Taking Review Requests: Not at the moment, but if you're requesting a guest post, interview etc then please see my policy before requesting.

Hosting Giveaways: Yes

Accepting Author Interviews/Guest Posts: Yes

• My review policy and contact info is located OVER HERE.

Bloggers, I would love to interview you, have you guest post and/or guest review here! Please contact me if you're interested!




Sunday, September 30, 2012

October Giveaway #1: Laura Wright

Be sure to grab the smaller version for your blog on the right!
I LOVE Halloween, it's like Christmas for me. There's something about dressing (and acting) as someone else and no matter who/what that is, it is acceptable. Only on Halloween. I love the paranormal aspect of it, the candies, the haunted houses and of course with the paranormal comes the love of paranormal romances. My love of Halloween is YOUR gain because I am having a whole month of giveaways! I'll be giving away e-copies of some of my favorite authors' books so keep checking back to see what I'm giving away next!

All giveaways will be International. Must be able to receive e-books from Amazon, Barnes and Noble and/or Smashwords.

Books that are part of the giveaway are for mature readers only (18 and up). 

Now, onto the first giveaway.

Giveaway #1 features the lovely and VERY talented Laura Wright!

I really want to give one lucky person the chance to win one of Laura Wright's Mark of the Vampire books. So if you're missing one from your collection, here's your chance to add it, or if you're new to the series, you can get the first book, Eternal Hunger. This is a very steamy, hot, sexy and bold series which is why this giveaway is for the 18 and over crowd. Click on each book thumbnail for summaries and excerpts. Fill out the rafflecopter below for a chance to win an e-copy!




a Rafflecopter giveaway


Find Laura Wright
 

Saturday, September 29, 2012

ARC Review: Paradise Hops by Liz Crowe

Format: PDF (provided by publisher)
Release Date: October 15, 2012
Purchase Links: Barnes and Noble l All Romance E-books

A brutal attack  left Lori  Brockton convinced she was damaged goods. By the time she emerges from hiding two years later, ready to run her family’s famous  brewery, she’s determined to be independent–never rely on anyone ever again. Nearly a year of working in every corner of Brockton Brewing Company, from warehouse to pub, front office to kitchen, teaches her all she needs to know about the business.

Then, she comes face-to-face with masculine perfection in a suit and her world is rocked in more ways than one. Garret Hunter is the new Brockton business manager who takes one look at the beautiful, sad young woman and his entire existence coalesces  around winning her heart.

But standing between Garrett and what he believes is his true love, is a six-feet six-inch blond-haired bad boy brewer.

Eli Buchannan is a craft beer rock star, recently hired by Brockton to drag the company into the 21st century. He brings innovation and attitude plus a prima donna ladies’ man reputation.  But he’s sworn off anything resembling commitment, personal or professional, after getting burned at his last job on both fronts.

Garret Hunter is “The Perfect Man” – handsome, successful, stable, eager to settle down. Eli Buchannan… is not.  Compelling, smoking hot, creative and elusive, he represents everything Lori Brockton should avoid.  But just as  she makes a difficult choice, a drastic life-changing shift occurs, and nothing is ever the same again.


Liz Crowe doesn't write typical romance. She doesn't write those romances that most of us are so fond of, those that wrap up all the conflict and angst by the end of the book and present readers with a happily ever after that takes readers to cloud nine for a while. Not that there's a problem with those, but Liz is different.

Liz Crowe writes "Romance for Real Life." What is that you ask? "Romance for Real Life" is just what it sounds like, it's more real to life, her characters are as complex as everyday people. It would be easy to see Garrett, Eli and Lori in the average, everyday person. If you want to know more straight from Liz herself, then check out this post on her site. She explains it better than I can.

Point blank, Paradise Hops has the tragedy of a Shakespearean play, the love triangle of Pearl Harbor (the film) and the emotional upheaval of P.S. I Love You. This is not an easy journey, it is full of confusion, angst, difficult choices and heart breaking situations that put love to the test and forces one woman to confront the consequences of her choices head on.

Lori Brockton is in a tough situation, she's caught between two men who could be "Mr. Right" for her. If only she could be sure which man IS the right one for her.

It would be easy to judge Lori for her inability to choose between Garrett and Eli but before you bring out your pitchforks, think about this: Could you choose between one man who completes your need for a quiet, strong, dependable love and another man who completes your need for a wild, passionate, addictive love?

Uh huh, not as easy to judge her now is it?

Neither man is wrong for Lori, they just appeal to totally different sides of her emotionally and sexually. It's nearly impossible to hate either one of them because both Garrett and Eli love Lori deeply and sincerely but each in their own unique way. Author Liz Crowe created sympathy for all three characters when it would be so easy to cast one or more of them as villains. The only true villain were the circumstances Garrett, Eli and Lori find themselves in.

Paradise Hops is so heart breaking and emotionally challenging that at times I forgot I was in fact, reading fiction and not the memoir of a woman who has seen and experienced a full circle of emotions: Love, Pain, Lust, Loss, Devastation and ended up, after much time, in love and content with her life.

I am not ashamed to admit, I cried with this book. Not silent tears mind you, but sobs, loud ones and it involved tissues. I was surprised at the emotions this story brought out in me.

With its erotic, romantic scenes, multidimensional characters and bittersweet ending, Paradise Hops is an incredibly moving, emotionally charged roller coaster ride that readers won't soon forget. If you only read a handful of books this year, be sure to include this one!

Rating:

Find Liz Crowe:

Tuesday, September 25, 2012

Happy Release Day!


Happy Release Day to Joan Swan! The second book in her Phoenix Rising series, Blaze is out today! If you haven't already, head on over to Amazon or Barnes and Nobel and buy your copy today! You can check out my review of Blaze here. You can also check out each of Joan's blog tour stops and enter to win a copy of Blaze at each stop!

Summary: With a man like him, every mission becomes personal. . .

Ever since FBI agent Keira O'Shay started tracking a young boy named Mateo, she's felt a connection even her empathic abilities can't explain. She needs to save Mateo from the cult leader holding him hostage. Nothing can interfere with that--not even the reappearance of Luke Ransom, the hot-as-hell fire captain she's regretted walking out on for three long years.

Losing Keira left Luke vulnerable--in every way. When they were together, the powers each possesses were mysteriously enhanced. But it's the sexy, surprising woman beneath the tough exterior that Luke's really missed. Even if she betrayed him utterly. And even if agreeing to help her uncover a government conspiracy means watching his life and his heart go up in flames again. . .


Also on sale today:

Sebastian, Viscount Beauchamp lives by a code of honor, and now honor dictates he must marry Miss Carissa Portland. He has no regrets over stealing a kiss from the adorable little busybody—a fitting punishment for putting her delectable nose where it didn’t belong. But now, caught in a compromising situation, he knows he must make her his bride. He’s faced danger before—but nothing like this!

Carissa is not a gossip—she’s a "lady of information." And all she was trying to do was warn the rakehell Beauchamp away from an irate husband. But even she can’t flaunt Society, and while her head tells her that Beau’s a notorious scoundrel, her heart–and her body–are captivated by his dangerous charm. But when Carissa next goes snooping, the secrets she uncovers about the Inferno Club may prove even more hazardous than falling in love with your own husband!    


 

Monday, September 24, 2012

ARC Review: My Scandalous Viscount by Gaelen Foley

Format: epub (provided by Edelweiss)
Release Date: September 25, 2012
Purchase Links: Amazon l Kindle l Barnes and Noble l Nook l IndieBound

Sebastian, Viscount Beauchamp lives by a code of honor, and now honor dictates he must marry Miss Carissa Portland. He has no regrets over stealing a kiss from the adorable little busybody—a fitting punishment for putting her delectable nose where it didn’t belong. But now, caught in a compromising situation, he knows he must make her his bride. He’s faced danger before—but nothing like this!

Carissa is not a gossip—she’s a "lady of information." And all she was trying to do was warn the rakehell Beauchamp away from an irate husband. But even she can’t flaunt Society, and while her head tells her that Beau’s a notorious scoundrel, her heart–and her body–are captivated by his dangerous charm. But when Carissa next goes snooping, the secrets she uncovers about the Inferno Club may prove even more hazardous than falling in love with your own husband!  

I have been a die hard fan of Gaelen Foley's for years. Her books have become more than just exciting stories to me and more of a reminder of how the simplest things like a great book can get you out of a bad place in your life for moments at a time. 

The Inferno Club series has long been a favorite of mine but with the events of the previous book, My Ruthless Prince I didn't know where the series could and would go after that rather amazing conclusion. The last thing I wanted was for the danger and excitement to be forgotten.

I wasn't particularly pleased with the next heroine either as Carissa was a bit annoying every time she appeared in previous books. She came off as whiny and a bit ditzy, neither of which was very appealing. So you can understand my trepidation in picking up My Scandalous Viscount

It took me awhile to warm up to Carissa, she's not as interesting as Kate (My Dangerous Duke) or as bold as Emily (My Ruthless Prince) but even as slow as she is to reveal her true personality, Carissa does belong among the Inferno Club members and their wives. She carries a secret shame and being apprised of all the ton's gossip is her way of keeping herself safe. One thing I did notice is that Carissa isn't really a gossip, she's nosy and she gathers information however she sees fit but she doesn't spread what she finds out, she keeps it to herself. This made my first impression of her change drastically. 

Beau at first wasn't very memorable, he was the typical rake with women trailing after him who just happened to be a liaison between the Crown and The Order. It wasn't until after an accident involving Carissa that he became more interesting. There's an intense, warm, loving man with a strong sense of duty underneath all that frivolous flirting and cavorting.

I do feel that things were a little too easy for Beau and Carissa in this book. There weren't any major obstacles preventing them from loving one another. In comparison to the previous books in the series, My Scandalous Viscount seems a bit tame.There isn't much in the way of spy games in this book and that was a bit disappointing. I was hoping for more danger, intrigue and mystery. The passion was still there, but even that was a bit more subdued than the previous books, however, My Scandalous Viscount is the most romantic of the entire series so far. Beau is sweet and tender towards Carissa and I found myself becoming a bit jealous of her halfway through the book! I held my breath towards the end because I wasn't sure that Carissa would prove herself worthy of him.

My Scandalous Viscount may be a bit of a let down for those who have come to expect heart pounding scenes and steamy encounters but it does provide humor, romance and not one but TWO more Inferno Club members who's stories are just itching to be told. If you're a die hard fan of Gaelen Foley, then you should add this book to your "Buy" list. 


Rating: 


Find Gaelen Foley:

Friday, September 21, 2012

Author! Author! Interview with Johnny Ray

Huge thanks once again to Johnny Ray, who has taken the time to answer a few of my questions. You can read my review of Johnny's latest book For Love and Vengeance over here. 




The last time I interviewed you, you said that you were working on becoming the master of the romantic thriller. Is that still your goal?
 
This is a lofty goal, but yes . . . I would love to have this title. I think also reaching for this keeps me focused on what I want to write. Mixing romance with a thriller feels so natural to me.
 
 
How has your writing style changed from your first book to For Love and Vengeance?
 
I think the main difference is that my work is more fluid now. Like all writers I hope to get better with each book. Since my first book, I would say I have been critiqued by over 200 other authors, read by over 100 beta readers with feedback, judges by over fifty judges with advice and I’ve hired over 100 editors to tear my work apart. I also listen to my readers who send me a lot of fan mail. With this all said, I want my next book to always be better than the last one.

 
When you have writer's block, what do you do to help get past it?
 
I’m not sure I have writer’s block, but I do get trapped into bad plots that I have to work myself out of, and this takes time to accomplish what I want to tell in the story. I feel like the plots are my strongest part of my novels, and I work on them extremely hard. 

 
Spies are very popular characters in almost every genre of books and obviously in movies. What in your opinion is so appealing about spies?
 
They definitely are not part of the normal day to day people most people know. Reading for many people is a way to escape. Spies open up a very interesting world of intrigue and adventure that accomplishes what I think readers really want—entertainment.
 
 
When you start writing a new book, do you already know the direction of it from beginning to end or does the story kind of write itself as you go along?
 
I know the entire story before I start, but I also add some new twist along the way. The plot expands often as the characters grow.
 
 
What sparked the idea for this book? 

The actual spark in this novel is very interesting. I actually went surfing and was bumped by a shark. There was one girl in the water and we both made it to shore safely. We went to a wine bar and walked the beach, but I managed to have her phone number ruined by the surf hitting my pants and never saw her again. So, I made her a spy in a novel and let my imagination take over from there. 
 
 
What was your favorite part of writing For Love and Vengeance?
The original title for this novel was SUMMER WINE. I listen to the old classic song often while I was writing this work. Doing the research was also very interesting for me as well.
 
What was the last book you read and loved?
One book that really stands out is LOVERS AND STRANGERS by Jackie Collins.
 
Are you working on anything new at the moment?
I have four more novels coming out by the end of the year. That will take up a lot of my time. I am also working on a sequel to one of them, which will be based in Milan, Italy. I love doing the research on it.
 
FOR LOVE AND VENGEANCE is the second book in a three book series. I will start book three the first of next year. There is still a lot of unfinished business that Royce and Valerie need to accomplish. Book one will give the back story of what happened to Royce earlier. I hope to release both of these late in 2013.


 Find Johnny Ray

Thursday, September 20, 2012

Review: Undone by Lila DiPasqua

Format: epub (provided by author)
Release Date: April 21, 2012
Purchase Links: Amazon l Kindle l Barnes and Noble l Nook l Smashwords l All Romance E-Books


Maintaining her ruse as a commoner, and trusting no one has kept Angelica safe. But a chance encounter with a handsome stranger lands her right where danger lies. Now, this sinfully handsome man with arresting blue eyes and a polished manner thinks he’s saved her life, when in fact he’s placed her in great peril. She’s intent on keeping him and everyone else at arm’s length. Yet, the smoldering attraction between them is difficult to deny. And impossible to ignore . . .

As commander of a number of privateer ships, Simon Boulenger dresses and speaks like an aristocrat, and has obtained wealth. But he is still not a noble. Or an officer in the King’s Navy. His lifelong dream to elevate himself from his station of birth and attain a respectable place in society is dead. Worse, he’s ensnared in a deadly scheme, and must get out. But how is he to stay focused on his dangerous mission when the mysterious beauty has him utterly intrigued? He can’t afford the distraction any more than he can resist the carnal hunger she stirs. Simon soon discovers that she’s not only a passionate soul mate, but a woman born into privilege. A woman he can never have. But they’re in too deep. Their hearts are at risk ... as well as their lives.


Who said fairy tales can't be for adults? Certainly not Lila DiPasqua! She's taken yet another well known children's story and made it into an erotic tale of love, betrayal and adventure. I was so excited to read Undone in part because I love the idea of adult fairy tales and of course, because I just love having the chance to discover a new favorite.

I originally thought Undone was going to be just a sexed up, cheesy story inspired by Rapunzel but no, there really isn't that much of the children's tale in this book, just vague similarities that if you don't already know the story of Rapunzel, you won't notice. Undone didn't disappoint at all. In fact, it exceeded my expectations and made me a fan of author Lila DiPasqua in the process. 


Let's talk about the hero and the heroine, I loved both Simon and Angelica immediately after meeting them. Two more wounded warriors I can't recall, they're both passionate and stubborn so it was interesting to see how these two would work around their personal issues.

Angelica isn't a very wordy heroine, I noticed that right away, BUT that doesn't mean she's a push over either. She's just an expert in what I call "Intellectual Warfare." She thinks things through and prefers to prove her point through actions. She's a firecracker that one and I loved this new (to me) type of heroine. One that saves her arguments until she can back them up with actions. She knows that if she goads someone physically stronger than her into a physical confrontation, she won't win, but if she thinks the situation through, she stands a chance of getting her way. Smart, strong woman = interesting book.

Simon. Ah Simon. He exudes such raw sexuality that it's hard not to shiver whenever he graces the pages, let alone when he speaks. He's immediately attracted to Angelica and is torn between his desire for her and doing right by her. He's definitely one of the sexiest fictional characters I've ever come across. Let's just say if Simon were a real man and not a character, I'd be looking at him like he was the last piece of chocolate and I was dying for a fix. 


Undone is a sexy adventure that will leave you breathless and wanting more. The characters are memorable, the story is engaging and most of all, the chemistry between Simon and Angelica is off the charts!

Rating:

  Find Lila DiPasqua:

Wednesday, September 19, 2012

Dirty Little Secret #66


Dirty Little Secret is a weekly meme hosted by Under the Covers. Every Thursday we get to know other bloggers and our readers more intimately by asking them a question hoping to reveal their dirty little secrets. We hope that you will all join us!

This week's question:
"What's your favorite place to read"
 
My Answer:
I love to read in a snug area, like a corner seat by a window or a recliner. I don't like people sitting next to me while I read, it gets distracting.  

Sunday, September 16, 2012

Review: For Love and Vengeance by Johnny Ray

Format: pdf (provided by author)
Release Date: August 23, 2012
Purchase Links: Kindle

Both the Americans and the Russians think Victoria works for them exclusively. In truth; the Pack, an International Crime Syndicate, brutally controls her while they launder money in America by buying distressed houses for terrorist sleepers. While she executes the perfect escape, staging her death during a shark attack, she makes one mistake—she meets Royce, who worked as a special operative several years earlier, the night before disappearing.

Royce, on the other hand, wants nothing to do with any American led special operations after he had been lied to in order to keep him focus on his prior mission. His girlfriend had been abducted and brutally murdered earlier while they had kept him in the dark. The last thing he had ever expected was another woman in his life, especially a Russian spy. Furthermore, he never would have believed that she would be the one thing that would encourage him to finish a mission that he should have taken care of the first time.

Royce is well trained on how to discover the truth, so although Victoria’s apparent shark attack was well conceived he knows better. He had used the life of a surfer bum for years as his cover. The more lies he uncovers, the more suspicious he becomes until finally he feels like he has little choice. His prior operation was so top secret even the CIA were told nothing He didn’t need them then, and he sure the hell didn’t need them this time either. The last time it was for country—this time it was going to be personal.

With its balance of action and romance, For Love and Vengeance is one of only a few books that can be read and enjoyed by both men and women. There's enough of the spy/danger element that will definitely appeal to men, but with an intriguing female protagonist like Victoria and the promise of romance with the equally intriguing Royce, women will find this particular story interesting as well.

I know I did. 

Like his previous book, Her Honor's Bodyguard, author Johnny Ray places his characters in almost impossible situations and forces them to not only over come them but face their fears, which are by no means simple, and find that happiness that has eluded them for so long. However, I liked For Love and Vengeance quite a bit more. Must have been the spy element. There's something about two characters who are so used to lying and trusting no one to survive, suddenly having to do the opposite to come out alive.

Victoria is one tough lady, she has to be if she's going to get out of her current situation as a spy. I'm always worried when there is a female spy in a book because often times she turns out to be one dimensional, with no other function but to be a tool to whatever organization she belongs to. Not so in For Love and Vengeance. Victoria is an effective, efficient spy but the author doesn't let the reader forget that she is first and foremost a woman with feelings, hopes, dreams and needs.

She's a character that readers can relate to and root for. Tough but likable.

Then there's Royce. He's a tormented soul, at times it just seemed like he was only existing rather than living his life, but though he seems like he just doesn't care about anything, deep down he is a good man who deserves to be happy.

Not only do Royce and Victoria have their own personal demons to conquer before they can be together, but people who won't rest until they're both dead.

For Love and Vengeance has a fast pace that keeps readers interested but isn't too fast to where readers get lost in all the action and romance. The plot is solid, the characters interesting and the chemistry between them is amazing. This book kept from romanticizing life as a spy while not completely making it an unappealing way of life.

As much as I loved the angst ridden romance between Royce and Victoria, it was the heart pounding action that really gripped me and wouldn't let me go. I found myself reading and biting my nails just wondering if Royce and Victoria would get caught by their enemies. It is a roller coaster of emotions in one book that fans of romantic thrillers will truly enjoy.

All in all, this latest release from Johnny Ray is packed with enough action, mystery, tragedy and romance to keep you thoroughly entertained while reading. If you're a fan romantic thrillers, then do yourself a favor and pick up For Love and Vengeance by Johnny Ray. 

Rating: 
 

 Find Johnny Ray

Wednesday, September 12, 2012

Bitten by Paranormal Romance 18 and Over Blog Hop

Photobucket

This is my very first time participating in a blog hop and I'm so glad I chose this one. I am giving away an e-copy of Jessica Clare's A Girl's Guide to (Man)Hunting. I borrowed it from a friend and LOVED it. As the banner above states, this is an 18 and over giveaway so please, if you're not 18 or over, you need to leave this page.

When you're done entering my giveaway, be sure to hop on over to the other fabulous blogs and enter their giveaways! Now for a little about the book I'm offering:


Once, Miranda felt a little exposed...

Miranda Hill can't believe her eyes--her cocky ex-boyfriend, pro hockey player Dane Croft, is back in Bluebonnet, Texas, after all these years. He ditched her--and their little town--just as some rather shocking photos showed up on the Internet for everyone to see. Miranda wasn't so lucky. Stuck in Bluebonnet and left to fend for herself, she's never really shaken the scandal--or his betrayal. After nine long years, Dane's back, and she has the chance to turn the tables on him...
It's time she gets even.

Former NHL hotshot playboy Dane Croft has returned home to open a survival training school on an old ranch and reinvent himself. When his former high-school girlfriend enrolls in the program, he has no idea that Miranda's plan is to get him in a compromising position--not the one he's imagining, anyway. But soon Miranda realizes that to carry out her deviously sexy revenge, she'll have to get up close and personal with Dane all over again. Being a good girl got her nowhere for nine years; now it's time to be a little naughty. But falling in love with the man who broke her heart was never part of the plan...
Find Jessica Clare (aka Jill Myles):

Buy The Girl's Guide to (Man)Hunting at:

a Rafflecopter giveaway



Tuesday, September 11, 2012

Review: Obsidian by Laurann Dohner

Format: epub (bought)
Release Date: August 29, 2012
Purchase Links: Kindle l Nook l Ellora's Cave

Dr. Allison Baker is obsessed with saving the comatose New Species male. She has tried everything and there’s only one option left. Alli will break every rule and put her life in danger by tempting 880 to wake, using only her feminine scent and touch. She just has to kidnap him and crawl into bed with him to make it work.

880 wakes in a different world with a small female who’s been sleeping beside him, caressing him and wrapping her sweet body around his, teasing his senses. He lies silent and still, listening and evaluating each arousing touch, fighting his body’s reaction. Hatred flares when he discovers she’s human, but Mercile stole everything from him so he decides it’s fair to take her in return.

But things quickly change and he wants her at his side and in his bed. 880 has chosen a new name—Obsidian—the personification of dark and dangerous. He’ll fight them all to keep Alli. No one will stand in his way.

Laurann Dohner doesn't disappoint with her New Species series. She knows how to write an erotic love story that not only satisfies but keeps readers coming back for more. As someone who is still very cautious about erotic romance (if you haven't already, you can read why in an earlier post), I feel safe reading Laurann Dohner's New Species. I trust that she won't write a scene that's going to leave a bad taste in my mouth. Her books are definitely erotic, there's no mistake about that but it's not just sex, sex and more sex on top of that (no pun intended). There's a story involved, there are tormented characters, each of her New Species characters are alternately fascinating and tormented at the same time.

I am totally in love with her New Species characters, they're tortured, strong, tough yet vulnerable, blunt, and yes, they can be very funny sometimes. I have my favorites and those I REALLY want to have their own stories ASAP, I hadn't given much thought to Obsidian though (formerly 880), but when it was released I had to have it. Let me say, it was a little... Different than the rest of the series.

What has made the series so popular and so addictive is still there. The hotter than hell alpha males, the rather unique, and in my opinion brave women who fall for them and of course, the steamy, erotic and generally explosive scenes between the two characters.

So what made Obsidian a little different than the other books in her series?

It's edgier, more raw. Readers get to see a New Species BEFORE he is taught how to co-exist in a free world. Obsidian is rough, rude, crude and at times can be borderline unlikable.

Obsidian
also begins to drift in a new direction, one that may or may not sit well with loyal fans of the series. Personally, I'm curious to see where Laurann Dohner is going to take the New Species series after Obsidian.

Can we talk about Obsidian himself? He is a glimpse into what I'm sure previous favorites like Justice, Fury, Slade and Tiger used to be before they had time to become somewhat civilized and more romantic. Readers are so used to New Species males being dominant but romantic that Obsidian's brash, crude and violent tendencies can be a shock and perhaps a turn off for them. I'll admit to the shock part but Laurann Dohner was definitely careful not to cross the line into the point of no return. Obsidian has some redeeming qualities, he is a New Species after all and not untrainable. That's a hint by the way.

Allison Baker is actually the character I had a bit of a problem with. She wasn't as strong as previous heroines and I wasn't too crazy about that. She was tough enough to kidnap Obsidian and risk her job and life to save him but when it came to standing her ground when Obsidian became too overbearing she meekly backed down. Definitely a turn off.

All in all I liked Obsidian, it wasn't the best New Species book but it was still a New Species book where it counted. It had appearances by some familiar faces and it was great to see Slade and Trisha again. Nice to know that the previous characters haven't been forgotten. I'm hoping that we'll get books for Brass, Moon, Harley and Darkness really soon because they're my favorites.


Rating: 

Find Laurann Dohner: 

Friday, September 7, 2012

18 & Over Book Blogger Follow #45: Say you're a beta...


18 & Over Book Blogger Follow is a weekly feature that begins on Fridays and runs through the weekend, hosted by Crystal from Reading Between the Wines. This is a Friday blog hop with the objective to find and visit other book blogs that share the same interest as you, namely books geared towards the 18 & over crowd, and make some new friends!


How to join in:
-You should run a book blog that features and reviews mostly adult reads, some Y.A.’s are okay but 18 & over adult reads should be your majority.
-Make a separate post for the 18 & Over Book Blogger Follow on your blog.
-Copy the html for the button above and place it at the top of your post.
-List & answer the ‘Question of the Week.’
-Place your name and blog title in the linky below and the url for a direct link to your post
-Visit the other blogs on the list and say 'Hi!' Following each blog is not mandatory but I know it is always appreciated, and if someone comments saying they’re a new follower it’s polite to follow back. J It’s always nice to spread the 18 & Over Book Blogging love!
-Contact me (readingbetweenthewines10 at gmail dot com) with any questions!


Question of the Week: If you could beta read for any author who would it be and why?

My Answer: Such a good question! I have quite a list: Tessa Dare, Elizabeth Hoyt, Lydia Dare, Joan Swan, Laura Wright, Alexandra Hawkins, Gaelen Foley, Sabrina Jeffries, Stacey Joy Netzel and Laurann Dohner.

Quite a list I know and it isn't even the whole list, I just picked a few off of my "Must Have" lists. I love their writing style, they're amazing authors and I'd love the chance to help out in any small way that I can. Plus, it would be a really great learning experience for me since I plan to start on my journalism degree very soon.

Wednesday, September 5, 2012

Dirty Little Secret #64


Dirty Little Secret is a weekly meme hosted by Under the Covers. Every Thursday we get to know other bloggers and our readers more intimately by asking them a question hoping to reveal their dirty little secrets. We hope that you will all join us!

To participate in the meme all you need to do is:

1. Be a follower of Under the Covers.
2. Create a post in your blog taking the meme image (code above) and copy instructions.
3. Answer the question we propose! This can be done in any way you like, post a video, write a post etc.
4. Then add your link below.

Non-bloggers: We want to hear from you as well!!! Let us know your answer in the comments!

We hope you join us and let us know your Dirty Little Secrets!

This week's question:
"What is your take on anthologies? Love them? Hate them? And what is the last anthology you've read and enjoyed?"

My Answer: On the one hand I love anthologies because when I buy one because of one author, I get to try other authors stories as well. That's how I got into Lisa Kleypas and Alexandra Ivy. However, on the other hand if I'm really enjoying the story, in anthologies they're short, they're novellas and that makes me want to pull out my hair! I like passion in my romance with sexual tension, conflict and angst but a novella doesn't have room for a lot of those and that's what drives me up the wall.

Tuesday, September 4, 2012

ARC Review: A Season for Sin by Vicky Dreiling

Format: epub (provided by NetGalley)
Release Date: September 4, 2012
Purchase Links: Kindle l Nook

The Earl of Bellingham is nothing is not a creature of habit: money, meals, and mistresses must be strictly managed if a man is to have a moment's peace. It's a system that works splendidly for him--until now. With his oldest and dearest friends succumbing, one by one, to wedded bliss, Bell is now restless and a trifle lonely. Enter the Sinful Scoundrels--Colin Brockhurst, Earl of Ravenshire, and Harry Norcliffe, Viscount Evermore--who drag him back into society and draw his rakish eye to the ton's new beautiful young widow. Bell isn't after a wife, but a challenge. And Laura Davenport should fit the bill quite nicely...

This novella was my introduction to Vicky Dreiling. I have had her books in my "Must Read" list for quite some time but that list is miles long and I wasn't sure when I'd be able to get a hold of one of her books. Thanks to NetGalley, I have had a chance to read and review this delightful prologue to a new series by Vicky Dreiling.

If A Season for Sin is only a taste of what to expect from the Sinful Scoundrels series, then count me in! Not only are there dashing, irresponsible men to love but a wry humor and easy friendship that begins to develop between the Earl of Bellingham, the Viscount Evermore and the Earl of Ravenshire. These men are intriguing and in desperate need of women to challenge them instead of entertain them. 

While there really isn't much insight to Laura Davenport's character aside from that she's a very caring, beautiful woman, she's still interesting enough because of the circumstances she suddenly finds herself in at the end of the novella.

A Season for Sin is definitely a teaser, and as long as you don't look at the actual release date of the first book in this new series (Spring 2013), there should be no tears.

Rating: 

Find Vicky Dreiling:

Review: Eternal Captive by Laura Wright

Format: epub (purchased)
Release Date: February 2, 2012

Purchase Links: Amazon l Kindle l Barnes and Noble l Nook 

Lucian Roman knows he must stay away from Bronwyn Kettler for sanity’s sake. Since feeding her his blood, he can think of nothing else but possessing her—fighting an uncontrollable desire to kill her, if need be, and the vampire she has sworn to wed.

Bronwyn, a brilliant vampire genealogist, can never escape her connection to Lucian. He sustained her when she was starving. He still rules her dreams. And when the nights get dark enough, she still craves him. Though his essence still courses through her body, she has found a true mate in someone else.

But when a dangerous enemy threatens Bronwyn, only Lucian—bound to her forever by blood—can save her life. Even if it means sacrificing his own…

Lucian never makes things easy. I learned this about him the very first time I heard him speak in Eternal Hunger. He's cocky, stubborn and incredibly rude... But he's also smart, brave and loyal to his brothers. He takes a while to grow on you if you're not used to crude statements and what I call "smart-assery" but since I am and I love sarcasm, I took to Lucian right away. It took a bit to get around to reading his story, and the wait made the anticipation and expectations grow and grow. When I was finally able to begin Eternal Captive I was nervous. I began to wonder if I had built this idea in my head about the white haired, albino vampire that author Laura Wright wouldn't be able to meet.

I'm such a silly bean! Laura Wright not only met the expectations I had but surpassed them as well. It's going to be hard to top Lucian because he's been added to my list of absolute favorite alpha males ever.

Definitely a character you won't soon forget, Lucian is a tormented, ruthless, smart ass with a tender heart who is fighting his deepest fears: That his destiny is to become the mindless beast his sire was. The Breeding Male who's only instinct will be to breed with any and all females who come across him, willing or not. He can be borderline unlikeable to some people but to this reader, his prickly, asshole demeanor was what made him more interesting as a character and more deserving of a happy ending than others.

Eternal Captive also introduces readers to some new characters, Syn for example. Have I mentioned that not only am I a vampire lover but a British man makes me swoon? Yeah, it's a double whammy.

Then there are the mutore, who up until now, have just been described as abominations who are not worthy of life. Eternal Captive not only revealed more about the mutore but gave them names, histories and began to create sympathy for these misunderstood creatures. I can't wait to learn more about them.

With this book I've begun noticing a pattern with the entire series, and correct me if I'm wrong but each book is sexier and more erotic than the last and if Laura Wright keeps this up, I'm going to spontaneously combust. There's only so much a girl can take you know. Eternal Captive should have come with a warning label that read: "May cause spontaneous combustion or incoherent babbling. Author is not responsible for ice or fan shortages in your city."

That said, if you've been reading my reviews on this series but haven't gotten around to reading it, what the heck are you waiting for? A personal invitation?! Get these books ASAP and enjoy! I know I am :)


Rating:
 
Find Laura Wright: