Taking Review Requests: Not at the moment, but if you're requesting a guest post, interview etc then please see my policy before requesting.

Hosting Giveaways: Yes

Accepting Author Interviews/Guest Posts: Yes

• My review policy and contact info is located OVER HERE.

Bloggers, I would love to interview you, have you guest post and/or guest review here! Please contact me if you're interested!




Tuesday, July 22, 2014

ARC Review: Crave the Night by Lara Adrian

Format: .mobi (provided by publisher in exchange for an honest review)
Release Date: August 5, 2014

Born and raised to be an emotionless killing machine, Nathan is one of the most lethal Breed vampires in existence. A key member of the Order—an elite group of warriors charged with protecting both mortals and vampires—Nathan executes each mission with flawless precision and a total lack of mercy. Now he must pursue a powerful, hidden enemy. But Nathan’s hard discipline and training are no match for the fierce pull he feels toward a young woman he has no right to desire—a woman of wealth and high social standing who has long been promised to another Breed male, and who may also prove to be the key to rooting out Nathan’s elusive quarry.

Jordana lives a life of glittering privilege as a member of a prominent Breed family in Boston. Surrounded by fine things and fawning admirers, Jordana wants for nothing—until she crosses paths with a dark, intense warrior from the Order and finds herself swept into an impulsive, sizzling kiss that neither of them will forget. As much as she tries to deny her deep feelings for Nathan, Jordana cannot resist the craving to be near him, to break through his forbidding walls and see the man he truly is. But getting close to Nathan will thrust Jordana into a treacherous new world, forcing her to risk all she has and all she knows about herself and her past. And loving this seductive man could be the most dangerous temptation of all.

Crave the Night gave me exactly what I was hoping for!


Monday, July 21, 2014

Cover Reveal: Tempting the Player by Kat Latham

So today I have a pretty neat cover reveal. Have any of you read Kat Latham before? Now I've said it a hundred times and I'll continue to say it: I am not a sports fan. At all. I'm so far from a sports fan it's not even funny so I try and avoid any and all sports related things. However, a handful of authors, including Kat have me anticipating their sports romances. That's how awesome their books are.

Tempting the Player won't be released until November (drat) but you can get a look at the yummy cover and blurb below as well as enter the giveaway to win a $15 eGift Card + a London Legends Tote Bag.



Best friends make the best lovers.

Libby Hart and Matt Ogden are perfect for each other—as friends. They’ve known each other for ages. They act as each other’s plus-ones. They even share custody of a dog. And if there’s always been a little spark between them, so what? It’s never been worth jeopardizing their friendship.

Professional rugby player Matt is fighting for a starter position with the London Legends—and that’s not the only thing he’s fighting. A crippling fear of flying means he’s struggling to get his career off the ground. He has no time for a relationship, even if Libby does make him ache. As an airline pilot, Libby’s looking for a stay-at-home husband so she can have a family without sacrificing her high-flying career. Matt’s certainly not that man.

But just because they don’t have a future together doesn’t mean they can’t have a right now. When Matt asks Libby for help overcoming his fear, they agree to take a vacation from their platonic relationship—whenever they fly together, they can have sex. It’s the perfect way to resolve all that built-up tension. As long as they can avoid getting a little too comfortable…

Pre-Order Links:
Barnes & Noble: http://bit.ly/1mLG9jX
Books a Million: http://bit.ly/W0j7ML
Google Play: http://bit.ly/1jEMsHq



Kat Latham is a California girl who moved to Europe the day after graduating from UCLA, ditching her tank tops for raincoats. She taught English in Prague and worked as an editor in London before she and her British husband moved to the Netherlands.

Kat’s other career involves writing and editing for charities, and she’s traveled to Kenya, Ethiopia and India to meet heroic people helping their communities survive disasters.

Find out more on her website: katlatham.com.

Follow Kat:


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, July 17, 2014

Literati Blog Tours: Techno Crazed by Sarah Makela (Excerpt & Giveaway)



Techno Crazed Cover photo SarahMakela_TechnoCrazed_zps031411c4.jpg
Title: Techno Crazed (Hacked Investigations)
Author: Sarah Makela
Genre: New Adult Paranormal Romance (with SciFi flare)
Sexual Content: Hot bordering on erotic
Publish Date: July 11, 2013
Publisher: Kissa Press LLC

~Synopsis~


Private investigator Hannah Franklin's life is turned upside down after being contacted by a former employee of MAX Home Security, the leader in security services. But they're not just protecting people anymore. Hannah's informant claims to have proof that MAX has ordered the assassination of politicians who stood against the corporation.

When her informant is killed and an attempt is made on her life, Hannah has no choice but to contact a freelance hacker. Her only hope now lies in the hands of a man she never expected to welcome back into her life.

Ian Bradley has lost his girlfriend and his job, as well as having acquired a very annoying gnome. Now his ex, Hannah, is in danger, and she needs his help. Ian vows to protect Hannah with every resource available to him -- and as a technomage in a high-tech world, his resources are almost endless...

Add to Goodreads

Purchase Links

Amazon | Amazon UK





About the Author

Sarah Makela photo SarahMakela1_zps4cedd93d.jpg
Sarah Mäkelä loves her fiction dark, magical, and passionate. She is a paranormal romance author, but she’s written all over the romance spectrum with cyberpunk, sci-fi, fantasy, urban fantasy… even a sweet contemporary romance!
A life-long paranormal fan, she still sleeps with a night light. In her spare time, she reads sexy books, watches scary movies and Ghost Adventures, and plays computer games with her husband. When she gets the chance, she loves traveling the world too.

Connect with the Author:


     Hannah rested her forehead against the cool, metal desk. She anxiously awaited the moment when she could dive into bed and close her eyes. Cheating spouse cases currently flooded her office. Most of the ones she’d worked were fueled by insecurity and simple misunderstandings that could’ve been resolved through conversation or therapy. Just two more reports to file, then she’d be able to call it.

     Memories of her soft blankets and the comfort of her pillow relaxed her bunched shoulders. Her eyelids drooped, and she exhaled, ready to give into her exhaustion.

     Ringing jarred her from the edge of sleep. She jerked upright and rubbed her eyes. Clearing her throat, she reached for the office telephone. She used an old landline since they were more secure than the wireless communication devices on the market, which ranged from implants in the ear to high-tech cell phones.

     “Franklin Investigations, how may I help you?” she asked, stifling a yawn.

     “Is this Hannah Franklin? I need to speak with Hannah.” The male’s deep voice radiated urgency, with panic underlying his tone.

     “This is she. Who’s calling?” Her spine stiffened, and tension tightly wound its way through her. She grabbed a stylus pen and poised it over her e-ink notepad. The electronic leaflet awoke within seconds filled with comments from her previous assignment. Tapping an icon in the top right corner, she brought up a clean page.

     “Rich Granger. Listen, I can’t talk for long.” He paused. “Shit! Hold on.” Rummaging and his frantic breathing sounded over the phone. “Okay. This is the deal. I used to work for MAX Home Security. Everything was fine until a few months ago. A turnover happened with the corporate execs. You’ve heard the news, right?”

     How could she not? Everyone was talking about the scandals involving the home security giant. Some of it was a bit too sci-fi weird, even for her. Yet, it also made her think of… Grrr… No, she wouldn’t do that to herself.

     “Yes, I have. What’s this about?” She kept her voice professional and scribbled down notes about the new potential client.

     “You know the senators who spoke against them are dead, yeah? Well, that’s not a coincidence. I have proof that MAX killed them. Meet me at the donut shop on the corner of Fifth and Main Street. You need to see this. Shit!” Sneakers smacked pavement and tires screeched over the phone line. “It’s too late,” Rich said. “They’re here. A freelance hacker I know can help you finish this. Malloc. Reach out to him. This needs to stop.”

     The hackers she’d met weren’t the most trustworthy, but if he could help… And wait, she’d be finishing this? Alone? Reluctance rose within her. Her caseload was already full. Besides, after opening her own firm, she needed compensation for her time. Bills streamed in faster than paychecks. However, none of her current assignments held this level of excitement. This case could drive in more business.

     “All right, I will.” She scribbled down the hacker’s name and notes about the donut shop.

     Men yelling and the distant sound of thundering footsteps disrupted her thoughts.

     “Mr. Granger? Rich? Hello?” She glanced at the caller ID to write down Rich’s number and turned to her computer, keying in the digits to a reverse lookup search engine. She needed to know who exactly this guy was.

     A gunshot blast rang through her ear, and she jumped out of her chair, dropping the phone. Blowing out a calming breath, she grabbed the phone and listened again.

     A pained whimper yanked at her heartstrings, and plastic clattered against a hard surface, presumably Rich’s cell phone hitting the sidewalk. Two more shots fired.

     She slammed the handset onto the receiver, a wave of nausea and helplessness crashing into her. Bile rose in her throat, but she shoved it down. Now wasn’t the time. Slumping back into her chair, she stared at the name on her notepad. Malloc. Geez. Hackers could be impossible to track down. This wasn’t the first time she’d looked one up. The last hacker had taken several days to locate. Time wasn’t on her side now.




Giveaway

$5 Dollar Gift Card
2 Ebooks of Authors Backlist

Monday, July 14, 2014

"Ricochet brought out the naughty reviewer in me!"

Format: .mobi (provided by publisher in exchange for an honest review)
Release Date: July 14, 2014

After a tragic incident in Afghanistan leaves Master Sergeant Nathan Ryker the only man standing in his tight-knit team, he spirals into an alcohol-and-sex induced escape. A call from his lifelong buddy pulls Ryker from the shadows with a request for help with his stunt company’s latest blockbuster. If Ryker can survive the next three weeks of leave and get back to his remaining men, he might just be all right. But a sexy woman who can take his mind off his trauma is too hard to resist, and when he hooks up with Renegades’ sultry, snarky office manager, his sanity takes a backseat to his first glimpse of a future he isn’t sure he deserves.

Still reeling from a bitter romantic betrayal, Rachel Hart wants nothing more than an uncomplicated hookup. So when the mysterious Nathan seduces her with a little dirty talk and one delicious kiss, Rachel drowns all her good sense in a Mandarin and soda and gives herself over to a night of sexual bliss. But her memories tarnish in the morning light when Rachel discovers his real identity and his link to Renegades. Her job and her friends are the only thing holding her life together, and she won’t be ruined by one sultry night with this damaged and dangerously sexy man.


Warning: Be sure to have a fan, ice water and possible a fire extinguisher on hand BEFORE reading this book. Spontaneous combustion may occur. You have been warned.

Friday, July 11, 2014

Tasty Book Tours: Lady Windermere's Lover by Miranda Neville (Interview, Review + Giveaway)


I am SO glad I signed up for this tour! Now I can say I have a new author to catch up on! Today I have a quick interview with author Miranda Neville AND I'll let you know my thoughts on Lady Windermere's Lover! But first, a little about Miranda herself.

Miranda Neville grew up in England. During her misspent youth she devoured the works of Georgette Heyer, Jean Plaidy, and any other historical novels she could lay hands on. As a result she attended the University of Oxford to study history, ignoring all hints that economics might be a more practical subject. She spent several years writing catalogs of rare books and original letters and manuscripts for Sotheby’s auction house in London and New York. Much of her time in this job was spent reading the personal correspondence of the famous. This confirmed her suspicion that the most interesting thing about history is people.

Since moving to Vermont, she has worked in Special Collections at Dartmouth College and as an editor and journalist on Behind the Times, a small, idiosyncratic (and now defunct) monthly newspaper. She is the owner and editor of a weekly advertiser in the Upper Valley, a job that leaves her enough time to write fiction.

Her first book, Never Resist Temptation. was published by Avon in 2009. The first two books in the Burgundy Club series will be published in 2010.

She lives with her daughter, Becca, a college student and confirmed drama queen, and two cats who are never on the right side of any door.

Find Miranda:



Adria: Hi Miranda, thanks for taking the time to stop by and chat! I really loved Lady Windermere’s Lover so that makes me a new fan of yours!
Miranda: Hi Adria, that warms my writerly heart! Thanks so much for inviting me to visit you.

I hope you don’t mind an extra presence; he doesn’t want to move right now:


Adria: Do you have any pets Miranda? They’re a handful sometimes but I love them.
Miranda: Aw! My pet doesn’t like to move either, though he isn’t as big. His name is Ernie and he is a cat. He made a book trailer for me a couple of years ago. My daughter’s cat Emma also lives with us but we don’t mention her.



Adria: For those who aren’t familiar with your work, can you tell me a little bit about your latest book, Lady Windermere’s Lover?
Miranda: Damian, the Earl of Windermere gambled away his estate at the age of twenty-one. Disgusted with himself, he changed his wild ways and became a stick-in-the-mud diplomat. To win back his estate, he marries heiress Cynthia, whom he resents and treats badly. After a year abroad he comes home to make something of his marriage. Shy and dowdy Cynthia has bloomed in his absence. She is also apparently having an affair with Damian’s former best friend, the Duke of Denford. Just to complicate matters, Damian’s government job requires him to resume relations with Denford at the same time he is trying to win back his wife.

Damian and Cynthia both have many obstacles to reconciliation. I love convenient marriage stories in historicals. There’s a claustrophobia about sharing a house (and sometimes a bed!) with someone you are tied to. Divorce being almost unthinkable, the alternative to Happy Ever After is Misery Ever After.


Adria: I enjoyed how well Damian and Cynthia played off each other and the sparks that started to fly between them. Where did you get the inspiration for their characters?
Miranda: Cynthia had already appeared in two books so I knew her fairly well. When she moved up to heroine status I had to figure out what really makes her tick. She is a very kind and generous lady, so I decided she should be engaged in philanthropy. The story of her charitable work because entwined into the complicated relationship between her, Damian and Julian, the Duke of Denford.

Damian makes his first appearance in Lady Windermere’s Lover. Since the disaster of losing his estate, he has become rather rigid and repressed in his attitudes. It takes Cynthia to loosen him up and find the joy of his youth without the idiocy. (Wouldn’t we all like that!)


Adria: As much as I loved Damian and Cynthia’s romance I have to admit that I fell in love with Julian. He’s my kind of hero, so I can’t wait for his story! Sorry, I had to throw that out there.
Miranda: LOL. Julian has acquired quite a little fan club since he first appeared in The Importance of Being Wicked.
* runs off to purchase The Importance of Being Wicked just to get more of Julian*


Adria: Can you share any behind the scenes tid-bits about Lady Windermere’s Lover? Any cut scenes or anything like that?
Miranda: When I started this book, I wrote about Damian and Cynthia’s first meeting and wedding then decided start the story at a later stage. Here, especially for you, is part of the scene when Cynthia is sitting with her aunt, nervously waiting to discover the identity of her bridegroom.

     “I’m sure anyone your uncle chooses for you will be an excellent match,” was all Aunt Lavinia had to say. “My father arranged my marriage to Mr. Chorley.” Pointing out that her aunt was completely overwhelmed if not terrified of her much older husband was pointless. “I should speak to you of your marital … duty. The most important thing is to give your husband sons.”

     “Could you tell me what happens?”

     “Oh, no! You will learn from your husband. You must never deny him, however disagreeable.”

     Cynthia was only certain that this “duty” involved sharing a bed. Considering Mr. Chorley she wasn’t surprised that his wife found it disagreeable. As for Maxwell, the very thought of him laying a finger on her made her stomach churn.

     “If I am to bear sons I think it would help to know what to do,” she persisted.

     “These things are better not spoken of. The only advice I can offer is to lie down, keep still and pray for it to be over quickly.”

     “Your cushion cover is coming along beautifully,” Cynthia said, not wishing to cause further distress.

     Mrs. Chorley looked up from the embroidery hoop, pleasure tempering the habitual anxiety of her expression. “I wish you could stay with me, Cynthia. Yet I want what’s best for you and a woman needs a husband.”

     Was marriage, any marriage, preferable to spinsterhood? Cynthia was still pondering the question when Mr. Chorley brought in his visitor, a man–a gentleman–like none she had encountered.

     It wasn’t the beauty of his countenance that struck her most, though he was certainly the handsomest man she’d ever seen, but the refinement of his person. From cropped brown hair to the shining black boots, he was impeccable. While nothing in his neat, understated attire spoke of excessive vanity, she knew that his garments were the work of a master tailor.

     He was like a gorgeous cat, perfected groomed and eternally unruffled. Sleek was the word that came to mind and stayed there. He bore absolutely no resemblance to Wilfred Maxwell.

     “Allow me to present Mrs. Chorley,” her uncle said in his gruff voice with the hint of a Midlands accent. “And my late brother’s daughter Miss Chorley. Ladies, let us welcome the Earl of Windermere.”

     An earl! What would an earl want with her, especially one so young and fair?

     He greeted them with perfect politeness. As he bowed in answer to her curtsey she felt his eyes on her and raised her own to meet them. They were a grayish blue with darker rims around the irises, watchful and unreadable. She had an impression of self-contained reserve.

     “My lord,” she murmured.

     “A pleasure to meet you, Miss Chorley.” His lips widened but the smile didn’t reach his eyes.


Adria: What was the last romance you read that you really enjoyed?
Miranda: Last week I got into a discussion online about people’s first romance novel. So many mentioned Kathleen Woodiwiss’s The Wolf and the Dove that I decided to read it. I don’t often read medievals but this one certainly kept the pages turning. Before that, I read Eloisa James’s Three Weeks with Lady X. So much fun.


Adria: What are you currently working on (Please say Julian’s book *wink*)?
Miranda: Actually I have finished Julian’s book! It’s called The Duke of Dark Desires and will be released on December 31st. That’s all I’m saying about it for now. I’m working on a couple of novellas, one for a Regency Christmas anthology and one my first attempt at a contemporary. Then I’ll move on to a new historical series but that’s very much in the planning stage.
*swoons with excitement* Adria: I know who what I want to start next year with.


Adria: Lastly, is there anything else you’d like to add?
Miranda: I love hearing from readers. Please join me on Facebook, Twitter, or contact me through my website.


Adria: Thank you so much for stopping by Miranda! I look forward to catching up on all your past work and am eagerly anticipating your next release!
Miranda: Thank you, Adria. It has been a pleasure. I’ll be sure to keep you informed about Julian!
Adria: Just in case, I've signed up for your newsletter Miranda!!!



Format: .mobi (provided by publisher in exchange for an honest review)
Release Date: June 24th, 2014

Hell hath no fury . . .

Damian, Earl of Windermere, rues the day he drunkenly gambled away his family's estate and was forced into marriage to reclaim it. Now, after hiding out from his new bride for a year, Damian is finally called home, only to discover that his modest bride has become an alluring beauty—and rumor has it that she's taken a lover. Damian vows to keep his wife from straying again, but to do so he must seduce her—and protect his heart from falling for the wife he never knew he wanted.

Lady Cynthia never aspired to be the subject of scandal.

Lady Cynthia never aspired to be the subject of scandal. But with her husband off gallivanting across Persia, what was a lady to do? Flirting shamelessly with his former best friend seemed like the perfect revenge . . . except no matter how little Damian deserves her loyalty, Cynthia can't bring herself to be unfaithful. But now that the scoundrel has returned home, Cynthia isn't about to forgive his absence so easily—even if his presence stirs something in her she'd long thought dead and buried. He might win her heart . . . if he can earn her forgiveness!

I’ve never read Miranda Neville’s books before so I was excited and more than a little nervous about reading Lady Windermere’s Lover since I’ve been suffering a bit of a HR burnout lately. Plus, it’s the second book in a series and I’m a little OCD about starting a series from anywhere but the beginning. So what did I think of it?

Well, as far as historical romances go, Lady Windermere’s Lover is an exceptional read. It was like finding a small treasure in a sandbox you’ve been to a hundred times.

Damian, Lord Windermere has finally come home to England, only to find the mousy, unsophisticated wife he abandoned so hastily a year ago has transformed into a graceful, educated woman. Having only married Cynthia for her dowry, an estate he foolishly gambled away when he was younger, Damian is unprepared for the feelings of jealousy brought on by his wife’s constant companion, Julian, the Duke of Denford, Damian’s former friend and current enemy.

As rumors swirl that the Duke is Cynthia’s lover, Damian sets out to win his wife’s affection, but Cynthia is unwilling to forgive her neglectful husband so easily. With so many misunderstandings and a determined Duke in the way, Damian has his work cut out for him!

Sure, there are tons of marriage of convenience romances out there and I do have my favorites but what made Lady Windermere’s Lover stand out for me was mostly Cynthia. It was difficult to put my finger on just what made her stick in my mind, then it hit me: Cynthia has just enough of a modern emancipated woman in her to make her different to the women of her time, but not too much to where she seemed more like a time traveler.

She was flawed and prone to female dramatics but that’s what kept her from being boring or having men walk all over her. There isn’t much about the early days of her marriage but there was enough to show how lost and alone she felt when her brand new husband walked away from her and ignored her for the better part of a year. She had a right to her anger and a right to her plan for revenge. She isn’t so far gone as to be unfaithful (though I wouldn’t have blamed her if she had been), but she shows an incredibly realistic side to her when she admits that she was and is tempted to take the Duke of Denford up on his offer of an affair. She’s a lonely woman who had her hopes crushed and I understood where she was coming from. In those times a marriage was definitely forever and more often than not, made the woman miserable.

Now Damian I had a little trouble with at the beginning. He was just so full of himself, so pompous and arrogant that he couldn’t even conceive of a scenario where everything he believed about his wife was wrong. I had a hard time liking the cold, unfeeling personality that he wore as a cloak. I even caught myself hoping he’d lose Cynthia to Julian. When Damian finally did start to win me over I found myself anticipating the moment when he realized just how wrong he was about his wife. It was a very satisfying moment to see him so humbled by the knowledge that his wife wasn’t what he thought she was.

As much as Lady Windermere’s Lover is about Damian and Cynthia’s road to redemption and forgiveness, I have to admit it was the dashing and mysterious Julian that caught my eye. At first glance he seems like he’s only using Cynthia to get back at Damian, but it soon becomes clear that he truly cares for her, enough to make Damian an outrageous proposition for that time period. Author Miranda Neville doesn’t reveal much about Julian except that he was once Damian’s best friend and how that friendship came to a bitter end, but the bits and pieces she does reveal have me halfway in love with the lonely Duke. Enough to ask, can I have Julian for my own?

There’s no real resolution between Damian and Julian, which is something I would like to see happen since it’s obvious the two men miss their former friendship. Hopefully that will happen in Julian’s book (Yay!).

Final Verdict: Lady Windermere’s Lover was a good time for me. Good enough in fact, that I had to buy the first book in the series and hopefully I’ll get caught up with Miranda Neville’s books soon!




Book Rating:

Heat Rating:

* Purchase Links:
Amazon l Kindle

* Using the purchase links on this blog allows me to see a small percentage of the sale. It will help sponsor future giveaways.

For US residents only. Two print copies of Lady Windermere's Lover!

a Rafflecopter giveaway