rider by Larissa Ione, Fear the Darkness by Alexandra Ivy, Devil in Winter by Lisa Kleypas, Honey Red by Liz Crowe... I could go on and on, but they have two things in common. They're all romance. With hot, stubborn, sexy alpha males. You fill in the blanks. RAWR. I'm only human ;)


Book Spotlight: The Earl is Mine by Kieran Kramer + Giveaway

Kieran Kramer is a new to me author, even though I am practically surrounded by her books. I have her Impossible Bachelors series (except for book one, how I missed it I'll never know) sitting in my Nook waiting to be read, my mother has a print copy of Loving Lady Marcia but won't let me borrow it, and I just read The Earl with the Secret Tattoo. I may not be caught up with Kieran's work, but that doesn't mean I don't want to get my hands on her upcoming release, The Earl is Mine as soon as it comes out. Lucky for you, a pre-order is up for grabs!

Handsome, charismatic, and on the verge of becoming a successful architect, Gregory Sherwood, Lord Westdale, could have just about any woman he wants. So why rush to marry? So far there’s only been one woman he’s ever truly loved. But that was before she had a secret affair with his best friend…with the help of an unwitting accomplice named Lady Pippa Harrington.

Pippa may not have acted in her old friend Gregory’s best interests, but she’s always believed that the heart sets its own rules. This is why Pippa must escape her arranged marriage—fast—by fleeing to Paris, where she hopes to pursue her artistic passions. To do so, Pippa will need all the help she can get—from Gregory, the one man she isn’t sure she can trust…or resist…


Purchase: Amazon l Kindle l Barnes and Noble l Nook l Kobo l

Don't forget to purchase the first book in the House of Brady series and the novella as well!

Loving Lady Marcia: Amazon l Kindle l Barnes and Noble l Nook l Kobo l
The Earl with the Secret Tattoo: Kindle l Nook l Kobo l

Find Kieran Kramer: 
 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, January 30, 2013

ARC Review: Lord of Darkness by Elizabeth Hoyt

Format: epub (provided by NetGalley)
Release Date: February 26, 2013

WHEN STRANGERS IN THE NIGHT
He lives in the shadows. The mysterious masked avenger known as the Ghost of St. Giles, his only goal is to protect the innocent of London. Until the night he confronts a fearless lady pointing a pistol at his head—and realizes she is his wife . . .

BECOME LOVERS...
Lady Margaret Reading has vowed to kill the Ghost of St. Giles—the man who murdered her one true love. Returning to London, and the man she hasn’t seen since their wedding day, Margaret does not recognize the man behind the mask. Fierce, commanding, and dangerous, the notorious Ghost of St. Giles is everything she feared he would be—and so much more . . .

DESIRE IS THE ULTIMATE DANGER
When passion flares these two intimate strangers can't keep from revealing more of themselves than they had ever planned. But when Margaret learns the truth—that the Ghost is her husband, Godric St. John—the game is up and the players must surrender... to the temptation that could destroy them both.

Die hard fans of Elizabeth Hoyt's Maiden Lane series will recognize Godric and Margaret "Megs" from their brief appearance in Thief of Shadows. Godric was devastated after the death of his wife Clara and Megs found herself on the brink of ruin when her lover and secret fiance was murdered, reportedly by the Ghost of St. Giles. It was revealed at the end of Thief of Shadows that Godric also masqueraded as a Ghost of St. Giles and blackmailed into marrying Megs by her brother Griffin.

When Lord of Darkness begins, Godric and Megs have been married for two years but have been living apart, when Megs decides that she wants two things, revenge for the death of her lover and a child. She journeys to London to seduce the husband she barely knows and find her lover's killer who she believes is the Ghost of St. Giles.

What struck me as incredibly sweet and heartbreaking at the same time is how much Godric and Megs have in common. They've both tragically lost people they loved dearly and have closed themselves off to love, so it comes as a surprise when they find themselves attracted to one another.

Godric is a wonderful character. Solid, strong and unlike many men of that time and even now. Here he was, forced to marry a woman he didn't know, didn't love, who was mourning the death of her lover and pregnant with her lover's child. Yet, he didn't blame Megs for his situation, or treat her with anything other than respect and consideration. He never became angry at her when she mentioned her lover or the child she lost, he was sympathetic and kind. He didn't hold her past over her as a means to control her either. Because he loved his first wife so much and it broke him when she died, he understood Megs' heartbreak. He had me in love with him within the first few chapters!

Then there's Megs. She may be quite a bit younger than Godric but she isn't a silly, immature ninny that cares more about herself than others. She starts out wanting and needing a child but she immediately starts to see that her husband just might need something too. She's a very giving, warm and accepting character who isn't perfect but both she and Godric try to make the best of their marriage and end up discovering that life is still worth living. She's lively and expressive but also courageous, daring and unusually calm in dangerous situations. She makes a great partner for Godric AND the Ghost.

There's still action and adventure in Lord of Darkness but it seems to take a back seat to the relationship between Godric and Megs, which makes the story work better than if it had been the reverse. Godric and Megs need to move past their losses and build a new relationship with each other. Even as the plot for Lord of Darkness unfolds and Godric gets to know his wife better, author Elizabeth Hoyt begins to drop hints as to the personality and later, the identity of the third Ghost. She excels at grasping and holding a readers' attention.

Hoyt's books have never disappointed me, she beautifully creates characters that are unique in their appearance, neither overly beautiful nor extraordinarily plain. Her stories are so tightly connected that they seem like one long, exciting book, rather than separate stories in a series. Lord of Darkness is a worthy successor of the wildly successful Thief of Shadows. Lord of Darkness makes an exciting addition to the Maiden Lane series with it's stoic but lonely hero Godric and his affectionate but heartbroken wife, Megs.

Lord of Darkness stands a really good chance of reaching the same level of success as Thief of Shadows. I am both terribly excited but saddened that after Lord of Darkness, comes the story of the last Ghost of St. Giles. But then again, Elizabeth Hoyt is a master of surprises so who knows what will happen after the last Ghost finds his match?

Add Lord of Darkness to your "Must Have" lists readers, it doesn't disappoint. If you've never read Elizabeth Hoyt, then what are you waiting for? Grab the first book in the Maiden Lane series and get started!




Rating: 


Find Elizabeth Hoyt on: 
Twitter l Facebook l GoodReads l Website


Purchase Links:
Amazon l Kindle l Barnes and Noble l Nook l

Purchase the previous books in the Maiden Lane series:
Amazon l Barnes and Noble l

Saturday, January 26, 2013

ARC Review: Edge of Dawn by Lara Adrian

Format: ARC bound copy (provided by author/publisher)
Release Date: February 26, 2013

Twenty years after the terror of First Dawn-when mankind learned that vampires lived secretly among them, the threat of violence reigns as the two species struggle to coexist. The only group preserving the fragile harmony is the Order, an elite cadre of Breed warriors dedicated to protecting humans and vampires alike. And in this precarious world of torn loyalties and shattered trust, Mira, a fiery squad captain, finds that every fight bears an intensely personal cost.

Raised among the Order, Mira has always believed in the warrior's code of swift-and even lethal-justice. But the one thing she desires more than the Order's hard-won acceptance is Kellan Archer, a sexy but troubled Breed fighter. In love with him since childhood, Mira once broke through his tough exterior during an unexpected night of rapture, but the next day he mysteriously disappeared, never to return.

Kellan didn't think he would ever see Mira again, or have to confront the truth of why he left. After abandoning the Order years ago, he now leads a band of human rebels intent on carrying out their own vigilante rule of law. Yet a high-profile kidnapping assignment brings him face-to-face with the past he sought to avoid, and the striking woman he has tried desperately to forget. And as tensions mount and the risk of bloodshed grows, Kellan and Mira must take sides-between the competing missions that dominate their lives, and the electrifying passion that claims their hearts.

As a fan since the very beginning, I was extremely excited to find out that Edge of Dawn would be Mira's story and that it would take place 20 years after Darker After Midnight.

Mira first appeared in Niko and Renata's book, she was an orphaned Breedmate that had the ability to show those who looked into her eyes their future. The downside to her gift was that each time she showed someone their future, she would lose some of her sight. From the beginning Mira was special and I hoped she would have her own book.

Aside from her gift however, Mira's the first Breedmate trained as a warrior, which was so refreshing. With a few exceptions (Jenna from Taken by Midnight and Renata from Veil of Midnight), Breedmates (human females who can carry and give birth to Breed children), usually sit on the sidelines and cheer on their men when they go into battle. This was starting to grate on me a little. Make no mistake, these Breedmates were tough and special in their own ways but this particular reader likes females who can kick ass just like the men.

Which is why Mira is such a wonderful addition to the Midnight Breed series. With her gift, I had assumed she'd be a minor character who sat on the sidelines. Only brought out when her "talents" were of use to the Order. Thankfully, Lara Adrian made Mira tough enough to be a part of a team that takes down rebel fighters. It's a mission that's personal to her because the rebel fighters cost her something very dear. Or so she thinks.

Kellan Archer is also a character from a previous book. He and his grandfather were the only survivors when their Darkhaven was destroyed and it's residents slaughtered. When Kellan was introduced to readers, he was a moody teenager with issues. As an adult, he's lethal, tortured and determined to protect Mira, even from far away and without her knowledge.

The history between Kellan and Mira makes Edge of Dawn a very passionate and bittersweet story. They have a lot to work out, despite the fact that they're desperately in love with each other. Their reunion is anything but simple and their road to a happy ending is not entirely certain.

One thing is certain though, even after 10 books, Lara Adrian still knows how to entice and entertain readers.

It took 10 books for the initial villain and the conflict he stirred up to reach his end, if not his complete destruction. Now the fallout of that bloody battle has brought a whole new wave of conflicts. The mystery of the Breedmates has now been thrown into the spotlight, and could present an even tougher challenge for the characters to overcome in the future. I can't wait to see what happens next.

Edge of Dawn also sees the new generation of Breed warriors stepping up and taking their place in a new world with a new fight. The sons and daughters of previous characters are introduced and possible story lines are beginning to develop for these new characters.The possibilities for these new characters are endless. I do hope that as the series progresses, readers will still be treated to scenes with the original members of the Order. Tegan comes to the front of my mind.

The only downside to Edge of Dawn is its price. It is being released in hardcover which translates to expensive. Amazon and Barnes & Noble have the bound copy for pre-order at $14.70 and $12.99 for the digital versions though I expect the prices to go up after the book is released. While die hard fans of the series may not mind spending the extra cash to get the book as soon as its released, others may decide to wait until the paper back edition comes out. Which, in these economical hard times, is understandable.

It's a shame though because there was a virtual signing for Edge of Dawn and I, like many other fans would have loved to have had a personalized, signed copy of this book. 

Edge of Dawn is a can't miss story for longtime fans of Lara Adrian, despite the hardcover issue. If you're new to the series, I suggest you start back at the beginning to better enjoy the series and have a chance to fall in love with the Breed warriors and their unique mates.


Rating: 
Find Lara Adrian:
Online l Twitter l Facebook l GoodReads

Purchase Links:
Amazon l Kindle l Barnes and Noble l Nook

Check back February 1st for a special post and giveaway! 

Wednesday, January 23, 2013

Blog Tour Stop: Interview with Catherine Hemmerling + Giveaway


I'm delighted to have been included in Catherine Hemmerling's blog tour for Taming Her Forbidden Earl! I am lucky enough to have been able to ask Catherine a few questions as well as give away a copy of her book, so stick around, enjoy the interview and don't forget to enter the contest at the end of the post! 

Catherine Hemmerling has been a technical writer in the software industry for nearly twenty years and has published many user manuals and technical documentation in that time. She has always had a love of writing fiction but has never pursued publication in that genre until now.

Hopefully it is the beginning of a long new journey with Lady Lancaster and the Garden Society girls. Certainly historical romance (especially the scandalous kind) is more fun than writing technical documents!

This author happily resides in Tehachapi, California with her family.

Catherine writes for Entangled Publishing's Scandalous historical line and is thrilled to be part of their family of writers!



Find Catherine:


I'm a huge historical romance fan but I admit to having a "thing" for those that include mystery and intrigue (a little spying doesn't hurt either). Sadly it's usually the men having all the fun because of the time period, so why did you decide to let the women have all the fun and was it difficult to write these women as lady "spies" while still keeping them somewhat realistic for the time period?
I decided to let the women have the fun because I firmly believe curiosity, intelligence, and spunkiness transcends time periods. I can’t imagine a girl in 1814 who would see a handsome man, wouldn’t giggle with her friends about him. I also can’t imagine that all the women of that time period would chose to be oblivious to things happening around them. They would have been considered odd, certainly, but they HAD to exist. And in the aristocracy, even the odd women could find a spouse if they were rich enough, beautiful enough. Taking off on that idea, I created the Garden Society and a cast of characters just a little left of traditional center. By choosing the Regency period - by all accounts a brief period in time where the “stays” were loosened a bit - I could take those liberties with the personality quirks of Lady Lancaster’s “girls” and the heroes and still retain the realism of the period I wanted to achieve.

* I loved it! As a reader who will not tolerate weak heroines, it was great to read about a group of women who masqueraded as a "Garden Society" but actually uncovered secrets and nefarious plots.


Are any of the characters in Taming Her Forbidden Earl based on people you know?
I think all of the female characters have a bit of my personality. Hannah and Sarah, in particular, are very like me. Rose has a lot of my cousin’s traits. My cousin is an architect and very logical with a great attention to detail. I think Emily has my sister’s reluctance to deal with fools. Hope has my best friend’s desire to protect everyone she loves and a great faith in people. The parents in the series are definitely inspired by all my parental figures. The men are a bit of my past loves and also a bit of what wish I could find in a man.

* I really liked Emily and I can't wait for her book.


What was the most challenging part of writing Taming Her Forbidden Earl?
Coming up with the title!!! Taming Her Forbidden Earl is the fourth title attached to the book. The rest was a breeze compared to that pesky title.

*Wow, I would have thought a part of the actual story would have been more challenging, who knew that a title could cause so much trouble?
 

Your book is part of Entangled Publishing's new historical romance imprint, Scandalous (which is a great name by the way), what is the most scandalous thing you've done or seen?
Aside from sitting down and putting a sex fantasy in writing for everyone (including my parents - my father - to read)? I met my last two serious relationships through online dating … and just met my current significant other the same way.

* Online dating, actually, dating in general terrifies me so I actually see you as a very brave soul to venture into online dating.


If Taming Her Forbidden Earl were to be made into a movie, who would be your perfect cast?
Off the top of my head I think Emma Watson would be a great Hannah, Colin Farrell a great William, Ryan Gosling as Lord Shrewsbury, and Helen Mirren as lady Lancaster. How cool would that be?

* Oh I think Emma Watson is so lovely, and Helen Mirren can do no wrong in my eyes. She's such a classy, sexy woman. Colin Farrell and Ryan Gosling just show you have great taste in men ;)


I really liked all the ladies in Lady Lancaster's Garden Society and I know you have stories planned for them too, can you tell me about the next book in the series?
The next book is Rose’s. The historic event is the scientific breakthrough of being able to discover toxins and poisons in hair and tissue. This technology will be used to solve a murder! Rose has a photographic memory and between her amazing recall and the help of her betrothed, Simon, the Garden Society is finally able to bring down a longtime enemy. This book is my personal favorite. I love the interaction between Rose and Simon. They have fabulous chemistry!

* Ooo, I can't wait!


What book is on your e-reader/bookshelf that people would be surprised to find?
I collect antique children’s books. I just love reading books from other eras … they are just as entertaining and character driven as anything you could find today.


Is there anything else you'd like to add?
I am having so much fun with this blog tour. I especially like the interviews. Thanks for such great questions. I’ve said it before, too, but I really love receiving all the comments from the readers. I don’t have a book for signing, so I really feel like these blog stops allows me to interact with everyone. I truly appreciate the opportunity to do so!

* I'm glad to have been a part of your blog tour Catherine!

Thank you so much Catherine for taking the time to answer some of my questions. Best of luck to you and I can't wait for your next book!

Now then, how would you like a chance to win a copy of Taming Her Forbidden Earl? Yes? Then fill out the rafflecopter below!

Everyone knows William Bredon, the earl of Pembroke, has a reputation as a captivating rogue, determined to never marry until his duty to produce an heir requires it. So when he invites Lady Hannah Rochester to dance, Hannah vows to keep her distance. But the undeniably gorgeous William, with his dark humor and seductive gaze, draws her in nonetheless.

Of course, Lady Hannah is not completely what she seems, either. A member of the dowager Lady Lancaster’s Garden Society, she secretly spends her days solving mysteries and uncovering intrigues, and when she brings William into the fold, a sinister plot develops that brings the two closer together. William’s protective nature ensures he remains by Hannah’s side, but he will not surrender his anti-marriage stance.

Can intrigue, passion, and maybe even a little bit of scandal reform the most notorious of rakes? 


Purchase: Kindle l Nook



a Rafflecopter giveaway

Review: Taming Her Forbidden Earl by Catherine Hemmerling

Format: epub
Release Date: December 2, 2012

Everyone knows William Bredon, the earl of Pembroke, has a reputation as a captivating rogue, determined to never marry until his duty to produce an heir requires it. So when he invites Lady Hannah Rochester to dance, Hannah vows to keep her distance. But the undeniably gorgeous William, with his dark humor and seductive gaze, draws her in nonetheless.

Of course, Lady Hannah is not completely what she seems, either. A member of the dowager Lady Lancaster’s Garden Society, she secretly spends her days solving mysteries and uncovering intrigues, and when she brings William into the fold, a sinister plot develops that brings the two closer together. William’s protective nature ensures he remains by Hannah’s side, but he will not surrender his anti-marriage stance.

Can intrigue, passion, and maybe even a little bit of scandal reform the most notorious of rakes?

I love historical romance with spies. Having spies in a period where there was no technology to aid them makes a historical romance much more interesting. There's more a potential for more mystery, suspense and action. The only downside is that most of the spying is done by the men due to the time period. It's difficult to find a book where the heroine does the spy work without it sounding utterly ridiculous.

Taming Her Forbidden Earl is a rather short but fun story where the women do all the fact finding while still maintaining their (somewhat) spotless reputations. It's tough for a gently bred lady to gather information without breaking the strict rules of society. That's where Lady Lancaster's Garden Society comes in. On the surface they may appear as proper, delicate flowers but in reality they spend their free time ferreting out secrets and solving mysteries.

Lady Hannah is a strong character to start what will eventually become a series, with each lady from the Garden Society taking the lead in solving mysteries and finding love. Hannah is a survivor, she can blend in with all the other ladies of English society, but she can also ferret out information without breaking a sweat! She's confident, even when faced with a questionable character like Lord Collicott Shrewsbury (who's name made me giggle).

Enter the hero, William Bredon, Earl of Pembroke. Well, he's more of a reluctant hero, he saves Lady Hannah from an unwanted advance, whisks her away to dance and is immediately attracted to her intelligence and sense of humor. He's sworn off marriage until he needs an heir out of fear that he will end up like his abusive father so his attraction to Hannah is most unwelcome.

Taming Her Forbidden Earl takes it easy on the romance at first, there are just hints and sparks of attraction between Hannah and William, the mystery and intrigue takes precedence almost throughout the whole book. It isn't until the last chapters that William and Hannah act on that attraction. The pacing is quite brisk but what can you expect from a romance novel that incorporates espionage? It would be very boring if there were too many details instead of more action.

While Taming Her Forbidden Earl is William and Hannah's story, author Catherine Hemmerling gives readers sneak peeks into the other members of the Garden Society's personalities. Each young lady has at least one unique trait that makes her invaluable to the group of "Lady Spies" and each one promises to be very interesting.



Rating: 


Find Catherine Hemmerling:
Online l Twitter l Facebook l GoodReads

Purchase Links:

Saturday, January 19, 2013

Author! Author! Interview with: Erica Ridley + Giveaway


Welcome to another edition of "Author! Author!" Today author Erica Ridley will be answering some of my questions about what else? Books! But first, here's a little bit of background info about Erica:


Erica Ridley learned to read when she was three, which was about the same time she decided to be a writer when she grew up. Over the course of her school years, she graduated from self-illustrated stories written in crayon to dramatic sagas filling reams of spiral notebooks.

Now, Erica writes paranormal, fantasy, and historical romances. She has two Regency-set historical romances and one vampire romance anthology in stores now. She is currently working on a new trilogy of contemporary romantic comedies featuring heroes and heroines from the fantastical world of Nether-Netherland.

When not reading or writing romances, Erica can be found riding camels in Africa, zip-lining through rainforests in Costa Rica, or getting hopelessly lost in the middle of Budapest.

FACEBOOK: http://www.facebook.com/EricaRidleyFans 




Hi Erica! Thank you for taking the time to answer a few of my questions, I really appreciate it!

Thank you so much for having me here! I love to talk about books and reading. (There are those who claim it’s hard to stop me when I get going, lol… I’ll try not to stray too much!)


* You didn't stray Erica, it was fun!




For those who haven’t heard of it (yet), can you tell us a little bit about your book, Love, Lust and Pixie Dust (My first romantic comedy by the way and it was a delight)?

Yay! I had the best time writing this book. Daisy, the heroine—a lowly neurophysicist, to the eternal shame of her magical family—yearns to prove herself to her peers by achieving fairy status and finally earning her wings. Except magic isn’t as easy as neuroscience and mechanical engineering, and the next thing she knows, she’s tangled up with a half-naked human man and breaking every one of the rules. The hero, Trevor, is a driven, focused paleoanthropologist. Logic and science drive every aspect of his life—until Daisy invades his dig, makes off with his discovery, and turns his assistant into a pumpkin. Suddenly he’s thrust into a world he never believed existed. He has to use all his brains and charm to keep magic from ruining his life, and he has to use all his willpower to keep his hands—and lips—off Daisy.



I’ve never read a book like Love, Lust and Pixie Dust before and I’ve yet to come across other books like it, what made you decide to write a romantic comedy centered around pixies and tooth fairies?
I adore madcap comedy. Monty Python, The Hangover—I giggle aloud just thinking about it. I knew I wanted to write with that level of zaniness, something just plain fun. I knew I could get away with just about anything if I stepped outside the constraints of the real world—and it could be that much funnier if I forced fractured fairytale logic on a no-nonsense human like Trevor, whose own carefully organized scientific world is far more absurd than he’d like to believe.

* Madcap... I have to remember that when I describe what kind of comedies I gravitate towards. I am partial to History of the World: part 1



How many books do you have planned for Nether-Netherland series and is there anything you can tell us about the next book in the series?
So far, there are three. Wands, Wishes & Genie Kisses releases in late Spring of this year, followed by Fate, Fire & Demon Desire in late fall. (Breaking news: I just posted the cover reveal Wands, Wishes & Genie Kisses on my blog at http://www.ericaridley.com/news!) Here is the back cover copy:



CAN RUNAWAY MAGIC



When the arrival of a national chain threatens to run Zoe Carter’s small-town toy store out of business, she’s forced to team up with the one group crazy enough to help her fight back: circus carnies. The strangest member is by far the sexiest, even if he claims not to be human. While the charming drifter’s skills between the sheets are certainly out of this world, Zoe can’t help but notice his arrival corresponds with the day toy wands start churning out real magic. Unpredictable results quickly transform her love life into a disaster zone and her toy store into ground zero.



MAKE WISHES COME TRUE?



Immortal private investigator Aden Deseos is desperate to prove djinns have a place on Earth. If he successfully completes his inter-dimensional investigation into misappropriated magic wands, the Nether-Netherland elders will lift the ban prohibiting geniekind on Earth. If he fails, there is no second chance. His entire race is counting on him to save the day, as is a certain human shopkeeper with a big heart and big... ahem. Unfortunately, Aden can’t help involuntarily granting any wish spoken aloud, no matter how disastrous the outcome—or how much he wishes he had the power to give Zoe a true Happy Ever After.

* I can't wait for this book!



What was the most challenging part of writing Love, Lust and Pixie Dust and is there anything you would change about it now?
This was actually the easiest book I’ve ever written. During the first draft, I wrote a new scene every day. (Trust me, this isn’t usually how it works!) One of the fun Easter eggs I put some time into are Daisy’s Nether-Netherlandian curses. It may seem like she uses them randomly (ie “Good Ganesh!”) but every single god or goddess or otherworldly being whose name she invokes has relevance to the scene at hand. Finding the right ones was tricky, but definitely fun. I don’t know that there’s anything major I would go back and change now… I’m a perfectionist, so I’d probably tweak word choice and phrasing for the next forty years if the book wasn’t already on shelves. That’s why I never re-read my own stories after they’re published!




What would readers be surprised to find out about you?
If they’ve never read any of my books before, they might be surprised to find out my previous titles are historical romance! My debut, Too Wicked To Kiss, and its sister book, Too Sinful To Deny, are Regency-set historical romances with a hint of the paranormal. My novella in the vampire romance anthology Born To Bite features a Scottish warrior who’d feel more comfortable in a kilt than in a ballroom. The Nether-Netherland romantic comedy series is definitely a new direction, although anyone who read my occasionally zany take on vampire romance would not be shocked to discover Nether-Netherland, lol. I never take myself too seriously, and I like stories to be fun. I plan to continue writing both genres.

* I did notice on your site you had historical romances, I'll get my hands on those soon enough, I love historical romance!



Who are your favorite romance authors?
This is a tough question! The list is constantly changing, and books that I loved years ago often have greater or lesser impact when I pick them back up for a re-read. I will say I’ve read Jennifer Cruisie’s entire backlist and Julie Garwood’s entire historical backlist multiple times. I think it’s that mixture of humor and the everyday that speaks to me the most. That said, I’m a voracious reader, even outside of the romance genre, so I don’t really have a single type. Books I’ve recently read and loved include Courtney Milan’s A Kiss For Midwinter, Karen Rose’s No One Left To Tell, Darcy Burke’s To Love a Thief, Diana Peterfreund’s For Darkness Shows The Stars, and Emma Locke’s The Problem With Seduction. (That last one was an ARC… You’ll have to wait another week to get it. I’m such a tease!)

* That's just cruel, I want to read Emma Locke's next book :)



Who could you picture playing Daisy and Trevor if Love, Lust and Pixie Dust were made into a movie?
Oh man, I’m terrible at this. I’m an F student when it comes to naming actors and actresses (although I will confess to have the GoFugYourself fashion blog bookmarked.) I definitely wouldn’t pick any of the usual romantic comedy suspects… I think part of Daisy’s charm is that she isn’t that type. She’s kind of a Tina Fey straight woman in a madcap world. I think if whoever played Daisy was more commonly known for serious roles, it would make the misadventures all the funnier. As for Trevor the long-suffering paleoanthropologist… This is hard. Why aren’t these questions multiple-choice? ;-)

* I pictured Rosamund Pike for Daisy and... Hmm, maybe Jake Gyllenhaal for Trevor?


You also write historical romance, which do you prefer and why?
I love them both! I think because I like writing about worlds that are not the real world. (Trevor arguably does live in the real world, but as of page one, paragraph one, that world quickly gets turned upside-down.) When I write historicals, there are very strict fact-based rules about technology and language and clothing and environment to stick to, and very strict society-based rules that govern how the characters think and act and live and love and rebel. I love the challenge of fitting within that mold while breaking outside the traditional box. When I write about the fantastical world of Nether-Netherland, however, my only limit is my imagination. There, my primary challenge is to keep topping myself (which can be hard to do!) and to keep the adventure fun and fast-paced on every page. They’re both really great genres, and I can’t imagine giving either of them up in the foreseeable future!




Would you ever consider writing for another genre?
LOL, if you only knew! If the real world had a pause button, I would happily write for every genre that existed. When I was a little girl, my life’s ambition was to become the next Stephen King, and I probably had my parents very nervous with the contents of the horror stories I used to write. I once wrote a romantic suspense (although—surprise!—I’m told it was more zany than scary) and I’m certainly willing to explore historical eras besides Regency. Right now the genre singing me its siren song is Steampunk. The blend of history and fantasy seems right up my alley!

* I've never read a Steampunk romance either. Maybe I should start?


Is there anything you’d like readers to know about you or your books?
Hmm… I love feedback! If you like my books and are hoping for a story starring one of your favorite characters, write me and let me know. You just might get your wish! Also, to get on the VIP advance notice list for upcoming titles, sign up for the new releases newsletter via my website: ericaridley.com. List subscribers are also eligible for giveaways and free books from time to time!




Thank you so much Erica for the chance to ask you a few questions and for providing readers a chance to get to know you!



That's not all folks, you have a chance to win a copy of Love, Lust and Pixie Dust (you can read my review HERE) for your e-reader! Just fill out the rafflecopter form at the bottom of the page!


MIXING MAGIC WITH PLEASURE

Daisy le Fey isn't staying a wannabe pixie forever. As soon as she's a licensed Tooth Fairy, she'll finally be on the Nether-Netherland ladder of success. All she has to do in order to trade in her homemade glitter wings for the real deal is complete her first solo assignment. Only that's no sweet child asleep on the pillow. It's a sexy man who refuses to hand over the tooth. Desperate to save her would-be career, she fights for possession. So what if her wand misses and turns the man's assistant into a pumpkin. It could happen to the best of fairies!

HAS NEVER BEEN SO MUCH FUN

Anthropologist Trevor Masterson needs his latest find to save his job from impending budget cuts. But then a blonde bombshell wearing glitter wings sneaks into his tent at midnight, claims to be some sort of magical being, and tries to fly off with his discovery. When Trevor chases after the tooth—and the girl—no amount of science can explain their attraction or the chaos unraveling his carefully laid plans. But there's no such thing as magic... right?

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Friday, January 18, 2013

Cover Reveal: The Charmed Fates by Christine Wenrick

I'm so happy to be one of the first to show you the not only the cover for the third book in Christine Wenrick's Charmed trilogy, but the blurb as well!


            “You think you know him better than I do?
Interesting
. . . and so boringly human.”


Over a year has passed since Olivia Ann Greyson discovered that she is a Charmer, a Dhampir fated to be part of the violent supernatural world that surrounds our human one. In that time, she has strengthened herself physically, learned of her family’s secret past, and found a deep and abiding love with the strongest man she has ever met, Daywalker Caleb Wolfe. But Olivia’s biggest challenge still lies ahead of her . . .

Dark vampire lord Luther Davin has been obsessed with capturing Olivia so he can use her special gifts for his own reasons. As Caleb and Olivia try to make a new life together with their coven, the Nightwalker’s attempts to capture her only intensify and inadvertently bring an unwelcome visitor from Caleb’s past barging back into his life.

She is Caelestis—Celeste to the modern world—and she claims to be Caleb’s first and rightful mate. Although Olivia has grown confident and secure in her relationship with Caleb, she soon realizes that Celeste sees herself as no less than a goddess among mere mortals and will stop at nothing to get Caleb back—which means Olivia herself must die!

When these two threats collide and fate steps in to pull Olivia away from her new family, will she be ready for her darkest hour and her greatest battle? 


The Charmed Fates will be released March 1, 2013. I don't know about you, but I can't wait to see what's in store for Olivia and Caleb.

There's just enough time for you to catch up and be ready for the release of The Charmed Fates. Get your copies of The Charmed and The Charmed Souls!

Purchase The Charmed: Kindle l Nook l Smashwords
Purchase The Charmed Souls: Kindle l Nook l Smashwords

Feature & Follow Friday: Favorite Villains



Q:  Who is your favorite villain from a book?
I love villains! Why? Because a hero/heroine is only as good as the villain is bad. If the villain is no good, the story isn't any good either. There are so many great villains out there but my favorite kind of villain is the redeemable one. You know, the one who spends a few books making other characters' lives miserable and then something happens to them to make them want to be good? Yeah those. 

My number one favorite villain is Sebastian, Lord St. Vincent from The Wallflower series by Lisa Kleypas. He is as devious and unfeeling as he is handsome, even going so far as to kidnap the woman his friend is in love with. From the moment he appears, he is a loathsome character. It isn't until the third book, The Devil in Winter that he has a chance to change. However, as with all villains, he doesn't do so willingly.
Purchase: Amazon l Kindle l Barnes & Noble l Nook

 

 A close second is Caine from Alexandra Ivy's Guardians of Eternity series. Caine spends most of the series as a cur, a turned werewolf. He believed he was to be the savior of curs, finding a way to turn them into pureblooded weres. A notorious playboy as well, he didn't care what he had to do, who he had to use or kill to further his goal. It took 8 books before Caine had a life changing event and began his path to (semi) redemption.
Purchase:
Amazon l Kindle l Barnes & Noble l Nook


RULES
To join the fun and make new book blogger friends, just follow these simple rules:
    • (Required) Follow the Follow My Book Blog Friday Hosts {Parajunkee & Alison Can Read}
    • (Required) Follow our Featured Bloggers
    • Put your Blog name & URL in the Linky thing. You can also grab the code if you would like to insert it into your posts.
    • Grab the button up there and place it in a post, this post is for people to find a place to say “hi” in your comments and that they are now following you.
    • If you are using WordPress or another CMS that doesn’t have GFC (Google Friends Connect) state in your posts how you would like to be followed
    • Follow Follow Follow as many as you can, as many as you want, or just follow a few. The whole point is to make new friends and find new blogs. Also, don’t just follow, comment and say hi. Another blogger might not know you are a new follower if you don’t say “HI”
    • If someone comments and says they are following you, be a dear and follow back. Spread the Love…and the followers
    • If you’re new to the follow Friday hop, comment and let me know, so I can stop by and check out your blog!
Happy Follow Friday!

Thursday, January 17, 2013

A Little Bit Wicked Blog Tour Stop: Interview & Giveaway with Robyn DeHart

For more blog tour stops, click on the banner.

Hello and welcome to my stop on Robyn DeHart's blog tour for A Little Bit Wicked. I'm so happy to have Robyn on the blog today answering a few of my questions as well as being able to giveaway a copy of A Little Bit Wicked. For those of you who don't know about Robyn, here's a little background info:

I’m one of those writers who always knew that she wanted to be a writer. It took me a while, however, to figure out precisely what I wanted to write. Reading Kathleen Woodiwiss’ ”A Rose in Winter” sealed the deal for me and I’ve been reading and writing romance ever since. I should have known I was destined for this when my Barbies insisted on hosting elaborate masquerade parties, complete with stolen kisses in the moonlight.

I’m the youngest of three children, so of course I’m the favorite. I was raised in central Texas, in the beautiful Hill Country, right smack-dab between Austin and San Antonio. My parents were high school sweethearts and married a week after my mother graduated – they both needed their parents’ permission to marry since they were so young. So I blame them and their amazing marriage for the fact that I’m a hopeless romantic.

Somewhere along the line, I graduated from college with a degree in Sociology, only after completing an internship with none other than award-winning best-selling author, Pamela Morsi. It was one of the coolest experiences of my life and I learned more about the writing business than I could have hoped.

After college I worked a myriad of jobs: Computer Software Trainer, Recruiter, Administrative Assistant. But no matter what my day job, I come home to my real job and click, click, click away on my computer and get lost in my imaginary world where justice always prevails and the girl always gets her guy! It’s the coolest job in the world.

I’m married to the most amazingly supportive man. He’s so proud of my career, and loves to tell people, “My wife is a romance novelist.” We live in the Austin area, where my husband is a university professor. He’s ridiculously smart, but remains goofy enough to make me laugh every day. We’re the parents of two beautiful and precocious little girls who keep me quite busy during the day. We also have two very spoiled cats who are of no help at all when it comes to my writing, although they sometimes nap in the same room where I sit diligently working.

I’ve published seven historicals, all of which have received great reviews and a handful of them have won awards. I love to hear from readers, so feel free to send me an email or you can find me online at The Sisterhood of the Jaunty Quills, or, Peanut Butter on the Keyboard, my newest blogging endeavor that’s all about writing moms or moms who write. You can also find me on my Facebook or my Facebook Author page and on Twitter. I’m everywhere!

Author Website: http://www.robyndehart.com/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/RobynDeHart
Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/288853.Robyn_DeHart
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/robyndehart


Hi Robyn, I'm so excited to be a part of the blog tour for A Little Bit Wicked. Thank you so much for taking the time to answer a few of my questions!
Thank you for having me!


I like the premise of A Little Bit Wicked, where did the idea for the story come from?
That’s always an interesting question and I wish I had more interesting answers. Essentially my idea started with Vivian. I got this line of dialogue in my head, “My name is Vivian March and I am The Paragon.” I knew I wanted her to be like a “cleaner” only in Victorian times; someone who helps people survive their scandals. I guess kind of like how Hollywood types use their PR people. And the idea kind of snowballed from there.

* Now I'm going to go back and read A Little Bit Wicked just to picture Vivian as a Victorian PR Agent. I never thought of her like that!


Are any of your characters based on people you've met or family members?
Oh, no. I know better than that. Just kidding. A lot of writers pull from people they know to create their characters, but for me, that just doesn’t seem to work.


I'm a huge romance novel fan, I read pretty much every genre with a few exceptions, but I do have a soft spot for historical romance. Do you enjoy other types of romance novels like paranormal, contemporary or erotic, or are you strictly a historical fan? What are some of your favorite romance authors?
Well, historical romance will always be my first love. There’s just something about it that works for me on so many levels. Of course I love history so that helps. But yes, I read other types of books too. I love gritty romantic suspense, the police procedural kind like Allison Brennon and JD Robb. I like a handful of contemporary authors and I’ve read some paranormal, but I tend to like my books with other stuff going on like a mystery or something. I’ve read lots of YA’s that I love and I’m a big Jim Butcher fan so I guess I like urban fantasy too.


What is the worst thing that a romance novel could do to make you stop reading it?
I’m not a fan of love triangles, so I tend to stray from those. And I know some books have had scenes where the hero will have sex with another woman besides the heroine - I don’t like that. Even if he hasn’t met the heroine, it’s not that I don’t want him to have a past, I just don’t want to experience on the page. There’s not really anything else other than that, but if I don’t like the characters I’ll stop reading – life’s too short to read books I don’t love.

* Mine is a weak heroine or an overbearing hero. Mostly a weak heroine though, I can't stand whining, dumb or wallpaper women. They have to stand out in some way and have some kind of backbone. They can't all be Xena Warrior Princess but they do have to have a mind of their own and the will to back it up.


What has been the best experience you've had as an author so far?
I’ve had lots of wonderful experiences. I love to meet readers. Two time stand out in my mind…once I was attending a small regional conference. I put a notice about it on my Facebook page because the booksigning was going to be open to the public. This sweet reader of mine drove quite a distance to bring me her favorite book of mine to sign. I loved meeting her! Another time I was signing at one of the big national conferences and a reader walked up rolling a suitcase behind her, she said, “excuse me,” then disappeared as she knelt to her suitcase and then one-by-one put all of my books on the table for me to sign. And she’d clearly brought similar backlists for several authors. I just thought it was precious!


If you had to cast actors in the roles of Marcus and Vivian, who would you choose?
I always do this, but it’s not so much the actor per se, but more a specific picture that really captures the essence of the character for me. For these two I found a picture of Jake Gyllenhaal and Minnie Driver.

* Hmm, Minnie Driver is an unlikely choice but I love her.


What do you like to do when you're not writing?
Spend time with my family. I have two little girls (2 & 4) and my husband is my best friend. I also love to read other people’s books and go to movies.


Is there anything you'd like to say to your fans and to people who have yet to read one of your books?
The one comment I get most from readers about my books is that my characters feel so real. They love how relatable they are and how unique they are. So I guess I’d tell people who haven’t read me that if they love books with characters they can root for, they should try me. 


Last but not least, what are you working on right now?
I just finished the final edits for The Secrets of Mia Danvers which comes out in June. It’s the first in my Jack the Ripper series and is what I consider an historical romantic suspense. At the same time I’m finishing up A Little Bit Sinful, the sequel to A Little Bit Wicked. It’s Clarissa’s book and she’s getting into so much trouble, all the good sorts of trouble though.

* I can't wait to read Clarissa's book. She seems like a cheeky little thing.

Thank you Robyn for stopping by! 

Title: A Little Bit Wicked
Author: Robyn DeHart
Genre: Historical Romance
Length: 229 pages
Release Date: December 2012
ISBN: 978-1-62266-816-8
Imprint: Scandalous

Marcus Kincaid has returned to England after a ten-year absence. His older brother died during that time, making Marcus the Earl of Ashford. Not only that, his younger sister is embroiled in a potential scandal that could ruin her chance at marriage. His aunt has already called in reinforcements—The Paragon.

Vivian March is known simply as The Paragon. She moves through every circle within Society, smoothing out scandals and stopping gossip in its tracks. Everyone in London knows that if she aligns herself with you, Society will forgive you your sins. What they don’t know is that she uses their secrets to cover her own jaded past.

But with every kiss and every touch that Marcus thrusts upon her, Vivian comes to believe life is infinitely more fun when you can be just a little bit wicked…

Purchase Links: Kindle l Nook

Now for those of you who haven't had a chance to read A Little Bit Wicked yet (you can check out my review HERE), there's a copy up for grabs here. All you have to do is fill in the rafflecopter form for a chance to win!

a Rafflecopter giveaway