Taking Review Requests: Not at the moment, but if you're requesting a guest post, interview etc then please see my policy before requesting.

Hosting Giveaways: Yes

Accepting Author Interviews/Guest Posts: Yes

• My review policy and contact info is located OVER HERE.

Bloggers, I would love to interview you, have you guest post and/or guest review here! Please contact me if you're interested!




Monday, November 26, 2012

Teaser Tuesdays


Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!



"When Lady Endicott saw Tessa, a smug smile played on her lips. Tessa itched to slap the hussy."

- pg. 102, How to Marry a Duke by Vicky Dreiling

Summary: Tristan, the Duke of Shelbourne is a man with a mission: find a wife he can tolerate as long as they both shall live. Love is not necessary--nor desired. But how to choose among a dizzying array of wealthy-yet-witless candidates? Hire London's infamously prim and proper matchmaker. Then pretend she's not the most captivating woman he's ever met...

Helping a devilish Duke create a contest to pick his perfect mate is the kind of challenge Tessa Mansfield relishes. Her methods may be scandalous, but she's determined to find the notorious bachelor more than a wife--she'll bring him true love. Yet when Tessa watches the women vie for the Duke's affections, she longs to win his heart herself. And after a stolen kiss confirms Tristan's desire, Tessa knows she has broken a matchmaker's number one rule: never fall in love with the groom.

Purchase Links: Amazon l Kindle l Barnes and Noble l Nook
 

Sunday, November 25, 2012

Review: Stolen Fury by Elisabeth Naughton

Format: epub (purchased)
Release Date: January 11, 2012
Purchase Links: Amazon l Kindle l Barnes and Noble l Nook l Smashwords

To unearth a centuries-old secret, an archaeologist must team up with the rakish thief who’s stolen both an ancient relic and her heart…
Oh, is he handsome. And charming. And sexy as all get out. Dr. Lisa Maxwell isn’t the type to go home with a guy she barely knows. But, hey, this is Italy and the red-blooded Rafe Sullivan seems much more enticing than cataloging a bunch of dusty artifacts.

After being fully seduced, Lisa wakes to an empty bed and, worse yet, an empty safe. She’s staked her career as an archaeologist on collecting the three Furies, a priceless set of ancient Greek reliefs. Now the one she had is gone. But Lisa won’t just get mad. She’ll get even.

She tracks Rafe to Florida, and finds the sparks between them blaze hotter than the Miami sun. He may still have her relic, but he’ll never find all three without her. And they’re not the only ones on the hunt. To beat the other treasure seekers, they’ll have to partner up—because suddenly Lisa and Rafe are in a race just to stay alive.

Curiosity killed the cat. Well in my case, curiosity killed my bank account but it died a happy death. I've heard such lovely things about author Elisabeth Naughton's books (and her as a person) from Joan Swan (also a talented author and all around awesome woman) and my friend Rachel that I just had to borrow one of her books. I chose Stolen Fury because well, when I was a little girl I not so secretly wanted to be Indiana Jones when I grew up and Stolen Fury had action, mystery, archeology and romance! What more can this girl ask for?

Apparently I could ask for humor, steamy chemistry and completely likable characters in addition to the above. Stolen Fury is the first in a trilogy that I couldn't put down once I started. I neglected my chores, my pets, my meals, you name it. Bad person, very bad person.

Before I forget can I just say how sexy the name Rafe is to me? I don't know why but it is. I have a list of sexiest names and that name is so there. When one of my "sexiest names ever" is in a book, I have to check it out to see if the author has made said character live up to the idea I have in my head.

Elisabeth Naughton totally did! Rafe is a sexy son of gun and entirely too smart for his own good. He's used to getting his way and going through women as needed to achieve his goals so when he meets Lisa, it was like he hit a brick wall and remained a bit dazed for a while.

Lisa Maxwell is who I wanted to be like when I grew up. She's the female Indian Jones character I envisioned myself to be while climbing, digging and generally doing non-girly things as a child. She was just so appealing as a heroine. Tough, sassy and intelligent while still maintaining her femininity among relics, men and danger.

The sparks between Lisa and Rafe were instantaneous, and always present, even when they were arguing with each other or running for their lives. Lisa can't help but find Rafe sexy. However, just because she was attracted to Rafe didn't mean Lisa was going to just sit back and let him make all the decisions. She's an independent thinker and if her ideas and opinions were the same as Rafe's fine, if they weren't, well, that's just too bad for Rafe. Having them butt heads in the beginning definitely lessened the intensity of the situation they later find themselves in and balances the overall story.

Rafe and Lisa aren't alone in their adventures though. An assortment of friends and family pop in and out of the story and provide everything from comedy relief, information and assistance. Sets up the next two books in the trilogy quite nicely too.

With just enough details and descriptions to give it credibility but not too much to cripple the pace, Stolen Fury is a fun, sexy and exciting beginning to a trilogy that mixes myth and history with adventure and romance. The next two books are sitting in my e-reader and I can't wait to get to them!



Rating: 
Find Elisabeth Naughton:
Online l Twitter l Facebook l GoodReads

Monday, November 19, 2012

ARC Review: The Bridegroom Wore Plaid by Grace Burrowes

Format: epub (provided by NetGalley)
Release Date: December 4, 2012
Purchase Links: Amazon l Kindle l Barnes and Noble l Nook

In an effort to preserve the family estate, Ian MacGregor, the Earl of Balfour, must marry for money. 

When a promising match emerges in the form of Genie Daniels, a rich English heiress, Ian begins devising a strategy to woo her. 

When he meets Genie's poor cousin Augusta, he discovers a new avenue to Genie's heart. 

But after spending time with Augusta and falling for her charms, Ian begins to question whether or not he's willing to forfeit his heart to save the family name...

Wow, I just cannot say how much I enjoyed this book. Much more than I thought. It is such a romantic story all around but it doesn't get so sugary sweet that the reader will get cavities. It was so full of surprises in terms of the characters, and they were pleasant surprises too! Can I also say how beautiful the cover is? The colors are soft but not too soft to downplay the masculinity of the male model. Looking back on previous covers, they're all quite beautiful and colorful aren't they?

Ian MacGregor is at first unremarkable as far as heroes go. He doesn't make a grand entrance, isn't flashy, isn't particularly witty with his speech but if you hold on a bit, he slowly starts to show what an amazing man he is. He is a family man, who's first loyalty is to his two younger brothers, sister, niece and countless family scattered across the globe. 

This is why he must sacrifice his wish for love and marry instead for money. He is a gentleman through and through, even as he falls in love with Augusta. He is never cruel to her in an attempt to gain her hatred and enable her to move on with her life. He is tender, caring, polite and oh so romantic. I fell in love with not only him, but his brothers Con and Gil and little Fiona as well.

Augusta Merrick is very similar to Ian in the sense that at first, she doesn't seem all that interesting. She came off as stuffy and uncaring in the beginning but just like Ian, as time went on I found her to be intelligent, caring, funny and sadly resigned to her life as a serious spinster and chaperone for her more marriageable cousins.

I expected a bit of a Cinderella type story with The Bridegroom Wore Plaid, including the evil step-sister roles being filled by Hester and Eugenia but happily that wasn't the case either. Hester is charming and Eugenia (Genie) was definitely a surprise. She isn't just a rich, pretty face and even though she's a secondary character, she is interesting, sweet, strong willed and terrified at the prospect of marrying Ian.

There are quite a few love stories going on in this book and while each was enjoyable, I felt that each couple deserved their own book or at least not to have so many relationships happening in one book. I really loved  the MacGregor siblings Connor, Gilgallon and Mary Francis as well as Augusta's cousin Michael Daniels that I felt robbed not being able to see each couple's relationship develop and grow like Ian and Augusta's did.

All in all, The Bridegroom Wore Plaid is a delightfully romantic story infused with humor and brought to life by a lively group of characters. I can't wait to read more from Grace Burrowes in the future so I'm adding this book and her others to my wishlist.




Rating: 

Find Grace Burrowes:

Friday, November 16, 2012

Spotlight Review: Escalation Clause by Liz Crowe

Format: epub (provided by Tri-Destiny Publishing)
Release Date: November 4, 2012
Purchase Links: Amazon l Kindle l Barnes and Noble l Nook

Young love burns hot and bright. Soul mates are found, then lost in the blink of an eye. When young widow Maureen Gordon Taylor meets her daughter's sexy soccer coach, her body and heart slowly thaw. But will holding tight to the past cost her a future?

A devastating blow shatters a family's fragile happiness. Rob Freitag and Lila Warren now confront life without the emotional glue that once bound them, but a shared goal brings them back together. Is it enough to make them whole again and become the family they were meant to be?

Mutual trust is hard won for the Gordons. Then tragedy strikes, sending Jack and Sara’s lives into a tailspin. To keep her family from falling apart, she must force Jack to admit his deepest fears. After everything they’ve been through, can they revive the spark and move to the next stage of marital fulfillment?”

The sweeping saga of the Stewart Realty series continues as long-time friends learn to rely on each other, and to grab hold of happiness before it's too late.



If I wasn't so certain that author Liz Crowe was planning more books in this series, I'd be mourning the loss of all these characters. I feel that I have gone on a deeply reflective, emotional and mentally draining journey with dysfunctional strangers who became dysfunctional friends. I am amazed though not truly surprised that Liz Crowe has managed to keep each book in the Stewart Realty series fresh and unique while not completely forgetting previous characters or story lines.

The love, tears and drama continues with Escalation Clause, the 6th book in Liz Crowe's Stewart Realty series. Picking up right in the middle of a family tragedy, Escalation Clause doesn't waste time evoking a powerful response from the reader. The shock, grief, confusion and the overwhelming sense of "Where do we go from here?"permeate the first few pages and grab the readers' attention and emotions immediately.

Still remaining as loyal to the "Romance for Real Life" sub genre as its predecessors, Escalation Clause not only continues with old characters like Jack, Sara, Suzanne, Rob, and Craig but also brings into the spotlight previously minor characters and introduces some new ones as well such as Jack's sister Maureen.

Liz Crowe's characters are so realistic and so worn down by life that they resonate with readers. Because Escalation Clause and the rest of the Stewart Realty series' target audience are adults, they can well relate to all the grief, hardships and small pockets of happiness that real life puts them through.

Escalation Clause may be a new beginning for some characters but for older couples Jack and Sara and Rob and Lila, it's another chapter in their struggle to keep their relationships strong and as healthy as possible. Fans of Jack and Sara will not be disappointed with Escalation Clause, they get plenty of page time.

Jack's sister Maureen is further explored as well. From the first time Jack appeared in Floor Time, he sparked curiosity about his sister and her life. It was Jack's close relationship with her when he avoided solid relationships with women for so long that built up interest in Maureen. She isn't boring that's for sure, and it will be interesting to see her begin to heal her life and begin the uphill struggle to find happiness.

While most book series' are losing steam well before the sixth book (if they even make it to book 6), The Stewart Realty series charges forward with Escalation Clause, another realistic, moving story of love, passion, loss and having the courage to fight for happiness among the pitfalls of life. It is definitely as strong and addictive as its predecessors.


Rating: 
About Liz:

Microbrewery owner, best-selling author, beer blogger and journalist, mom of three teenagers, and soccer fan, Liz lives in the great Midwest, in a major college town.  Years of experience in sales and fund raising, plus an eight-year stint as an ex-pat trailing spouse, plus making her way in a world of men (i.e. the beer industry), has prepped her for life as erotic romance author.

When she isn’t sweating inventory and sales figures for the brewery, she can be found writing, editing or sweating promotional efforts for her latest publications.
Her groundbreaking romance subgenre, “Romance for Real Life,” has gained thousands of fans and followers who are interested less in the “HEA” and more in the “WHA” (“What Happens After?”)

Her beer blog a2beerwench.com is nationally recognized for its insider yet outsider views on the craft beer industry. Her books are set in the not-so-common worlds of breweries, on the soccer pitch and in high-powered real estate offices.  Don’t ask her for anything “like” a Budweiser or risk painful injury.

Find Liz Crowe:

Wednesday, November 14, 2012

ARC Review: The Charmed Souls by Christine Wenrick + Giveaway

Format: pdf (provided by author)
Release Date: November 22, 2012
Purchase Links: Amazon l Smashwords

Olivia Ann Grayson is a Charmer, a Dhampir with the power to lure the supernatural world’s most dangerous of creatures – and she’s in an impossible situation. She must leave behind Caleb Wolfe, the strong, protective vampire she has fallen madly in love with, in order to learn how to protect herself from the vampires, shifters and demons that will be drawn to her for the rest of her life.

Human Guardian, Alec Lambert, has been assigned to see to Olivia’s training by the organization he belongs to, which is known simply as The Brethren. He takes Olivia to the group’s stronghold in the mountainous regions of Alberta, Canada, where she discovers the answers to her family’s painful past and the extent to which those hunting her will go to capture her. But she also uncovers many secrets and even more questions about this mysterious group she has trusted to protect her – secrets that will have her fighting to get back to the man she left behind.


. . . but will it be too late?

The followup to Christine Wenrick's debut book, The Charmed (which I recently reviewed) is even more engaging than its predecessor due in part to having already established the main characters and most, if not all their backgrounds. This left more time to focus on the storyline and the conflict at hand.


One major concern when reading a series is that the consistency of the characters will be lost from one book to the next but that is not the case in The Charmed Souls. Each character continues to grow and come into their own without losing what essentially made them who they are in the first place. Very reassuring when reading this book and preparing for the third in the series.

Olivia is still stubborn, but she's also grown up more, if that's possible. She was figuratively dropped on her head right into the middle of a paranormal mess and rather than spending an obscene amount of time whimpering, whining and complaining, she has stepped up and stood her ground as best as she could. And even though she misses Caleb, who she is convinced is the love of her life, she continues to learn about her past, her abilities and how to protect herself from harm so that she is not a burden on anyone. Very admirable indeed.

Caleb is still somewhat of a mystery to readers, partly due to the fact that The Charmed Souls, like its predecessor, is told from Olivia's point of view. This makes Caleb appear even more mysterious, brooding and overall appealing to readers.


The Charmed Souls is shrouded in more mystery than the first book but thankfully doesn't waste too much time before revealing some major secrets about Olivia's family, the Brethren and even Caleb. Cleverly revealed towards the end of The Charmed Souls, the secrets serve, in my opinion to keep the reader interested enough to await the third book in the series which isn't due for release until March 2013 *sobs*

The heat and intensity of Caleb and Olivia's relationship hasn't dimmed a bit since The Charmed first brought them together. If anything, their relationship is hotter and more confident now that both Caleb and Olivia know their love is real. There are some very tender scenes between the two and provides an emotional balance to the story.

It's not all about Caleb and Oliva though. Alec, Gemma and Jax also have some page time in The Charmed Souls that reveals a little more about these otherwise background characters. Their scenes help push the story forward and give the reader a break from Caleb and Oliva's relationship. 

While The Charmed, the first book in the series, inevitably draws comparisons to Stephenie Meyer's mega popular Twilight series, Christine Wenrick's books are a completely, one hundred percent adult series that just happens to be told in first person.

The Charmed Souls effortlessly picks up where The Charmed left off and keeps the adventure alive. Olivia now knows about the paranormal world around her, she is a part of it and though she fears for the lives of Caleb, Alec and the rest of her adopted family, she isn't going to stand back and let the enemy triumph and take what she loves most in her new world.

Fans of paranormal romance looking for something a little different should pick up book one (The Charmed) before reading The Charmed Souls in order to avoid being lost or missing out on the foundations of each character. The third book isn't due out until next year so that's plenty of time for readers to get caught up with this first person, adult paranormal romance. 



Rating: 

Find Christine Wenrick:

That's not all my lovely readers, Christine is graciously offering one e-copy of either book one (The Charmed) or book two (The Charmed Souls) to one lucky entrant! So fill out the rafflecopter below for your chance to win!

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Friday, November 9, 2012

Review: How to Tame a Willful Wife by Christy English

Format: epub (provided by NetGalley)
Release Date: 
Purchase Links: Amazon l Kindle l Barnes and Noble l Nook

How To Tame A Willful Wife:

1. Forbid her from riding astride
2. Hide her dueling sword
3. Burn all her breeches and buy her silk drawers
4. Frisk her for hidden daggers
5. Don't get distracted while frisking her for hidden daggers...

Anthony Carrington, Earl of Ravensbrook, expects a biddable bride. A man of fiery passion tempered by the rigors of war into steely self-control, he demands obedience from his troops and his future wife. Regardless of how fetching she looks in breeches.

Promised to the Earl of Plump Pockets by her impoverished father, Caroline Montague is no simpering miss. She rides a war stallion named Hercules, fights with a blade, and can best most men with both bow and rifle. She finds Anthony autocratic, domineering, and...ridiculously gorgeous.

It's a duel of wit and wills in this charming retelling of The Taming of the Shrew. But the question is...who's taming whom?

I'll admit, I have never read The Taming of the Shrew or watched any adaptations save for 10 Things I Hate About You so I had nothing to compare it to. That said, How to Tame a Willful Wife is an entertaining love story about two very stubborn, very determined and very lonely people who find themselves married and must learn to change their solitary ways if they want a chance at happiness.


Anthony is like most men in fiction, stubborn and borderline controlling with his wife Caroline, but before the axes and pitchforks come out, allow me to say he has his reasons. He's a "Fool me once, shame on you, fool me twice, shame on me" kind of man. Naturally, as each of his "ideas" on how to reform Caroline backfires, he becomes more and more constricting until it nearly destroys him and Caroline both.

Caroline is definitely worthy of the "Willful Wife" title, to a fault. She's so hell bent on doing what she wants and not allowing anyone to tell her what to do that she becomes more and more reckless, careless and at times, childish. She's an intelligent woman in most matters except when it comes to dealing with Anthony. That's the area where she tends to act like an immature girl and lets her hormones get the best of her. She tries to stand up to Anthony but fails to make her point whenever he employs his seductive maneuvers. While understandable because Anthony is quite a bit older than her and naturally more experienced, it grated on my nerves a bit that she didn't have the sense to stand her ground no matter what.

There's no denying however that the chemistry between Anthony and Caroline is hot. What added to the intensity of Anthony and Caroline's scenes was the rivalry that existed between them from the very beginning. They set off sparks whenever they were together and author Christy English succeeded in making this particular reader reach for the ice water.


How to Tame a Willful Wife is a humorous, romantic take on Shakespeare that I would recommend to romance fans who are looking for a battle of the sexes type book that doesn't take The Taming of the Shrew theme too seriously.




Rating: 

Find Christy English:

Thursday, November 8, 2012

Review: Conditional Offer by Liz Crowe

Format: epub (provided by publisher)
Release Date: August 23, 2012
Purchase Links: Amazon l Kindle l Barnes and Noble l Nook

Craig Robinson and Suzanne Baxter had no reason to meet, no real excuse to be friends. But when heart calls to heart…blood to blood…should two people who seem destined to be together heed the spin of Fate’s wheel?

Craig spent years floating through life on cruise control, using directionless jobs, his rock band, swimming, and a string of older women in his bed to smother feelings of loneliness and loss. He finally thought he had found his true love in one Sara Thornton — A sexy, beautiful, fellow real estate agent and mentor. But his self-doubt and innate sense of failure is only reinforced when he realizes her heart belongs to another man.

When Sara introduces him to Suzanne, a woman fighting her own demons from an abusive marriage and subsequent feelings of inadequacy and deep unhappiness, that simple, chance moment snaps Craig’s hazy existence into crystal-clear focus. A bond of instant physical attraction, nurtured by time and shared experience, and plenty of erotic energy, is born.
As Suzanne’s past continues to haunt her, making her push Craig away just as he thinks he’s getting closer, each of them must come to terms with their true selves and face their ultimate realities. 



Normally I'd be a little bored by the 5th book in a series and would need to take a break and read another author, but not with Liz Crowe. I find myself extremely attached to all the characters in the series, even ones who normally wouldn't catch my attention. She just has a way of drawing a reader into this fictional, but based on reality world that makes a reader like myself not want to leave.

Because I am a serious reader (thinker and over-analyze things to death) and treat characters as if they were real, Liz's books have been both a blessing and a curse. I love these books because they are so well written and developed but at the same time they draw me in so deeply that I forget about my surroundings and force me to look at my own life and see just how much of these characters' lives and personalities mirror my own.


Conditional Offer
by Liz Crowe, while a separate book in series, is not meant to be read as a standalone, none of them are unless you like being confused and missing out on the whole picture. There are scenes from the previous books that are revisited from another character's point of view and if a reader hasn't read the previous books, then Conditional Offer will leave them confused, lost, frustrated and without the full enjoyment that I've obtained from reading the series in order.

In Conditional Offer it's Craig Robinson and Suzanne Baxter's turn in the spotlight, with some "back up" from the usual suspects. From the moment Craig entered the picture, I knew he wasn't a "bad guy" in the traditional sense of the phrase and while Jack Gordon may have gotten the girl and have rowdier fans, Craig is no slouch in the fan department (don't ask me which "Team" I'm on, I can't decide). When I first met Craig he struck me as a young, carefree beach bum wannabe with hidden layers to him. I was right about the layers.


It was really great to revisit scenes from previous books and see them from a different perspective. It was almost like a brand new scene each time and I felt a little spoiled by author Liz Crowe. I love that she gave fans of her books a chance to see previous scenes from a different angle, allowing us a chance to "re-meet" Craig and get to know him better through the events of the past. It was a great way to lead up to the present and his relationship with Suzanne because it provided more background information than all the previous books combined.


Suzanne, to me, truly represents battered women in the AFTERMATH of it all. Struggling with self doubt, feelings of loneliness, fear and the emotional backlash of having lived and survived abuse. It plays hell on relationships, and not just the romantic ones either. Suzanne may have at times sounded as a heartless, unfeeling bitch due to her past involvement in Blake Thorton's life and again it would be easy to cast a Liz Crowe character as a villain just based on the above information. It is human nature after all to cast hasty judgments without having all the necessary information. However, if you've been reading Liz's books from the beginning then you should know that first impressions are DEFINITELY not accurate with any of her characters. That saying about it just being "the tip of the iceberg" definitely applies when reading a Liz Crowe book.

Having said that, Craig and Suzanne face a lot of obstacles, both separately and together while both the past and the present conspire to keep them apart. It was nerve-wracking to watch because Liz Crowe can be quite unpredictable with her characters, much like real life is.

Conditional Offer
, though the 5th book of a series, does not fail to define Liz Crowe's "Romance for Real Life" sub-genre, so concerns about a "slump" or the series losing "steam" and becoming repetitive are not a concern here. There's plenty of wounds, new and old that need to be worked on, and as in real life, even those relationships that have come "full circle" *cough* Jack and Sara *cough* still need work and are NEVER 100% fail proof. If they were, divorce wouldn't exist.

If you're a reader looking for angst, drama and more than a little dose of reality in your next erotic read, please check out the first in the Stewart Realty series, Floor Time.


Rating: 

Find Liz Crowe:

Wednesday, November 7, 2012

Review: Shadow by Laurann Dohner

Format: epub (RAK gift)
Release Date: October 30, 2012
Purchase Links: Kindle l Nook

Beauty resents being labeled Gift Species. Everyone is way too overprotective, males aren’t even allowed to speak to her and so far true freedom eludes her. Then a big, sexy Species officer mistakes her for the enemy and takes her to the ground.

Shadow is dumbfounded. He has a Gift pinned under him—a big no-no. But Beauty is fascinated and wants to know Shadow a lot better. She is full of newly discovered, unrequited passion and he’s just what she needs to satisfy her curiosity.

For Shadow, sex means pain and revulsion. For Beauty, it was enslavement and ridicule. Two lonely souls who have never known a lover’s touch, together in a cabin in the woods. Each touch, every discovery brings them closer to a life they never thought possible…beyond even their dreams.

I was a little apprehensive about reading Shadow being that it has the first New Species/New Species pairing in the series and the previous book (Obsidian) was a little bit of a let down. But Shadow quickly redeemed the series in my eyes. The humor, sexuality and overall rhythm of the series has returned full force with Shadow.

Beauty is actually the first real look into the lives and minds of Gift females, who are smaller and physically weaker than their taller, tougher New Species counterparts and are therefore treated as borderline sacred, don't look, don't touch. I wondered if author Laurann Dohner had a plan for these females or if they just decorations to further other characters' stories.

Beauty hates it. She feels that they way Gift females are treated is only condemning them to another prison and she's not about to accept it. I loved her as a heroine. Much more than I thought. She may be physically smaller but she's has more courage than any of the other heroines in the series simply because she's had more odds stacked against her from the beginning so to see her not only survive but go after what she wants was exciting.

Shadow is a relatively new character who was introduced only a few books ago so I didn't have much time to "bond" with him like I have other characters but what I did know of him I liked. He was the example of the New Species male that I had originally fallen in love with. An Alpha male who is more vulnerable than he thinks and more lovable than he knows.

Shadow may have that old familiar New Species magic but it is a bit different from the other books in the series. While previous books were hot, erotic and extremely sexy, Shadow focuses less on the sexual chemistry and more about the emotional side of Shadow and Beauty's relationship. That's not to say the erotic scenes that are an important part of the NS series aren't there, it's just that they're more tied to the emotional development of Shadow and Beauty rather than just sex.

One of the best parts was catching glimpses of previous NS males, Justice (my favorite), Fury and Tiger (another favorite) and finding out Tiger's reaction to Wrath's mate's pet cat's name and what he does to get back at Wrath and Fury's hilarious reactions to his reaction (Were you able to follow all that?).

Overall I really liked Shadow and it renewed my faith and love of the series. I can't wait until my personal favorites Moon, Brass and Harley get their own books.


Rating: 

Find Laurann Dohner: